Search:

SIYE Time:0:04 on 17th October 2017


Reviewer: Wishing_on_a_star18 Signed Date: 2013.06.26 - 07:26AM Title: Shea Remembers

starstarstarstarstar

That was so sad!! Your writing is extremely captivating and made my emotions go wild! I was crying by the end! Shea was so sweet- love the nickname firefly :)



Reviewer: FlaGinnyGirl Signed Date: 2010.06.30 - 01:17AM Title: Shea Remembers

I didn;t like the fact that Ginny died but it was a well written story and my heart fell even further when Harry called Shea "Firefly", way to tug at our heartstrings. ;-)



Reviewer: Nuvisionary Signed Date: 2009.01.14 - 06:58PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Wow! amazing sadness.



Reviewer: mutualunderstanding Signed Date: 2008.08.27 - 12:01AM Title: Shea Remembers

This story was so beautifully written and played out that my emotions were running a bit wild at the end. Thank you for a wonderful read.

Julie

Author's Response: Thank you for a wonderful review! =)



Reviewer: PotterFan818 Signed Date: 2008.07.31 - 03:00PM Title: Shea Remembers

starstarstarstarstar

that is a really big tear jerker, i almost cried. you should make a sequel to this show called everwood. i think it would be really good. love your story!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: madeye232 Signed Date: 2007.08.04 - 10:39PM Title: Shea Remembers

starstarstarstarstar

i almost cried it was s o good,keep up the good work

Author's Response: Thanx! Another H/G story is in the works, but it is coming out of my head painfully slow...stay tuned!



Reviewer: griffindorechicky101 Signed Date: 2007.05.03 - 09:27PM Title: Shea Remembers

starstarstarstarstar

awwww that was way to cute can you please make a sequel

Author's Response: First off, thank you for a wonderful review. Secondly, I am terribly sorry, but a sequel, in the most literal meaning of the word will not be possible. This is because this is one in a cycle of four oneshots that deal with the deaths of the main Harry Potter characters (Harry, Ron, Hermione and Ginny). In effect, the other three oneshots will be this story's sequels, however, no death will be from the same cause, no child's name the same, etc....in other words, though related, due to the linking theme of death, each will also be its own thing, unique with distingushing features. Obviously, I will not be able to post Ron and Hermione's deaths on this site (I write at www.fanfiction.net too; you can read the whole cycle there) but I will post Harry's oneshot here too. Although, in the case of the rule on this site that prohibits the death of Harry and Ginny in a oneshot, the term is misleading (see the site rules and previous reviews for more information); Harry's death, like Ginny's, will have two chapters--at least, on this site. I hope to hear from you again.



Reviewer: Ginny Rox the Burrow Signed Date: 2007.05.03 - 04:32PM Title: Shea Remembers

starstarstarstarstar

That's been added straight to the favourites list.I'm ashamed to say that I cried like a baby all the way through but I thought you'd get an 'author buzz' from me saying the truth so....lol.Well done!!!!*GRtB*

Author's Response: Indeed I get an "Author buzz" from reviewers who write how they truthfully feel about my work, assuming I'm correctly interpreting what you mean by "author buzz". Thank you so much for that alone. As a guy, I understand what you mean about being ashamed of crying. Even though I say I'm relatively proud to say that I am a bit more sensitive/heart-on-my-sleeve type than most of my male contemporaries, and though I try to NOT be ashamed of crying, it seems that shame at tears has been encoded in my psyche since my birth. I blame this on having been born with an X and a Y chromosome (NOT my parents!!) and our society's idiotic response to men who cry. That being said, I think when it comes to death, whether it be fictional or real, crying is a very natural response (see my response to your other review) and I don't feel hypocritical in saying that I encourage you to not feel ashamed of crying--at least over this and other(?) stories that contain the theme of death. And finally, after I ramble and ramble and then ramble some more, thanks once again for a lovely review!



Reviewer: Ginny Rox the Burrow Signed Date: 2007.05.03 - 03:53PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Oh dear Lord,actual tears!!!*GRtB*

Author's Response: If I may say so, I'm proud of having broght out "real tears" from the readers of this story; it deals with death, possibly one of the most painful things a human has to endure. Thanks a mil for the review!



Reviewer: chandansidhu Signed Date: 2007.05.03 - 12:51PM Title: Shea Remembers

starstarstarstarstar

wow... that's all I can say... loved it

Author's Response: Thanks.



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2007.05.03 - 08:17AM Title: Shea Remembers

starstarstarstarstar

In a way, I'm glad the fued forced this last chapter. A child needs to know about their Mum and how she died. I know I did, and there was no one to tell me. My Dad didn't even know I existed (literally), and an orphanage doesn't know or care. Long story how Dad and I found each other, but my mothers death wasn't pretty. She died alone from AIDS, with no one, no family to mourn her passing. I grew up with a rather nasty hate going for her, since she had left me on the streets to fend for myself. I suppose she felt it was better than watching her slowly die. She could neither read nor write, so her options were limited.
Unlike your Harry, Dad did remarry, and I have the best Mum god created. She has healed wounds for both Dad and I, got me to where I am today...University of London, Kings college medical . To be honest, I don't think of my mother too much...probably because I really didn't know her the way I should have. On the flip side, had I stayed with her ( or had she sllowed me to stay) I could have at least had memories. She did what she thought was right, and I never fault her for that...but I still wish I could have had (even at my age) someone to tell me about her, when she was young. No great light went out, like Ginny...a candle just fizzled out and no one noticed. A woman of the streets died, and most thought it was one less problem to deal with.
So again, thank you for the chapter you didnt want to write.
Darian

Author's Response: Wow...great review...speechless...kinda funny, though, at first, you were right; I didn't want to write this chapter, but once the plot "bunny" (who coined that term??!) came to my head for this, and once I started actually working on it, I really changed my mind, and started to really have fun with it! I would say, however, (or perhaps hope is a better word...) that I wouldn't say there was ever a "feud" that prompted my writing this chapter (if there was, I doubt the quality would have been as good!). Yes, when the admins of this site took this story down because I had not provided a second chapter initially, that did hurt, but once I fully understood the rule...well, everything made sense, and I hope that the site admins and I don't consider ourselves in a feud!!



Reviewer: Ginny Weasley Signed Date: 2007.04.06 - 06:59PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Wow. Simply put, this was a piece of art. Thinking that Ginny Weasley could only die at the hands of a Death Eater or Voldemort himself isn't the correct thing for me to assume anymore. Now I know that even magical people are susceptible to things like cancer.

This made me cry, so hard. Please keep writing. You have a gift.

Author's Response: Thank you SO much. For a long time, I too was in the school of thought that the only way Harry and co. could die was at the hands of the Death Eaters, and judging by the amount of fanfics I read where that was the case, it seemed to be the majority view. And then, on Checkmated.com I read a story where Hermione dies, also of cancer, and I wept harder for Hermione dying of cancer than I ever had for any of Harry, Ron, Ginny or Hermione dying at the hands of the Death Eaters. It was very powerful, as have other death-related stories where the cause is natural vs. Death Eater, been. Thank you for reviewing!



Reviewer: griffindorechicky101 Signed Date: 2007.04.06 - 01:02AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

ive been crying since you annocuced tht she had cancer hurry up and come up with the next chapter please


Author's Response: The next chapter is in the works, and should be done sooner than later. However I make no promises. I just hope that the next chapter touches you the way this one has.



Reviewer: dori16 Signed Date: 2007.04.05 - 11:49PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

great story!!! :)

Author's Response: Thank you.



Reviewer: eaglebird Signed Date: 2007.04.05 - 11:29PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

I usually choose to read a story based on the summary.

Normally stories with a summary such as yours I pass on. However, I have read a number of them on other sites and the better ones are usually very well written, express a perspective on a very sensitive issue with grace, and end up making tears come to my eyes. They make me think and reflect on what is important.

I have not read your story but I have read the 3 reviews that preceded me. I trust and respect their judgment to both read it and to appreciate it and to freely express their comments as to why they all liked it, which they have all done.

I respect your right to post this story. I hope you reason to post it has not been to challenge "the rule."

I hope that the site owner and the Admins convene a high level meeting of not only staff but also respected writers of this site to debate and clarify the editorial policy of the site. Not just the One Chapter Rule which is really a sub-set of a broader issue. My two cents is to keep R at the light end and to discourage NC-17 content. To me this one of the major attractions of SIYE. if I had high school age children I would feel secure if they were reading SIYE. I would feel less secure if they were visiting NC-17 sites. This includes not only graphic sex but also abuse, assault, rape, slash and whatever other dark topics there are. This story meets my criteria. PORNOGRAPHY did not and therefore I agree with the Admins in deleting it. It is a judgment call, but PORNOGRAPHY was the wrong story to make "Custer's Last Stand" on.

My apologies for bringing the debate to this story, but it has already been brought up by another reviewer and the timing of the re-posting is also quite obvious.


Author's Response: I usually read stories based on thier summaries too. I hope my summary was adequate, although if you have not actually read it yet...in any case, I urge you to do so. Without question, I had the hardest time summarizing this story over any other story I've ever written--how do you summarize such a horrible, painful loss?? Personally, though, where summaries are concerned, I'm drawn to the short, enticing ones that reveal very little while still capturing your interest. It's a very tough balance, but that is very much what I wanted the summary for this one to be. Feel free to critique how well/badly you think I managed that goal if you leave future reviews. Finally, no, my posting this story is NOT to challenge the rule, as it were; see my response to one of the other reviews for full detail, and even though I don't completely understand your debate (parts of it are confusing) I have no problem with you being the one to "bring the debate to [my] story".



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2007.04.05 - 10:16PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

It sure didn't get any easier to read this time through, and I know there is another chapter of heartbreak to come.

Thanks for having the courage to do thiss all over again.

Darian

Author's Response: One thing I'm proud of with the material that I have written for ch. 2 is that, yes, there is more heartbreak, but there are other things that people go through with death as well. As to having the courage to "do this all over again", I never deleted anything, or had to re-write anything. Really, the only thing I DID have to do was make up my mind about how I felt about the oneshot/death rule on this site and the initial pulling of this story from the site. I hold NO bitterness to the admins!



Reviewer: irollam Signed Date: 2007.04.05 - 09:25PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

that is sooooo sweet.
im bawling now


Author's Response: Thank you so very much. At points when I was writing this, I was nearly bawling myself. I've had a similar experience in real life (a relative passed away from cancer) and writing dark, moody stories like these (although for the record, I believe this to be true regardless of whether or not I had experienced some of these things firsthand) help me appreciate life, which is part of the reason that, despite the dark, morbid nature of death, I really enjoy writing stories like this.



Reviewer: Kezzabear Signed Date: 2007.04.05 - 08:38PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

But why break the rules? How will this let the feud die? I think the story is sad but relatively well written but I think it'll just make things worse. Surely other fan fic sites dont have the oneshot death rule, why not utilise them? Why is everyone so hell bent on circumventing this one rule on SIYE?

Author's Response: er...do you mean you think I'm trying to cheat the admins of this site? I'm not. Now that I read the rule in it's entirety, I can fully appreciate the reasons behind the passing of this rule, and a second chapter to this story is in the works. But if you're interested, my original plan for this story was that it is one in a cycle of four oneshots, each featuring the death of Harry, Ginny, Hermione and Ron. I've also posted this on fanfiction.net, and will post the rest of the cycle there as well. If you enjoyed this story, I hope you will come back for more--both the second chapter on this site, and the rest of the cycle on ff.net. Thanks for reviewing.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear