Search:

SIYE Time:1:17 on 21st January 2017

Reviews For

Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.08.14 - 08:01PM Title: Prologue/Chapter 1: The Boy Who Dreamed

starstarstarstarstar

Interesting beginning. I did not expect the Dursleys to be like this. Looking forward to the rest.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.07.02 - 06:34AM Title: Prologue/Chapter 1: The Boy Who Dreamed

starstarstarstarstar

This is a very interesting approach with lots of good ideas for the story.
I'm curious to learn more about the old woman and her reasons to done what she did ... and why both, Ginny and Ron, sleep in the same room as their parents. The family relationships with the Dursleys are a bit surprising, but a good idea to get things rolling.
It's great fun to read the story, especially the interaction between Ginny and Harry. I'm curious what else is waiting for me ...
Many thanks for sharing!



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2015.01.08 - 04:06PM Title: Prologue/Chapter 1: The Boy Who Dreamed

starstarstarstarstar

I should have started reading this story when it first came out. Great prologue and first chapter. It's nice that Petunia is sort of thinking of Harry for a change: at least she's seeing that he's safe from her husband. Well done.



Reviewer: ProfessorBinns79 Signed Date: 2014.11.18 - 10:12AM Title: Prologue/Chapter 1: The Boy Who Dreamed

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I just read the first 6 chapters of this over on FF.net, and I am seriously impressed! This is such an original take on a common idea. I love your characterization of Petunia here. She's not quite as bad as in canon, but she's still herself (i.e. not liking Harry but still protecting him, probably because of her different dynamic with Vernon and a character you introduce later on). The Harry/Ginny dynamic here is wonderful! Sweet, playful, childlike...sometimes I wonder if maybe you've written them a little too young (They seem closer to 8 than 11/10), but I'm sure they'll mature as they go to Hogwarts and it's so much fun watching them at this innocent stage.

I hope you don't remember this, but I actually reviewed one of your early stories rather too harshly, and most of what you've written since then hasn't really been to my taste, but this...the imagery here is fantastic! The prologue with the old woman...the way you described that scene, I could see it quite clearly in my head, and it was an outstanding way to introduce the story...excellent use of a prologue. The only small thing I would have to warn you about with the writing is that sometimes you get a little bogged down in the details, describing every small movement a character makes instead of just what he does, but sometimes that description is helpful, and it is the descriptive nature of your writing here that has me liking this story so much, so keep it up!

As someone else has already mentioned, you hint at Harry and Ginny (and hence Ginny and Ron) being the same age here (and I don't think I'm giving anything away to other readers if I mention that you verify this later on). You might want to take another pass at this beginning to make sure everything is clear. For example, if Ginny's crib is in the room with Arthur and Molly when the old woman visits, wouldn't Ron be there too? Just something I noticed when I re-read the prologue after getting a few chapters in.

I know you'll have to get SIYE caught up to where the story is on FF.net, but I'm seriously looking forward to the rest of this story being posted once I get caught up over there! Keep up the good work!



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2014.11.18 - 01:47AM Title: Prologue/Chapter 1: The Boy Who Dreamed

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Interesting beginning.
Looking forward to see where it goes.



Reviewer: KateP Signed Date: 2014.11.15 - 03:24PM Title: Prologue/Chapter 1: The Boy Who Dreamed

starstarstarstarstar

Good start and I like the changes you made maybe there is hope for Petunia I do wonder who she is talking to on the phone if it is someone from the magic world cannot wait for more to find out



Reviewer: hot48cricket Signed Date: 2014.11.15 - 12:48PM Title: Prologue/Chapter 1: The Boy Who Dreamed

starstarstarhalf-star

Very interesting.

You implied Ginny was the same age as Harry....so I hope this means they will be in the same year at Hogwarts!

Can't wait to find out who Petunia was talking to...



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2014.11.15 - 03:18AM Title: Prologue/Chapter 1: The Boy Who Dreamed

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Interesting start to the story
I look forward to seeing where you go from here :)




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear