Search:

SIYE Time:22:00 on 23rd October 2018


Reviewer: hgromance Signed Date: 2015.06.24 - 10:09AM Title: Matters of the Heart

okay, explain to me why Ginny is worried about studies and exams when there's no school. Did I miss something?



Reviewer: mrsmeggiepotter Signed Date: 2007.11.07 - 11:37PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: PotterBoy90 Signed Date: 2007.04.22 - 12:42AM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

AH HA!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2006.10.04 - 05:38PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

well that was seaky and underhanded....never going to trust her or draco again....and to top it off ginny is going to make sure pansy never sees the light of day again...kutgw



Reviewer: Horus Signed Date: 2006.09.29 - 05:31PM Title: Matters of the Heart

actually i completely understand the use of cliffhangers....and to be honest i dont really mind if you keep updating at this rate :)

Just do me one favor...when you get to the cliffie where harry finaly faces moldieshorts....dont make us wait for a month.....because that would be way more evil then anything voldie could do :D

Author's Response: Heh...thanks much! I promise you won\'t have to wait for a month...in fact...it\'ll probably be next week ;)



Reviewer: seshhat Signed Date: 2006.09.27 - 03:26AM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

Might I just say - a lovely cliffhanger. Very nicely written, despite the fact that I (along with everyone else who hangs on your every word) have just been left in the lurch, biting our fingernails.

Ooh, that sneaky Pansy. Well, at least we can give her a bit of credit - she's not as stupid as she acts. I'd like to see Ginny take her on.
I guess we haven't got all that far to go, and much as I'm really looking forward to seeing how you wrap all of this up, I don't want it to end. This is truly a quality story.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks! I\'m glad you enjoyed it. Don\'t give Pansy too much credit, yet. You\'ll see in the next chapter that this wasn\'t entirely her idea. She did carry out her part superbly...so far ;)



Reviewer: CruciareMors Anonymous Date: 2006.09.25 - 02:38PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

I'm thinking of a word that begins with "F", goes on with "UC" and ends with "K!". Forgive my rudeness, if you please, but that's the truth.
I loved the chapter, you know? I really did. I mean, all that thing with Ginny coming out of the hospital wing, and the photos, that sounded so... normal... it almost hurt :D For a moment there, you got me like "Wow, it seems like the war isn't there at all" or something. I adored seeing Iris get under Fred's skin - that's what I call "to get one to taste their own poison" :) That whole celebrity face thing was really well-thought, do you always have such genius-like ideas, O great genius? ;) And the girls' hair's growing! Yeees!
A scary thing is to think Harry and Dudley talking to each other in a civilised fashion, lol. I had kinda suspected Dudley's Dementor-induced visions would be something like him in Harry's position, but I never thought about him actually thinking his parents would treat him that way. Though I wouldn't put it past them. Harry's such a sweetheart, isn't he? Too much of a sweetheart indeed. If someone was trying to spoil one of my loved ones' party, the last thing I'd do would be to take pity on them for something that was out of my control. Punch them would be mre like it. And I can understand perfectly why Harry laughed. It really sounds funny to have the whole matter, a whole effing war centred on you, put that way.
I completely approve of the whole Harry training with the Aurors part. It sounds just right that he should prepare himself for what he has to face as well as he can instead of just rushing headfirst into a battle. And the whole RoR beach thing triggered my "wanna have a happy ending" kind of mood :P I'd like Harry to end up being an Auror this time around, assuming he doesn't end up in a vegetative state or dead *cringes* LOL for Ron and Hermione's date in the kitchens! :)
It always has to happen this way, doesn't it? I mean, the hero can't be the one in control of the situation, he has to be caught by surprise, and to be the "victim" instead of the "attacker". I was wondering when Pansy's sneakiness would come into action :( I hope she gets what she deserves when the Order realises Harry's missing. The best thing that can be said is that at least Voldemort's bound to toy a bit with Harry, but not kill him *cringes* And so, like I said, here we have the rug suddenly taken from underneath Harry's feet...
I wonder if Malfoy and Dudley were conivent with Pansy - I mean, that's definitely something they'd both like to do, though Draco may fear for his life - and as Harry didn't effectively see them all day before he was kidnapped...
What are you giving us next? Harry's whereabouts? Or will you toy with us a bit more and give us the Order getting more and more worried as time passes and Harry doesn't come back? ;) Till the next update!

Author's Response: Heh, the beginning of the review scared me, lol. I didn\'t know what to expect! I\'m glad you enjoyed the family picture and recognized the scene, lol. I think all families have gone through it. I think next chapter should give you a bit of everything ;)

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Athea Signed Date: 2006.09.24 - 10:59PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

Ok...another great chapter. I'll still argue that you're a wicked, wicked woman with the cliffhangers, but you've got me hooked so I won't complain too much.

First, I loved Fred and Iris's flirting. What a nice piece of insight into her character that she would enjoy winding him up on purpose. Just the sort of challenge I think Fred would enjoy. And Ron actually caught on! That scene was very funny.

I also loved that Hermione took Ron to the kitchens for their date. And Harry and Ginny's was perfect. I thought Harry's thought about not letting Voldemort control their first time together was very true to his character. You could earn a romance nomination for this chapter too, I think.

Now, on to the cliff hanger... You did it again this week! I even had to fill my husband in on the entire story just to get his opinion....I find myself wondering if Pansy is working for Voldemort ...or is she a part of Hermione's plan.

Author's Response: Aww, thanks much! I struggle with the romance, so those nods mean a lot.. Yay for you for having a husband who listens to anything to do with fanfiction, lol. I can\'t even get mine to read canon.



Reviewer: misslilyevans89 Signed Date: 2006.09.24 - 08:06PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

oh no!!!!!!

Author's Response: Heh, afraid so!



Reviewer: Fleury Signed Date: 2006.09.24 - 06:57PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

Woah. Well... I hope Harry doesn't croak it. And I hope Hermione's plan works out. I never thought that Pansy would actually do something like that. I thought she was up to something when she told Harry about Draco though. Good job and wonderful cliffie. Please update soon :D

Author's Response: Thanks! I\'m glad you enjoyed it. Yep, Pansy pulled that off well, didn\'t she? Harry\'s in trouble now!



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2006.09.24 - 05:36PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

Nicely done. Loved the interplay with Fred and Iris. A rose by any other name eh. And I was extremely pleased to see Harry's honorable behavior in controlling his "hormones". For true chiverly he must be Ginny's protector in every way. Alas, another cliffhanger. I had an ear wax flavored one in my youth,so you better get the next one out soon.

Author's Response: Well, I think Ginny is both willing and ready and that she\'d thoroughly bristle at the idea he needed to protect her from her own decisions, lol. Harry doesn\'t want Voldemort to influence those decisions, so he needs to get rid of Voldemort ;)



Reviewer: Horus Signed Date: 2006.09.24 - 04:32PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

ah HA :P

Did not see the portkey comming...quite annoying arent they?

Uhm...not much more to say...i think pansy has been playing a very dangerous game that might cost the life of somebody very close and dear to her....and think i can safely say....the final battle has begun.

Great chapter as allways but..ENOUGH WITH THE CLIFFIES!!! :P

Author's Response: Thanks! I\'m so glad you suspected Pansy but still didn\'t see the Portkey coming. That\'s exactly what I was hoping for. Thanks! Oh! And as for the cliffys..,.come on! If you know we\'re about to enter the final battle you have to know they\'ll be at least one more BIG one ;)



Reviewer: Rhetor Signed Date: 2006.09.24 - 11:45AM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Very nice, Melinda. You're caving in a bit to the demands of romance, which of course is music to the ears of most SIYE readers. I can't deny that I prefer the romance to the action-adventure, generally; but your skill in writing action scenes is so fine that I haven't minded.

Meanwhile, I am a bit puzzled by something in the beach scene. I can understand and admire Harry's desire to exercise self-control as to when & how he makes love to Ginny. But what confuses me is his linking of that self-control to Voldemort. "...Voldemort wouldn’t get to take control of this moment, too." I'm not sure what Harry means by Voldemort taking control. Does he mean it simply in spiritual terms, i.e., "The lovemaking would be tarnished by our awareness that Voldemort still lives, and forever after our memories would be tarnished by it as well"? Or does he mean it in more tragic terms, i.e., "I cannot take this step when I might die tomorrow and have nothing more to give her, all because of Voldemort"? Or does he mean it in more tactical terms, i.e., "I cannot bear the thought that Voldemort might be aware of this moment as it is happening, or that he might see it in my memory when we finally meet"? Please explain (unless my confusion is deliberate...).

I find the progressive humanization of Dudley Dursley in this story to be really interesting. After this chapter I have more sympathy for Dudley than ever before -- although I find his attentions to Ginny nauseating. The notion that Dudley's worst memory (*was* it a memory? Or just a nightmare?) involved Dudley himself in Harry's cupboard suggests that Dudley understood how badly Harry was being treated more than we ever suspected; it suggests, indeed, that Dudley had sympathy for *Harry*, though he did his best to hide it. Really interesting. I gather that you have plans for Dudley that necessitate this careful development.

Anyway, well done again. Hope the construction is going well. (It's a real shocker when they take the whole roof off in one day, isn't it?)

Ken

Author's Response: Heh, you\'re right - I have caved, but I thought it was only fair. I thought h/g romance was missing from canon, and if that\'s what the readers want... As for Harry\'s reasoning - he thinks he\'s about to die, and as a normal, hormonal teenage boy, he thinks about just taking what GInny is offering. Being Harry, however, he worries that she\'s offering BECAUSE he\'s about to die. When he takes that step with her, he wants it to be strictly for them and because it\'s what they\'re ready for, rather than have anything at all to do with Voldemort. Does that makes sense?



Reviewer: Leiselily Signed Date: 2006.09.24 - 04:25AM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

Ooooh another cliffie!

I was so worried Harry was going to fall for Pansy's trick, then just when it looked like he'd seen through her, she got him! Noooo!

The tension is being built up briliiantly. Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, Pansy proved very Slytherin after all, didn\'t she? ;)



Reviewer: IHateSnakes Signed Date: 2006.09.23 - 08:43PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great update. S.

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: TGIF Signed Date: 2006.09.23 - 03:14PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

*applaudes* Well, not for waht Pansy did. I for one love cliffhangers. Frustrate the hell out of me - but thats what they do. It gets me excited to read the next chatper.

For some reason, I have a feeling this was all Pansy - well not ALL her, but I don't think Draco was in on it. Perhaps you just lulled us into a sense of security regarding him.

The only downside with ending with a cliffhanger is that the rest of the chapter is forgotten in reviews. Mrs. Weasley and her pictures. I loved it. It seems like it would be something she'd do, and also get pleasure watching Ginny squirm a bit longer. Sometimes parents like to (harmlessly) torture their kids like that. Hey, the twins had to get it from somewhere!

I'm glad that Harry was able to have his dream date. It pains me to see Harry resigned to have to die, but its something I could see him doing. Hopefully that determination to find a way to have that life with Ginny with win out and help him - that and Hermione's plan will work.

Also, Umbridge in Centaur Heaven - love it.

Author's Response: Thank you! I\'m so happy when someone actually likes a cliffy, lol. Thanks also for the notes on the rest of the chapter - I\'m glad you liked the family photo part. Haven\'t we all been through a similar scenario?



Reviewer: egyhos Anonymous Date: 2006.09.23 - 02:28PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarhalf-star

oh nooooooo she just didnt do wat i read did she the crule little sonofab+*^h
i hope u r on to some thing here or something might happen to me like a heart attack or something

Author's Response: Well, I don\'t want you to have a heart attack, lol. Just take some deep breaths - I\'m working on the next update.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Sibling Creature Signed Date: 2006.09.23 - 01:42PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

I always suspected Pansy of course, but I reckon I was just as shocked as Harry was with that last ploy...

Author's Response: Hee, thanks! That\'s exactly what I was hoping to achieve! Thanks much.



Reviewer: hehehe Anonymous Date: 2006.09.23 - 01:36PM Title: Matters of the Heart

We (fanfic readers) at SIYE should implement ground rules to keep those cruel authors' toes on the line, especially Melinda's toes. That rule is simple: NO CLIFFHANGERS! That was cruel and do you want to murder me in cold blood, keeping me in suspense for 2-3 weeks, wondering what will happen next, where will the portkey take Harry to? Voldie or somewhere else. This is killing me... aargh !@#$%^&

Author's Response: Two to three weeks my toes!! LOL, when have I EVER taken more than 10 days at most? ;) Cliffys are a necessary part of the story, it would have looked silly to end it just as he saw Pansy or where he refused to go into the woods. Where\'s the fun in that ;)

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: hehehe Anonymous Date: 2006.09.23 - 01:34PM Title: Matters of the Heart

starstarstarstarstar

We (fanfic readers) at SIYE should implement ground rules to keep those cruel authors' toes on the line, especially Melinda's toes. That rule is simple: NO CLIFFHANGERS! That was cruel and do you want to murder me in cold blood, keeping me in suspense for 2-3 weeks, wondering what will happen next, where will the portkey take Harry to? Voldie or somewhere else. This is killing me... aargh !@#$%^&

[Respond: In Review]



../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear