Search:

SIYE Time:12:24 on 24th September 2018

Reviews For

Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2018.05.17 - 05:16PM Title: Catching Up and Moving On

Theo is right but then again its nothing harry has not sealed with before...as for Ginny she is no wall flower and everyone tries to remember that but its sometimes hard to remember when your hot headed...kutgw...sorry i have not reviewed in a while I have not see an update via email in a long time from SIYE.

Author's Response: Thanks for making your way back and commenting even without an email!



Reviewer: MichiganMuggle Signed Date: 2018.04.26 - 08:10PM Title: Catching Up and Moving On

starstarstarstarstar

Ah, Hermione's revenge. It's fun to see Hermione surrounded by girls. It brings out a different side of her. Looks Ron tried to use Harry's walking stick in the Smeltings tradition. Dudley and Vernon would be proud.

Author's Response: Ha!! OMG, I never even thought of the Smeltings Stick. Too funny - thanks for that!



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2018.04.22 - 10:54AM Title: Catching Up and Moving On

starstarstarstarstar

I really like how you portray the conflicting emotions and motives of the different groups after the war. Good for Ginny for standing up to Hermione - it really is just practice for her mother, but I can see Hermione trying to pressure her into doing what she thinks is appropriate. I think Hermione just wants everything to go back to what she thinks of as normal, but she is slowly realizing that won't happen.
Amos is an ass! I can see him still reveling in the fact that Harry has some faults. He's pompous and full of himself. I like Harry's idea of the giants. I can so see Harry wanting to reach out those who are being discriminated against even those Death Eaters.

Author's Response: Thanks! Personally, aside from his gut-wrenching loss, I thought Amos was a jerk in most of GoF and again in CC, so I wanted to play with that a bit. You'll see him again.



Reviewer: snarky24 Signed Date: 2018.04.17 - 09:52PM Title: Catching Up and Moving On

starstarstarstarstar

Cursed Child made me hate Amos, and he's not looking any better here. I understand that he has suffered the greatest loss imaginable, but it seems that he can't let go of petty things. However, I think you captured his character really well -- his comment about Harry falling off his broom around the Dementors was on point and reminded me of how Amos' pride in his son can bring out his negative qualities at times. As I read your stories, I often wonder if you listen to the podcast "Harry Potter and the Sacred Text." There was an episode a few months ago (The Portkey) that discussed Amos' pride and the "shadow side of Hufflepuff" that I thought was really interesting, and I saw that again in Amos here.

I also think the subplot regarding the escalating violence against Death Eaters and those connected to Death Eaters is an interesting inversion of the Muggle discrimination under Voldemort, and I like the way you are approaching it in the story. Theo's biting comment about what people would think if the Death Eaters and associates started gathering was funny in a dark, but also thought provoking. I'm glad that Harry is working on interesting and meaningful problems in his new job.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review all three! I appreciate that very much. I didn't like Amos much in canon, to be honest - the way he treated Amos and Harry, and a grown man needling a kid about losing a Quidditch match even if it was pride in his own son rubbed me the wrong way. Then, when he was still ugly before the Third Task as Harry walked into the family room - alone - to greet his friend's family and Amos still had to have a go... it really annoyed me. So, I wasn't all that shocked by how he turned out in CC, but I wanted to explore it, a little. I don't know anything about that podcast, though it sounds very cool.



Reviewer: hpforever85 Signed Date: 2018.04.17 - 05:51PM Title: Catching Up and Moving On

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.04.14 - 07:32PM Title: Catching Up and Moving On

starstarstarstarstar

Eventful chapter! I'm really curious about whether Harry will meet up with Dudley, and strangely whether Dudley is involved in any interesting activities lately.

Author's Response: LOL - are you referring to the ending of The Seventh Horcrux? I promise you'll see Dudley again before this story is out, but that's all I'm going to say ;)



Reviewer: Hank Signed Date: 2018.04.14 - 12:11PM Title: Catching Up and Moving On

starstarstarstarstar

I love how Harry caught Amos flat footed. Excellent twist!

Author's Response: Thanks! We know Harry moves through the ranks, so there has to be a reason for it, right?



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.13 - 08:35PM Title: Catching Up and Moving On

starstarstarstarstar

I'm enjoying this story more and more with each successive chapter. I loved Ginny's steely determination, both to stand up for herself against those who want to harm her and those who want to over-protect her! Even Harry! Speaking of Harry, what I nice job you have done with his growing sense of true self-awareness. I really enjoy the way that you provide for the development of your characters while continuing to advance the plot.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! That's the real trick with a post-Hogwarts story, I think, so I glad you think I'm getting there!



Reviewer: HP18 Signed Date: 2018.04.12 - 11:27PM Title: Catching Up and Moving On

Good chapter. I've always hated To. So I love to see her get put in her place. I hope Harry finds these vigilantes.

Author's Response: Pansy is gone, and there always seem to be those really catty girls at school, so Brynn and Romilda have filled the shoes (it takes two to reach Pansy level!)



Reviewer: indywriter Signed Date: 2018.04.12 - 11:22PM Title: Catching Up and Moving On

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, Ginny... Hopefully she's not too hard on Harry for wanting to get his hands on Travers. I bet she would feel the same way about anyone that tried to hurt Harry. And I'm really wondering about Rita Skeeter now. Why wouldn't she have been all over that party? And we all know that lack of actual facts wouldn't have slowed her down a bit... She makes up most of her stories as it is, so why not spin a work of complete fiction for the party of the year?

I couldn't wait for another chapter! I'm really enjoying this story, and now I'm starting to care about Dudley. Look what you made me do! Who's out for the Death Eaters? Will Ginny regret her interaction with Travers? Will Amos enjoy his visit with the giants (lol!)? So many questions...

Author's Response: Thanks! I promised there are answers to all your questions coming, but you'll have to wait for more story, lol. Harry's desire to protect and Ginny's independent streak are bound to clash, but they'll eventually find a way they can both be happy.



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2018.04.12 - 10:24PM Title: Catching Up and Moving On

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Travers. Diggory. Nott. Hagrid. Excellent update,as usual!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.04.12 - 09:24PM Title: Catching Up and Moving On

starstarstarstarstar

This chapter was fun and interesting! Wish I'd had a catnip concession on the Hogwarts Express with all that meowing! Guess that twit Tim learned the hard way not to mess with the feisty redhead - hope he likes being a soprano! Surprised by Amos Diggory's poor attitude toward Harry - hope it isn't about blaming him for Cedric's death which he wasn't to blame for! Harry has a brilliant idea about the giants and it should work!! Should be interesting if Harry meets Dudley! Something weird is going on where that Nott mess is concerned! Can't wait for the next installment! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thanks! Honestly, I never cared for book Amos, despite the wonderful movie portrayal, and after Cursed Child, I was intrigued and wanted to use him - so this is the result. There's more of Rita still to come!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear