Search:

SIYE Time:1:04 on 16th July 2018

Reviews For

Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2018.03.21 - 09:34PM Title: Escape from Brextwistle Hall

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2018.03.14 - 03:00PM Title: Escape from Brextwistle Hall

starstarstarstarstar

Very nice! I love a proactive and feisty Ginny. At first I thought the house was empty, but no such luck. Yaxley will be in a world of trouble when Voldemort finds out he had Harry and let him escape.

Author's Response: We've seen glimpses of how feisty and proactive Ginny can be in the books, i.e. her ideas for thwarting Umbridge; she was just upstaged by Hermione so often because the older girl was "Harry's friend first." That said, I love writing her character and thought that if push came to shove, she could take charge if Harry was incapacitated in any way. And yes, Yaxley will definitely regret the choices he made concerning his hostages. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts.



Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2018.03.11 - 04:45PM Title: Escape from Brextwistle Hall

starstarstarstarstar

Very inventive, Ginny's observation of the twins certainly paid dividends,

Author's Response: It certainly did. I've always thought of Ginny as a giant sponge, slurping up all sorts of things to blackmail her older brothers with and her observations have certainly paid off. Thanks for reading and reviewing.



Reviewer: Ranma-sensei Signed Date: 2018.03.09 - 09:59AM Title: Escape from Brextwistle Hall

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.03.08 - 04:30PM Title: Escape from Brextwistle Hall

starstarstarstarstar

It's been a great little tale. I loved it, and I'm glad they found their way back all by themselves. Merlin, when I was younger, almost 50 years ago, we learned in our needlework classes how to use a darning egg. If I remember well, those classes have been cancelled a few years later. I don't think it's still taught at school at all.

To be honest, I had to grin a bit into myself. Grimmauld Place seems to be quite the place to hide a portkey. It's the place I had in my mind when I suggested the topic for a challenge. Of course, I used it in my own story as well, lol.

It was great to read a new story from you after so many years, even if I read your name in what feels like every other story I read. ;)

I wish you good luck in the challenge.

Author's Response: I learned how to use a darning egg when my mother-in-law gave me one that she had used before ready-made socks, i.e. white tube socks, became a staple in American fashion. I've actually used it a couple of times to repair special items that I want to last just a little bit longer. There are some good websites that show how to use one properly, if you're interested. I agree that schools no longer teach these skills because it's just so much easier to go buy a replacement! The Grimmauld Place house is definitely the best place for hidden Portkeys because it's been in the Black family for so many years and while house-elves probably were the ones to repair the family laundry, I'm sure every mother taught her daughter the skill of darning. Rowling gave us fan fic authors a great place to play and those of us who have used the house as a jumping-off place for our Challenge stories seem to have used a wide variety of rooms in the process. I'm glad you enjoyed the story because it felt really good to author something new, instead of editing others' stories. Don't get me wrong, I love editing and helping others make their stories better. I suppose it's just nice to see my name "in lights" again. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me. Good luck with the Challenge yourself.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.03.07 - 07:26AM Title: Escape from Brextwistle Hall

starstarstarstarstar

Love this story! The interactions between Harry and Ginny are natural and friendly, showing how their relationship had progressed by the beginning of fifth year and how much trust they have in each other. My favorite part was Ginny's realization at the end about why Harry was so cooperative of Molly's mothering. Though this was certainly not a pleasant Portkey trip for either of them, it was definitely a growing experience.

Author's Response: I like writing stories where something is learned or the characters grow in some way. I think that I wrote Harry and Ginny the way I did with idea in mind that building a little trust during the adventure would pave the way to some of Ginny's remarks in Order of the Phoenix and her willingness to help him as she did in the book. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts.



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2018.03.06 - 05:29PM Title: Escape from Brextwistle Hall

starstarstarstarstar

Very nicely done, Arnel! You always teach me something in your stories, and I liked learning about the different lace and methods - particularly the darning egg. Favorite line was Fred and George telling Ginny that two heads are better than one. Who'd have ever thought we'd have side by side (side-along?) stories where you beat up Harry worse than I did!?! I loved how you had them work together, and it was nice seeing Ginny taking care of Harry. He's usually the ones watching out for others, so I thought it was really pleasant to see Ginny taking the lead. I always love your Mrs. Weasley, and this was no exception. I could feel their tension, and I loved that Harry let her mother him. Very exciting adventure!

Author's Response: I have loved Molly Weasley since I met her for more than a sentence or two in Chamber of Secrets. She's someone I identify with: part teacher, part disciplinarian, wonderful cook and knitter, and someone who cares deeply for those she loves. It seemed only natural that when Harry came back from his and Ginny’s adventure that she would automatically take care of him as she would one of her own children. I don’t think that degree of concern was lost on Harry; that’s why he submitted to her mothering him and why he seemed to Ginny to be soaking in the good feelings the experience was producing in him. Speaking of Ginny, I love writing her as a strong person, one who is resourceful, witty, and when allowed, just as strong and caring as her mother. If you really study the things her brothers say about her in the books, she knows her own mind and is willing to take the lead when called upon. I’d say that the situation really did call for her to do so here because Harry seemed to fail in his attempts to take care of her; they both shared the leadership role in this adventure, but when push came to shove, it was Ginny who kept them safe long enough for Harry to recover and devise a way for them to get home. I admit I took a cue from our favorite author when Ginny quoted her brothers; the two-headed statement seemed to go along with her original quote in Order of the Phoenix. And yes, it was fun to be the author of the two of us who beat up Harry worse than the other! Finally, I love making lace and find its creation and heritage fascinating. If Ginny had to be attracted to something “girly,” it needed to have a history and meaning and usefulness. Thanks for reading, suggesting, and reviewing.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2018.03.06 - 01:49PM Title: Escape from Brextwistle Hall

starstarstarstarstar

A scary trip, but I loved the way Ginny used some of the Twins fireworks to escape!

Author's Response: A good flash-bang will win you freedom almost every time, I've heard. Yaxley definitely didn't expect a couple of kids to be so well prepared or willing to defy an adult in order to escape, especially if one of those teenagers is Harry Potter. Thank you for reading and reviewing.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2018.03.06 - 11:37AM Title: Escape from Brextwistle Hall

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Nice one.

Author's Response: Sounds like you enjoyed the story. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.03.05 - 08:04PM Title: Escape from Brextwistle Hall

starstarstarstarstar

Hooray! Another stellar offering from the magical quill of the one and only Arnel! This one gripped me from the start and kept me on the edge of my chair until they escaped from Yukley! You could almost hear one big combined sigh of relief from the Weasleys, SIrius and the Order when they returned to Grimmauld! Harry and Ginny had such luck in their escape that you'd think that their pockets were filled with 4-leaf clovers and rabbits feet! Can't wait for the next one! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad I kept you in suspense and I agree that the collective sigh from the adults at Grimmauld Place could be heard clear to Hogwarts. While I would have liked to prolong Harry and Ginny's trials and tribulations in this little escapade, I was worried about the twenty-thousand-word rule and decided to give the two a break. On another note, I don't think my readers will have to wait another three years for me to publish again because it felt too good to be writing again.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear