Search:

SIYE Time:5:02 on 21st May 2018

Reviews For Albus' Dilemma

Reviewer: kash2110 Signed Date: 2011.06.19 - 04:16PM Title: Albus' Dilemma

A very interesting story with a nice twist at the end.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 08:29PM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstar

One of the more enjoyable Twin Challange stories, although some of the last part was kind of confusing like the significance of Grimmauld Place.



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2010.10.22 - 09:00PM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstar

The Twins Challenge is my favorite of them all...but I somehow managed to miss yours. I still vividly remember Sovran and Kezzabear's offerings, however.

Thanks for yours as well...I definitely enjoyed it.



Reviewer: Little Wolf Signed Date: 2010.05.09 - 02:41PM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstarstar

I loved this one, and especially the ending! :D Great job, and when one got to know that the twins were Harry's and Ginny's great-great grandchildren, it was like... well I can't explain it, but it was good! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the nice review. It\'s been a while since I posted this one and it\'s always nice when someone discovers it and enjoys it, even outside the context of the Challenge for which it was written. :)



Reviewer: kash2110 Signed Date: 2008.10.07 - 10:14PM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstar

what a sweet story, I like how you turned it back to canonb at the end by making them not Harry & Ginny's children!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I\'m glad you enjoyed the story. It was tough trying to figure out a way to make it sort of canon compatible. :)



Reviewer: Domino Signed Date: 2008.07.21 - 02:41AM Title: Albus' Dilemma

Hi. I did enjoy reading your story - interesting way of keeping to cannon by making the children the great-grand-kids of Harry and Ginny. I quite liked the play on words in the title, and its always fun to see Harry and Ginny react.

Author's Response: Thanks for the nice review. I think the title is pretty good too, if I do say so myself. :)



Reviewer: sugarquill112 Signed Date: 2008.07.17 - 07:56AM Title: Albus' Dilemma

This is one story that really stands out from the rest, because of the effort you make to keep it in canon. May I just say that the twisted plotline was fantastic, and you had me thinking the kids were really Harry and Ginny's up until the end. And I really felt like history was repeating itself ...Albus Potter grows up to become a fine and wise wizard just like Albus Dumbledore (who would've thought that?) . It was really fascinating and I enjoyed reading it very much.

Good luck!

Author's Response: Thank you for the nice words. I don\'t know if the phrase \"keep it in canon\" is accurate. Perhaps \"keep the canon timeline preserved\" is better? I\'m just splitting hairs, I know. Anyway, I\'m glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: SunDevil05 Signed Date: 2008.07.15 - 06:06PM Title: Albus' Dilemma

This was an excellent story! And your plot twist was not something I was expecting.

I really liked how you explained why everyone was at the Burrow instead of automatically placing them there for no reason. If only Sirius was cleared before everything happened . . . well beggars can't be choosers, can they?

Your characterizations were pretty much perfect as well as everyone interactions. Of course Harry would have doubt about being a father given his past and he semed to learn fairly quickly. Ginny was right there for him.

The story of how Harry and Ginny got together was wonderful. I was picturing that scene perfectly in my mind and I could almost see them falling in love right then and there.

I'm very curious about this new prophecy. It seems like the Potter family line can't stay away from those can they?

A great piece of work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the generous review. I\'m very encouraged that you liked all of the characterizations. And... oh yes, the prophecy... pesky thing... I should get around to writing it one of these days. Hehe... I think I\'m actually considering fleshing out the sequel for this... maybe someone\'s hit me with a Confundus Charm. :P



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2008.07.11 - 01:39AM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for competition.

I've read and enjoyed so many of your challenge entries, and this one's no exception. This is another unqiue take on the challenge.

We begin with arrival of the young James and Lily and their revealing of events in the future, just as in most of the fics in the challenge. But, unlike many of the other entries, the arrival of the twins results in some unease about Harry/Ginny's relationship, as Hermione points out that HarryGinny may not get together due to their knowledge of the future. But it's sweet how they do get together after all, as Harry tells the kids the story of how he gets together with Ginny by shifting (to the present!) tense, as you point out.

I can tell how you worked hard to keep this fic in canon. We all know how the challenge parameters state that the story take place at the Burrow, so you find a way to get them away from Number Twelve Grimmauld Place. (It's nice to see Sirius finally be cleared. I assume that Sirius survives the incident at the end of OotP in this universe as a result.)

But of course, what makes this fic stand out is how you found a way for James and Lily to be twins, despite canon (the epilogue) telling us otherwise -- it's actually a different James and Lily, born in the 22nd century rather than the 21st! Harry/Ginny's son Albus is now an old, wise wizard -- just like his own namesake back in the 1990's, and history repeats itself with another prophecy -- once again, just as his own namesake once told his father Harry back in the 1990's.

Overall, excellent fic, as always. I wish you luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Thanks, as always, for the encouraging words. Reading your review, it suddenly occurred to me that it may have been a little presumptuous of Harry to think that revealing his feelings for Ginny would automatically result in their getting together. But, if no one else is complaining about it, we\'ll just forget I mentioned it :) ... It\'s been wonderful to hear that people liked my twist, as my attempt to preserve the canon timeline, instead of seeing it as taking the easy way out. Thanks again for a great review!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2008.07.05 - 11:16AM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstarstar

Hmm…very interesting resolution to the situation. I’m immediately reminded of the adage about time repeating itself. This story appealed to me in a couple ways as I think back over it. You emphasize Harry and Ginny’s personas by giving them a perspective into the future…or at least one future. This made for some good parenting efforts. You also set the stage for the actions they will take in a possibly altered timeline. No past memories were changed and I’m left wondering what the affects will be (you hinted at a couple of them). I liked your characterizations and your cast interactions. Overall it was a good job and a nice read. Thanks. Eric B.

Author's Response: Thanks for the great review. :)



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2008.07.03 - 09:13AM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstar

Ooh, finally!! A great Twins challenge where Harry and Ginny get together because of them!! I loved it! I would like to see more of what happens to H/G after this story.

Author's Response: And we\'ll tally up another vote for the \"please make a sequel\" camp. Thanks for the kind words. I, myself, have just started reading the other entries recently, but I know there are at least one or two others out there that get H&G together because of the kids (with the author\'s own personal touch, of course). Off the top of my head, you may want to try the one by Kezzabear. Cheers!



Reviewer: DebbieO Signed Date: 2008.07.01 - 03:00PM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstarstar

Wow, I loved this. I think it's the best challenge entry I've read yet.

The future prophecy is intriguing. Perhaps a couple of Malfoy twins v. the Potter twins? Could be a fun future generation longer fanfic.

I enjoyed Harry and Ginny coming together earlier and love how you tied in the fact that Harry should have been at Grimmauld Place if this was a canon challenge. LOL

Great job. Thanks for a very entertaining read.

Author's Response: Considering how many entries there ended up being, your words are very generous. Thank you!

As for the prophecy... Malfoy twins? Gee, I hadn\'t thought of that... oh, who am I kidding, of course I did! *evil laugh* We\'ll see...



Reviewer: M_And Signed Date: 2008.06.30 - 11:03PM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstarstar

Very well done indeed! If I was a judge (and I'm not, but If I were...) You'd be taking the prize for best overall. I've read quite a few of these (my own included). This was the best. The story was well put together, the narration and the dialog were well done. Having read a couple of your stories, this in my opinion is one of your best (and that's saying something). Good luck on the challenge. - Mike

Author's Response: As much as I like my story, I don\'t think I would give it best overall, but thank you for the sentiment. Thank you for the review and good luck to you as well. :)



Reviewer: txreina Signed Date: 2008.06.30 - 07:58PM Title: Albus' Dilemma

Ok first I thought I was going crazy, because I've read a few stories where Harry and Ginny's children come from the further. Then I realized that it must have been some sort of writing contest. Either way this one was really good. At time I wish the scene would have been longer. I really like the story that Harry told the twins about how he and Ginny first got together. You could almost see them falling in love. I was however a little confused towards the end. Not sure what the intitials stand for, but other wise a great story. Well done.

Author's Response: It sounds like you\'re new to SIYE. Welcome! Yes, this story was one of over 30 entries to a writing challenge about Harry and Ginny being visited by children from the future who acted as if Harry and Ginny were their parents. I\'m glad you enjoyed my interpretation of it. As for the initials for the prophecy, I leave that to the reader (you) to speculate. Should I ever write a sequel, perhaps those details will get fleshed out. Thanks for reading and reviewing.



Reviewer: lilyevans_Jan30 Signed Date: 2008.06.30 - 10:15AM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstarstar

This was really great. Even with the title clue, I never would have guessed the twist at the end. I really liked Harry's realizations about how he was parented at the beginning, and his slow understanding of how to make the children feel safe. Ginny was very realistically written as well. And I totally giggled at Fred and George not missing anything important. A very nice take on the theme. -Lilyevans_Jan30

Author's Response: It actually took me a couple days to come up with the title, and when I did, I had to go back and add a few things to help preserve the twist. Glad to hear it worked and that you enjoyed it. Thanks for the review.



Reviewer: gejufan Signed Date: 2008.06.30 - 09:40AM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstarstar

i think this just might have the best plot twist in the entire twin challange i also fiound the writing to be just wonderfull, though all the Harry Ginny turning instant lovie dovie parenths makes me roll my eyes (it's just seems so out of character for the two of them), but you didn't turn it into mush which already made me like the story.

i was, however wondering why did the twins ended up in the burrow (other then it's written in the rules)?

Author's Response: Why did the twins end up in the Burrow? Well, like ASP was thinking to himself in the last scene, Temporal Portkeys are complicated magic. It was \"programmed\" (for lack of a better word) to take them to H&G in the year 1995. But things don\'t always go exactly as planned, eh?

As for the \"instant\" parenting... I guess I could cite the 10,000 word \"limit,\" but that would be a cop out. In my experience, nothing stirs one to care for a child that is dependent on you more than the fact that they need you. I\'ve even felt the pull to do so for kids who weren\'t my own in certain situations. We\'ll have to agree to disagree on this point as I believe H&G\'s hearts would open up when faced with that situation.



Reviewer: Nuvisionary Signed Date: 2008.06.30 - 07:36AM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstar

Nice twist!! I was very confused with the challenge...and then gave it up as, "just follow the lines. Stay inside the lines." But, then you do this and make it all better - something my son used to say when he was three.
Cheers!
Ray

Author's Response: Thanks for the nice words. I wish my kids would say that to me. Usually, it\'s \"no, you messed it up again.\" LOL :D



Reviewer: Kezzabear Signed Date: 2008.06.30 - 06:44AM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstar

Excellent! I really enjoyed it! You had me going until the end and the plot twist worked really well! Dark twins with an 'M' surname - huh? *evil grin*

Good Job I really enjoyed it - looks like the scrapping and rewriting paid off!

Author's Response: A review from one my Favorite Authors. Gotta love it!

So, you like the prophecy, eh? Oh, the fun we could have with that! And, thanks for the encouragement and the kind words.



Reviewer: Fearlessvenom1 Signed Date: 2008.06.30 - 03:46AM Title: Albus' Dilemma

yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I know you can make the sequel work, you already are a talented writer. I checked out some of your other stories and suffice to say that i added you to my favorite authors
I keep a look out for the sequel

Author's Response: Reviews like this make me chuckle because I think you\'re overestimating my skills a bit. Or, maybe not, we\'ll see. :) I think the challenge of writing a sequel will lie in trying to maintain H&G as the OTP. If the story starts to focus on the twins more than H&G, I may have to post it on another site.



Reviewer: DarkLady Anonymous Date: 2008.06.30 - 03:00AM Title: Albus' Dilemma

starstarstarstarstar

I've read quite a few of the stories in response to the challenge and I have to say that I enjoyed this one the most. It was funny and cute.
Overall I loved it.



Author's Response: You\'re too kind. Thank you very much for the sentiments.

[Respond: In Review]



../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear