Search:

SIYE Time:14:45 on 20th July 2017


Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2014.09.12 - 04:02AM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Nice piece of writing. Although I was sure the girl on the bench had to be Ginny from the start I could not puzzle out who the girlfriend was. The Quidditch connection totally threw me. Good to see a successful Ron too.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it. I hoped the Quidditch mention would continue to lead people astray. -duke



Reviewer: RwriterR Signed Date: 2014.09.10 - 04:20AM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstarstar

You're a genius.

Author's Response: <*blush*> Thanks!



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2014.05.13 - 02:48PM Title: Epilogue

Felt compelled to read this through a second time (parts of it a third time) before I was ready to put it aside.

One thing you do with your AU stories that's really fun is re-envision characters according to how their personalities would differ given a completely different upbringing. This is something that most of us miss with out AU stories: our characters tend to have lots of the same ticks and idiosyncrasies that they had in the Rowling universe (or else are basket cases) but in this story the Ron who has had the chance to grow up as his own alpha (rather than Harry's beta) is distinctly different: more affable and confident, but at the same time still recognizably Ron. Similarly, your Harry in Birds of a Feather, raised by the loving Delacours, has a quiet confidence that also makes him very easy for the reader to get along with. I wonder, in Birds, how a Harry that has been raised in a more conventional way will respond to the plot challenges that I suspect you might have in mind.

Author's Response: Thank you so very much for your comments--I appreciate your insight into what I've done with my characters, and am very glad you're enjoying them. -duke



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2014.05.10 - 02:27PM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstarstar

Having already read 'Birds of a Feather', I'm kicking myself for not having clued into your stranger-from-France motif. In hindsight, I realize that you left a few other clues within your artful deception.

Anyway, this was a real humdinger and I'm astonished (a little dismayed) that it doesn't have a sizable trophy case. At least on SIYE -- perhaps other sites were more receptive.

If the story as a whole has any weakness, it is perhaps that this third chapter is caught somewhere in a middle ground between active plot and epilogue. Personally, I would have retained, verbatim, everything through to the following line:

“Hold on,” Hermione turned and yelled towards the kitchen. “Ron! Ronald! Get yourself out here, now!”

and then glossed through the rest (perhaps even extending further into the future) as a happy little picture postcard.

Regardless, this certainly made my day!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it, and I thank you for your comments--it's always nice to hear suggestions about how to improve my writing. Thanks! -duke



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2014.05.10 - 01:37PM Title: Chapter 2, Decisions

starstarstarstarstar

Wow!!!!! You completely snookered me -- this is brilliant!

Author's Response: Oh good, that was always my goal! Thanks -duke



Reviewer: Senator of Sorcery Signed Date: 2013.01.07 - 12:28PM Title: Epilogue

this was really cute, but i would have liked to see a little more interaction between Harry and Ginny and Ron and Hermione than what was there. Two days is a little far fetched, as is a week.

Author's Response: Yeah, it would have been fun to stretch this out--I was under some constraints as to writing time, so couldn't take forever. And sure, that's a short time frame, but I'm not convinced it takes forever to be able to fall in love. And I can imagine Ron being quite the impulsive guy, although normally Hermione would slow him down. Ah well. Glad you liked it anyway.



Reviewer: Theresa Signed Date: 2010.08.28 - 11:25PM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstarstar

Hi! Have just read this fic for the umpteenth time, loving it as much this time as the first one. From the first time I read the first part, I knew it was Harry and Hermione. There was no passion in the description of the couple. Not once did the words"in love" appear, just loved each other. It all sounded so platonic to me that as soon as the girl appeared on his bench, and he was all flustered, as we know our boy can get, I knew I was right. You wrote a great fun fic, and I love reading it whenever I need a lift. I do like your other work as well, so keep up the great writing. Jeanne.
ps. i do appreciate the fact that SIYE has adopted Phoenix Songs format of placing a box beneath each chapter for reviews. Great. I,m not fussy about the black, but hey, can,t have everything.

Author's Response: Glad you were able to pick up on the few clues I dropped. And that you like re-reading it. Thanks!



Reviewer: Seritha Signed Date: 2010.04.25 - 02:16PM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstarstar

I totally meant to review this like WAY earlier (and its one of my FAVORITES) but I knew he'd end up with Ginny I mean its on SIYE so I could easily get through it cuz I knew it'd happen. But its awesome!

Author's Response: Thanks for remembering to review! I had a lot of fun writing it, and it was a lot of fun watching people read it without the safety net you had.



Reviewer: Abraxan Signed Date: 2009.10.28 - 03:18AM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstar

Well done! That's a satisfying story, and quite enjoyable. Thanks for writing it!

Abraxan

Author's Response: I\'m glad you enjoyed it, thanks for reading and reviewing!



Reviewer: Abraxan Signed Date: 2009.10.28 - 12:04AM Title: Chapter 2, Decisions

starstarstarstar

Ah - good surprise ending! I like it! I was pretty worried there for a while! Nicely done.

Abraxan

Author's Response: Thanks! I\'m glad you liked the twist at the end--one of my betas was so upset by how it was going that she refused to read past the first couple of pages until I told her what was going to happen.



Reviewer: Prof McGonagall Signed Date: 2009.07.20 - 11:05PM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstarstar

Oh that was absolutely hilarious!!! What a ride! In all my years of reading fanfiction, I have NEVER read something like this! Very unique, VERY funny!!! I was laughing tears when Ron yelled back "We're married"!



Author's Response: Thanks! It makes me very happy that you enjoyed it so much.



Reviewer: Prof McGonagall Signed Date: 2009.07.20 - 10:36PM Title: Chapter 2, Decisions

Holy Cow! How did you manage to slip that one past me??? So WHO is his now-ex-girlfriend then???
I better go on to the next chapter then...

Author's Response: To be brief--I worked really hard to mislead you. I\'m glad it worked!



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2009.07.19 - 10:45PM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstarstar

Practically perfect in every way!

Author's Response: Why thank you, that\'s very kind!



Reviewer: bones2009 Signed Date: 2009.07.19 - 02:31AM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstar

All right I admit it... I read the epilogue on another site... I love it though...

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it, thanks for reviewing!



Reviewer: GoDons Signed Date: 2009.07.18 - 09:42PM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstarstar

So Hermione was the ex-girlfriend? And here I was thinking it was Ginny, probably because Harry's mention of saving Hermione's life in the first chapter threw me a bit as that's what he did for Ginny in cannon. And any story, HP AU or not, isn't quite the same if the author doesn't end it with Harry and Ginny getting together, which you have. Well done, and I look forward to reading more of your work in future.

Oh, speaking of H/G, I watched Half-Blood Prince on Friday night here in one of Melbourne's cinemas, close to where my family and I are living, and it was great, truly worth the wait. My highlights were the performances from Dan Radcliff, Emma Watson, Rupert Grint and Bonnie Wright in their respective roles as Harry, Hermione, Ron and Ginny. Also, if the film has anything over the novel, it's that audiences are left with the notion that Harry and Ginny are still in a relationship (and that was confirmed on Wikipedia), unlike the novel, where they broke up. Just hope Ginny isn't somehow endangered in the upcoming film adaptation of DH because of her relationship with Hary.

Cheers,
GoDons

Author's Response: Well, I have to admit, I worked really hard to make you think the ex-girlfriend was Ginny. That was kind of the whole point of the story. So, I\'m glad you thought the way you did. And, I can\'t foresee a future where I don\'t put Harry and Ginny together, unless it\'s a really short one-shot, as in my 100 Ways Harry Didn\'t Find Out He Was a Wizard, on fanfiction dot net. And the movie was pretty good. That thought of H/G still being together throughout the next two movies is really what I hope too. Thanks!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2009.07.18 - 03:51PM Title: Epilogue

At the end of this part i would have had harry swearing up a strom about the most important factor that he needed to take care of and before the fun should have begin...kutgw i love the twist...this could have gone on for a long tiem then agian it was just right...kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks for the review--I didn\'t want to drag the epilogue out too far. But at least it\'s left open for a sequel!



Reviewer: gryff_princess Signed Date: 2009.07.18 - 09:03AM Title: Chapter 2, Decisions

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: LadyRuthless Signed Date: 2009.07.17 - 09:57AM Title: Chapter 2, Decisions

starstarstarstarstar

I usually avoid AU but I recommend this one!
Thanks for sharing.


Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for recommending it!



Reviewer: Bware0313 Signed Date: 2009.07.16 - 08:18PM Title: Chapter 1: Meetings

Ok... I have just accepted the idea that his old girlfriend could have been hermione... Is that the case? And if so what does she do with quidditch... Also, how many years has it been? If it's been like eight years then perhaps it is plausible that they wouldn't recognize Ginny... And likewise... Please share!

Author's Response: Thanks for the duplicate review!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2009.07.16 - 05:05PM Title: Chapter 2, Decisions

I think this was a lot more funt hen i tought it would be and i also like the twist u threw in,,,wow whata 180 and then some.....kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks! I\'m glad you enjoyed it. Now, for the epilogue!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear