Search:

SIYE Time:22:04 on 18th August 2018


Reviewer: Yunchao Signed Date: 2010.07.13 - 11:08PM Title: Another First Meeting

Good job! I really liked how your story kept to canon. The part where Ginny was going to choose to get caught and tortured just so that Harry would hear of her was very well done. I've just read this story for judging. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for the wonderful review. I'm glad you enjoyed it!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2010.07.13 - 06:39AM Title: Another First Meeting

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This was a great story. The characterizations were dead-on, but not what I was expecting at all. That’s one of the reasons it worked so well. I especially enjoyed how Ginny seemed to grow with each passing visit. You really have a good one with this. Thanks--Eric

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind words! It's always great to receive positive feedback from other authors whose work you admire. :)



Reviewer: bengpotter31 Signed Date: 2010.07.09 - 10:45AM Title: Another First Meeting

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well done with this one though it's not strictly under the challenge, as you said. I do hope Lily and Ginny meet up again after the Battle.

Author's Response: Hmm... I don't see Lily doing any more visits. In my opinion, they would not see each other again until many years later. But, that's just the way I see things. I'm sure someone could dream up a scenario which would necessitate another visit from Lily. Thanks for the read and review.



Reviewer: annep Signed Date: 2010.07.09 - 07:14AM Title: Another First Meeting

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Your story was the best of the batch because it was different and original, making it stand out from the others. It was also concise, letting us see the characters' personalities without spoon-feeding a lot of information that readers of this site already know. I especially enjoyed the evolution of Ginny here--it was appropriate for her age and circumstances. Thanks for sharing that with us.

Author's Response: Thank you for the very kind words. I hope other readers have enjoyed it as much as you seemed to. (I do make a lot of assumptions as to what the readers know or don't know.)



Reviewer: Lord Dreadnault Signed Date: 2010.07.07 - 09:53PM Title: Another First Meeting

starstarstarstarstar

(Judged for the challenge.) Well done. :) I enjoyed how you covered so much while being so concise. Good luck.

Author's Response: Thanks, boss. ;) Glad you enjoyed the story, although I do wonder sometimes if it is too concise and too dependent on readers' knowledge of canon to fill in the gaps between the scenes... Oh well, it is what it is. Thanks again for the review.



Reviewer: parakletos Signed Date: 2010.07.05 - 02:11AM Title: Another First Meeting

Of all the stories submitted so far, I think this is the only one to capture the essence of both women. Well done and good luck in the voting.

Author's Response: There is nothing like getting a positive review from an author whose work you respect. :) Thank you for the kind words. I haven't finished reading all of the other entries myself, but if you liked this one, you may want to check out "Anything You Need" by redandraven. Her fic was more focussed on one of the ideas presented in my story.



Reviewer: santafe Signed Date: 2010.07.02 - 06:30PM Title: Another First Meeting

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Nice one. I think you've caught the spirit of the challenge well enough to go all the way. The concept is great and being canon-compliant does well too. I enjoyed it, and nothing to pick, either. Thanks SF

Author's Response: Hey Steve! I wish I'd had time to get this to you before the deadline, but I think asking you to review it in twenty minutes would have been pushing it. :) I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.



Reviewer: Enchantedgurls Signed Date: 2010.07.02 - 04:11PM Title: Another First Meeting

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Rich, you're back!! Great take on the challenge, I love the animosity between Ginny and Lily. Anyway, it was so nice to read something from you again!! :)

Author's Response: JENNNNNNNNN! Great to hear from you! Yes, I'm back, or at least trying to be. I went back and checked and it's been about 9 months since the last time I posted anything. Glad you enjoyed my take on the challenge. As I was writing it, I wondered if some readers would be turned off by the animosity, but I had to write the scenes the way they played out in my mind, you know? Thanks for the review!



Reviewer: Zoltan42 Signed Date: 2010.07.02 - 12:58PM Title: Another First Meeting

I tried to give the 2nd comment a higher rating to balance out the lower one, but it didn't seem to take. I guess SIYE doesn't want people to constantly rate and rate a story (high or low) to skew the scores. Of course, after stating that, what are the odds it's work this time and I just made a mistake the first time?

Author's Response: Yes, SIYE allows users to post multiple reviews, but only one rating. As you guessed, we had a bout of some users abusing the system and had to implement the change. If someone ever wants to make a change because of a mistake, as in the scenario you described, you would have to contact someone on staff with administrator privileges to edit or delete the review with the rating attached to it. Actually, I'm not even sure you can edit the rating, deleting might be the only option.



Reviewer: Zoltan42 Signed Date: 2010.07.02 - 07:36AM Title: Another First Meeting

Yeah, that's much better.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for coming back to check out the story. Sorry about the problems the first time around. It's amazing what a misplaced HTML break tag will do.



Reviewer: M_And Signed Date: 2010.07.02 - 01:16AM Title: Another First Meeting

starstarstarstarstar

I don't know why you're hem-hawing over this piece, Rich. I liked it a lot and I found it to be pretty original (which is a neat trick in challenges). I think you captured the essance of Ginny's fiery nature and mirrored it back into Lily. It definitely had a teenage daughter (or future daughter-in-law, in this case) - mother conflict feel to it; yet both women had one overriding objective - Harry. It was a well told story, and, as you say, it got you writing again, which to my way of thinking is a definite plus. Good job Rich, and best of luck in the challenge! - Mike

Author's Response: Mike, thanks for all the kind words. Yes, my primary objective was just to get writing again, hence the lukewarm feelings over this piece. I don't even know how long it's been since I posted anything, but it's been several months at least. I'm sure my confidence will return when I'm back in the groove, so to speak. I was most pleased to see that you were able to grasp the mother-in-law relationship that I wanted to capture (but not too heavily). Maybe I have a knack for this writing thing after all. ;)



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2010.07.02 - 12:18AM Title: Another First Meeting

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I love your stories and this one doesn't disappoint. I think the element that stood out most was the fact that Lily never quite told Ginny everything she was supposed to know so that Ginny had to work the various situations out for herself. I love Ginny's animosity every time Lily shows up and I can understand why she's that way, especially when Dumbledore dies and Ginny thinks Harry is dead. You've put a very different spin on this particular situation, with Lily's frequent visits and Ginny's attitude (it's her turn to become the disgruntled teenager!) which makes this story something I've thought about since I read it several hours ago.

Keep up the good work. I look forward to reading more of your stories.

Author's Response: Thank you for the kind words, especially the ones about you thinking about the story even hours after you read it. That's awesome feedback for any author. I'm glad you enjoyed my take on the challenge. I hope it's as entertaining to others as you made it sound. :)



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2010.07.01 - 08:58PM Title: Another First Meeting

starstarstarstar

Interesting take on the challenge.

Author's Response: Yes, "interesting" is the same word I would use. I wish I had had time to beef up a couple of the scenes because I don't think they built things up the way I wanted to. I also wish I had finished in time to get my awesome betas to look at it first. ;) But still, I think it was a decent effort after a long layoff. Thanks for the review!



Reviewer: nyladnam04 Signed Date: 2010.07.01 - 07:30PM Title: Another First Meeting

starstarstarstar

I'm really glad I didn't read this until today...I'm a bit of a format snob too, so I would have skipped and then missed out! I really enjoyed this fic. Good luck!

Author's Response: I'm glad I was able to fix this problem in time for you. Thanks for taking the time to check out the fic and leave a review.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2010.07.01 - 04:18PM Title: Another First Meeting

starstarstarstar

I can see how people have a problem if the lines do not make sense, but it read great for me. It was a good read. Thanks!

Author's Response: They previous reviewers had a legitimate complaint. I wish I had been able to see the problem before they checked out the story. At any rate, thanks for confirming that the problem is fixed. And thanks for taking the time to read the story and leave a review. I'm glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: Zoltan42 Signed Date: 2010.07.01 - 07:30AM Title: Another First Meeting

starstar

Waht curren said. When writing dialogue, the general rule is that when the speaker changes, start a new paragraph. I took one look at this and didn't bother reading it.

Author's Response: Yes, I'm fully aware of the proper way to format dialogue. This was solely a formatting issue that should be fixed now. Source of the problem was one bad HTML tag. I was unable to see the problem because I was using Chrome, but once I tried Firefox or IE the issue became readily apparent. Anyway, it's fixed now. Thanks.



Reviewer: curren Signed Date: 2010.07.01 - 05:40AM Title: Another First Meeting

I didn't even bother reading this. Fix your formatting. Make a new line every time someone says something. It would take a giant effort for anyone to read this, and that's not what you want when writing, i assume.

Author's Response: Yes, I'm fully aware of the proper way to format dialogue. This was solely a formatting issue that should be fixed now. Source of the problem was one bad HTML tag. I was unable to see the problem because I was using Chrome, but once I tried Firefox or IE the issue became readily apparent. Anyway, it's fixed now. Thanks.



Reviewer: GoDons Signed Date: 2010.07.01 - 04:48AM Title: Another First Meeting

starstarstarstarstar

Please fix yor formatting. I've had trouble reading your fic properly, paragraph by paragraph, right near the start.

Good luck.

Author's Response: Should be fixed now. Source of the problem was one bad HTML tag. I was unable to see the problem because I was using Chrome, but once I tried Firefox or IE the issue became readily apparent. Anyway, it's fixed now. Thanks.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear