Search:

SIYE Time:3:54 on 25th September 2017


Reviewer: gemz1313 Signed Date: 2012.08.13 - 06:13AM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

Definitely fluffy enough, without being too sickly sweet! Perfect thank you



Reviewer: 7Ginny7 Signed Date: 2008.09.15 - 02:01PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: lkc159 Signed Date: 2008.07.19 - 05:59AM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

Fluffy? Where does Hagrid's three headed dog come into this? (HAHA really couldn't help it)

Very well written and nice to read!



Reviewer: cantante Signed Date: 2007.06.03 - 01:17PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

well she did! didn't she give us the title on like december 23rd? i loved this story too. while i do enjoy the angsty, dramaful (which is totally a word) stories, my first love has always been the fluffy romance. what i want to know is where she's planning on keeping that ring and when they plan on thelling her family. will she wear it on a necklace? or the wrong finger? or the right finger? and will they tell them right away or when the war is over? and how long did harry leave the twins in the cupboard? adn why didnt they just apparate out? sorry, lots and lots of questions. great story though!



Reviewer: txreina Signed Date: 2007.04.29 - 07:54PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

I just love the twins but sometimes they are a bit much. Great story.



Reviewer: madeye232 Signed Date: 2007.03.10 - 11:43PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Cassie Payne Signed Date: 2007.01.22 - 08:58PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

As usual, just wonderfully fluffy. I loved the illegal flobber worm references, and the ring getting stuck on the twins finger (sorry, can't remember which one) was hysterical. I thought the twins might have to go along for the proposal. Now there's a story no one's written. Congrats on the almost win - you deserve it and better.

Author's Response: Hee, thanks! I think you might have read and reviewed a bunch of challenge stories together, lol. Flobberworms are a great idea - but there arent\' any in this story :)



Reviewer: xo_morgie33 Signed Date: 2007.01.20 - 11:23PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

-is sewing mattresses-

Fluffedy fluffedy fluff!

Author's Response: Heh! Well, I hoped you enjoyed it - but fluff IS what I was going for, lol.



Reviewer: Keira Azul Signed Date: 2007.01.19 - 01:02AM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstar

Judged for Challenge:

Well, it was fluffy enough for me in any case! :) Poor Gred and Forge! They were only trying to help....but they deserve it for years and years of pranks. Good luck with the competition!



Author's Response: Heh, thanks! Yeah, their exuberance got carried away, and Harry had just had enough. I do love Fred and George.



Reviewer: Chreechree Signed Date: 2007.01.18 - 08:27PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for challenge

When I finally got around to beginning to read and review the challenges, I told myself that I was going to restrain myself a bit and keep my reviews short. I’ve completely messed that up already, and this story is another prime example why. Your writing is always flawless, and this is no exception. Harry’s growing exasperation at the earnest but misguided twins was palpable. There were so many funny moments from Ginny taunting the twins with thoughts of Molly’s unmentionables to the snarky mistletoe to Harry’s solution to the twin problem (a solution appreciated by all – except Fred and George) to Ron’s laundry list – er – dinner menu of all the things he wanted to eat while home (I do that too, but it’s usually about the restaurants I want to hit while I’m home). As much as I loved the humor, what really drew me in was your portrayal of Harry. He knew what he wanted and set about getting it. He was not afraid of expressing to Ginny how he felt. There was no embarrassment. After all, nerves are one thing, but if he’s asking someone to spend the rest of their lives together, I expect him to be able to express the sentiment like an adult in a mature relationship. Otherwise, he has no business getting married. Your Harry was totally enamored in the way that all young lovers should be, yet he was focused, self-assured, confident, poised, articulate, and romantic. What more could any girl want? Excellent job!


Author's Response: Thanks! Well, personally, I\'m glad you didn\'t keep it short because I enjoy the feedback. I\'m glad you found it amusing and that Harry\'s sincerety struck a chord. I think HBP showed us that once Harry finally figures out what he once, he goes for it. Thanks for the lovely review.



Reviewer: Yunchao Signed Date: 2007.01.13 - 12:21PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

That was a great story, i couldn't stop reading it once i started and I was late for something becuase of it haha. Never-the-less it was awesome. Good Job!

Yunchao

Author's Response: Thanks! I\'m glad you enjoyed it, and it\'s kind of thrilling I could make you late ;)



Reviewer: kmagarden Signed Date: 2007.01.11 - 11:15PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

Reading/reviewing for the competition. Can't write fluff. Harurmph. Excellent job! Really enjoyed the story. I'm almost beginning to feel sorry for Fred and George in this challenge!! Those poor guys are getting hit hard by every author! LOL Loved them getting locked in the closet. Loved that Molly loved them getting locked in the closet!!! Very well done, as we expect from you!!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks, I\'m glad you think so, although I still don\'t really think it\'s my strong suit. This was a fun one with the comedic element, though. Fred and George are such fun characters to use.



Reviewer: emmamoonpotter Signed Date: 2007.01.11 - 12:01PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

I loved this one shot!

Leave it Fred and George to try and help and actally end up hindering the entire process.

It was wonderfully funny and fluffy.

Now I have a lot of catch up reading to do with your stories. LOL.



Author's Response: Thanks! It\'s nice to see your name here. I\'m glad you enjoyed this one - isn\'t it just like Fred and George to muck it up by trying to help? I love them.



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2007.01.10 - 02:31AM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for competition.

Well, I see that this is the first story you've written since the conclusion of "7th Horcrux." I know it must have been challenging for you, a natural angst writer, to engage in fluff, but I think that you pulled it off well. I know that you wanted to write an especially fluffy fic in memory of Jaq.

You really have Fred and George trying to ruin everything in this fic -- even the ring! What were they thinking, getting Hogsmeade weekend changed? But at least Harry's finally able to buy Ginny the ruby ring.

It's also interesting how there's a dance party at the Burrow -- I guess you might call it a second Yule Ball of sorts. That talking mistletoe was hilarious the way it commented on all of the couples who stood under it! LOL!

Of course, the finale was perfect. Harry finally gets to propose, now that the twins are out the way -- as they're trapped in the closet. LOL! It's funny how everyone, even their own family, are glad that the twins are gone. The ending was very sweet, of course.

Overall, excellent fic. Congrats on winning the Best One Shot in the Silver Trinkets -- although that Best Romance category remains elusive for you. Still, you were one of Jaq's favorites authors, and I know she'd have loved this fic. I wish you the best of luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Oh, thanks very much. I really hope she would have approved. I always found it funny she liked my stuff, since fluff isn\'t my strong suit (but I\'m TRYING for that romance one, lol). That\'s why I think she had a secret angst diva inside ;) I\'m glad you enjoyed this little ficlet. It was a challenge for me, but I had fun doing it.



Reviewer: Katastrophe Signed Date: 2007.01.09 - 01:18PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

Viewed for Judging.

Wonderful, Melinda. Very sweet, passionate, and full of love. I love that you locked the twins in the cupboard...lol

Best of luck in the competition!

Author's Response: Thanks! I\'m glad you enjoyed it and could feel the love in there. I do so hope Harry and Ginny get their happily ever after in canon.



Reviewer: jk_salmeier Signed Date: 2007.01.08 - 06:58PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

I always love reading your stories. You have such a great imagination and I love your interpretation of Harry and Ginny's relationship post HBP. I haven't yet read your chaptered stories, but I will soon. You are a great writer, and to be honest I'm jealous :-)

love jk

Author's Response: Oh, wow! Thanks so very much. I\'m glad you think so. I\'m very fond of Harry and Ginny, and if you do get around to reading one of the chaptered fics, I look forward to hearing your opinion.



Reviewer: GINNY__POTTER258 Signed Date: 2007.01.06 - 04:00AM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

great story! i absolutly loved it! it was both fluffy and funny! the mistletoe, plans for the night, molly's unmentionables, harry's dress robes...al fantastic! fred and george are two of my favorite characters and they were portrayed perfectly! splendid story! : )

Author's Response: Oh, thanks very much. I\'m glad you enjoyed it. I\'m very fond of Fred and George myself, so I thought this challenge looked liked fun.



Reviewer: crazypinkowl Anonymous Date: 2007.01.05 - 02:54PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: jacsmompat Signed Date: 2007.01.03 - 08:26PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

Mel. I loved your story and jaq would have too. thanks so much for honoring her last wish and entering this challenge. good luck in the challenge.

Author's Response: Thanks, Pat. I\'m so pleased you feel it honors her beloved memory in some way. I\'ll always think of her with fondness. You take care of yourself, okay? You are a wonderful mother, and I know she adored you.



Reviewer: Rhetor Signed Date: 2006.12.29 - 11:58PM Title: A Christmas Like No Other

starstarstarstar

Well, I grinned all the way through this one. I'm quite sure Jaq would have liked it. Like you, I generally prefer (and tend to write) the angsty stuff, but I have a mushy heart and so I like a good love story once in a while too.

My favorite device was certainly the play-by-play mistletoe. Your H & G are really cute together. I love the particular way in which the twins and Harry act at cross purposes, and the way in which Ginny gets rid of them in Hogsmeade and Harry gets rid of them at the Burrow.

I don't have a lot of fine analysis to make, but I enjoyed myself while reading.

~Ken

Author's Response: Thanks! I, too, usually roll my eyes at the mushy, but every once in a while....particularly at Christmas :) I\'m glad you enjoyed it.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear