Search:

SIYE Time:0:00 on 18th October 2017

Reviews For Why You Were Born

Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2009.11.03 - 05:55PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

I think I've read this before...but it is sooooo moving. Hindsight is great and we can have all the time in the world to go over our regrets...but it's knowing those moments to grasp...a sinple sorry, thank you, i love you...that you never get the chance of having again that are so important. Lovely, lovely story.

Author's Response: I agree. It's so hard to live in regret. Thanks for reviewing!



Reviewer: HarryGinnyMustLiveOn Signed Date: 2007.06.07 - 11:58PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

This is excellent. Sad, but excellent. You have real talent.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it, even though it is so sad.



Reviewer: meegs Signed Date: 2007.01.13 - 10:52PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Don't take this wrong, but the simplicity of it is what made it so great.

The whole time, I had that throat-catching, about to cry, feeling. It was sad, but I loved it.

Author's Response: I won\'t take it wrong... I wrote this for my daughter, or rather because of her... she was driving me up the walls and I was trying to remember what it was like to be a teenager. It was heart breakingly simple for me to forget what is was like and in doing so, I forgot how to relate to her.



Reviewer: DinaQ Signed Date: 2006.07.05 - 02:31PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: ginny4everandalways Signed Date: 2006.05.27 - 01:31PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

Wow, that was powerful. i think you could've added more conversation to Harry and Ginny. Plus the story made it look like Ginny was a hermit.

Author's Response: I contemplated it but it seemed like adding in more would seem unreal since she hadn\'t seen him in over a year and a half. In a way Ginny was a hermit, not that she wanted to be, but in order to keep her nephew safe, she needed to stay put. Thanks for the tips though, I will consider them :-)



Reviewer: Luna Anonymous Date: 2006.05.07 - 09:22PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

PERFECT!

Not something that I would normally read, but it was your nomination for the Silver Trinket award that got me going. Everything is so true, sadly. I love where you stopped too. It's not too long and ends in a ray of hope. Wonderful Job.

Author's Response: Thank you! I am glad you enjoyed it so much and that I could expand your horizons a bit in a way that you could still enjoy it. That is a compliment that I love to read and thank you for taking the time to review and let me know what you think! :-D

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Billie Bowtrunckle Anonymous Date: 2006.04.26 - 03:02AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

I really liked how you made this a story about Ginny finding herself (all by herself) and not being defined by her relationship (or lack or relationship) with Harry. It was a nice way to mature her character through the loss of her mother and then somehow reconnecting with that by becoming a surrogate mother herself. I'm also glad that you chose to keep Ginny "independent" when H/Hr/R returned at the end and didn't have her jump into Harry's arms. It complimented her new-found maturity nicely.

I loved this line:

"It hurt so badly… wanting that kind of love and having the boy… man who could give it to me standing right there, refusing to be what I wanted."

I'm a lover of angst, and that ending bit was beautifully written. I also like the detail about the hands of the Weasley clock falling off when a member died. What a heart-breaking image! Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! Like I said, this was different than what you\'ve seen from me and I really like it because it was all about her. Nink helped me plan it out (although she swears she didn\'t) and it was the ultimate quesiton that I wanted to explore. What would it take to bring her down and then rebuild her without Harry? It\'s always about him, I\'ve always written it with him involved so it was a challenge. :-)

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Grimmrook Anonymous Date: 2006.04.21 - 04:29PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Okay, I remember getting about halfway through this thinking, "if you let me down..." Well, you didn't. The pacing was flawless. Your choice of narration style was exactly what was needed. The permise was very unique. I've seen a few Ginny growing up stories, but for the most part they all were about her waiting for Harry to come back. This was a refreshing change of pace... Ginny grows up in spite of Harry.

The only thing, and this really is minor, is that the story loses just a smidge.. a smidge mind you.. of its intensity in the second half. But that's just me being excessively critical. There is absolugely no reason not to give a ten for this. Great work.

Author's Response: It\'s okay, I like hearing what I could have done better :-) The intensity of it was killing me... I feel as I write and it was too intense so I eased up a bit in the end. I write for myself, so I figured that going easy on myself would be okay ;-) I appreciate your candid and thoughtful review!! Thank you!!!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Chreechree Signed Date: 2006.04.21 - 04:10PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Ugh. I don't know if I should be thoroughly depressed or have a warm fuzzy feeling about hope for the future. That was rough, really rough to read. I can't handle the thought of any of the Weasleys dying (well, I won't greive Percy too much), but five plus Fleur at one time - oh, this was difficult, absolutely heartbreaking, but it was wonderful too. Will embodies the hope for the future and for the Weasley family. I just hope that Canon Ginny doesn't have to experience such a harsh wake up call to come to appreciate life and family. Great fic!

Author's Response: It was a harsh wake up call, that\'s for sure... but also fun to push her to her limits. Thank you for the wonderful review!!



Reviewer: harry 4Eyes Signed Date: 2006.04.21 - 12:07PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Hmmm...seems you need to be a member to leave reviews...so I had to sin on just so I could review.

This story is bloody brilliant, it captured Ginny perfectly, how being a parent can change how you see things, make you grow up. How it is takes losing someone to really appreciate there worth. and all managed from a one parter, quite a feet I must say.

Really amazing fic.
Harry

Author's Response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!!! I am so glad you enjoyed it and I appreciate the thoughtful and wonderful review! :-)



Reviewer: jennmariebr Signed Date: 2006.04.21 - 09:43AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

great story, even if i was crying through most of it.

Author's Response: *hands tissue* Thanks for telling me, that was my goal.



Reviewer: Professor Scroll Signed Date: 2006.04.21 - 08:24AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

This story was excellent. I had tears streaming as I validated it. You handled Ginny's growth and understanding of life and love with a tender hand and didn't rush it.

Author's Response: Thank you!! That is quite the compliment and I\'m glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking the time to tell me, I appreciate it :-)



Reviewer: LolaPotter Signed Date: 2006.04.21 - 08:13AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

my god, that is sad and well, i had tears in my eyes!!!! but i think it is one of the stories i like, even most of the weasleys died...
it was a really good one, ginny grews up and get her part in the war!

Author's Response: Yeah, I know killing them all was very harsh but in this case (and I wrote this for a challenge for another site) I had to bring her to her lowest point and I thought this would be a good way to show that.



Reviewer: wvchemteach Signed Date: 2006.04.21 - 08:01AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Your writing has entered a whole new level lately.

Most writers in fan fiction tend to stick to one style and one style only.

You've moved out of your comfort zone of fluff and humor and have moved into the arena of angst and drama.

Now, I've always felt angst and drama is much easier to write than good fluff, but it is hard to write it and not leave the writer feeling like they don't ever want to read one of your stories again.

You've managed to convey such a sense of hope by around mid-way through the story that I for one feel myself compelled to ask... what next?

Author's Response: You flatter me more than I deserve, I promise. Thank Nink since she put me on this path! So what\'s next... well, you know that, you\'ve got my time line *sigh* ;-)




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear