Search:

SIYE Time:0:03 on 24th January 2017

Reviews For

Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.01.14 - 11:25AM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Ginny’s sufferings of almost ten years, written between the lines of this chapter, haunted me a few nights now. I realized that I was so agitated that I didn't grasp all details of the story correctly. Hence I decided to read again from the beginning.

The Malfoys act the way it is expected from them. What shocked me much more was Arthur's behaviour. As an honourable man, he would've gone to prison instead of selling his daughter to Death Eaters, or simply disappeared with his whole family. He's a dishonourable, spineless man.

Is it terrible of me that it would be even worse for me if Ginny had married Malfoy voluntarily? I'd have stopped reading right in the middle of the chapter.


Author's Response: Yes, he is spineless. I would never voluntarily put Draco with Ginny.



Reviewer: smokeylovegood Signed Date: 2017.01.12 - 05:20PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

I will be honest and say that I normally wouldn't go near a story that has Ginny paired with Draco (for any reason), but made an exception because I like your stories. I also felt I had to review because of the nastiness (and downright vitriol) in some other reviews. Had I simply read the summary ad was not familiar with the author, I would not have read it. If the warnings and authors note (sorry, but as a standard issue and not special snowflake, I don't need coloring books and fear the continued wimpification of America as the rest of the world mocks us) indicated topics that I couldn't handle, I wouldn't read the story.
You were beyond polite in responding to reviews that were nasty of the sake of it. Kudos to you for that.

When I see a story line I don't like, I don't read. When I see poor grammar and misspelled words in a summary, I know the story will be full of the same. I don't, instead, read the story and complain about it.

Yes, this was also a rant, but one to show that I back your willingness to go a bit outside your comfort zone and try something different. Generally, I don't love super AU stories, but they do tend to require a bit more creativity.

I do have one question, though. In a couple of stories, I have seen this idea of survivors (or in this case parents) being held responsible for another's debt and don't really see how this is possible. Of course, you did manage to twist Madam Bones to see where some of this could happen.

Keep being creative and maybe update Realizations?


Author's Response: Thank you so much! I appreciate the support. I did know going in not as many people would like this story, so I really appreciate you giving it a try. My thoughts about the debts - Percy ran up the debt and Malfoy bought up the outstanding loan on the Burrow leading to a large amount due. Malfoy intentionally set them up with an eye to blackmailing them to allow Ginny to marry Draco. She could have refused as it wasn't her debt, but being the dutiful daughter, she agreed to marry Draco so they wouldn't go to prison. I know that people don't go to prison for debt, but they used to and the wizarding world seems rather old fashioned.



Reviewer: CharmHazel Signed Date: 2017.01.11 - 04:17PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstarstarstarstar

Already reviewed over on FF.net, but, I will just say again I am loving this story more than I thought I would.

Author's Response: Thanks so much!



Reviewer: parakletos Signed Date: 2017.01.11 - 03:24PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

I thought I'd review here because of some of the reviews you have received here.

I can understand people saying that its not their thing and wishing you good luck, but some reviewers don't appear to have read the story. I skim read the first chapter I appear to have picked up ore than they did. One thing I do hope the story brings is some payback for Ginny's parents as they have acted in a completely cowardly way. Percy isn't much better.

Good luck, SIYE isn't the kindest of places if Draco is allowed anywhere Ginny.



Author's Response: Thanks so much! I must say I didn't expect such angry responses to my story - especially when some don't seem to have read it. Oh well, thanks again!



Reviewer: jojo99 Signed Date: 2017.01.11 - 03:10PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstarstarstarstar

I know I have reviewed at FFN but I just felt the need to do so here to after reading other reviews. Your writing is great and I know that with you Harry and Ginny will be together. Yes it is horrible that Ginny is with Draco but life is like that sometimes. We can't always have things the way we want them especially when money is involved - which is what has unfortunately happened for the Weasleys here. I'm really looking forward to Draco getting his comeuppance. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you are enjoying the story. Thanks for the support and double reviews.



Reviewer: Inquisitor Signed Date: 2017.01.10 - 07:36PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

I'm not calling you an idiot. I apologize if you feel that way though.

If you had explained your AU upfront, then I would have gone into that rant in the first place.

Author's Response: Thank you



Reviewer: Inquisitor Signed Date: 2017.01.10 - 05:57PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

Of course it's a massive stretch, unless you rewrite the last two years significantly.

But if you stick with canon events, then please consider following facts:

The canon Battle of Hogwarts was a decisive victory in which a large amount of Death Eaters and their Ministry minions were killed, including their main boss.

Harry carried a huge intimidation factor with him by killing Voldemort

Most Ministry employees sucked when it came to combat magic, most of them couldn't even cast a decent shield spell? (HBP)

Harry and his friends now commanded the most powerful military force in magical Britain, including hundreds of battle hardened teenagers, grim veterans of the Order, and enraged parents of tortured Hogwarts students. Furthermore, wronged Muggleborns and other segments of the population would swell their ranks easily by hundreds, if not thousands.

The Ministry, on the other hand, was nothing but an empty and spent force after the Battle. It lied completely at the mercy of Harry and his friends. If you ever bother to read history about civil wars, the least the losers faced was to lose their fortune and political influence.

To think that losers could screw over winners of a civil war so badly was utterly ridiculous and outlandish.

Author's Response: This is AU there is no DA and the final battle was at Little Hangelton. The students weren't tortured and for the most part stayed out of the war - as is all explained in the first chapter. Harry never attended Hogwarts. Voldemort was defeated along with his Death Eaters. Fudge held onto his office long enough to help Malfoy out. I imagine Malfoy had all sorts of plans to evade prison. I do understand that you don't like the story or the premise, that is fine I didn't expect everyone to like it. Please feel free not to read it. There is no need for so condescendingly calling me an idiot.



Reviewer: Inquisitor Signed Date: 2017.01.10 - 01:00PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

half-star

If the Weasleys had the courage to fight at Battle of Hogwarts, it would be completely ridiculous to assume they would do that.

As the winning side of a brutal civil war, the winner had to sell their only beloved daughter into slavery to a loser?

Are you kidding me?

Author's Response: Sorry you didn't enjoy it. I see the Ministry as quite corrupt and the Death Eaters easily filtered back into society. After the first war Harry was dumped on the doorstep of an unloving family member and the Longbottoms were tortured into insanity. I thought it wasn't a huge stretch.



Reviewer: DoubleDeuce Signed Date: 2017.01.10 - 01:11AM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstar



RAPE --RAPE--Non consensual sex is Rape

RAPE by any politically correct name youm want to give it is still RAPE.

It is RAPE--Vouilent, ugly, brutal, RAPE.

Why do you soft soap it,

Scram loudly what it really is RAPE-RAPE-RAPE

Author's Response: I do have rape listed as one of the cautions for the story as well. I tried to cover all my bases and listed rape, abuse, domestic violence, and non-consensual sex so that whoever was reading the story would know what the subject matter is. In the story it is referred to as rape. I don't believe I made it seem inconsequential nor did I dismiss it as no big deal.



Reviewer: Birlan Signed Date: 2017.01.09 - 08:08PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstarstarstarstar

Quite a beginning. The idea that the Malfoys and other DEs would avoid punishment and keep their position makes sense in the poorly run wizarding society. The Weasleys allowing the sale of their daughter is disturbing but I presume that they hoped/expected that Ginny would be treated better than she was.

Thanks and I look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Yes, I've never been impressed with the way the wizarding world is run. It seems to me that the Wizengamot is full of old purebloods. Hope you enjoy it.



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2017.01.09 - 07:30PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstar

I am sorry I don't like this plot, i also have rule that I wont read any author that make pairing Ginny with Draco. Don't matter the reason

Author's Response: Not a problem I knew not everyone would like it. Thanks for reviewing.



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2017.01.09 - 07:10PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstarstarstarstar

Ugh. Sorry but I wont be reading this fic. It is nothing against YOU personally but I really dislike these types of fics. I read up to here but this is probably as far as I will go. I like dark stuff normally but not like this.

Good luck to you and thank you for still finding the time to write something even if it is this.

I hope that you still have the energy and motivation to do other stories as well.

Author's Response: Totally understand, I knew it wouldn't be for everyone. Thanks for giving it a try,



Reviewer: decdraft Signed Date: 2017.01.09 - 06:50PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstarstarstarstar

Poor poor Ginny! This is a different plot....but I think in the end when there is a HEA and Draco gets his comeuppance I am going to love this story. Looking forward to the next chapter

Author's Response: This is definitely different for me. Draco will get his comeuppance - don't worry.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2017.01.09 - 06:33PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstarstarstar

I think I will reserve judgement on this one 'till I see where it is going. It seems a little implausible at the moment.

Author's Response: I know. Thanks for giving it a try.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2017.01.09 - 05:01PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstarstarstar

This is definitely different for you. I usually don't like this kind of fic and it frankly almost made me physically ill to read what happened to Ginny, especially having kids thru violent means! I can't fathom that the Malfoy's wouldn't be in Azkaban. I hope this gets better in a hurry because so far it's really depressing! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: I know and I know it won't be to everyone's taste. The Malfoy's didn't end up in Azkaban after the first war so in this they didn't after the second war. It will be explained a little, but basically if they aren't caught red-handed they didn't go to prison. I think it does get better, Harry comes in the next chapter and they meet.



Reviewer: Prongs I Signed Date: 2017.01.09 - 03:28PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Yikes, it was unexpected and cowardly how the Weasleys sold her only daughter to the Malfoys. It sounds even worse than the death penalty.
I'm curious to know how well-known Death Eaters can have such free reign although Voldemort’s is defeated. Obviously, Voldemort's death hasn't changed much in the Wizarding World.


Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, the Weasleys are a bit cowardly in this one. Many of the Death Eaters managed to blend back into the woodwork after the first war so I imagine it would be the same after the second war. There will be a bit more about it in the next chapter or two.



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2017.01.09 - 03:10PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstarstarstarstar

Great start! I'm reading on the other site but I'm terrible for reviewing on there. This is an interesting situation that I don't think I've read before so I'm really looking forward to seeing how it goes. :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Oddly enough the plot came to me while I was reading a Regency Romance.



Reviewer: Lokken Signed Date: 2017.01.09 - 03:08PM Title: Chapter 1 The Price of Victory

starstarstarstarstar

Review on FFnet!

Author's Response: Thanks! I really hope those Voodoo dolls go away soon.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear