Search:

SIYE Time:6:13 on 27th February 2017

Reviews For

Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.02.04 - 06:26PM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

It is quite unusual for me to review almost every chapter! I am enjoying the mounting complexity and the rising tension ... not to mention the increasing romance! Good work, this!

Author's Response:

Well, I certainly appreciate the nuanced tour back through the story. It had been a while since writing and receiving the bulk of reviews, so an opportunity to come back to it with a new reader's perspectives (and my own concurrent re-reading) has been fun.

Thus, my gratitude!



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.03.17 - 04:45PM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

I just read your AN from "Knife's Edge."

I assumed you had already read "The Unbreakable Vow" but seeing as you have not then yes I do recommend it. It was sitting in my favorite's list for a good year over at FF.net before I began to read it. The reason why is because it was AU. It was back when I tried to avoid it. Some stories snuck right on through though.

It is a good read in my opinion. It is not perfect. It does tend to bash some characters but not overly so. The bashing I can live with simply because they do not do it in a ridiculous way. The characters don't tend to act OOC. If anything the bashing all it really does is highlight some of their character features and doubles down on it.

For example we have Dumbledore who is very powerful but tends to keep things close to the chest and tends to focus on Harry and his destiny but sometimes he forgets the person and simply focuses on the war. Honestly it really isn't that much different from the Dumbledore in OotP.

If you are interested in reading it then I would suggest reading the one over at Fanfiction.net because it has a total of 37 chapters (not yet finished) and the one here in SIYE is only up to 30 chapters. Anyway, it is one of my favorite stories (read it like 4 times now) because we see Harry and Ginny escaping the Wizarding World (for good reason) and trying to live life amongst muggles. Of course sometimes destiny is a hard thing to walk away from.

Oh and no... I do not cheat and sift through the reviews or upcoming chapters. It would ruin my experience. :)

With the pace I have set for myself I think I will finish this story within a few days to a week.

Author's Response:

No, to be honest I had never actually heard of "The Unbreakable Vow" before you mentioned it. I'm now several chapters into fulfilling your recommendation and am enjoying it -- straight, clear narrative, somewhat similar to Northumbrian's, although not quite as polished as his best. Anyway, the fact that I hadn't heard of it is in part because I had never even heard of even the concept of HP Fanfic before I stumbled on Reis Macleod's "Ginny Weasley and the Half Blood Prince" in late 2013. From there, I have followed a grapevine embodied by Trinket lists, recommendations, and the 'favourites' list of some of my favourite authours. If a story hasn't availed itself within those limited lines of inquiry, I probably haven't heard of it, which is unfortunate because I'm certain that there are lots of great tales out there, buried by the year, and I may never stumble across them. Ironically, although Splinters has unquestionably been my most ambitious work, it runs the risk of being buried in that way too because it appears destined to be the first of my stories to never get Trinket consideration. Bad timing I guess -- the last round of Trinkets (some 8 months ago) was just a few weeks before I started posting the story. Anyway, at this point I don't care a whole lot about the recognition, as much as feeling that little pang when I stumble across some other authour's really great work that was never recognised and I think to myself, 'Cor, to think I'd never have know about this story if not for [insert chance occurrence here]. How may other gems have I been missing??'

Ah well.

And of course, no, I was fairly certain you had not been skipping ahead. You were on quite a prognostication roll, though, so I had to tweak you!

Anyway, appreciate the thoughts, perspectives and the recommendation!



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2016.03.17 - 03:34PM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

“I see noble hearts, Terna.” The princess gazed into a distant blue sky. “Imagine great souls — people such as us but kinder and nobler. Suppose that we have the power to grant them the chance to love and strive for goodness with a magnificent and pure passion. What if, in turning our backs upon them, we doom those great hearts to never beat? Imagine a frightful darkness rising up and pouring across the land simply because we denied the chance to those who would stop it.”

It is simply amazing how very perceptive the Princess really is to be able to understand so much with little to no guidance. It seems the Princess is more in tune with Ginny than the Publican is with Harry. Nevertheless he does listen when it is needed most. What I am still trying to figure out is what does that Staff or the wand the Queen has in her possession have to do with the Elder Wand and its allegiance to either Harry or Voldemort?

How does the past affect the present? Even if everything goes swell for the Publican and the Princess, the allegiance of the Elder Wand is really going to be decided by those in the future or present I should say. If I remember correctly the pivotal moment in DH was when Harry, Hermione, and Ron were taken to Malfoy Manor. That fight that Harry and Malfoy had was the most important fight of all. Had Harry lost that battle then the allegiance of the Elder Wand would never have shifted to him. He would have died in the Great Hall.

So...Harry and Ginny are on the right track here:

----

“There's something really really peculiar about those filthy pieces of wood, and… and…” Her neck stiffened. “And I'm scared that the Legate, or Malfoy, has already figured it out.”

Harry reached his arm about Ginny's waist and pulled her close again. “So, let's think about it. What goes into wands? What makes them work? What are the fundamental principles of wandlore? What could you do to bend those principles in strange, baffling ways?”

----

On another note... why didn't Hermione mention what she saw when she touched the brooch? I think it is something very important here. With the dream she had before out at sea and with the vision she saw, I feel Hermione might be more important to the story than I originally thought.

Author's Response:

Another fine review, thank you most sincerely for your expansive thoughts!

Yes, it is clear that Ginny and the princess have greater awareness of each other than do Harry and the Publican. Much of the reason for this is that Ginny has possession of the 1995 brooch, while the princess holds the A.D. 61 version of the same charmed object, although there is a secondary factor in play as well, which will become more apparent as the story progresses. As people close to Ginny/Lanossea, Harry and the Publican are swept along. Harry does derive a fair bit of perspective from the Publican, although the Publican is only weakly aware of Harry. Whether that is incidental or subtly fundamental is open to interpretation....

Regarding the staff vs. wand, and the ultimate implications to the Battle of Hogwarts, let me only say that there is a reason there are two instruments of power in the past.

I like the level of detail to which you apply to reasoning an eventual failure at the final battle; a most worthy theory, but not the one implemented by the authour. In DH, much thought is devoted to the adversarial motivations for the wand's allegiance, however Rowling herself has penned discussions of a second influence on the wand's behaviour (it would never truly work for anyone who was not prepared to face death) which suggests that the allegiance was more complex than Ollivander intuited in DH. In this dim light, perhaps there are other capricious influences upon the nasty little stick?

Finally, Hermione = important = too true! Why did Hermione not speak about the sea dream? I do not think she ever had any intention of withholding this, but I would assume that someone of her intellect would feel a certain reluctance to admit an experience that seemed so baffling and disconnected... We will see (indeed, given my regrettable delay in response) you have now already seen how that soon plays out.



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2015.12.14 - 05:55PM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

The Horse Head could only be a gargoyle in the treacherous hands of the Legate. Interesting detail. When Harry deflected the staff what became of it?

The awakening of (apparently) Hermione in the past as the previously muted sister? Curious this is, I am unsure of the path you have revealed in this regard, but you have my attention. I am wholly amused to the characterizations being alluded, even if unsure of the extent of the inspiration (as you have stated) affecting the actions directly or indirectly.

I am onboard for Beta reading or discussing the fine art of Obeah practice..hehe. If you feel the flummoxed messaging system will work to discuss the matter let me know.

Here's hoping for the staff to return to a proper controlling wielder...in non gargoyle form of course

Author's Response:

Ah yes, the queen actually ended up picking up the staff and running off with it. I should go back and check the passage to see if I made that clear enough -- it was difficult to produce highly lucid narrative there because I was writing from the point of view of someone who had just slammed his head into the paving stones...

Indeed, the staff will be there for the final showdown and will make it (eventually) into those predestined hands. Be prepared for a major twist first, though!

Hermione's path becomes much better elaborated in the next chapter (half way through draught). I say 'elaborated' rather than 'apparent' because the precise intersection with H&G will only become fully clear in time for the final climax.

Yes indeed -- over the next month or so I will approach you with an Obeah scenario. Shall try the accursed PM systerm, though perhaps neither of us have the juju to make that work.

Thank you very much for your thoughts and the offer!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.12.14 - 04:40PM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

I was just a few days away and almost missed an update. Moody was right. Constant vigilance is needed if you won't miss a splinter.
You promised that questions are starting to move toward answers. That wasn't a fib. But its starts very slowly. I fear that there are more questions than answers after that chapter, lol. Nevertheless, we had a challenging chapter again...with new roles in the game for Hermione and Sirius... and last but not least a still confused headmaster.
Many thanks for the quick updates.
Ah, yes, before I forget. The standard Caol Ila is very similar to Laphroaig, but slightly less smoky. At least this is my impression.

Author's Response:

Ah yes, I did get that last chapter out quite efficiently. Blink and you miss it :)

This chapter is taking a bit longer because of life cutting into my writing time so much recently, but after scrawling the first half of the new installment, I can indeed promise (just as you expect) more answers and more questions. The answers may be starting to overtake the questions, or at least the questions are starting to point in similar directions.

Thank you very much for the kind words and for the helpful tasting notes, Martin!



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2015.12.13 - 08:45PM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

I'm really very curious about what will happen to the Publican and the princess. I love that couple that is a proxy of HG, but is not the same thing. Their life expereience and the fact that they are from different people and ages make them quite another thing, but lovely all the same.

Author's Response:

I have to admit that my plan for the Publican's and princess's final outcome has oscillated a bit as I've written this, but I've finally settled on one that I believe best suits the rest of the story.

Yes indeed -- one thing that has been quite liberating is the fact that, although graced with many similarities to H&G, they are certainly very distinct people and are marked by differences in culture, age and life experience in ways more pronounced than Harry and Ginny. They are sort of an exceptionally 'alternate' example of AU in that respect. Another scenario that's fun to write!

Maybe that's what this story is all about -- writing things that are fun to write :)

Great gratitude for getting me caught up on the LunaGranger viewpoint. Thank you, and best wishes for your holiday season!



Reviewer: LysCsuri Signed Date: 2015.12.13 - 08:20AM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

Wow -- this story continues to amaze me! Do you write anywhere other than here? You could probably get a lot more feedback and exposure on a site like Booksie.

Anyway, the characters are wonderful and the plot intricacy is so unique and refined -- I'll be on pins and needles waiting to see how you wrap this all up.

Author's Response:

Wonderful that you're enjoying this so much Lys!

In truth, all of my writing besides this is non-fiction. Most is in print; I've contributed to a few blogs as well, but that's all likely immaterial since I doubt you'd enjoy it much. Regardless, thank you very much for the tip about Booksie -- looks like a good target for some fiction ideas I might start nurturing at some point.

Not yet though -- hard enough to find 10-15 hours per week to finish off the stories here, let alone ramp up on completely new projects.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.12.11 - 07:43PM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

Really enjoying this story. It is so incredibly unique to anything else I have read. Harry and Ginny are clinging to one another in a very healthy way, and I am glad to see that Hermione is handling the situation well. I am thinking she will have an important role to play since she seems to be having dreams of the sister. What is the queen doing now? And, I am so happy that Sirius is involved once again. Looking forward to reading the next chapter.

Author's Response:

Very flattering words -- thank you MollyandArthur!

There are times when 'uniqueness' is a sword with its edge facing the wrong way; you may recall my note (way back in August) saying that I was fairly uncertain about launching the story in the first place. Luckily and most gratifyingly, that worry has long since been assuaged!

There's no question that the story has its disorienting moments, but I think you've hit upon why most readers have tolerated that -- the fact that Harry and Ginny have always been there to anchor each other through the worst turmoil, thus giving readers the okay to read on. I doubt I could have gotten away with this, otherwise :)

And yes, there will be validation for Miss Granger. This is not a story where she is not consigned to ridicule or even to playing a ho-hum secondary role. This tortuous journey still has some turns ahead, and perhaps the twistiest of all is set right upon her path.

Next chapter? Ah yes -- someone needs to appease the god of 'meetings' and get him to lay off for a while so I can get my writing done. Soon, hopefully!

Thanks again, M&A!



Reviewer: gracepark Signed Date: 2015.12.11 - 08:24AM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

So let me get this straight -- Hettie Gravener and Rob Wilsey? There's surely an interesting story there somewhere! I wonder what their dangerous adventure is?

I think I's finally guessing what the splinters might be, but much much still left to guess.

Yes, I agree with the others that Sirius is a great personality to throw into the mix, and having him working with Hermione is super fun!

Author's Response:

Yes, those indeed are the names, and I would like to think that there really is an interesting story there, although not for SIYE. I will definitely share at least those glimpses of their tale that relate to Harry and Ginny though. Stay tuned!

And verily, another Sirius lover -- you people are all over the place :)

Thank you for keeping up with the story and dropping the kind words!



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2015.12.10 - 09:37AM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

Well well well, what a fascinating chapter this is!
So Boudica will continue to travel the path that history has set for her, and the Publican and Lanossea will continue for the sake of Harry and Ginny...
I find it very curious and ironic that Hermione is now receiving dreams and Helanua having seemingly awoken from her living death/trance
I thoroughly loved the inclusion of Sirius in this chapter too
Can't wait to read on! :)

Author's Response:

Ah, you're the first reviewer to refer to Hermione and Heanua in the same sentence! Possibly not the last.

Lots of favourable comments about Sirius -- I'll have to give him a larger role in future tales.

I guess I should mention that the queen will be around again when everything comes to a crux, but yes indeed, her rebellion will fail just as Tacitus requires it to. I had to smile at one blogger who noted that she is a rare person to have had a great statue erected in her honour in the very community that she burned to the ground and pillaged mercilessly. A most capable, articulate and notable personality, but perhaps not the sort of lady one would invite over for tea :)

Thank you again GW777 for everything you do!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 11:55PM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Appreciating both the weaving of your story...and your prompt updates!

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for the positive feedback, Aragorn! The story's pace has benefited from a bit of chronic insomnia that I've simply decided to stop fighting. I might have to stretch the lag-time a little for the final few chapters since they are very intricate, but the story remains a key part of my regular routine. At this point, as a matter of swimming with the current, I will likely defer Trix until this one wraps up (sorry Aimless & LunaGranger!)

Also greatly heartened that the story weave has entrapped you! Challenging but gratifying little beast, this story has been!



Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 11:05PM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

Well... Attendance to Duty has, IIRC, been a Roman virtue.

I rather enjoyed Sirius's parts in this. It's quite a shame that we really didn't get much of a chance to experience anything close to his full potential in Canon.

So... Hermione is (also) getting a vision or two...? Interesting...!

Hmm... yes; if a wand chooses the wizard (or witch), it seems plausible that the same would hold true (though likely with a magnified effect) for a staff.

The familial interaction surrounding Ron's appointment as Prefect was also nicely done.

And yes -- ref. the chapter title: it is quite interesting that Heanua appears to have emerged from her near-catatonia.

Author's Response:

I'm glad that you enjoyed the Prefect scene. I've been looking forward for some time to that rewrite of canon, with the idea of a light-hearted and reasonably supportive banter that would reflect all of the characters having shifted a bit from their canonical positions. Like everything in this story, though, it has a dual purpose, playing toward other currents that are subtly sweeping toward the climax.

Yes, Hermione's role continues to expand. Her recent prior decision to voluntarily withdraw from the cognoscenti is what grade school English teachers might refer to as 'irony' ;) The question I would pose for consideration, is why she should get wrapped up this? Unlike Harry and Ginny, she does not have an AD 61 doppelganger (bushy-haired know-it-all) running around. She is not part of some 'love knows no bounds; neither space nor time' scenario. She had vowed not to interfere or even try to comprehend the strange temporal dynamic, yet...?

And there's Sirius, of course. Crowd pleaser; fun to write. I suppose I understand reasons why Rowling killed him off, but there are plenty of reasons why it's great to have him around.

Anyway, thank you most kindly or your comments, David! You can expect a bit more enlightenment and confusion in chapter 13!



Reviewer: KateP Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 05:50PM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

Yay new chapter the whole mione part of this took me by surprise that was a twist that made me change a few things in my mind

Glad to see more Sirius and his interaction was fun him calling mione granger all the time I can almost see her pulling her hair out at that lol

Author's Response:

Change a few things in your mind, indeed! The PM you sent me revealed just how many of the twistier turns you've now navigated. I wonder how many others will see things in a slightly new light?

And I agree wholeheartedly -- just because, Hermione has discovered 'her inner Slytherin' (as another reviewer so eloquently put it) does not mean that working with someone as irreverent and impetuous as Sirius will be 'easy' for her. Methinks there might be room for silliness in that interaction before the curtain falls.

Great comments -- thank you for spicing up the reviews page, Kate!



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2015.12.09 - 10:42AM Title: Sister Awakening

starstarstarstarstar

Now Hermione is having visions, too? Curiouser and curiouser! The battle was exciting, even if it did open up more questions. I wonder what the Queen is up to now, what's going on with the staff and how much longer they can avoid Dumbledor's interference? Can't wait for the next update.

Author's Response:

Yes indeed, three is not always a crowd. From the very outset, I was semi-conscious of a certain plot wrinkle that would be very difficult to smooth based on merely two protagonists. I think that's why so authours tend to 'triangulate'. It took a bit of time (and crowd-sourced character development) to pencil Hermione into the strong supporting role, but I think my plans for her were starting to gel by around chapter 4 or 5.

As to the queen's future, I think at this point it is safe to answer some earlier questions and say that her fate is now sealed. She will now walk down the path that our history has recorded -- a tale of riven complexities that would have been great fodder for Shakespeare, had he ever needed another tragedy.

The staff and Dumbledore's interference, though, shall be secrets under lock and key for a while longer.

Thank you most kindly, fellow writer, for your kind thoughts!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear