Search:

SIYE Time:6:12 on 27th February 2017

Reviews For

Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2012.04.20 - 09:13AM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarhalf-star


What an interesting story from a different POV. I have never read a story from a muggles POV before.
I have enjoyed reading what you have written. Can't wait for the next one to be validated.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I've never written a story from a Muggle's POV before (an owl, yes, but not a Muggle). :-D
Hopefully you won't have log to wait.
-N-



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2012.04.05 - 09:58AM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarstar

Oooh, cue the intrigue on the werewolf case.

Author's Response: Yes, Harry's going to be very busy in the days after the housewarming party. -N-



Reviewer: ladymblack Signed Date: 2012.04.04 - 05:56PM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent as always! I just can't wait for the all of the fun that's bound to happen at that party....

Author's Response: Thanks. The next chapter is underway, and it now has a title: Arrivals. -N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2012.04.03 - 05:53PM Title: Interlude: Three Families

well I'm glad that mike and jac have had a chance to meet the some of the other people...the party sounds like fun....hope to see an update soon....kutgw

Author's Response: Hopefully you will. -N-



Reviewer: J F Kluender Signed Date: 2012.04.03 - 01:32PM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great Story, looking for more.

On the subject of distance between Harbottle and Okeford Fitzpaine, you are both correct. It is about 300 miles as the Mini "flies" and about 400 miles as the Mini drives. Lots of crooked roads in between I guess.

In the paragraph;
‘We don’t know who the werewolf was, but she was killed in 1776, preserved before moonrise, and stuffed.
Should that not be moon set? As she turned at moon rise and then needed to be preserved before the moon set and she turned back . It may be that I just have my logic backwards.

Looking forward to the party and the end of the story, but also hoping that we see the end of H&P before that. I think that as we have seen OP introduced in H&P that now have appeared here in Strangers that here is more of an interconnect to come.

Great work, Neil, thanks for all you have written.

Author's Response: Thankd for the review.
Any resemblance between the fictional Oakford Fitzpayne and the real Okeford Fitzpaine is purely coincidental, I've never visited, I merely liked the name. I'm astonished that you found the real place. I've corrected 400 to 300.
I've corrected moonrise to moonset, too. I blame Lavender for the error. I ought to add a dedication to "the readers of SIYE, for their help in correcting my many errors" too.
The party chapter(s) will contain a lot of original characters: Mark Moon, Lesley Creevey, Fenella Boot, and Trudii Corner, to name four (fortunately, I "know" most of them from one-shots and other stories). There will also be several minor characters, and one canon character who never actually appeared in canon.
-N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2012.04.03 - 12:13PM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Interesting chapter. I suspect the next one will be even more interesting with all the muggles. While giving us a clue about what is going on in "Hunters and prey" is good, an update on that story or "A&S" would be very welcome.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Next, lots of Muggles, witches, wizards, and kids. The nod to Hunters and Prey was little more than a name check and a couple of hints.
-N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2012.04.03 - 11:53AM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarstar

Creepy is right. Nice interlude and update on the case. Looking forward to the party.

Author's Response: Thanks
Te case update was much needed. The party will be next, honest.
-N-



Reviewer: crystaltips1 Signed Date: 2012.04.03 - 08:37AM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarstar

Just had a lovely half an hour ;1 brewed cup of tea 2/ found a couple of choc hobnobs left in biscuit tin (with 2 teen boys, 1 pre teen boy and a hubby this is a very rare find) 3/ logged on to siye and yay you had updated.

cup of cha + bisc + reading srangers = Bliss

Excellent as ever

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I'm currently drinking tea, replying to reviews and looking at the next chapter. Mine is (currently) a chocolate-free household, because someone (not me) is on a diet. At least she hasn't banned sly cake (because she doesn't like it).
-N-



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2012.04.03 - 04:27AM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarstar

At dinner tonight my family had the discussion: "What Would Hermione Drive?" My wife's first thought was a Smart car, because Hermione is smart. Seems like a reasonable first thought on an admittedly odd subject. After we debated the practicality of a two-seater car and magical expansion, as well as other possibilities and priorities, we narrowed the list down to two - a Prius and a Mini Cooper. My vote leaned toward the British vehicle, my wife and daughter leaned toward the hybrid. My son is backpacking in the Grand Canyon this week, so his thoughts are as yet unknown.

Why does this matter? Because I think the Mini is the perfect car for Hermione to have. And of course it flies. And has room for a trunk. And of course Ron still hasn't gotten his driving permit.

Rose is adorable. She corrects James and Henry on "swimble," even though she still has trouble with her own pronunciations. Plus she appears to have her father's appetite for sandwiches.

I liked Mike and Ron's bonding over observations of Luna. And Jacqui gets to show off her expertise at swimming (and gain some respect along the way).

Loved the chapter. Can't wait for the party. Lots of wizards and lots of muggles. Should be lots of fun.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Hermione learned to drive in her mum’s Micra (in Grave Days) and I spent a ridiculous amount of time trying to decide what she’d drive. Of course, I have the advantage of “knowing” that until the kids arrived, Ron and Hermione were living in central London (Chelsea) and that’s when she bought her first car. The “new” Mini is, in fact, German (we don’t like to talk about it). The Prius was my alternative but as alternative fuel sources don’t seem to matter. There is no way a Ford Anglia could drive from Kings Cross to Scotland without refuelling. If a magical car does not need fuel, then the Prius is out.
Ron’s inability to drive will, I suspect be a running joke until he finally passes his test (sometime in 2017, I think).
Rose’s inability to pronounce the letter J is not that unusual in under-fours, but I couldn’t resist adding a Hermione-like need to correct others.
Mike and Ron have a similar sense of humour. And both drive their wives crazy at times. Jacqui has a few useful talents, and swimming isn’t the only one.
-N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2012.04.03 - 02:34AM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarstar

it would figure that Mike and Ron would get along well. I love this story. The hints at the story with the killer are great. As are the casual displays of magic. You really do get the impression of how much Harry, Ron, Hermione and crew have changed the Wizarding World. Well done as always.

Author's Response: Thanks.
I think that Ron was a little wary about the Charltons, but he and Mike share a similar sense of humour. The changes have been, and will continue to be, slow. But Harry and Hermione are continuing to work hard at it.
-N-



Reviewer: sabradan Signed Date: 2012.04.03 - 02:05AM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: lamhaat shaw Signed Date: 2012.04.03 - 01:50AM Title: Interlude: Three Families

great tale!!!! though i wish that you could update it a bit sooner.
and you live in scotland, right? that is why you come up with picturesque localities like Oakford Fitzpaine... good for you that you live in such a beautiful place!

please post the next chapter as soon as possible :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I’m updating as quickly as I can. I worry that faster updates would result in a drop in quality.
Scotland is due north, and due west, but I live in England. Hadrian’s Wall lies to the south, and there are at least 5 significant Roman sites (and over a dozen decent castles) within a thirty mile radius. I’m very happy where I am.
More as soon as I can. :-D
-N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2012.04.03 - 12:47AM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarstar

Interesting to hear from Ron's point of view. I can't wait to hear about the party. Exciting as always to see a new chapter :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The next chapter is already in rough draft (thankfully). -N-



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2012.04.02 - 10:23PM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarhalf-star

It was nice to hear about the investigation for a change. But just how many more chapters do you intend to write before that party? I'm beginning to suspect there will be an entire one dedicated to the Charltons' drive ;-) Oh well, at least they're all fun to read as usual.

Author's Response: The party chapter is started, and it begins with the Charlton’s arrival at Drakeshaugh. This chapter was a last minute addition. I wanted to introduce the Charltons to the Weasleys before the party and I needed to let you know about Harry’s investigation. -N-



Reviewer: firsttenormtv Signed Date: 2012.04.02 - 08:58PM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: hushpuppy22 Signed Date: 2012.04.02 - 08:51PM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.04.02 - 08:47PM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarstar

Finally, an update of my favourite story. Yay.

I love the description in the first 2 paragraphs. You really know how to bring a place to life and allow the reader to see in his or her mind's eyes. You paint a picture through words.

Love the interaction between the families. I cannot wait for the party.



Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Those first few paragraphs were rewritten so many times I worried that I’d over-written them.
The party begins in the next chapter. The way things are looking, it will be more than one chapter.
-N-



Reviewer: titan53 Signed Date: 2012.04.02 - 08:31PM Title: Interlude: Three Families

Thank you for another wonderful update, I really enjoy this story particularly the original plot. Just one little point on geography. Oakford is more like 300 miles south of Harbottle (as the crow flies, not sure about the distance as the car drives), 400 miles south would result in Ron and Hermione being rather wet (in the English Channel).

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
You’re quite right, I even measured it before I wrote that section (I made it 310). I’ve no idea how that happened, but I’ll fix it.
-N-



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2012.04.02 - 07:21PM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarstar

Yeah update!

Author's Response: About time, too! -N-



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2012.04.02 - 07:13PM Title: Interlude: Three Families

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Very much, my friend!
I just noticed we forgot a comma: ‘We’re here, kids,’

Author's Response: That’s my fault. I added it after you’d beta read the chapter. :-( -N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear