Search:

SIYE Time:20:01 on 11th December 2017

Reviews For Grave Days

Reviewer: mcepl Signed Date: 2017.11.04 - 04:39PM Title: Under a Shroud

starstarstarstar

(the review and rating is for whole story, not just this chapter)

I really like it, I think as with your other stories you show a real talent to keep all your characters canonical (Ron, Ginny, Neville, and where the Rowlingís characters lack a description to create a nice character in line with what JKR wrote Ö your Luna Lovegood and Lavender Browse are just awesome; from my popular HP universe non-characters I miss only Patil sisters, but one cannot have everything).

I also like that you are not overindulging in angst, PTSD and stuff (PTSD should be done either by people who really know what they are talking about or not at all), but perhaps exactly because of that I was able to relate to real deep feeling of sadness which engulfs this story. When Molly Weasley led them to drink on dead from the First Wizarding War, I was really on brink of tears.

And of course, meeting of Harry and Ginny is just sensational! Thank you.

(concerning this chapter I have only one question Ö are you really sure you want to condone use of something which really too much resembles speed, meth, or pervitin? When some parts of HP universe are transported to the Muggle mundane reality, results are sometimes shocking Ö love potion is actually a rape drug, which is IMHO nothing to make jokes about; you wrote very nicely about horrible consequences of Memory Charms, but I was always uneasy how some invigoration draughts, Euphoria elixir, Cheering Charm, Draught of Peace, or Wit-Sharpening Potion are pretty to close some nasty pscyhoactive or recreational use drugs).



Reviewer: mcepl Signed Date: 2017.10.27 - 06:23PM Title: Family Plots

> ĎIíve just told you, Ron, itís Saturday evening,í said Harry.

No, he just told him it's Friday evening.



Reviewer: hgromance Signed Date: 2016.03.30 - 02:48PM Title: Sepulchral Mist

I've read this story several times and I think it just dawned on me what Kingsley meant when he said he'd try to follow Dumbledore's advice: to trust Harry. At least, I think that's what was meant. Don't know why I hadn't made that connection before.

Author's Response: That's what was meant. :)



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2014.08.01 - 02:23PM Title: Sepulchral Mist

Hey Neil, just for fun I had decided to re read this story and while reading this chapter I suddenly recalled a detail I'd previously missed. You have Harry with his entire collection of roommates and say that the last time they were all together in their room like that was the night before Dumbledore's funeral. Now admittedly it's been a few years since I've re read the actual books but unless I'm mistaken didn't J.K. have in the story that Seamus's mother pulled him out of Hogwarts more or less the day after Dumbledore's death?

I know it's a minor detail either way, but all the same, the thought suddenly occurred to me and thought I'd share it.

Author's Response: You are right! Damn! Iíll have to edit that section, but Iím terrible at making small edits. Iíll probably look at the entire chapter. -N-



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2014.04.27 - 03:02PM Title: Love Unveiled

starstarstarstarstar

Spectacular H/G reacquaintance scene!! So many others have attempted such a scenario in one capacity or another, and a depressing majority simply do not resonate.

IMHO, what works in your rendition include a novel setting, complementary visual imagery, a delightfully sweet awkwardness to the pair and Ginny's quiet, measured strength that will seemingly become a hallmark in your later work. This strength will apparently prove to be difficult to sustain through all subsequent tribulations that you have them face, but it wouldn't be a romance without the occasional bump in the road.

This may replace ReisMacleod's reacquaintance scene as my favorite. RM does a lot of things well, but having Ginny seated in the Great Hall does not stir the imagination in the same way as having her emerge from the shaded occlusion of apple blossoms.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review and the kind words. This image of the Harry/Ginny reunion was one of the first which came to me when I decided to try writing. My original attempt was terrible, mainly because I made this chapter one of Grave Days and tried to write the rest in a confused and confusing flashback. Eventually, I realised that I needed to build up to this moment, and I started again. This is the result. I considered five locations. Platform 9ĺ I dismissed immediately (no reason for them to be there), but I put it aside to use as the location where Harry finally says those three little words. The Great Hall seemed overdone, as did the lake, so I was left with a choice, the Common Room, or The Burrow. This is (I hope) Ginny being both vulnerable and strong.

I read very little fanfiction, and Iíve never read ReisMacleod. I have, however, read a chapter or two of one of Count Westwest's stories (you mention him in another review). That is simply because he reviewed (and hated) this chapter on another site. He thought my Harry is too much of a wimp. I didnít read much, as I couldnít get past his super-macho Harry and numerous Americanisms.

-N-



Reviewer: ame9515 Signed Date: 2013.12.18 - 11:19PM Title: Postscripts

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Hermine Signed Date: 2013.07.14 - 03:16PM Title: Postscripts

I really like the way you interpreted Harry and Ginny. Ron and Hermione didn't bicker as much as they usually do, but Hermione's domestic situation could arguably cause that. You seem to have forgotten that witches and wizards under age 17 aren't allowed to do magic outside of school. Ginny shouldn't have been much help cleaning up the Grangers' house.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Iím not certain that, after ďthe kissĒ, Ron and Hermione would argue so much. Personally, I think that a lot of it was ďIím hereówhy donít you notice meĒ behaviour and that they would mature. I havenít forgotten about underage magic, but the Ministry has a lot more important things to deal with.
-N-



Reviewer: SYLVELLE Signed Date: 2013.03.18 - 02:55PM Title: Postscripts

starstarstarstarstar

I have always loved this story Neil. Had to read it again.

Always a 10.

Author's Response: Thank you. :-D -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.02.20 - 01:41AM Title: Postscripts

Well done. I really enjoyed reading this.

Author's Response: Thank you. This was my first attempt at fanfiction, and I keep wondering whether I should rewrite it. One day, perhaps... -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.02.19 - 11:09PM Title: Commitals

starstarstarstarstar

Awwww..... how bitter. sweet.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.02.19 - 10:38PM Title: Inhumations

You are very descriptive. The scenery comes alive.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.02.19 - 10:13PM Title: Funereal Progress

starstarstarstarstar

Luna is playing hard to get, bless her. Love your fiesty Lavender.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.02.19 - 09:47PM Title: Inhumations

starstarstarstarstar

I do not think i would survive a funeral if it is so exciting and action packed as this was. Phew!

Author's Response: All funerals are difficult, this one was more difficult than most. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.02.19 - 09:09PM Title: Death Watch?

starstarstarstarstar

That was exciting. Poor Lavender.

Author's Response: Lavender will recover eventually. I'm back on Hunters and rey, and she's already making her presence felt. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.02.19 - 08:29PM Title: Morning before Mourning

starstarstarstarstar

Interesting description Love Luna.... and the beaded bag.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.02.19 - 08:07PM Title: Family Plots

starstarstarstarstar

What a complicated chapter.... er, life . Love Luna's timely interruption.

Author's Response: Luna's timing is always good, don't you think? -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.02.19 - 07:15PM Title: Under a Shroud

starstarstarstarstar

Oh dear...... Ron never learns.... well, at least he is consistent. Love the chapter.

Author's Response: Ron learns, it just takes him a while. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.02.19 - 06:54PM Title: A Pall Over The Burrow

LOL George pushed his mother out of the way ? WTG as a last sentence.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.02.19 - 06:32PM Title: Love Unveiled

Ah oh! Goblins and Ginny on Harry! What a combination.

Author's Response: Ginny on Harry is only to be epected, isn't it? -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.02.19 - 06:06PM Title: Morbid Thoughts

I wanted to cry.....

Author's Response: That was the plan. -N-




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear