Search:

SIYE Time:15:28 on 20th November 2018

Reviews For The Other Side

Reviewer: potterwatch97 Signed Date: 2010.08.21 - 07:07PM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstarstar

Interesting story. Quick question.... Why is Harry in Prison?!?

Author's Response: The short answer is: I don't know. The longer more elaborate explanation: I intended to leave it up to the reader to imagine how he got from not publishing his story in "The Quibbler" (as he did in canon) to ending up in prison. It's sort of like a "What if" scenario where the Harry does one or two things differently... and somehow one thing leads to another, and things don't turn out the same way. Thanks for the read and review.



Reviewer: Enchantedgurls Signed Date: 2009.07.20 - 02:22AM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstarstar

Oh my goodness, Rich. I can't believe I didn't know about this story! Congrats on winning best drama! Thanks for telling me about it too. :) This was quite intriguing, I did not expect that ending at all. How did Harry end up in prison? Where was that article published? You should definitely consider a sequel, I'm very much intrigued and I really want to know what happened here. :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind words. Any potential sequel will have to wait while I finish up my current piece of work. Hope you found the small easter egg I left for you. :)



Reviewer: jediprankster Signed Date: 2009.06.01 - 08:41PM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstarhalf-star

That was...different. It was very good, if a bit depressing at the end. As other reviewers have said, you do leave a lot of questions unanswered. Why is Harry in prison? How long has he been there? Presumably it is a life sentence? Why no mention of Dementors? Does Azkaban not use them anymore? Or is he in some other prison? I'm not sure whether the story is more or less effective with those questions unanswered. At any rate, it was a fantastic story, and worthy of winning the challenge.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the kind words. I\'ve always had mixed feelings about how much information is \"enough.\" Even now, as I attempt to outline what a longer story built on the premise of this short story might entail, I find myself wondering if I should just leave well enough alone. I do wonder if I should be frustrated at myself for creating such a dilemma. :P



Reviewer: winterchild87 Signed Date: 2009.06.01 - 08:59AM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstar

I'm torn between thinking that all that needs to be said has been said, and wanting to read more...The imagination goes wild with all of the possibilities as to why our Hero is behind bars- I did at first think that maybe Harry was a POW. Perhaps the war is still raging and he desperately wants to know how they are fairing...or not =) ... that is why I am first and foremost a reader, rather than a writer!

Great work...I did pause at the part where it said that Harry was Muggleborn, but I realised that it was probably an error that you didn't pick up before submitting it. In all, this was quite an interesting story.

Author's Response: Hmm... Harry as a POW... the only catch would be that I don\'t think POW\'s get visitors. Do they? Will have to look that up.... But, that\'s still a great concept.

Yes, I really should have put \"Muggle-raised.\" I know he\'s not Muggleborn -- really, I do! I was originally going to fix it, but I think I\'ll just fix it in the bigger story I\'m planning out. Thanks for the read and review.



Reviewer: annep Signed Date: 2009.05.29 - 05:48PM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstarstar

Most challenge stories tend to be repetitive, there’s usually little to make them stand apart from each other. This entry, however, had a creative twist that made it worth reading.

The loyalty of Harry’s friends demonstrated in the article and by Ginny’s daily visits was very touching. The article was old (“yellowed piece of newspaper”), which really makes the reader wonder what happened in the intervening years. This would make an excellent opening chapter for an AU story. On the other hand it doesn’t really need anything else; less can be more, as you leave it to the reader to fill in the blanks as he/she will.

Your award was well-earned. Thanks for sharing your story.


Author's Response: Thank you very much for the kind words. This is the type of review that authors always strive to receive.



Reviewer: peregrin Signed Date: 2009.05.21 - 03:16AM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstar

I know! I know what it is all about! Harry is mentally unstable! He is no wizard and there is no magical world. In his crazy state of mind, he committed a crime and the judge refused to accept his "not responsible for my own actions".
So the only thing that is real from canon is Ginny. :P

Author's Response: Hmm... part of what you\'ve said isn\'t too far off from what I imagined, and part of it is way off. But that\'s great! :) I wanted people to come up with their own interpretation of things, and yours is certainly one of the more unique ones. Thanks for the read and review.



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2009.05.16 - 05:56PM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstar

Oooooo! Such a twisted ending! Will there be more?

Author's Response: The more I think about, the more I\'m thinking that there should be more. It would certainly address the story\'s weakness of not enough information. Thanks for the read and review.



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2009.05.14 - 11:59PM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Judged for competition.

Your first challenge in nearly a year, and this is definitely a different type of challenge entry. At first, it sounds like a normal interview, except that Harry and his friends aren't as forthcoming with answers as they are in the other challenge entries.

The ending? One line I've noticed is:

"I should have had this published in the The Daily Prophet -- or at least the Quibbler, he thought to himself."

implying that the article was NOT published in one of those two publications. So I wonder, where WAS the article published? Maybe that has something to do with why Harry's incarcerated. Perhaps the article was published in a MUGGLE publication, and so Harry's in Azkaban for violated the Secrecy Laws. (But why would he do that?) My only other possibility is that maybe Harry's actually in a MUGGLE jail. Maybe the Dursleys had him arrested for some reason. The fic is so short (one of the shortest entries ever -- just barely above the minimum length) that I can't help but wonder whether you could add to this fic to explain what happened.

Whatever the reason, this was a thought-provoking fic. Good luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Now that\'s what I call a thorough review. Talk about someone who does his research -- I didn\'t even know it had been that long since my last entry.

Glad to see you picked up on (what I thought) was the most important point: Harry and friends\' less assertive efforts to tell their side of the story (the lone possible exception being Ginny\'s short speech). This of course is related to the other thing you picked up: not getting their story out in one of the more well-known publications of the wizarding world. From there, it\'s left to the reader\'s imagination to determine how that may have led to the less than happy ending.

Should I have added more to the fic? At this point, I would say \"Yes.\" I thought letting readers come up with their own ideas would be part of the story\'s appeal, but even those reviewers who left positive reviews had lots of questions. Live and learn, I guess. Thank you for the kind words.



Reviewer: Yunchao Signed Date: 2009.05.10 - 11:06PM Title: The Other Side

I just read this for judging. I liked the whole story overall. The ending was very surprising! What's Harry doing in jail? Is it Ginny who visits him? Did old You Know Who win? Good job!

Author's Response: Yep, it\'s Ginny visiting him. I\'m not creative enough to come up with another redhead who would be coming to see him. :) I\'m glad you liked it, but it appears (if the other reviews I\'ve received are anything to go by) that the story raises too many unanswered questions. Thanks for the read and review.



Reviewer: pippan121 Signed Date: 2009.05.09 - 04:25PM Title: The Other Side

Interesting story. It makes me very curious for more information on how Harry ends up where he does.

Author's Response: Thanks. That makes two of us. Just kidding. I do have ideas in my head to explain how he got there. Still plotting how it may shake out before I take the plunge and write it.



Reviewer: Count Westwest Signed Date: 2009.05.02 - 10:40PM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstarstar

I liked the story. Short but effective. It has the quality of a prologue to a larger story, It left me intrigued.

Author's Response: You know, I was just thinking about that possibility the other day. There\'s been this AU story idea that\'s been running around my head for a couple months. It may meld with this story well enough... I\'ll have to mull it over a bit more. Anyway, thanks for the kind words.



Reviewer: ThelostWeasley13 Signed Date: 2009.05.02 - 07:12PM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstar

Very intersting. Except for the fact that Harry is not a muggleborn he is a half blood I didn't really see any mistakes and the fact that you put a twist ending into it leaves room for a sequel in the AU section, so good job.

Author's Response: Yes, another reviewer also pointed out my error. I meant to put something like \"Muggle raised.\" Oops. I\'ll fix it after the judging. Thanks for the read and review.



Reviewer: LadyRuthless Signed Date: 2009.05.01 - 08:39PM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstar

Please do have it listed as AU. I avoid AU stories. I loved the newspaper article, and didn't like the ending, purely because it's
AU. You'll want your story judged on its own merit, not because folks like us avoid AU :-)
But, it's very well written.

Author's Response: Yeah, sorry about that. Of course, by the nature of its required elements, this challenge, and the other challenges that are part of the Retro Challenge series, are inherently AU. But, that\'s beside the point. A creative author can make their entry compatible with canon, if they so choose. Again sorry about the oversight, and thanks for recognizing the story\'s strengths, regardless.



Reviewer: happyreader Signed Date: 2009.05.01 - 01:28PM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstarhalf-star

oh bravo,,, not many fan fic authors , use the unsaid or implied , an excelent short story.

Author's Response: I\'m glad you enjoyed it. Sometimes one can go over the line and not provide enough for readers to fill in the blanks. I know I was on the edge of that with this story. Thanks for the positive review. :)



Reviewer: hms42 Signed Date: 2009.05.01 - 09:48AM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review

Author's Response: Thanks for the rating. I\'m glad you liked the story.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2009.05.01 - 09:27AM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Concise but effective; this was a nice approach. I do admit that the ending threw me at first; caused me to go back and reread; but it does follow what is presented. Your Portkey security was unique, and lent to the story in more ways than just ensuring privacy. Harry's fate takes a turn somewhere, and we are given a glimpse of where that begins. I love what ifs, and an alternative approach to matters is always refreshing. Thanks for an entertaining read. It left me thinking--Eric.

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind words. I\'m glad this little \"runt\" of a story was able to make some impact. :)



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2009.05.01 - 03:45AM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Did I miss something? Why is Harry in prison? Ummm...WAS Harry muggle born? Not with James as his father!

Darian

Author's Response: Yes, it was my attempt at a twist. Apparently, it might have been too much of a surprise ending. Oh well, I\'ll get it right one of these days. Technically, you are correct on the Muggleborn issue. Perhaps I should have used the term \"Muggle raised\"? Unfortunately, I can\'t edit the entries until after the judging so it\'ll have to wait. Thanks for pointing that out. And thanks of course the read and review.



Reviewer: GoDons Signed Date: 2009.05.01 - 03:18AM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Really good entry. I enjoyed it a lot. The only down side is that it's unpleasant to think of Harry being locked up in a prison cell, but perhaps that's because this has never occured to him in cannon.

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind words. I wasn\'t sure what to expect, considering the time crunch I was under, but I think I\'m reasonably satisfied. I\'m glad you seem to think that it was worth the effort.



Reviewer: Duelist Signed Date: 2009.05.01 - 01:57AM Title: The Other Side

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I have to admit that I was not inspired by this challenge, but you have done something here that is intriguing, interesting, and has some serious potential. Made me think! Way to go, and good luck!

Author's Response: I wonder if I\'ll ever find the time to fill in the blanks for this storyline (which reminds me, I need to add AU as a category). As it was, I still thought it was fun to throw that twist in there at the end. Thanks for the read and review.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear