Search:

SIYE Time:22:04 on 18th August 2018


Reviewer: hinnybear Signed Date: 2018.05.26 - 12:27PM Title: Chapter 1

This is really good but damn frustrating. The title is perfect not just for Ginny (and Harry as well?) but also for us who are craving for "harry-ginny companionship" in their younger years. It's just sad to realize that Tom is already interfering from the very beginning.

Forgive me but I just have to say this although I think it is somewhat pointless. I just can't sleep with the knowledge that I did nothing! Haha. I think another one shot, a casual conversation between husband and wife will make a good sequel. I'm sorry, I just need to let my feelings out. Hehe.

Thanks for a wonderful story btw!!! :)

Author's Response: It's always a treat when I get a review for an old story, and especially for this one which has elicited strong responses (positive and negative) in the past. It's gratifying to observe that despite the "frustrating" plot as you put it, that you still felt it was a "wonderful" story. As for the one-shot sequel... hmm... I'll have to think on that. Other reviewers have also requested a sequel, but it's usually because they want me to "fix" the sad ending, which I'm not inclined to do. Thanks for the read and review!



Reviewer: Ronald8472 Signed Date: 2018.01.22 - 01:56AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

I hate the ending but see no other one that works. Great story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review -- and for the agreement on the ending. As more time has passed since I originally wrote this story, I'm more convinced than before that it had to end the way it did.



Reviewer: Mirry Signed Date: 2011.11.27 - 11:10PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Brilliant job on it!

I think I got the ending.

Poor Harry, it's sad to see him just sitting there. Although, if he continues to do that, he might catch Ginny when she goes down the stairs to strangle the roosters.

This would make a good story you know, but it makes a great one-shot as well.



Reviewer: twinsmom Signed Date: 2009.08.25 - 09:51AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

I loved the ending. It's really just the beginning tho' isn't it? Great job on the tie in to the books. I wondered how you were going to do that.

Author's Response: Sorry for the late response. Thanks for the read and review. I\'m glad you saw the ending as a beginning -- which is as I saw it. Not everyone who read this story was satisfied with it, but that\'s life, eh? Again, thanks for taking the time to leave a review.



Reviewer: Nurlomum Signed Date: 2008.10.10 - 04:31PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I loved this! I love that there was a start to their bond but that circumstances conspired against them. And it really fits with what we know of how Ginny talked to the diary that year. Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind words. :)



Reviewer: Miss Evans3 Signed Date: 2008.08.26 - 08:22PM Title: Chapter 1

WHY? Why are you letting it end like this? Is it so she end up ih the chamber?

Author's Response: I\'m afraid so. As I mentioned in a response to another review, I believe Ginny\'s encounter with Tom Riddle is important to her relationship with Harry later in life, so I thought it was necessary to have my story lead back into canon. Sorry to disappoint you. You\'re not the first person to express disappointment.



Reviewer: Fearlessvenom1 Signed Date: 2008.06.30 - 03:48AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I actually like how it ends. enjoyed your portrayal of Ginny

Author's Response: Thanks! I\'ve been a little surprised at how many people have been receptive to the ending I chose. Although, it could be because the ones who don\'t like it have just chosen not to say anything. LOL Anyway, thanks for the kind words.



Reviewer: yentila22 Signed Date: 2008.06.28 - 11:31PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

This is a wonderful story and the ending is perfect...I got chills.

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind words. :)



Reviewer: M_And Signed Date: 2008.05.28 - 03:20PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Hey Rich:

I'm going to try this again - the system logged me off as I submitted the review (%^&*!$%&^). I'll see if I can remember everything I said.

With respects to your A/N - I thought the ending was brilliant. Since your story is AU, the ending allows you to return to canon with a no problems at all. Makes for a very nice alternative beginning to the H/G relationship. This is a really well written piece and it is easy to see why it was an award winner. The attention to detail was outstanding. I also thought you did a great job with your characterizations, especially given their ages in the story. Everything was spot on. Great job on this! - Mike

Author's Response: Thanks for the praise, Mike.



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2008.05.14 - 04:39PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Judged for competition.

This is a very well-written challenge entry. Unlike most of the others, you remembered that the incident with "mudblood" Hermione and the slugs occurs during the first week of the year. Hmmm, so for some reason Ron successfully attacks Draco rather than shooting himself with the slugs.

Also, I noticed how the days of the week match up with the 1992 calendar. And this becomes very important to the the story, with all of the barriers Harry faces between himself and Ginny during the first weekend.

It's clever how Dobby, instead of blocking the barrier at King's Cross, instead conspires to stop Harry from meeting Ginny in order to convince Harry to return to the Dursleys.

And the ending? So far, you're the first to have a canon ending -- despite the protests from many of the readers. I disagree with them -- this fic does NOT need a sequel, because there's already a sequel to this, called CANON.

Overall, excellent job as always. I wish you much luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review! To address some of the points you brought up.... the reason Ron successfully attacks Draco is, of course, because his wand was never broken in the incident with the Whomping Willow. But, I still found a way to get him and Harry into detention -- this was more important for Ron, as it was during detention that he discovers Tom Riddle\'s award for services to the school, which comes up later in canon. Thank you for noticing that I had the days of the week line up with the real calendar; it was something that helped me frame the story as I was planning it out. As for Dobby, I can\'t explain why I felt the need to bring him back, but needless to say, it would have felt to me as if something was missing if he did not make an appearance. Thanks for backing me up on the ending. Although, now that I\'ve had time to think it over, I might have an idea or two worthy of pursuing. Time will tell.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 07:12PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Poor Ginny. The week began so well for her and then... The situations that they encountered could never be avoided, so it was if fate was guiding their steps. The relationship between them was great, and I found myself really feeling for them. The continued conversation they had...tried to have was extremely enlightening in building the characterizations. Your ending was also the only one possible. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Great job and thanks! Eric B.

Author's Response: Thank you for the nice review. Looking forward to reading your entries to the challenge as well, I know I\'ll enjoy them.



Reviewer: Kage James Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 06:04PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Ginnyrules Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 02:17PM Title: Chapter 1

Okay maybe that was a bit harsh because it was a very clever story! Just was not expecting it to swing back to cannon haha. But if you are taking counts for a sequel count me in!! :D Also I wont give a star rating since my emotional reaction did not really reflect the quality of your piece and I dont want to give a biased bad rating!

Author's Response: No worries. :) I prefer reviews with some meat to them over ratings anyway. I can honestly say that for this story a low rating wouldn\'t have bothered me because I understand that for some people it\'s difficult to detach their emotional reaction to their evaluation of the story. But, thank you all the same for doing so.



Reviewer: Ginnyrules Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 02:14PM Title: Chapter 1

Haha cant say I do like the ending much! Wouldn't see her giving up on him that easily, especially with her infatuation as you described it. Harry can't get a break lol! But nice writing and good plot all the same.


Author's Response: To be honest, that\'s something I wondered about as I was writing this: Would Ginny give up so quickly? I guess it depends on how deeply one feels her insecurities lie. Obviously, I think that she would and I tried to illustrate that by showing that she was writing in her diary the whole time, despite the talk with Luna. And in my mind, I saw Tom as playing up those insecurities as well. But, that\'s just my opinion. :)



Reviewer: elaithin Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 01:12PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Aw, man. Such a promising start for them, but it still goes wrong. A very good story, though - good luck with the challenge! - Patrick

Author's Response: Thank you for the nice review. I wish you luck also, and look forward to reading your entry when I find the time.



Reviewer: minerfan Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 07:49AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This was good. the ending wassad but needed, so far you are the only one I read in this challenge to keep it in Canon. Loved the line about slaying a monster.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review, I\'m glad you enjoyed it. Yeah, there were more than one of those canon-foreshadowing lines in my very first draft, but I think that\'s the only one that made the cut. Glad you liked it. :)



Reviewer: Enchantedgurls Signed Date: 2008.04.30 - 10:59PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Rich, I loved the changes you made. Everything was perfect, especially what you did with Luna. You made it so that her friendship with Ginny was more aquaintance like and had her call Harry by his first and last name to make it so that it was obvious that she didn't know him personally yet. I especially liked the change with that. Also, Ginny with the Riddle's diary in the beginning. I'm really happy that you established earlier on that she had it and used the example from canon with her almost forgetting the diary at home (wouldn't that have been a good idea if she didn't go back to get it? lol). Oh and I see that some agree with me that this should be continued, however some feel a bit more passionately about it then me lol. This was a bit of a morbid ending but I think it was perfect, it takes us directly back to canon. Plus, who said there's anything wrong with a morbid last line? I think it's brilliant. Anyway, good luck with whatever you decide to do and with the challenge! :D

Author's Response: It\'s a shame that my only forum for sharing some of the credit with my betas when a story turns out well is the Author\'s Note. But, I will say that I am pleased and very content with the way the story turned out and I\'d like to again give thanks to my betas and my wife for helping me make it so.



Reviewer: Comet Moon Signed Date: 2008.04.30 - 10:00PM Title: Chapter 1

EVIL

Now he has more guilt for what wasn't his fault

Why not say Miverva gave detention. Easy to prove

I'd love to see this continued

Ja ne

Jim

Author's Response: Jim, thanks for the review, and we\'ll tally up another vote for the \"Please write a sequel\" group. Yes, Harry could have spoken up and tried to convince Ginny it wasn\'t his fault (which it wasn\'t), but when someone is so angry that when they look at you it\'s like you\'re not there...well, how many 12 year old boys can find the right words to fix the situation -- much less 12 year old Harry? So, for better or for worse, that\'s the way I saw the situation. Thanks again for reading.



Reviewer: lilyevans_Jan30 Signed Date: 2008.04.30 - 09:22PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

As a self-proclaimed member of the "canon police" I really liked this story - including the ending. We can imagine what is going to happen and that it is still all going to end up okay. Very well done!

Lilyevans_Jan30

Author's Response: Thank you for the positive review! As someone who would like to join the \"canon police\" I have to say that it would have been very difficult for me to write a story that wasn\'t like this one. Any more reviews like this and I\'ll have to put off that sequel the other reviewers were asking for. :)



Reviewer: ShadowFang Signed Date: 2008.04.30 - 09:02PM Title: Chapter 1

continue it




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear