Search:

SIYE Time:17:11 on 22nd October 2017


Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.12.26 - 05:49AM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstarhalf-star

It was a wonderful story, a long journey with a somewhat sad end.
Thank you for sharing the story!
The sequel is probably about how Harry becomes a Jedi to defeat Voldemort.

Author's Response: Thank you!
I'm saying nothing :D



Reviewer: mwinter Signed Date: 2016.12.25 - 08:16PM Title: Epilogue

Cool ending. Awaiting more.

Author's Response: Cheers



Reviewer: Prongs I Signed Date: 2016.12.23 - 09:48AM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstarhalf-star

The end of the story leaves me with mixed feelings.
I feel sorry for Harry. He's distancing himself from his friends and will probably losing them. Even Neville is happy when Harry is not around. Harry probably will need to use his cipher abilities to gain his old friends back in case that he'll ever return to Hogwarts. But are 'ciphered' friends still true friends? I'm afraid that he's on the way to become a lonely warrior. I hope that Ginny will be able to move on without him.

Author's Response: Same, really. It was about as desolate a good ending as I could summon.
They've both got some way to go, yeah.


Author's Response: Thanks for the review! :)



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2016.12.23 - 09:12AM Title: Epilogue

starstarstarstarhalf-star

If that is finished, you have lost me (again) somewhere along the way. If there are more parts to follow, I think I might be too old to keep going. Rated for writing ability.

Author's Response: I think that's fair. The general 'plan' was written by a 12 year old, and there's a lot of questions unanswered at the end. I'm hoping that the sequel will be a much tighter story, but I'm glad that you've taken some enjoyment from this :)
Thank you.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.12.23 - 07:16AM Title: Epilogue

Nevelle is brave and foolish but then again with ginny and harry on the outs and hermione and ginny on the way outs as welll...nothing will be the sma eofr them for a long time...kutgw

Author's Response: True. Cheers!



Reviewer: Prongs I Signed Date: 2016.11.27 - 08:33AM Title: Fear Itself

Rest assured t don't hate Harry. I've written the 'getting rid' of Ginny part because I had the impression that Harry intends to leave his friends, and especially Ginny, behind for a couple months or even years. I was just worried that, being under the influence of The Power, he'll neglect the important things in life by distancing himself from his friends. This would be the first step for him to become an Anakin Potter.

However, I'm amazed about your statement that Ginny "knows all too well exactly how Harry feels", while Harry "is as clueless as ever". I'd rather the feeling that Harry is a wee bit too big-headed to understand his friends at the moment.

Author's Response: Harry is leaving for a couple of months. But he has not at any point said that he won't keep in touch, etc. In fact, in the meeting with the Jedi High Council, he openly defies them to include Ginny in the talks. The thought that the power might distance him from his friends leaves his blood 'boiling'. The last time he showed any of the classic HBP 'I and I alone' complex was in the buildup to the Chamber fight, where he tries to send Luna away, and Neville rapidly shuts that down. The person who starts the distancing is Ginny, not Harry.
Note the wording that's been used, especially in the waking up scene of 'The Jedi' and in the breakup scene of this chapter. The bond has advanced again, and while we won't see that explicitly until the next volume of the story, they have literally been inside each other's mindscapes now. In this relationship, trust doesn't work the same way as in normal ones, because they are able to directly observe each other's thoughts and feelings. This stuff isn't taken on trust, it is literally known. Harry is clueless because Ginny strangulated the bond soon after the cipher revelation was made, so he didn't get a chance to have it shoved in his nose.
I really don't understand where this conceit thing is coming from though, which is why I'm presuming you've got some other axe to grind with his character. He has his hero complex thing going on, as per usual, sure, but apart from just before the two climactic fights, I don't see how that has resembled arrogance. See my previous reply - when the Queen of Naboo chooses him for knighthood, and the Sword of Gryffindor chooses him as its master, he displays strong feelings of unworthiness.
Please point to where you're getting these sentiments from. If I'm mucking something up in their development I'd like to know :) That aside, thanks for reviewing - I'm glad that I've elicited this much interest :D



Reviewer: nesciamema Signed Date: 2016.11.23 - 12:05AM Title: Fear Itself

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I feel bad that Harry really doesn't see why him being a cipher is so terrifying for Ginny. Not only did she lose control & willpower to Riddle but she may have never had a chance to make her own choices with regards to Harry. It's sad he's turning to thoughts of war rather and losing his humanity...sounds like Dumbledore's greater good path to me.

Author's Response: I'm glad you picked up on that. He's as clueless as ever, yes, and if he'd made that connection at the start he might have had a chance to quash this whole thing before it started. Sadly, Ginny will have to find a longer, more painful way back to peace. Harry hasn't started to lose his humanity, or rather, he is no less human than he was going in to this. But the year's events are feeding that hero complex of his. The difference between him and Dumbledore is that Harry wants to be strong enough to defend his loved ones from any threat that arises. Dumbledore wants to defend the world from threats that have yet to emerge. Thanks for the review!



Reviewer: aimless Signed Date: 2016.11.20 - 07:14AM Title: Fear Itself

Well, expected. They are both kids, not a certified psychologists. I also can see that Dark side is strong. Ah, and they have cookies...





Author's Response: Yeah, unfortunately so. And with dark chocolate too :D
Thank you.



Reviewer: Prongs I Signed Date: 2016.11.19 - 08:43PM Title: Fear Itself

starstarstarstar

Ginny was under Voldemort's control for almost a year and she's still suffering the consequences of the possession. The only help Harry James I'm very important Potter offers is "I’m sick of waiting for you to grow up”. As sad as it is, Ginny certainly can do without such friends. I'm curious about what you're planning for Harry in sequel that he needs to get rid of Ginny.

Author's Response: Warning, rant incoming. I'd go back and edit it but it looks like it needs saying. If you're really intent on hating Harry just ignore this.
Woah, where did you get the conceit thing from? Pretty much every chapter people are still having to kick him into having a sense of self respect, including the sword of Gryffindor in this chapter and Ginny herself in the last. They can both do without each other's influence at this point because they're both self-destructive messes and they've come through incredibly traumatic experiences. But Harry didn't just say that. They have both had empathic linkage for a year and a half, and Ginny had very recently been /inside/ Harry's mind. She knows all too well exactly how Harry feels and they both know it. To Harry, it was yet another kick in the teeth from the person he has built his new life around. He's literally burned the flesh off his bones for her and she keeps going on about how he is just bound to cheat on her. How would that make you feel? Because it makes him feel like shit. And consider how low his opinion of himself already is. I'm not 'getting rid' of Ginny. I'm trying to show that she actually has a character flaw, because apart from this she's pretty much been the golden girl of the story.
Ginny has a lot going on, yeah. But though her reactions are understandable, that does not make them okay.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.11.19 - 03:28PM Title: Fear Itself

Well ginny and harry have to work out what is going on, but mostly ginny does need to grow up and fats bacuase what she had is now gone and she is in need of it again, and harry is in need of balance as well...kutgw

Author's Response: I don't think she needs Harry as much as Harry needs her, but they will both need to grow a bit, yeah :) Cheers!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.11.19 - 01:28PM Title: Fear Itself

starstarstarstarstar

I'm completely on Ginny's side. For a whole year Tom had told her that she's worthless. Then she has to learn that she's almost a Squib regarding The Force, Harry will get his training while she's left behind. Her new reality is even worse than Tom's lies have predicted. . I can understand Ginny when she says “I won’t do it, Harry, not like this.” She feels as worthless as never before and has the feeling that she isn’t part of Harry’s life anymore. He has already made fun of her before she found the diary. Deep in his heart Harry doesn't care about her dilemma. Nobody tries to help her get out of this dilemma.

Author's Response: In terms of her perspective, you've largely covered it, though you seem rather pessimistic :)
Ginny is no more left behind than anyone else, and in terms of power I've hardly dodged around the fact that she's the single most powerful character in the story. By the way, Harry and Ginny have both made fun of each other, it was not a one way street, and simply a natural part of their relationship. Besides, Ron tried talking to her and she threatened him until he ran away, and Harry had little chance to try before she pushed him away too. Just because someone has reason to feel awful doesn't make them perfect.
But yes, she's had an existential crisis and in her emotional distress she's taking everything the worst possible way.
Thanks for reviewing, I appreciate it :)



Reviewer: aimless Signed Date: 2016.10.28 - 10:10AM Title: Recovery

Hmmmm. What was the potion, nurse almost gave Harry? Has Dumbledore something to do with it? Like she was confunded, but to give something, or not to give something I'm not sure )

Author's Response: Hmm, not quite a spoiler, especially since it's never brought up again, but yes and yes. It was a contingency to make the Memory Charms on Harry hold better. Unfortunately for Dumbledore, he's spreading himself a little thin with all the forces now involved.
You might get a strong clue as to the mechanics of how it all happened when you read chapter 44. It's a nice little bonus connection you can make that isn't particularly important for the overall flow of the story.


Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews! :)



Reviewer: aimless Signed Date: 2016.10.27 - 10:18AM Title: A Welcome Holiday

starstarstarstarstar

To be honest "helical cingulate" confuses even me :/

Author's Response: XD
It's nonsense on the face of it. The cingulate gyrus is heavily implicated in motivation and learning, but helical cingulate is a nothing, and Luna knows it. Well, she's making it up at any rate, she's not an anatomy buff, but you know. Harry's right, she is taking the mickey.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.10.25 - 04:24PM Title: Line In The Sand

Soemthign more is going on with ginny and harry then meets the eye, but then again i dont know where you are going from here so thats cool.....but some idea would be nice soon...ginny has the right idea but only to a point and she needs to talk to harry about it not fight him at everyturn....kutgw

Author's Response: Next update in a couple weeks! A lot should be laid bare then. :)
Ginny is not in the best place right now, obviously. And she was always the more hotheaded of the two. She could deal with this better, but she couldn't really be expected to.
Cheers! :)



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.10.25 - 07:37AM Title: Line In The Sand

Ah yes, I remember chapter twenty well. It was just before their relationship slowly went downhill what perfectly played into the hands of Tom and helped him to get a hold on Ginny. I'm curious if we've already reached the low point. I'm afraid the answer is no, because Ginny probably will have to fight for a while with the aftermath of her time under Tom's influence since no one really helps her to overcome her insecurities.
In chapter twenty it was said that bond's strength depends on the strength of their feelings for each other. Hence I've thought that their bond was weakened over the last year and almost doesn't exist anymore.
Oh, and by the way, I wasn't aware that Harry's training was supposed to be held over a couple of weeks only. I'd the impression that it would last a couple of years. Maybe I've missed something.
Many thanks for your essays, they helped a lot. :)
Sorry for bothering you again and again. It won’t happen again until you’ll post the next chapter.


Author's Response: Yeah, that's the ticket. The strength of their feelings for one another was what caused so many of the problems. Tom was using his influence on Harry's mind via the bond to stop him from upsetting the apple cart. You've got to think about how strong the bond would have to be to allow Tom that much control. It might have begun to degrade with Harry unconscious and drifting through time and space, but there was nowhere near enough time for it to atrophy before the big finale.
It was never specified. If the council had taken him, they most certainly would have demanded something more long-term, but again, there's no way that Mr. and Mrs Weasley would hand him over to strangers for an indefinite amount of time. That's why the time dilation is so important - it means Harry can get months' worth of training during the holiday periods. I really should have included that conversation. Maybe I'll try to factor bits of it into the next chapter.
No problem :D
Haha, I'll look forward to it. Cheers! :)



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.10.24 - 10:40AM Title: Line In The Sand

starstarstarstarhalf-star

sorry, I've forgot the stars ;)



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2016.10.24 - 10:38AM Title: Line In The Sand

Yes, of course, I agree that it was hard for Harry that Ginny's shut him out. On the other hand, Harry already made his decisions without involving Ginny. There was hardly something left to talk about, wasn't it? I'm not quite sure what Harry expected to hear from Ginny.
To be honest, I'd not taken it as a break-up. I'd feared that their bond has collapsed. On the other hand, it is almost the same, isn't it?
And by the way, I never ask for spoilers even if my silly thoughts and questions sound this way. ;-)


Author's Response: I'll try super hard not to spoil then :D
That might have been a mistake on my account, to not explicitly include the conversation between Harry, Ginny and Mr and Mrs Weasley. I referred to it briefly during the part at Theed Palace in the prior chapter, but I didn't want to further spoil the pacing of the story by bloating the denouement even more. Perhaps I left too much between the lines. Ginny had a sad smile thinking about how she'd be going home and potentially leaving Harry alone in this galaxy for anything up to a few weeks. She was not hugely upset by this, she was hesitantly supportive. The only things that changed coming out of that meeting with the Jedi were:
1) They've learned that they won't see eye to eye with the council
2) Jinn will be training him, informally, away from the council (leaving Harry more freedom to spend time with her and the others than if he were locked up in the temple)
3) Harry is a cipher
So yes, there's something to talk about. Harry hasn't matured massively, he's still pretty clueless without the bond to help, and is wondering what's the matter. But with our view looking in... We can even see the point in the meeting where Ginny's mood changed. There, that's not a spoiler :)
I've given the breakdown on how the bond works at the end of chapter twenty, but suffice it to say that the bond itself is stronger than ever right now. That just doesn't directly affect the state of their relationship - it's what they do with it that counts.
Oh man, I've got to quit with the essays :D Thanks for (double) reviewing!



Reviewer: Prongs I Signed Date: 2016.10.24 - 04:57AM Title: Line In The Sand

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well, that's the Harry we know. Just like it is written in HBP, Ginny's always the best source of comfort for HIM. But whenever he makes a choice he doesn't care much if he hurt her or not. That's exactly the way I'd assess the canon Harry.
I'm really curious what exactly the last line meant. Hopefully, you'll be able to update soon.


Author's Response: I agree, to a point. This chapter has been a character defining moment for both of them. But I can't help but feel you're seeing only one side of the story. By virtue of his thoughts and actions, Harry seems to care quite a lot. He's tried to talk about it with her, but been considerate enough not to try it in front of a crowd. Ginny returned the favour by blocking the bond. Harry's been despondent about that, which hardly implies that he's indifferent. It's not in his character to physically drag her aside and make her open up to him the way she might do for him.
Besides, this and HBP are rather different. Whereas HBP was a suicide mission and he was basically saying that she would never see him again, toodles, this is short training missions that he's definitely coming back, he can visit her whenever he wants, and he's doing them to make sure they don't die in whatever scheme Voldemort or his followers cook up next. In fact, in the only discussion we see them have (at the end), Ginny utterly disregards the trauma Harry suffered trying to help her. I have Ginny's rationale, but it seems she never needs defending, even when I feel like she should! :D
I hoped not to make it too obscure. She broke up with him.



Reviewer: nesciamema Signed Date: 2016.10.24 - 12:48AM Title: Line In The Sand

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well, he never really considered his bond to Ginny and how it would suffer more to be away from her again. She's got a right to be upset and no one's ever asked her how she felt.

Author's Response: It's true, that hasn't been discussed. But by the same token, Harry is losing too. Especially in his eyes, he's making a big sacrifice for the sake of his own survival and to protect those he cares about. And Ginny is closing him off quite hard. Note that she even closed off their bond to prevent him from trying to talk to her. And before this point, there was no real evidence that Harry would have to go anywhere.



Reviewer: mwinter Signed Date: 2016.10.23 - 11:56PM Title: Line In The Sand

starstarstarhalf-star

okay that was a weird ending especially with the way the font changed half way through and not sure if it was to be like that or not.

Author's Response: It didn't do that when I submitted it. The website has a particular issue that makes this happen a lot. All we have is workarounds, unfortunately.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear