Search:

SIYE Time:3:55 on 28th May 2018

Reviews For

Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.14 - 02:28AM Title: Voices

starstarstarstarstar

And the fog begins to lift. I have a feeling that I must have missed a section that had a conflict between Hattie and Dunbar, unless she is simply speculating about events from her past we have yet to read! I’m growing perilously closer to a decision tore-read everything from scratch before the task becomes too onerous to consider ... not that reading your work is ever anything other than pleasant and rewarding! God, I hate feeling confused.

Author's Response:

Hey again! Please see my suggestion in reply to your prior comment. Also, have you ever read Finnegan's Wake, or other loosely associative work like that? This is perhaps a bit similar. It is a mystery, but it is not Hercules Poirot where every detail snaps into place within a logical framework. Rather it is like backward footage of a vase shattering -- everything in utter disarray, gradually back propagation towards a set of associations that all revert to coherence in the end.

What was it I said about 'fiendish'?

Anyway, the quick answers are that Hettie has no recollection of ever having met Dunbar, but is acutely aware that he obliviated her and her family and sent them off to New Zealand for their protection. Thus, she feels as though she was stripped of her magical birth rite, without ever being given a choice. Hence, she is a little torqued.

Also, I didn't reply to your earlier comment about Ginny / Gemina / Annisgwyl. They do not have all the answers, and they are not working all together, but they are starting to grasp each other's stakes in a share journey and that will help to bring them along to what will ultimately be coherent action.

Anyway, my best wishes for a full return to health. Take care, my friend!



Reviewer: CoffeeGuy Signed Date: 2018.01.31 - 05:25PM Title: Voices

starstarstarstarstar

Fascinating collection of person-to-person exchanges! Compelling characters make a story a real pleasure even if I have no guesses how the different threads will pull together.

Author's Response: Thank you again (again)! Dialogue is fun, and so is the process of crafting unique voices. It's a bit of a challenge, but given one basic thought to communicate and five different characters, chances are pretty good (especially in the English language) that you will get five different sentences. The key is making sure that the right person speaks the right sentence. Anyway, I appreciate the feedback, good or bad!



Reviewer: AuntieMuriel Signed Date: 2017.12.08 - 02:55AM Title: Voices

starstarstarstarstar

Oh dearie, methinks the Granger lass isn't as smart as I was told. All she has to do is to head to young Minerva’s office to get her old time turner, and if the Potter lad would finally move his arse, the two of them could save young Ginevra in no time at all.

Did Rita get in touch with you? She told me that she's still busy promoting Dumbledore’s biography.


Author's Response:

An excellent point about the time turner! The most clear answer as to why Hermione didn't ransack the Headmaster/Headmistress office looking for said turner is the same as in canon, which can be paraphrased roughly as 'I dunno'."

As a revisionist, though, I am going to write a little more about this, and say that prior to things (very recently) going topsy turvy, Hermione would not yet have felt a need to meddle in time. And now that things are so royally muddled, she probably astutely realises that another hand jimmying the time-works might have wildly unpredictable consequences. So perhaps in this respect, she is making a wise choice.

Beyond that, however, I do agree that under these extenuating circumstances, Hermione is not the ascendant cerebral star one might hope for. She and Hettie have a synergy that is cracking away at clue-generation, but ultimately Hermione herself has not had the chance to look like a true genius. My omniscient crystal ball does tell me that she will be recognised, in the end, for the heroic Gryffindor that she is, though.

Yes, pedantic pedestrian Potter plods along with one eye on the watch. He's fiddled away an hour, and has half of one left. Will he rise to the occasion?? Time (i.e., about 28 minutes, or a couple months, depending on your timepiece) will tell... ;)

Rita has not yet returned my owl. I believe she's putting in OT on the holiday party circuit. Some vindictive barkeep has published a recipe for mixing Martini's using Ogden's Special Reserve, and our enterprising documentarian is spending far too much time munching on little olives. I may have to wait until after New Year's to try again. Or else I might need to crash some of those parties she's, apparently, also crashing...

Thank you very kindly for my weekly dash of reality, Auntie M!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2017.12.08 - 12:20AM Title: Voices

starstarstarstarstar

A few reads (current-preview-current) in, and after reviewing some of the reviews and comments etc.

Are we to assume in the now present, yet past in comparison to the first go around with the parallel world of doppelgangers) that Harry(would he be Harry...perhaps Gary Dodder?) is still? dead or gone or in some other way unavailable to show up to Vesuvius with Rob and Hettie? Hettie once again finds herself going toward an explosive situation....even if she is gonna have to past life or time travel....

A sleek black satin glove — exciting, sexy, wicked, dangerous, tantalising...

A throw back to Splinters....or is it a cross over? This seems like a mid introspective cliffie. Shades of 2015.

Confunded? Well, isn't that half the fun? It is like a mantra. Huhhh?Hunnnhh?Huuuuuuh.. But it's alright, I just go hang out with Auclair and Duffman in those moments. Now, six chapters into the sequel the death of Achaius really hurts. That's Ok, then I remember we are also hanging out with those from 79 AD, so it all balances out in the long run.

Yeah looking forward to the next installment. :)


Author's Response:

Hmmm... There are a fair number of your musings that I think are best addressed with a single response, so let me do so in this lead paragraph. Yes, Hettie and Rob are (half-blindly) leading the charge toward an explosive situation. Henry (a.k.a., Hal) Paulter does not play any real role in this eruption, though you may meet him some day. However, even if Paulter makes no appearance on Vesuvius, it does not mean that Hettie and Rob will feel particularly 'lonely' up there :) More, at this point, I shall not say.

Re-reading your other comments tempts me to respond further, but I'd better not.

Really.

Thank you very much for re(re)reading, and offering so many thoughts that I find so difficult to not comment on! ;)



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.12.06 - 03:11AM Title: Voices

Shame on me! I misplaced the latest alpha-preview version, and when I re-read the preview of FoT a couple of days ago, there was no Ginny-Gemina-journey, hence I'd completely forgotten about that part. Shame on me! ...and now I'm counting the hours to the next update. (Although I've found and re-read the misplaced version meanwhile, and I enjoyed it as much as the first time. Thanks for reminding me.)

Author's Response:

Ah yes -- no shame in any of that. Lot's of concepts and versions to be juggling! Thank you for reading... and re-reading!



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2017.12.05 - 05:38PM Title: Voices

starstarstarstarstar

I read your summary and wasn't quite eager to read it. It seemed too angsty. But then I realised which story it was a sequel of. It is really great, although a bit confusing to follow all the intertwined tales. but that's not a problem, on the contrary, it makes the story more interesting.

Author's Response:

Angsty? Yes, the story really was supposed to be that way! Certainly the first chapter was, however I think I may be physically incapable of sustaining angst for long. Thomas Hardy I am not...

Confusing? Now that is something I CAN sustain. And thus, about all I can hope for in readers is people who *enjoy* being confused, puzzled... flummoxed, if you will. I am greatly fortunate to be able to include you in that list of tolerant readers :)

Thank you very much for the review, Silvia!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.12.05 - 05:27PM Title: Voices

starstarstarstarstar

Annisgwyl certainly is rather impetuous! Traianius was correct to have her followed. I wonder what her escort will think of her little escapade. I'm also curious about her meeting with Antioch. Can he actually be trusted at all? I suppose the next chapter will give me a clue as to his character at this particular period of time. Hettie is a marvelous character! She is so bright, so curious, so determined, and never stops thinking! I suspect she will be vital to fixing the mess they find themselves in at the moment. And, since I'm reviewing this backwards, that takes us to the search for Harry and the search for Ginny. Perhaps it's a bit foolish, but I must admit I feel more positive for the simple fact that they are now so focused on their stated goals. Greatly looking forward to your next chapter!

Author's Response:

Impetuous indeed -- I believe she gets that from her mother :) However, beyond that the similarities fray. Lanossea was raised as a warrior in a sizeable community, whereas Annisgwyl was a dutiful daughter in a reclusive family. And thus, perhaps, Annisgwyl has less real savvy when it comes to dealing with difficult and/or dangerous people.

It is definitely a worthy question to wonder about the escort. Stay tuned.

Yes, I think Hettie's won me over too. I'm very fond of my various incarnations of Ginny and Harry, of course, but I always kind of feel like I want to keep their characters within certain safe limits (considering this is a HG site), whereas Hettie represents freedom, and freedom means fun. Anyway, this is kind of her story, as due reward for having willingly sacrificed so much in Splinters.

I believe your faith in Harry and Hermione (and perhaps also Ron too now) is justified. The path remains twisty, but next chapter holds something symbolically important for this plotline.

Wow, great review -- thank you Kimberly!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2017.12.05 - 02:15PM Title: Voices

starstarstarstarstar

Well this was a fun chapter! Glad we got to see Ginny is alive somewhere! Enjoyed her face to face encounter with Gemina "Hey You" Wilsey, who may just be her alter ego! At least Ginny hasn't forgotten Harry! Wonder what Hermoine would think if her last name was Gravener? Does that mean there are also Longbuttons and Likegoods in Wilseyworld as well? (I stand corrected - Lawnnbarton). I don't recall Moldyshorts plan every being referred to using the term "odious manifesto", but I lke it! Is it just me or is there a lot of flummoxing in this story? While reading this chapter I suddenly got the feeling I was in a scene from the muggle movie, "The Wizard of Oz", but I couldn't tell if I was in Munchkinland or the field of poppies! I do know it was definitely somewhere over the rainbow! Just for kicks, I'm going to pencil in that Dunbar is Dumbledore and Rob is Ron! Hettie is clearly an otherworldly Hermoine! Strange, but when you mentioned nearly 100 leagues down the road from Rome, I had a flashback to Jules Verne's "20000 Leagues Under the Sea"! They didn't by any chance travel on the Nautilus did they? Would love to know what you were sipping on when you wrote this chapter?! I gladly admit that while writing this review, I was sipping on 2 fingers of Glenlivet 12 yr old scotch - on the rocks! As usual, you've left me salivating for the next chapter! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response:

Indeed, I think you've matched things up pretty well! One modest correction is that the blonde Ravenclaw of Wrackspurt fame is (in the alternate-AU) named Lucy Lovelace. I have checked and confirmed that she is no relation, whatsoever, to a 1970's era American 'entertainer'.

Field of poppies would be my preference but, yes, there is a degree of 'Oz'-iness to this. And in saying that, I wasn't actually thinking of the homeland of the sometimes-mentioned Olivia Newton John.

Over the rainbow -- I like that image. Don't be surprised to see it make its subtle return.

Fascinating that you should come up with an under-water image. No nautilus in any of this, but do think back to that image later in the story!

I actually kept my brain cells fairly unintoxicated during the whole drafting part of this chapter, however some cider id play a role in the editing. Two fingers of Glenlivet would go well, though some cognac might have done best for the Gaullois segments earlier in the story.

I think Hettie would find the label 'otherworldly' perfectly amusing. Hermione, less so. Though, with Hermione's legendary love of calligraphy, I think she might do okay with having the 'Gravener' alter-ego.

Liquor, literature, movie and occupation... not a bad circuit through culture! Thank you, as always, for helping me re-examine everything through the bottom of an empty tumbler!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2017.12.05 - 08:06AM Title: Voices

starstarstarstarstar

Brrr, always the little cliffies in the middle of a chapter. You can proudly call yourself the inventor of the multi-cliffie chapters, lol. I wonder if Gemina will ask Ginny what her Harry Potter looks like, and if she'll recognize him.

Anyway, all the introspections make me feel like they’ll soon be followed by concrete actions. It's almost like a game of chess, move by move, the pieces are taking their planned starting position, the final battle will soon begin. Who will ride the first attack?

Was Annisgwyl's visit to her half-brother already the beginning? I reckon it was just another move to reach her starting position.

I suppose all the insights the previews offered are used up now. I don't regret that everything from here on will be new.


Author's Response:

Ah. This illustrates the difference between eager reader and devious writer -- that which is a cliffie to the former is (to writer) the summit of one challenge that leads to a glimpse of the next. All a matter of perspective. Okay, maybe it's just evil ;)

So the introspective journey comes hand-in-hand with physical journey. The question, in both cases, is when does one reach the next destination? In the cases of Hettie/Rob, and for Annisgwyl, there are semi-important increments in the next chapter. For Harry/Hermione/Ron, one might call it an 'important' increment, but by no means the last. Ginny and Gemina have some wandering left to do before they start hitting milestones but, as I recall from alpha-previewing, you rather enjoyed their journey :)

Speaking of which, because the chapter structures are shifting a little from the earlier draft, you still have some semi-familiar material to see before things become completely new.

Thank you for sharing your ever-helpful thoughts, Martin!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear