Search:

SIYE Time:6:11 on 27th February 2017

Reviews For

Reviewer: sidnandragin Signed Date: 2011.11.17 - 02:34PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

I love rereading this story. Is it wrong when I do that? I dont think so... I sound like James and Henry now.
I love your story. It is just great that the whole family is going to meet Jacqui and Henry.
I look forward to seeing how George and Ron are going to be with them.
I cannot wait to see what Arthur is going to do... I look forward to when Mike and Arthur are in the same room....

Author's Response: Thanks for the review
Jacqui's encounter with the Weasleys is approaching completion. The big question is, what will Henry think?
Mike's encounter with the family will have to wait.
-N-



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2011.11.05 - 05:04AM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, the joys of vomiting children in the middle of the night. I'm so glad my kids are past that age. Sometimes it was on the bed, sometimes on the carpet, several times it was on me. Now there's other worries, I suppose.

I assume that 'une dame Moldue' is 'a muggle lady'.

Why is Jacqui so insecure? Is there a backstory there? Perhaps related to the relative getting married in the other Drakeshaugh story?

Love all your work. I'm always happy when a new chapter arrives.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I can confirm that blackcurrant juice coloured vomit does not come out of a white shirt. Clearing up your kids vomit is great fun, isn't it? :-D Although trips to the hospital casualty department are worse!
You are correct (I've also discovered that in German the word is Muggel).
Jacqui's insecurities are, I think, simply her, although her relationship with Mike's sister doesn't help.
-N-



Reviewer: 2TsMom Signed Date: 2011.10.30 - 12:13AM Title: Conversations and Invitations

After re-reading this chapter (and the entire story) a couple of times in the past days, I have to make another comment and can't figure out how to edit my previous one...

As another reviewer said, I love the way you're integrating H/G into the muggle world. I know there's another story line of the werewolf killings, but I'm really enjoying the family and friend dynamics. Watching Jacqui and her thoughts (Harry's coat looks like a cloak, Terry looks like he might pull a gun, but has a pencil in his jacket...) allows us to see the wizarding world as an outsider. I hope you have the time to show us what Jacqui thinks about Bill's scars and her reaction to Mike meeting Fleur. Or any of the school-mom-crowd husbands meeting Fleur. That could be downright comical.

That's what I enjoy about your stories so much. They are unique story lines. So much fanfic is the same story over and over. You have broken the mold.

Thank you.



Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
As Iíve said previously: this was supposed to be a murder mystery with family dynamics in the background, itís turned out to be a family story with a murder mystery in the background. I blame Jacqui! But as this story is staggeringly popular, Iím not complaining! In fact Iím having a lot of fun. (Do you really think the wooden thing Jacqui glimpsed in Terryís coat pocket was a pencil? :-D)
Next: Jacqui meets the Weasleys. Then: the school gate crowd meet a blonde witch - but it isnít Fleur (oh, dear). Then the party!
-N-



Reviewer: harryluvsginny Signed Date: 2011.10.29 - 11:36PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

I'm learning French right now so it was really nice to see that I could understand all of it, minus the "Moldue" part, but that was easily remedied. Very interesting chapter and I can't wait to see where this goes in the next one! :]

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I had assumed that JKR's made-up words wouldn't be transtlated and I originally used Muggle. Fortunately Barbara corrected me. -N-



Reviewer: Emlyn Signed Date: 2011.10.29 - 09:29PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

Great chapter. I love Peter and Harriet and you even have the Red Herrings in here. How lovely! Ah, the lovely Victoire. And schoolyard politics. Harry is always so gracious. And not well known at all.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad you got the Wimsey reference! Victoire, and next, a confusion of Weasleys. I couldn't resist the "Is Harry famous?" line. -N-



Reviewer: jaredadamc Signed Date: 2011.10.29 - 08:46PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

Another great chapter. Thanks you for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and the stars :-D -N-



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2011.10.29 - 02:25PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Can't wait for what's next!

Author's Response: Thanks. I hope you'll see it soon. -N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2011.10.29 - 11:48AM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

Moldue? Mon du! I can't wait for the next chapter and encounter with more of the extended family.

Loved the aftermath of black current juice overload. Also the laugh Ginny and Harry had over the fame-or lack thereof-in the Moldue world.

Marry is invited to the housewarming? Interesting... Yet another reason for wanting the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks. That's what I thought, too. Next, more than enough Weasleys for two Quidditch teams!
Harry's lack of fame is another very good reason for them to be where they are.
Mary - a genuine attempt at rapproachment, or a case of keep your friends close, and your enemies closer?
-N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2011.10.29 - 06:45AM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

I am most impressed. Do you speak French? That pretty 10 years old must be Victoire. This is so exciting. James and Henry just make the story better and better. Bless their little hearts. This is one of the best chapters ever because it shows normal family life... school, buses, children, parents.... excellent.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I don't speak French, the explanation is in the Author's Notes at the beginning of the chapter :-)
Not much happens in this chapter, it is, as you say, school, buses, parents, I was a little worried, so I'm glad folks like it. There are a couple of fairly important bits in here.
-N-



Reviewer: smokeylovegood Signed Date: 2011.10.28 - 09:35PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

While at the grocery store today, I decided to treat myself to an Aero bar, and sure enough, there was the Ribena, on the shelf below. Apparently, we banned blackcurrants a hundred years ago but it has recently been repealed in my state and they are making a comeback with the local vineyards. I'll have to try it. Fanfiction as a valid learning tool. Hooray for you, Northumbrian!

Author's Response: A forbidden fruit! Actually a banned berry, but that's pretty much the same, isn't it? :-D
They're rich in vitamin C and the popular story is that they became our main source during WW2 as we can't grow oranges.
-N-



Reviewer: st122 Signed Date: 2011.10.28 - 02:36PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

Still loving this story. Keep up the great work :) Now the wait for the house warming and the resolution to this small cliffie!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'll do my best. -N-

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'll do my best. -N-



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2011.10.27 - 10:39PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

darn cliffy! excellent chapter

Author's Response: Thanks. -N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2011.10.27 - 08:28PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

An excellent chapter as always! Mary and Luna deserve a whole chapter to themselves. That should be amazing. If anyone can take her down a peg or two, it's Luna.

Author's Response: Thanks. Mary and Luna will be interesting, I hope. But first, Jacqui and the Weasleys. -N-



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2011.10.27 - 07:41PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

Wonderful! I loved every bit of it. I think Mike got off a little easy with the juice disaster though ;)

Author's Response: Thanks, he probably did, but he tried to make up for it with breakfast in bed. -N-



Reviewer: smokeylovegood Signed Date: 2011.10.27 - 05:18PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

Another excellent chapter. Mary really is awful and I hope Ginny goes off on her. Please, please please tell me you'll introduce her to Luna! James and Henry are so sweet and remind me of why I teach high school rather than the little ones.
Blackcurrant juice? Hmmm...never heard of it. Interesting. And, what are turkey dinosaurs? Is this a chicken "nugget" type bit of gross processed kids food? The wonderful little cultural tidbits I gain while being entertained by your stories! Here are some local pub food faves for you - chicken wings, beef on weck, loganberry.

Author's Response: Thanks. The Mary and Luna will meet. I hope it will be memorable. James and Henry are fun to write.
I used blackcurrant juice rather than use the brand name (Ribena) which dominates the UK market, because I assumed that it would be even more confusing. Youíre correct about turkey dinosaurs. I used bitter rather than beer once, too, and my UK beta queried that use.
-N-



Reviewer: Leiselily Signed Date: 2011.10.27 - 05:08PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2011.10.27 - 04:48PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

the kids really need to work on the communications but back then i know i didnt worrie about being invited i just went to a friends house....now james and henry are going to hear about it from there parents...kutgw

Author's Response: It seems that James and Henry didn't worry, either. They should be worrying now. -N-



Reviewer: foxfire23 Signed Date: 2011.10.27 - 03:32PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

I'm almost as excited about the housewarming as those who were invited !! :) :

Author's Response: There are still a few chapters before I get there. At least two. -N-



Reviewer: firsttenormtv Signed Date: 2011.10.27 - 02:59PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

I can't get enough of this story. Every time I read a new chapter I am delighted by how well you've woven the Potters into the muggle world. I constantly laugh out loud and at the end of each chapter I find myself grinning. Thanks for brightening up my days!

Author's Response: Thank you. I think that it helps that I moved them to an area I know. I considered keeping them near The Burrow, but that would have needed a lot more research. There are (I hope) more laughs to come. -N-



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2011.10.27 - 02:59PM Title: Conversations and Invitations

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter! Love reading about how witchy Mary is, and how well Jacquie and Ginny are getting along.

All I can think about is that Jacquie will be thinking that Victoire called her "moldy".

Thanks!

Author's Response: Thanks. You won't see Mary in the next chapter. The next chapter may strain Ginny's patience. I'd foolishly assumed that the French for Muggle was Muggle. I was wrong. -N-




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear