Search:

SIYE Time:9:36 on 19th September 2017

Reviews For Like a Queen

Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.01.21 - 10:24AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Love this take on Harry and Ginny finding each other so much more quickly!!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I would have liked to have seen this in canon.



Reviewer: decdraft Signed Date: 2011.05.05 - 10:38PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

If only Jo had talked to you before she wrote HBP - this is so much better a start!

Author's Response: Wow! That's quite a compliment! Thank you!



Reviewer: beryl Signed Date: 2011.04.18 - 02:56AM Title: Chapter 1

Super!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Liska Signed Date: 2011.04.04 - 07:06PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Eyes prick up--Anita Stansfield? Hmmmm. . . I used to work at a specialized bookstore that sold her books!! (It was several years ago, and I can't remember the titles of the ones I read. . . I wonder, are you LDS, too? Very interesting, either way. . .

Liska

P.S. I had a quick Q about your one-shot where James is a spy--the "noodle incident" was referring to Calvin and Hobbes, right?



Author's Response: So, was it Deseret Book? Or Seagull Book? Those are the only chain LDS bookstores I know of. And yes, I\'m LDS, thanks for asking! And why are you asking about James Sirius in this review? Not that I mind, but it probably would have fit better under James Sirius, Spy Extraordinaire. Either way, the noodle incident is most definitely an allusion to the immortal Calvin, may he explore in peace. Thanks!



Reviewer: Abraxan Signed Date: 2009.10.27 - 02:52AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

What a sweet story! And well-written! I really enjoyed it.

Abraxan

Author's Response: Thank you! Coming from you, that means a lot!



Reviewer: Mario Tobler Signed Date: 2009.08.08 - 12:52AM Title: Chapter 1

well, I found It absolutely wonderful. Of what I've read it is your best story, and I love the ending, too bad ron couldn't have seen the kiss eh?

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kinds words--I really enjoyed writing this one, perhaps more than the other ones, and look forward to writing more about this year for Harry and Ginny.



Reviewer: Prof McGonagall Signed Date: 2009.07.21 - 12:17AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Beautifully written! I love a more upbeat Harry. I am getting very tired of these depressed Mimosas that everyone walks on egg shells around him...

Love your very in-depth understanding of Ginny's thoughts and heart. Would love for you to continue this story and see what havoc these two could create at Hogwarts as a team!

Nice vocabulary as well, I actually had to look up a word (which I haven't had to do in a LONG time)! I love well read, well spoken authors!

I will now read anything you have ever written! I already love "The Girl on the Bench" and have been following "Two Birds of a Feather" (hope you will update SOON!)

So keep up the great work and thanks for sharing your talents with us!

Author's Response: Wow, that was a very nice review, thanks! In case you haven\'t caught it, Like a Queen will be part of my sixth-year story, along with A Princely Sum. They were just the parts that really wanted to be written first. Birds of a Feather is currently at the top of my list for work, so we should get another chapter soon. Thanks again!



Reviewer: txreina Signed Date: 2009.07.14 - 12:13AM Title: Chapter 1

Wow that was so beautifully written. I'm off to read more of your stories.

Author's Response: Thanks! I\'m glad you enjoyed it. I hope you enjoy the others too.



Reviewer: jennyelf Signed Date: 2009.04.01 - 12:32PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

very interesting story. I liked how you switched from the train to her memories and back. Oh, how I wish this was really how it happened in canon.

~Jenn :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I\'m glad you liked it. I was rather happy with how well the alternating scenes fit in well.



Reviewer: valondon Signed Date: 2009.03.21 - 08:05PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

This is really good, but I think that you could take it farther, like develope a chapter book off it. You wrote a lot of ground basis for a chapter book, and I would really enjoy it. I know this was ment as a fluff one-shot but it has potential.
Hope to see more of your work sometime in the oh so near future,
valondon

Author's Response: Thanks for your comments, glad you enjoy it. As one of my previous review responses says, I do plan on making a chapter story from this universe, telling about Harry\'s summer, and how he changed, and hopefully take it through both sixth and seventh year. Stay tuned, and we\'ll see what happens.



Reviewer: Phx tears Signed Date: 2009.03.21 - 04:31PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

haha, that was cute. good job.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: HGRHfan35 Signed Date: 2009.03.21 - 01:25PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Indeed a wonderful book and you made a wonderful one-shot.
Nice flashbacks from Ginny's pov and a Harry that dares to take a chance. Loved it.
Last 3 lines were brilliant and a good open 'closure'.
Thanx. C

Author's Response: Thanks for the nice words. I actually had the first couple lines, and that last scene written before anything else.



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2009.03.21 - 11:58AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Very gutsy, I think, for a guy to do a story from Ginny's POV, so congratulations you really pulled it off. My one critique is you had Harry too demonstrative early on. I think, after that first hug when he arrived, Ginny would have had no more thoughts about Dean whatsoever. Well just a quibble and of course not too much time for development in a one shot.

One line stuck with me. "Flying with Harry was about as close to heaven as she could imagine". Hmmm, could be double meanings there, of several sorts.

Again, well done.

Author's Response: Thanks for your comments, I enjoy reading them. I think that in Ginny\'s case, she had two things working against instant acceptance of Harry. First, she\'d been waiting and hoping for so long that she\'s not sure she even believes it\'ll happen anymore, and doesn\'t want to risk her new friendship with him. Secondly, she really is honorable (one of the reasons she and Harry are so compatible) and doesn\'t feel free to investigate Harry\'s affections before settling things with Dean. Thanks!



Reviewer: swannygirl Signed Date: 2009.03.21 - 11:25AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Great story! I loved the stories of the summer and the interactions between Harry and Ginny.

Author's Response: Thank you! I\'m glad you enjoyed it!



Reviewer: runnerman87 Signed Date: 2009.03.21 - 11:11AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This is the best beginning to a new story that I've read in quite a while. I'm looking forward to reading more from you.

I particularly liked some of your word choices. It's refreshing to read a story from someone who isn't afraid to really let their vocabulary loose. There aren't too many authors out there with those kind of chops. I personally wouldn't have used some of the "better" words when expressing a character's thoughts because people rarely think in such developed forms, but that's just a style choice that works for me. The specific example I'm thinking of is when Ginny is thinking about Harry's "irascible" temper. Other than that, I really enjoyed your writing style. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind words, I hope that I can keep your interest through the major story arc. As for Ginny\'s word choices. . .Yeah, an almost-fifteen year old probably wouldn\'t have used some of the words that I imputed to her, but in a contest between using the word that I know fits, and trying to hit appropriate age levels, I think I\'d rather err on the side of \"But Ginny\'s very well read!\". Thanks!



Reviewer: Professor_Chris Signed Date: 2009.03.21 - 08:27AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Very good, I like that Ginny really took the time to explore how she had felt during the summer and her different encounters with Harry.

Although I must say that Dean is rather thick if he thinks sitting in the same carriage and starting off into space consitutes getting along well. I wonder how satisified his other girlfriends will be :).

Author's Response: Yeah, but then, lots of guys seem to assume things that they shouldn\'t, especially when it comes to the opposite sex. Thanks for your comments!



Reviewer: Zanthus Signed Date: 2009.03.21 - 06:40AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Loved the variations in the story line. Hope to see more of your works. Enjoy the future

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it!



Reviewer: M_And Signed Date: 2009.03.21 - 01:44AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Well done! An interesting take on this. I liked the flashback scenes and the perspective they brought. I also liked that the "present tense" took place on the train. So many subtle and sometimes not so subtle moments took place on the train or at the station in the series, so that was definitely a good call. My only comment might be with regard to the degree with which you took Harry's "out of characterness" (ie Happy Harry). I understand that for the story to work you needed to do it to some degree, but I wonder if you maybe didn't take it a bit too far. All in all, a wonderful story, and a highly enjoyable read. - Mike

Author's Response: Thanks for your comments--I appreciate the thought you put into your review. As for Harry\'s OOC-ness, there\'s a reason for it. I have, in my head, plans to make a much longer, chaptered story, into which Like a Queen would fit seamlessly. It would be mostly from Harry\'s POV, and would trace his progression from end of OotP to Happy Harry. You\'re just having to read this one first, because Ginny was yelling at me to tell her story first. So, keep your eyes open for the. . . Rest of the Story... Thanks!



Reviewer: GoDons Signed Date: 2009.03.21 - 12:23AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent story. Loved it immensely.

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words, I appreciate it!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear