Search:

SIYE Time:6:50 on 21st October 2018


Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2014.12.17 - 07:43AM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

Wow, what an amazing story I just found a few days before Christmas.
Many thanks to aprilmoon92 and the siye random button :-)



Reviewer: Keira Azul Signed Date: 2007.01.19 - 07:31PM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for Challenge:

This was just lovely....the ring was wonderful, the proposal was wonderful, fred and george were wonderful, and of couse, Jaq was wonderful. Really good job, and good luck!


Author's Response: Thank you, Keira (:



Reviewer: GINNY__POTTER258 Signed Date: 2007.01.19 - 04:42AM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

great story! so cute! poor ginny she was proberly so angry and worried then ten times more embarressed! : )

Author's Response: Haha, yes, she was. Thanks for the review (:



Reviewer: Chreechree Signed Date: 2007.01.18 - 06:51AM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for competition

What Potter fan wouldn't want to be a part of the Weasley clan, even a distant, American Weasley? I hope Jaq is smiling down on you for that.

Harry almost getting busted and covering with a song was priceless. How funny. It was good to see him so earnest and wanting to do something special for Ginny. What a creative idea for the ring, not just Harry making it, but having the setting be formed from a precious memory. Harry gives her that incredible gift plus a marriage proposal to go with it right after she all but accuses him of cheating. Too bad she was so rash. She could've saved herself an awful lot of embarrassment - "Daddy, tell my about when you proposed to Mum." "Well, son, after she thought so little of me to think I'd cheat on her with her cousin in her home right in front of her and her entire family..." Hahahaha! Oops. Very nice job, and good luck with the challenge.



Author's Response: Haha, I suppose it is inevitable in all relationships that lines will cross one day, so better have it now then later for our favourite couple, right?



Reviewer: Katastrophe Signed Date: 2007.01.09 - 04:25PM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for the competition.

This was beautifully written. the entire story was an adventure of romance. The quest for the ring and the making of it were exquisite. I had read this once when it was first written and did not have time to post a review, so I was going over my notes yesterday and today, and had to pop in to tell you what a wonderful holiday gift this was. A true tribute to Jaq.

Best of luck in the competition!

Author's Response: Thanks, I enjoyed writing it a lot.



Reviewer: Frelling Signed Date: 2007.01.07 - 10:57AM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarhalf-star

Nicely done. I generally don't like OCs but I understand Jaq's role in the story and Harry making his own ring makes this story different. Very well written. Reviewed for judging.

Author's Response: I agree that some authors make OCs simply too far-fetched, but I have seen some that are really very good, for example, Eric B. \'s are pretty nice.



Reviewer: RSS Signed Date: 2007.01.06 - 10:19AM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Judged for competition...I especially like the romantic aspect of this story and how you have creatively intertwined Harry's feelings, Ginny's feelings and Jackie's feelings. The addition of the Jaq character was a nice tribute, especially since she was such an integral part of the story. My favorite part was the scene in the garden with Harry's song, I thought it was so unique and very special. Good luck! -Rebecca

Author's Response: Thanks, Rebecca. >< I originally found the song awkward, especially since I have more of a poetic touch than a musical one haha.



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2007.01.03 - 06:40PM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for competition.

We are all writing these fics in remembrance of Jaquelyne, our late great archivist. And that was definitely a wonderful idea, creating an OC named Jackie. I'm sure she would have enjoyed being written into the story.

It's good that Jackie's there to help Harry find the ring. I enjoyed how you worked in the ruby, and the explanation and symbolism as to why they would choose it. Of course, the only problem with her being there is that everyone thinks that Harry is in love with Jackie now, not Ginny. Naturally Harry shows her the ring at just the right time. The proposal and ending were very sweet.

Overall, another delightful entry -- I know Jaq would have loved it. I wish you luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Thanks Jim, it means a lot that you like it (:



Reviewer: kmagarden Signed Date: 2006.12.27 - 10:14PM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

Hi, reading/reviewing as a judge for the challenge.

Loved your story! I got all misty-eyed about you writing Jaq into the story! That was a neat touch that you really wrote well She fit in nicely and it made for an interesting plot. I loved how her trying to help Harry kept everyone suspicious. :-) Really enjoyed it. Good luck!

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review, kmagarden (:



Reviewer: ImSoRad0485 Signed Date: 2006.12.19 - 04:32PM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

I enjoyed judging this story. It was well written, although there were a couple spots here and there that didn't make sense. I liked how the twins finally put their devious minds to a good use, even though they were entirely wrong. Good luck in the Challenge, and if you decide to edit this story in any way, please contact me.

Author's Response: Okay, thanks ImSoRad :)



Reviewer: ginny4everandalways Signed Date: 2006.12.18 - 11:57AM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

Wow, what a great story! It was great to not only judge your last challenge submission, but this on was even better! It was absolutely astounding how creative and romantic you were throughout the story. This story had a great sense of flow (with all the bonus phrases!). I love how you incorporated Jaq and how she helped in the story. If I could change one thing though, it would have to be the second paragraph, it seemed to almost divert from the story, but the story was still great! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks, but I felt that I had to incoporate a bit of background into it... ahwell. Anyway, thanks again!



Reviewer: harryluvsginny Signed Date: 2006.12.17 - 11:17AM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent story! Write more romance and fluff! ; P Good luck in the competition (I'm a judge)! I hope you do well! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review, harryluvsginny (:



Reviewer: PatronyBologna Signed Date: 2006.12.13 - 06:36PM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

I liked the idea of Harry creating Ginny's ring and the memory that went with it. Fake notes and all, you gotta love Fred and George! ~Patrony :)

Author's Response: Yeah, for once, their intentions were purely good x)



Reviewer: Ginebra Wood Signed Date: 2006.12.12 - 05:49PM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

I love the detail about Jaq and all the fic. Good luck for the challenge.

Author's Response: Thanks, Ginebra :)



Reviewer: metamorphsickle Anonymous Date: 2006.12.12 - 04:43AM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

Great work with the story, I like the way you portrayed Fred and George. Also, this one makes good use of perspective, good luck for the challenge. -mark

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, mark. I enjoyed working the perspective that way, glad you noticed :)

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: minx101 Anonymous Date: 2006.12.12 - 04:37AM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

This one is much better than your other story. I like fluff a lot more (:

Author's Response: So do I, Minx :)

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2006.12.11 - 07:56PM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

Very nice. Fluffy without being too sweet. I especially enjoyed the mixed signals and mistaken assumptions that people made. It set the stage for a nice plot flow, and an even nicer resolution of matters. Jackie was an excellent original character, and the remaining cast played well off her. It is a device that I enjoy using quite often myself. There is no reason that the Weasleys cannot have female cousins. We have all the Prewitts on Molly's side, and I've seen adopted Weasleys as well. I am glad that you referenced it. Good luck with the Challenge, and thanks for an enjoyable tale. Eric B.

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review, Eric :) I really enjoyed the freedom of developing an original character to fit into the situation I wanted to create; it\'s no wonder you enjoy your non-canonical original characters so much.



Reviewer: GinnyPotter101 Anonymous Date: 2006.12.11 - 05:18PM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstar

No Review

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Enchantedgurls Signed Date: 2006.12.10 - 01:20AM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstarstar

I loved this, good job! I hope you win something from this competition.

Author's Response: Thank you, enchanted :)



Reviewer: Miri Signed Date: 2006.12.09 - 05:26PM Title: Something's Wrong This Christmas

starstarstarstar

This is a lovely story with a truly unique engagement ring for Ginny--Harry using a special memory for the two of them to forge a ring of ruby and crystal ( or fire and ice possibly) Wow! How beautiful!

While you managed the various requirements of the challenge very well, especially the rather clueless involvement of the twins (funny!) there are some inconsistent verb tenses and misplaced words. Probably the result of writing in such a rush. Outside of that the writing skills are pretty good.

I didn't know Jaq personally, but I'm sure she would have loved to be character in your story. That's a very thoughtful thing to do for her family. And a really nice amount of fluff. Again, I think Jaq would have approved. Good luck in the challenge.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Miri. I\'ll be sure to look through the tenses and grammer when I have time to correct the errors.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear