Search:

SIYE Time:3:56 on 28th May 2018

Reviews For

Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.16 - 03:33AM Title: Fire and Water

starstarstarstarstar

The imagery is beautiful, especially the cleansing, purification of living water administered and shared with such purity of love. Youíve done a lovely job with a well-honed topic! I canít wait to move into the next chapter!

Author's Response:

An ever so slightly 'mushy' way to escape from a harrowing fate, perhaps, and if something like that happened in Hollywood the critics might accuse the director of meddling with a harsh ending... but after quite a bit of personal wrangling over precisely to best tie up the plot tangles, that won out resoundingly for me.

Very gratified that a lot of commenters shared my wavelength on that!



Reviewer: CoffeeGuy Signed Date: 2018.02.27 - 05:55PM Title: Fire and Water

starstarstarstarstar

Fascinating alt-characters. They're very 'human' -- Hettie trying desperately to remember and communicate the strange information she was given; Gemina struggling to hold it together when the world itself seems to be breaking her down. Both situations pull at the heart strings. I see why you brought them back for another round after Splinters!

Author's Response:

Thank you! In all honesty, I have done my best to avoid super-hero magnitude characters throughout Splinters and Fires. Even Gemina has human frailties, and each of the others face weakness and uncertainty. There are a fair number of fanfic stories where the top protagonists have truly superior traits, but Rowling basked in the human condition and, in many of my stories, I try to at least partially emulate the model.

In any case, I'm very heartened that you recognised the struggle and sacrifice. Such 'character' strength I admire much more the ascendant physical or magical powers.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.02.23 - 08:01AM Title: Fire and Water

starstarstarstarstar

Intense chapter! From the fear and fire at the beginning to the purification in the calm, cool water at the end, I enjoyed every scene. I'm also glad Harry and Ginny were able to have some time alone indulging in a bit of affection. They undoubtedly needed it! Brilliant Hettie said just enough to tip off Harry, and Gemina is quite simply a force of nature unparalleled :)

Author's Response:

A wonderful encapsulation of what I very much hoped the chapter would convey. Thank you, and I'm very gratified you enjoyed it!

Now how to figure the best way of presenting the last 1.5 (could be 1; could be 2) chapters.



Reviewer: Prongs I Signed Date: 2018.02.22 - 02:05PM Title: Fire and Water

starstarstarstarstar

Great story, a bit like three-dimensional chess, each player has 30 seconds to make his move, 5 seconds less for each following move.
However, some fields of the chessboard seem to be invisible, and some pieces tend to change its colour. It's wicked, isn't it?
I like the name of the chapter, Firewater.

Author's Response:

What a spectacular analogy! For the vast majority of chess players (myself included) one is often far into the match before one has a real sense of how it will end up, and frequently it's rather difficult to project more than a couple moves ahead. The same, obviously, is true for this story, in that the best one can do is retrospectively see how one got to this point.

Firewater -- good one! That hadn't occurred to me, though a good splash of the hard stuff is probably not a bad idea. I do suspect I've driven a few readers to drink ;)

Well, thank you very much for livening up the review page!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.02.21 - 04:57PM Title: Fire and Water

starstarstarstarstar

By the artist's rendering of that non-burly bovine:)... time, space and chance have criss-crossed us to...this place?...or is it that place? What a journey, truly.

Melancholy I feel for the Druid, summoned back, for his trek of existence. Although summoning a man of such great, if not terrible, destiny like that could bring a seven fold curse for Tom...hmm...seven Horcruxes... I guess that means the proclamation at the end of Splinters was not merely rumour and innuendo. Once, and again and again through the lake for the bringer of death.

Three resurrection stones, two into burned bacon crispies, and then there was One.

H&G's arrival, the lake that burns the impurities away, yet soothes. Fair Lanossea, fated Publican, ancestral connections. Gemini as an escort, interesting.

Gemina's force fading away, while spectral Harry remains. A couple placeholders, so to speak, I wonder. Ginny did notice the RoR on her way to the Lady, will the turn around offer her a chance to revisit. Watery flames, reborn.

The lake is above it seems, with the stars and wanderers. The aether of...something within a somewhere, sometimes.

The hints were there within reads and reviews. Coolness, indeed. Gives new meaning to quenching the thirst.



Author's Response:

Yes, some wild, woolly wandering! We've very nearly sorted everyone to their proper stations, though, so the journeys are almost done.

True, that the Druid has wound down a troubled existence. Or has he? In any case, just like the Duff(s) in Splinters, he sought to heal the chaos of his impetuous younger days, and he gloried in mending the most frightful messes. Perhaps, a bit like Loki, that was what he lived for. I am still curious about the inspired analogy to Solomon, though, who was less of a mischief-maker. I need to think more about that, as it could be a fascinating back-story.

'Gemini'! Verily, for that is what A&I are -- true and through!

And, as you will very soon learn, your use of the word 'placeholder' is exceptionally apt. The true participant list for the Forbidden Forest battle is about to be finalised. Finally.

A wonderful set of conclusions -- thank you!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.02.21 - 02:02PM Title: Fire and Water

starstarstarstarstar

So now we have two Elderwands, or is it two Wands of Destiny? Even Molyshorts is confused! And there's that pesky crevasse again! So we appear to have 3 resurrection stones which apparently triggered the volcano(is it Versuvius?) to finally erupt(but in which time frame?) Apparently Harry, Ginny and Cadmus made it out but now you've left us to worry about Rob and Hettie and her compact! Do you suppose Malflunky and the other Deathkibblers figured out their loyalty to Tom Twiddle may have been misplaced when he left them to deal with the lava - maybe? While reading this chapter, I got an odd feeling I was in an episode of the old Saturday morning TV series, "Land of the Lost"(which could be a good alternate title for this story)! But Rick, Will and Holly Marshall only had to deal with a falling raft, a small ape named Chaka who couldn't pronounce Holly's name, a T-Rex named Grumpy, their own volcano and weird creatures called Sleestak! Pretty tame compared to the mess all our heroes and heroines are dealing with in multiple timelines! Come to think of it, Moldyshorts does kind of resemble a Sleestak! Okay I'm confused again - is Harry(Greeny) with Gemina or with Ginny? I don't blame Harry for not being sure of where they are or what he saw - I'm not sure where I've been or what I've seen reading this thing! So, with Harry having lost his scar, it seems we are on the presipice of a stunning and exciting conclusion to this tantalizing tale! Hope those red-glowing clouds aren't from the volcano, which wouldn't be likely in England, or something more ominous! ! And dang it, you still didn't let Harry and Ginny share a snog! Only thing to do is toast this chapter with a margarita made with DonJulio 1942 Limited-Edition Anejo Tequila - on the rocks no salt - with nachos! Cheers! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D


Author's Response:

Ah yes. Elder Wand / Wand of Destiny. I suspect that Moldysnorts would prefer the grander sounding name.

That is indeed a good question about the Vesuvian eruption. Given the gist of my earlier chat with Martin, the action could have occurred in either the 1998 or A.D. 78 time. My money is on the ancient timeline, given that the August time frame is in line with the big Pompeii / Herculaneum bashing blast, and also given that it is the ancient folks who have been hearing all of the tremors throughout the story.

Yes, I did indeed leave Hettie and Rob in the lurch. Please stay tuned for an update on that!

Well true. The predawn kiss in the lake was not an outright snog, per se. I tend to think of passion as being a bit, erm, cavalier when people run the risk of dying. A little too like that awkward Ron/Hermione/House Elves sequence in DH. Well, I shall have to give you something fuller in the epilogue, after the earth is smoothed and the tears have dried.

'Land of the Lost' -- I have never heard of it, but you are absolutely right that it would have been a wonderful title to have co-opted here! Way too appropriate, eh?

Nachos! Absolutely! Tequila? Okay, you've talked me into it. I have had bad experiences, but not with a fine limited edition, so must be fully open-minded!

Thank you for another wonderful cultural exchange, Cosmo!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.02.21 - 01:24PM Title: Fire and Water

starstarstarstarstar

It would be interesting to know how much time passed between the beginning and the end of the chapter. I'd bet it's less than I needed to read the whole chapter, lol.

Gemina is slowly fading away because she's in the wrong universe? I'm curious if she can even die when she's in the wrong universe.
Harry's scar is gone. Does it mean he was a Horcrux? Since I didn't remember if there were any Horcruxes in this story, I did a quick check. It revealed that the word actually occurred four times in the story (in Splinters once). Well, now that the last Horcrux is gone, nothing is gonna stop Harry now as long as Ginny remains by his side. I wonder in which timeline Final Battle in the Great Hall will take place.
If I remember well, the scenes in the Great Hall back in Splinters looked very much like the 'no-Harry time'.

Tommy Boy, Master of Time or not, your seconds are numbered. It's the time all the Malfoys of the world usually trim their sails to the wind so they can later claim to be innocent.

Thank you so much for another chapter extraordinaire.

Author's Response:

Ha! Yes, time truly does bend and twist in a story that has currently spanned, depending on your frame of reference, either 19 hundred years or about 5 hours. As far as how long this chapter covers, I'm guessing 10-15 minutes :)

It is a brilliant leap of philosophy to question whether Gemina can die in this world. It is equally important to wonder that about Hettie and Rob who, if anything, are in even greater peril. Hettie, you'll note, kept resisting attempts to save her. Might she somehow understand something we do not?

So Horcruxes. Yes, early on in the story, Harry does allude to the list of objects that Dumbledore wanted destroyed. And yes, this AU retained rigourous canonical compliance until early in OotP, so Horcruxes are real.

The question of timeline is tricky, because the authour makes things so damned complicated, but ultimately when things led up toward the final climax, the December 1997 timeline never quite made it out of late afternoon, while the A.D. 78 lurched into night, and the May 1998 timeline has always been making its slow trek through the darkness. In the torrential evacuation from Vesuvius, I think the ancient and 1998 timelines diverged... So we are heading toward daybreak, in May 1998.

The authour (and Ginny and Harry) have all set some expectations for a showdown back in the Great Hall... though several tiny things here and there in this story have proceeded a little differently from expectation ;)

Thank you, Martin, for another wonderful review!




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear