Search:

SIYE Time:6:10 on 27th February 2017

Reviews For

Reviewer: huey2 Signed Date: 2012.04.21 - 01:20PM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarstar

you almost got my hopes up. Tonks is my favorite character and for a moment there I thought that you had her still being alive in your fic

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Polly (or Auror Protheroe, if you must) has appeared in the background several of my stories, but not usually the ones here (she gets a chapter of "Tales of the Battle" to herself). She trained with, and was a friend of, Tonks.
-N-



Reviewer: 001anonymous Signed Date: 2011.08.05 - 01:19AM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarstar

Well, this is a very interesting story. I don't think i've seen a multi-chaptered fic done in the eyes of a muggle before; normally they're only one-shots. I'm glad that the Potters have found some friends in Jacqui's family, and I'm sure that Jacqui's very much curious about their background. I wonder how she'll react if ever she discovers their being magical. It's not exactly an easy idea to take in. lol I also like how you portrayed the Potters as very down-to-earth while still having those fiery characters that we've come to love in them. Looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The next chapter is (at last) being beta read, so there will be more very soon. As I’ve said in other review replies, my original plan was simply to use Jacqui for a couple of chapters to give an outsider’s view of the Potters. As early as chapter 2 I realised that, by using newspaper and television reports I could keep Jacqui as my narrator and still keep the werewolf mystery going in the background. It will, eventually, stretch credulity if Jacqui is at hand every time Harry gets news.
It helps (I think) that Jacqui is an ordinary mum, struggling with a couple of small kids in a remote rural location. I hope that she’s becoming a rounded character. She’s certainly not perfect.
I hope that the next couple of chapters will answer a few more questions.
-N-



Reviewer: Borsoka Signed Date: 2011.04.04 - 07:36AM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarstar

Hi, I think I've never written to you yet, but I've been your reader (here and on FF.net too) for a long time now.
I read among the previous comments that the next update is really close... I just wanted to say that I hope your beta works fast, because I have withdrawal symptoms so severe that since that comment I logged in at least 10 times a day during the weekend just to see if the next chapter's arrived.
By the way I really like your all of stories, my favourites are this and some oldies (The Mind of Arthur Weasley, and Fred and George's Busy Day), but I think that every one of them has a good, and special style. :)
Orsi

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I’m sorry to tell you that GinnyGuerra has not got the next chapter yet. :-( It is my fault. Real life has been interfering with my writing in a big way for several weeks (in a good way – for me anyway – my brother has been over from Canada for the first time in three years).

I sat down to tidy up chapter 8 (The Barbecue) and instead finished chapter 4 (Harry) of Spontaneity (she has that). I also wrote more of Aurors and Schoolgirls and entirely rewrote the next chapter of Hunters and Prey. I hope to grab a few hours writing time tomorrow.

-N-



Reviewer: bricat Signed Date: 2011.03.31 - 02:44AM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarstar

Oh my goodness I can't even tell you how much I'm enjoying this story. Your characterizations are interesting, just the right combination of domesticity and mystique. I think that you're spot on with your characters. Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks, I always love to hear that I’ve got the characters right. :-D More very soon, I hope. I intend to get the next chapters of this and H&P (at least) to my beta by the weekend. -N-



Reviewer: spicksandspecks Signed Date: 2011.03.27 - 05:55AM Title: Wet Afternoon

Hi,
Greatly enjoying the story. So good to see the Potters interacting with the Muggle world, and in a more realistic setting.
Best wishes,
Andrew

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The setting is as realistic as I can make it. -N-



Reviewer: agedhpfan Signed Date: 2011.03.22 - 12:29AM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstar

A very enjoyable story so far. The idea of seeing our favorite characters from the Muggle perspective or living in Muggle society is one of my favorite story premises and you developed it more fully than many other stories. I like how you've developed complex characters in the Muggle narrator and her family, and the detail of their growing friendship with H/G and their 3 kids. Thanks for sharing the story with us!

Author's Response: Thanks. You will (eventually) discover why the Potters moved, and much else. Jacqui must be believable, rather nosey, but likeable (otherwise I lose her as a narrator). I hope that you continue to enjoy this story. -N-



Reviewer: potionsprofessor Signed Date: 2011.03.13 - 12:25AM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstar

Really great story. I don't usually enjoy stories told from a third (ie not harry or Ginny's)point of view, but I am enjoying this one. You have done a very nice job of capturing their personalitites. I look forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The first time I tried to observe Harry and Ginny (and Ron and Hermione) from an outsider\'s viewpoint was by using \"The Mind of Arthur Weasley\". Using a Muggle narrator does bring a different perspective. -N-



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2011.03.11 - 03:33PM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstar

As some others have said, not a lot actually happened in this chapter, but it was facinating to watch the development of all the characters and their relationships with each other. Its a lot of fun as a reader to be "in" on the secrets behind little peculiarities that Jacqui keeps noticing. Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This chapter was slow, the next one may be surprisingly slow too. But I wanted to bring the Potters and Charltons together before I pick up the pace. -N-



Reviewer: dshadel Signed Date: 2011.03.10 - 05:30PM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarstar

loved it

Author's Response: Thank you :-) -N-



Reviewer: Gemma Signed Date: 2011.03.09 - 09:20PM Title: Wet Afternoon

I've grown to quite like the Charltons. They're nosy, certainly, but it's understandable given the small (uneventful?) community in which they live, and after all, the Potters' behavior (not to mention the odd visitors they have) is the kind of thing that would raise curiosity even in a larger city. There's no malicious intent behind the Charltons' nosiness, so I'm willing to give them a pass, especially since they've been so welcoming to the Potter family. If anything, I thought Harry and Ginny were unnecessarily defensive and confrontational in the scene outside the changing rooms, but I suppose that, too, is understandable.

The kids are so cute. I loved the image of them splashing around with their little arm floats.

This fic continues to intrigue and entertain. I look forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response:
Thanks

It’s certainly true that nothing much happens in the dales, and Mike, too, is an outsider who has moved into the area. You may be right about the Potters, certainly regarding Harry’s scars. Ginny’s angry insistence on being Ginny was born from my dislike of the many non-canon abbreviations found in fanfics. She’s Ginevra, and it’s shortened to Ginny (and Hermione is only ever Hermione).

It’s taken me seven chapters to establish the growing relationship between the Potters and the Charltons. Cute kids are a big help.
-N-



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2011.03.09 - 05:30AM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarstar

So far, the get-together for both families seems typical of any outing with lots of little ones. I love how both fathers are equally engaged in the shepherding and disciplining of the children and that they're typical when it comes to arguments over who pays--that one made me chuckle because my hubby gets his nose out of joint when he doesn't win the check. I love it how Jacquie worries about the state of her house at the beginning... I'm that way, too. Looking forward to the rest of the day and the mischief James and Henry can get themselves into.

Two thumbs up for making me glad my son isn't James and Henry's age any more!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

The minutiae of family life appear to be international (fortunately). Whether it’s arguing about who pays or obsessing about the tidiness of a bathroom the guests won’t even see. Kids (in my opinion, anyway) need other kids and that fact alone is enough to bring the Potters and the Charltons closer together.

James and Henry will certainly be able to cause trouble.
-N-



Reviewer: smokeylovegood Signed Date: 2011.03.08 - 02:36PM Title: Wet Afternoon

Oops - need a beta for my review! I was talking about Jacqui.

Author's Response: I probably would have guessed that. -N-



Reviewer: smokeylovegood Signed Date: 2011.03.08 - 02:33PM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarstar

Good chapter. I am enjoying the character development. I think she is a basically good hearted, kind woman whose active imagination and lack of a personal life outside of her children get her into trouble. Hope there is nothing more nefarious to her actions, she's growing on me. But, the way your stories go, my money is on her solving one mystery or another. Possibly both the Potters magical secret and the true nature of the werewolf murders/murderer.

Nice to see Polly back. Did she arrive with the remaining chapters A&S and H&P? :-)
At some point, I'll have to go back and read all of your stories in chronological order.

Author's Response:
Thanks, you’re pretty much spot on accurate in your assessment of Jacqui. She’s probably almost as much of a busybody as Mary, just a bit more subtle and a lot less judgemental.

Mystery solving? Am I that transparent? Damn! ;-)

Polly has (so far) only appeared in “Protheroes Perspective” (in Tales of the Battle) and chapter 10 of A&S. She was in an early draft of M.I.T.: Muggle Interface Team, but I replaced her with Aurors Bones and Brown.

It would probably help if I actually wrote my stories in chronological order, wouldn\'t it? *sigh*

-N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2011.03.08 - 01:14PM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarhalf-star

‘I just wee inna pool’ - Do you have to make this story so realistic?

Big smile.

Author's Response: Kids! *Sigh* They know how to embarrass you! :-) -N-



Reviewer: hms42 Signed Date: 2011.03.07 - 11:50PM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Believer Signed Date: 2011.03.07 - 11:40PM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I really enjoy your story. It's fun seeing the Potters through a muggle's perspective. I haven't read a story like this before.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. -N-



Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream Signed Date: 2011.03.07 - 11:14PM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarstar

Well, Ginny may be *hoping* that Harry won't need to go into the office, but I wouldn't be inclined to bet that way. :-} But, of course, if that happens, Harry's visit to the Charltons' will be delayed....

The interactions between Henry & Mike, Henry & James, and Mike & Jacqui (in particular) are fun to read; I hope you had fun writing them.

Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Will Harry be called away? You’ll find out soon. The little bits of family life were fun to write. -N-



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2011.03.07 - 10:45PM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarstar

That chapter seemed to start more slowly than most others but it was still well balanced overall. Good thing Jacqui is perceptive... it should make for interesting times ahead :) I wonder what Mary would think of Polly... lol

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Things are moving slowly, but I wanted to establish the family dynamics and to bring the two families together slowly. Polly at the school gates, that would be fun (especially for Polly) :-) -N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2011.03.07 - 09:27PM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarstar

Great Chapter! I loved the rush to get ready and the realistic sniping back and forth. Poor Harry having to figure out how to explain all of his scars (he sure has enough of them). I like how observant Jaqui is even if she doesn't understand what she is seeing. It's the little things that the Potters wouldn't think of. I hope Harry doesn't have to go into work :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I’m enjoying writing Jacqui’s observations. She reports well, although she doesn’t always know what she’s seeing. Harry hopes that he won’t have to go in, too. -N-



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2011.03.07 - 09:21PM Title: Wet Afternoon

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Swimble and wordices were priceless!

Author's Response: Thanks, :-) -N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear