Search:

SIYE Time:13:09 on 23rd October 2017


Reviewer: Lemonpomtart Signed Date: 2017.02.11 - 10:15AM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Cassieopia Signed Date: 2014.01.10 - 06:35AM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.12.03 - 03:17PM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

LOL. An excellent one-shot.

Author's Response: Thanks. My first ever first person story, and still being read and reviewed, It's the third most read of my one shots, and (just) the most reviewed. Glad you liked it. -N-



Reviewer: pcoates Signed Date: 2012.09.11 - 11:09PM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

Just rereading this. It is D**n Good. It is probably the best "One Shot" out there. One shot my foot.

There is more very good work on SIYE, but there is some less good. But I know whenever I see anything by Northumbrian that is well excel.




Author's Response: Thanks for the compliment.
I hope that my one-shots are what they claim to be, that they stand alone and can be read without reference to my other stories. Sometimes, I worry that they can't.
You should see more Strangers and H&P soon.
-N-



Reviewer: Dianainga Signed Date: 2012.06.03 - 09:22AM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

This is GREAT! Arthur is one of my favorite HP characters and this fits him to a tee!!! How else could he have survived raising 7 children without this kind of insight and humor?. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you. I think that JKR drops a few hints about Arthur's abilities as a dad. -N-



Reviewer: swede Signed Date: 2012.05.21 - 04:36AM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstarhalf-star

While re-reading some of your stuff I came upon this little gem. Like so many others before me, I also have to say 'Well done!'. I think the reviews here show that many people, me included, always felt that Arthur is a lot brighter than the books explicitly state. I do however feel that in this piece you've described not only Arthur's 'previously hidden qualities' (seen but unnoticed, more intelligent, etc) but also removed his explicitly stated, I don't know what to call it, enthusiastic dyslexia maybe?

The way I see it Arthur either actively lies, constantly, to his children in order to better spy on them, faking the 'fellytone', '...eclectic? You mean with a Plug?' and other mishaps -OR- he actually has a problem remembering words. I realise that I'm currently trying to reconcile your wonderful written-for-adults depiction of a man's mind with a description of a person from a book written for twelve year-olds (that adults enjoy). It won't work. But it could, maybe, work a little better?
The sentence in the beginning with 'significant others' is good. Had he only tried a few variants, as if he couldn't quite remember, it would have been better. Same thing with the 'fellytone' towards the end. Had he only grasped for the word a bit it would not have felt like an intentional mispronunciation to cover up intelligence but rather the enthusiastic absentmindedness of an otherwise intelligent man. Because, being intelligent and interested in all things Muggle, Arthur should not make the same mistakes with Muggle words as other purebloods would. Also, dyslexia and/or absentmindedness will often make intelligent people seem less so (and it is how I always envisioned Arthur :-) ).

But maybe you did work that absentmindedness into the story anyway? Because Arthur obviously forgets (enter very, very thinly veiled nitpickery here) what class of Order of Merlin he and his children have. Or at least what 'Aurors and Schoolgirls' say they got. :-)

Since I entered nitpick-mode : I really, really hope you're not offended. Your writing is among the best fanfiction I've ever read and if what I say is not wanted then just tell me and I'll shut up from then on. I really want to laugh like I did reading this again.


Author's Response:
Thanks for another epic review.

Arthur is an interesting character. Iíve always believed that anyone who managed to marry Molly cannot possibly be a fool (and enthusiastic dyslexia is a good term for his affliction). I probably should have given more thought to his use of Muggle terms.

It is possible to be very clever, but not understand how the internal combustion engine works. You donít need to understand how a telephone works in order to be able to use it. With magic, however, I get the impression that if you donít understand it, you canít do it. That, possibly, is the source of Arthurís problems, he thinks that every Muggle understands, and that if he understands, he'll be able to make it work.

Also, I think that Arthur improves over the years. The fellytone comment is early on (PoA?), but by OotP Arthur (possibly thanks to a few years of visits by Hermione and Harry, knows enough to correct Kingsley regarding firelegs/firearms. Am I merely attempting to justify my storytelling decisions? I donít know.

The Order of Merlin bit was my mistake and I have corrected it, but, apparently only in the word.doc on my computer. Iíll try to upload a corrected version within the next few days.

-N-



Reviewer: 001anonymous Signed Date: 2011.08.05 - 04:59AM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I love reading about the minor (in this case, not-so-minor) character's views. You've shown Arthur as a brilliant person, a perceptive dad and a loving husband, something he is more than becoming a ministry official or an Order member. He may not have had a lot of cameos in the canon series but ever bit of it had been memorable, sometimes funny, and meaningful.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Arthur is, without doubt, less of a disciplinarian than his wife. Nevertheless as Ron's "Unbreakable Vow" story showed, he will take charge when things get really serious.
The nervousness of the four youngsters is now explained in "Spontaneity".
-N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2011.03.23 - 06:15PM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstarstar

Loved this. Arthur does get overlooked often and I'm sure he know exactly what is going on. He certainly has the wisdom of age and is a great match for Molly.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Friend of Dumbledore, member of tho OotP, husband of Molly, father of the twins. He\'s not completely daft. ;-) -N-



Reviewer: jjarro Signed Date: 2010.08.15 - 02:16AM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: ladyginny89 Signed Date: 2010.07.25 - 11:06AM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

HAHAHAHAHA! I LOVED this! I laughed for an age! :P There aren't a lot of fics that have Arthur as the leadin man out there and I thought that this was way too awesome not to leave a review! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks. N



Reviewer: ladyginny89 Signed Date: 2010.07.25 - 11:05AM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstarstar

HAHAHAHAHA! I LOVED this! I laughed for an age! :P There aren't a lot of fics that have Arthur as the leadin man out there and I thought that this was way too awesome not to leave a review! Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Iím a big Arthur fan and I enjoyed giving him a very sly sense of humour. N



Reviewer: JJP Signed Date: 2010.06.07 - 02:43AM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstar

Brilliant

Author's Response: Thanks N



Reviewer: Katehc2 Signed Date: 2010.05.30 - 12:43AM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

Wonderful insight into Arthur's mind.

Grandma Kate

Author's Response: Thanks, Arthur's a great bloke. -N-



Reviewer: melodylaner Signed Date: 2010.05.28 - 06:27AM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstarstar

Loved it :)

Author's Response: Thanks -N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2010.05.26 - 04:21PM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstar

You really made Arthur a most perceptive and intelligent person, who hides behind a cloak of self deprecation. Good little story. well done. I will have to check the rest of your stuff when I get through the list of a hundred other stories I am following or have bookmarked. It is a hard life being a fanfiction fan!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Arthur fathered an unruly brood and captured the heart of molly Prewett, and he's a member of the Order of the Phoenix. He can't be an idiot. I hope that you enjoy my other stuff. I try to keep all of my stories consistent with each other. N



Reviewer: shendrina Signed Date: 2010.04.10 - 10:20PM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: O-Mega Lead Signed Date: 2010.03.12 - 06:41PM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: pcoates Signed Date: 2010.03.05 - 03:40PM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

starstarstarstarstar

I am of an age that when I read the potter stories I find myself identifying with Mr Weasley. So to find a sympathetic and delightful character study like this has really made my day. Thanks.



Author's Response: Thanks. I know what you mean (-; I console myself by remembering that by now (2010) Harry, is a 29-year-old father of three. -N-



Reviewer: ladymblack Signed Date: 2010.03.02 - 10:56PM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

Hmmm, did I already review this? I can't remember if this site allows numerous reviews. If I have, oh well, it is worth talking about again. I was a little sad to see "Grave Days" end and so I flipped through your other works and remembered how great this one was. I have to say that I wasn't sorry to read it a second time. There's some humor here, some tension, some gravity, but perhaps most importantly there's love. I've always thought that Arthur and Molly thought of not only Harry, but Hermione, as a part of their family. They helped both children to become accustomed to their world and customs. There are so few fics from their point-of-view and yet the few that exist tend to be great reads, and this is certainly one of them. A friend of mine recently asked me to write something from Arthur's perspective and I remembered this work and sent it to him. Now I've created a monster since he wants more...ugh! Anyhow, thanks for such a good work and I can't wait to start reading your new book.

ladym

Author's Response:
Thank you. I remain astonished at how well-received ďArthurĒ has been. It started as a vague idea for a humorous interlude at the Burrow. It was a rough idea which didnít work when I wrote it in the third person Harry POV. I left it alone, then I had a brainstorm. I wrote it in the third person Arthur POV and, full of excitement, sent it to one of my betas. She was Ö polite. So I left it for a month, but it simply wouldnít go away. So I started again and rewrote the thing as it was finally published. It seems to have worked.

Iím convinced that although Arthur and Molly use their personalities to great effect to keep some vague semblance of order, but that they also put on a bit of an act for their children. Iím certain that they have no secrets and that Arthur, despite what his kids think, is the final arbiter. Heís the one who the kids donít want to upset, because when he gets involved, itís serious.



Reviewer: Hermine Signed Date: 2010.02.20 - 02:14PM Title: The Mind of Arthur Weasley

LOL. Thank you for rounding out Arthur Weasley's character. I found the man overly confused by muggle artefacts juxtaposed wtih "the man who rasied Fred and George" a difficult one. This story helps me understand Arthur Weasley the parent.

Author's Response: Yo said: \"this story helps me understand Arthur Weasley the parent.\" that\'s why I wrote it. (-: I was having the same problem. -N-




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear