Search:

SIYE Time:11:37 on 26th September 2018

Reviews For

Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2018.05.17 - 11:59PM Title: Apple

starstarstarstarstar

Evil platnuim haired stranger makes his appearance! Wonder which one it is, both are pretty nasty. Poor Harry has a poor self esteem in any world. I love the 'he didn't cherish risk'. That certainly makes him different from canon Harry. Its funny that Lee is into Quidditch no matter what world. Have any of the rest read the books, or only Lee?

Author's Response:

And now to the capstone of a triad of thought-provoking reviews!

Quidditch and the books -- yes, I definitely re-opened that can of worms! You get a tiny hint toward your question about the books here with the 'blank stares' phrase. The issue rises again, more cuttingly, in chapter 8 with the introduction of a new character who clearly 'has' read the books and has some 'opinions'...

In any case, the differences in how the different characters deal with their missing heritage should (provided I keep all the details straight) prove the adage of the strength of the whole being greater than the sum of the parts.

Anyway, a wonderful series of prompters. Thank you for all, Sharon!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.05.16 - 02:44PM Title: Apple

starstarstarstarstar

An evil dragon has entered the fold, perhaps? It was just dawning on me that there was no obvious antagonist. The memory issues are definitely a problem to overcome for everyone, yet no reasoning behind the issues have jumped out. I'm sure there are little surreptitious clues being sprinkled.

Since the Stones(GReat BANd) played at the Half Moon and the man in Black walked in at the end; I figured a little

Sympathy for the Devil
The Rolling Stones
(1968)
Please allow me to introduce myself
I'm a man of wealth and taste
I've been around for a long, long year
Stole many a man's soul to waste
And I was 'round when Jesus Christ
Had his moment of doubt and pain
Made damn sure that Pilate
Washed his hands and sealed his fate
Pleased to meet you
Hope you guess my name
But what's puzzling you
Is the nature of my game

Harry's idea of accidentally losing the lyrics for Ginny to find was great. Harry really let loose his creative flow.

The infamous no-trap. I have myself been victimized by this method. Mostly by my own internal dialogue, with an occasional expression to the outside. no, I don't not believe what we had here was a not-rap, didn't or don't you? If you don't reply correctly to the not-rap, you're not doing it right, NO?

Was Ginny studying statistics again? It must have been a small defeat for Harry when he went past the carrel and the light was off. Good thing he was peristent though.

I imagined Ginny around 3 in the flashback scene, which would have put Harry at about 4. Weird fact about the pi-ano. If you divide the 88 keys by the number of digits in your two hands that plays (28) you get 3.142. Same as rounding 3.1415 of pi.







Author's Response:

Brill -- 28 phalanges for the 88 keys of a pi-ano. Ironically, not to quibble with your own internal clock, the rough way I have Ginny's class schedule mapped out would mean that, having just arrived for her afternoon free period on a Thursday, the conversation with Harry would have started around 3pm and gotten to the discussion of the piano chords right at around Pi o'clock, Greenwich Median Time :)

Not-rap! Yes, that's an excellent distinction. Not-rap, rather than No-trap. Very similar, but not identical.

Great choice of musical accompaniment! Interestingly, it may well be that many of us have more sympathy for Lucifer than for Lucius, but it's a great selection to set the mood.

And finally, first point last. Yes, there is evil to contend with. Hints and clues have been thin on the ground but I suppose something might be said about that Mione's suspicion that the 'Real IRA' is not really the IRA...

A fine set of paradigm-shifting, mind-broadening comments, thank you!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.05.16 - 03:34AM Title: Apple

starstarstarstarstar

Wow! Well done. The awkwardness resonates from every interchange between Harry and Ginny! And in the midst of all the discomfort, the memory of celebrating in a meadow comes into her mind. Fascinating!op

I certainly hope Harry can overcome the memories of failed past relationships and DO SOMETHING ... ANYTHING ... to help Ginny understand that he finds Her stunningly attractive and attractively alluring ... physically, intellectually, and emotionally.

Finally, the arrival of an evil, platinum tressed, tall stranger who is eerily familiar!

My only complaint ... this is killing me! Too short and to much time elapsed between chapters! I want more of this fascinating AU (or MU ... Modified Universe) drama!


Author's Response:

Tension indeed! I think you may find that chapter 7 eases up on the adrenaline, though after 7 must come 8. As far as the timeline on which Harry actually does 'something' (and what that something turns out to be) you will see. Drama of the fact, perhaps, begins to take over for drama of the mind.

The weekly updates: yes, I am starting to see that it's perhaps not the ideal pace. It's a long enough interval that it's hard to remember all relevant details in a fairly detail-oriented story (see 'Quidditch discussion') and, on this site, most of the regulars don't read new-ish stories -- they'll read something that's less than 5 days old, or read old completed stuff, but skip the in-betweens. Between Sunday night and Tuesday morning each week, I get 10+ times as many hits on Splinters and Prevailing Counterpoint as I do on this story.

The flip side is that the 1-week interval works very well for pushing (but not killing) me on the writing and editing.

Modified Universe -- that is, indeed, closer to the how I 'feel' about this story than the more analytical term 'AU'. It is also, as I mentioned to Martin, a bit of a superposition of fictional characters into a world that is very much 'ours'. The 2002-zeitgeist is quite intentional, as is the realism of the North London communities and culture.

Anyway, my sincere thanks for your enthusiastic words!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.05.15 - 09:30PM Title: Apple

starstarstarstarstar

Very curious indeed! So I'm guessing that either Lucius or Draco Malfoy is hanging around our innocent little group. I can't help but wonder if he is as clueless as the others or if he has a firm grip on past reality. What in the world has happened to wizard kind? And how can they know about Quidditch? You seem to be building up to an ax dropping kind of moment, and I find myself excited and nervous at the same time! Great update!

Author's Response:

Ah? The 'too-many-throbbing-cellos' type of movie suspense build up? I suspect the best advice is to expect the unexpected...

Yes, definitely some 'malfeasance' lurking in the background. As far as questioning who remains clueless -- astute! Of course the question of 'who' is in the dark is intimately tied up with the question of 'why' anyone should have lost their memories in the first place.

The question about Quidditch, I fear, threw a lot of people. The truth is fairly mundane, but requires remembering a minor detail from more than 5 weeks ago -- the fact that Lee is a fan of the Rowling books! As bizarre as that sounds, it actually plays into the plot... For those who many be way too curious, some hints have been sewn throughout today's round of reviews and replies.

Thank you for some great discussion points!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.05.15 - 05:29PM Title: Apple

That damn book from chapter 1 doesn't leave me alone and keeps me pondering.

I was already wondering if someone has just meddled with the memories of the protagonists, or if this someone has somehow pushed them into an alternate reality. I thought the veil was a pointer for the latter. However, the damn book (I take it it was the original book!) describing an alternate version of their past (in this timeline) is almost a prove for the latter.

I just hope it has nothing to do with string theory...and veils separating different branes ;-)

...on the other hand, maybe it's quite simple. Ginny will awake out of her dreams in chapter 25, kiss Harry on the cheek, sneak out into the kitchen to make breakfast for Harry and the kids.

Author's Response:

First of all, no strings or branes -- my son hasn't made me read such stuff in months. We did a stint of transfinite number theory, but trust me in assuring that this will never make it into any of my stories.

So let us presume that, despite what Stephen Hawking's last paper might say, you and I and many of the people we know are all stuck in one and only one universe; the same universe; the one with Angela Merkel and Robert Mueller and Meghan Markle and Brexit and Facebook controversies. Let us say that all this, and you and I, all exist and can be proven to inhabit the same reality. We, unlike the products of Jo Rowling's great imagination, are *real*. So, Harry Potter is not, and has never been real, correct?

Well, what if you encountered a group of real people in your own universe (as real as you or me) who, by measure of a number of coincidences, happened to share some similarities with a comparable set of Rowling characters?

Personally, I would not envy those people. I'd kind of hope that they were strong and resilient people... and I'd wish them luck :)



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2018.05.15 - 03:34PM Title: Apple

starstarstarstarhalf-star

So Lee knows about Quidditch. I am still lost..

Author's Response:

Ah, I tripped people up on the Quidditch thing, it seems!

Lee knows about Quidditch because he's a fan of a certain series of fantasy books by a writer from Edinburgh named Joanne K. Rowling (see chapter 1; parcel on the Jordans' mail table). Although the books were pretty popular back in 2002, none of the other characters seem to have much use for them.

Anyway, thank you for the review, Dad!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.05.15 - 02:36PM Title: Apple

starstarstarstarstar

Aha, a new chapter right on time! The title "Apple" didn't have anything to do with the Beatles record label starting in 1968 did it? So many great albums, "Abbey Road" 1969, "The Beatles" 1968, "Let It Be" 1970 and "Yellow Submarine" 1969 And so to the new chapter - let it be! Harry obviously has it bad for Ginny! Harry's reaction to seeing Ginny by surprise reminded me of the song,"I Saw Her Standing There"(Beatles 1963)! Judging from Harry and Ginny's interaction the word 'awkward' comes to mind! That bit about Egyptian and Greek sphinxes no-traps suddenly brought to mind "Ahab the Arab" (Ray Stevens 1962)! Awkward or not, there were more fireworks going off between Ginny and Harry than you'd see on the 4th of July in the States! Wish they'd just snog already! When Ginny and Mione walked in the club I half expected the jukebox to start playing "She's a Lady" (Tom Jones 1967)! Judgng from Ginny's reaction to the blond man and his discription he sounds alot like one Dorko Malfool! Adding a mystery element to this one are we?! Can't wait to see who the jovial, Kingsleyesque fellow in the African Dashiki shirt is! As a tribute to our lovebirds, I decided to close this review with a verse from "And I Love Her" (The Beatles 1964):
She gives my everything
And tenderly
The kiss my lover brings
She brings to me
And I love her
A love like ours
Could never die
As long as I
Have you near me
Bright are the stars that shine
Dark is the sky
I know this love of mine
Will never die
And I love her
Will be avidly looking forward to the next chapter! Cheers! (This time with a glass of 2013
Vasse Felix Estate Cabernet Sauvignon - from Australia)! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D


Author's Response:

Great musical choices of the day! I'm sure you're aware, but for other readers's sake, I'll mention that Abbey Road Studios (and the famous zebra crossing) is barely a mile away from the Camden Palace -- a nice stroll, mostly through Regents Park. If you've got a bit of spring left in your shoes, you can take a quick job south to Lord's Cricket Grounds to see if the Krikkiters are invading the planet yet.

Culture is a wonderful thing.

Yes, a few sparks, n'est-ce pas? Glad you liked the electricity! Unfortunately you'll have to wait for Chapter 10 before the word 'snog' gets used. Mione accuses; Ginny denies. Either way, Harry is a bit, erm, gobsmacked.

Malfluke perhaps, yet is it Doorka, or Looches? By the way, Looches is actually a word (both real and slang).

Kingsleyesque fellow may make you wait a while. Shy fellow, you see. However, It's Not Unusual to be kept waiting in this story. Yes, Tom Jones allusion ;)

Thank you sincerely for a melodious review!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.05.15 - 09:55AM Title: Apple

starstarstarstarstar

Ah well, it seems the real world has taken a beating on everyone at the moment.

Well, let's see what's in my crib notes today.

Wonderful, a 'No-trap' question. No matter what your answer is, you're in trouble anyway, lol. I must agree, it's a typical female question. No bloke ever asked me such a question.

I'm glad Ginny didn't give Harry the chance to chicken out. I wonder if the two of them were discussing a melody they learned by Miss Lily.

An apple...as an analogy to honour the famous easter egg?

Ginny seemed to be surprised that Lee knew her. I'm curious what role this Malfoy-ish looking bloke will play. It smelt like long-forgotten bad memories from Ginny's side. There are so many memory splinters, it seems the breakthrough coming soon.

...and surprise, surprise...Lee even knows what Quidditch is...and even more surprising, nobody was wondering about this strange word.

Did we get a glimpse of Kingley at the end?

Maybe it's just a (bad) habit of mine but I always try to understand what happened before to understand what happens now. In your last reply, you left (unintentionally?) another clue about their past, i.e. the Harry-less version of Dudley.

I'm pretty sure I missed some hints, but...Miss Lily's piano lessons...I'm not sure at what age kids start their piano lessons but I think Ginny might have been eight at this time? ...and Harry spent his tween years in the orphanage.
Somehow the mystery point in time must have been in 1990...or, maybe, even during that piano lesson? It's certainly not the point of deviation from canon, assuming that Miss Lily (and not Mrs Potter!) was Harry's mother.
Somehow more than one mystery is waiting to be revealed.

However, maybe I should better focus on the present, the year 2002 present and the starting romance. ;-)

Author's Response:

A marvelous selection of thoughts and questions! Once again, it's so potent, that I finding myself meting out a half-dose reply. Sorry! :)

Yes, if Ginny may have seemed shy and retiring at times earlier in the story, her resolve strengthened in chapter 5, and she is finding the backbone to push past something that may actually be a bit beyond normal 'shyness'.

Yes, the apple is indeed part of Ginny's giving / caring side. In both OotP canon, and in this story, Ginny gives freely without any obvious expectation of reward. Although the rewards do being coming quicker in this story than in canon.

I'm not certain whether Ginny is 'surprised' that Lee knows her, although it seems that she does not know (or at least remember) him. It is also not quite certain that Lee recognises 'her', although something definitely clicked there, and that something may be that he has finally, once again found *a* Weasley. Not a Weasley that he might have truly known, but there are shared qualities across that whole clan, right? More than just the red hair.

Quidditch: I am going to interpret this as meaning that Lee has been reading JKR's books (see chapter 1). By 2002, the first four Rowling books have been released. Oddly, it seems that Harry, Ginny, Mione and Langley all are mostly oblivious to this cultural phenomenon, though.

Yes, I see no reason to hide the fact that Kingston = Kingsley = big dude in colourful shirt.

What age do kids start piano? I seem to recall the Austrian nobility starting some prodigies by age 3. I'd say a modern median is closer to 6-7?

You have very likely earned more information than that, but I am going to disappear once again, leaving behind the mists of confusion.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear