Search:

SIYE Time:15:07 on 22nd October 2018


Reviewer: hawkeye2008 Signed Date: 2018.10.20 - 09:14AM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

Great story



Reviewer: Akvis Signed Date: 2018.10.16 - 11:32AM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

I was watching this story for few years, but never quite managed to start it. I started on sunday and finished on wednesday and I must say, it´s the best story i have read this year. It reminds me Unbreakable vow by Ash Darklighter. I was always sad that his story was never finished but I am happy that this story is finished even after so long. I really liked the porkey-cars, that is realy innovative. I am glad that I came to this story after it was finished because I don´t like waiting on new chapters. So, thank you for your story and I will be watching for more work from you.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2018.10.07 - 08:54PM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar


This was one story I eagerly waited for. Bit sad it is finished.

Thankyou for a great one. :)



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2018.09.10 - 06:34PM Title: Biker Girls

starstarstarstarstar

You were able to make a "serious" pun without involving Sirius Black. I'm very impressed. Serious vs. serious is a much overused fanfiction element. Your usage avoided the easy and typical (and boring).

On my third read-through of this chapter I paid more attention to Jacqui's thought that Mike Charlton's fascination with castles was "an almost magical ability." It prompted me to remember that in another one of your other stories, James S. Potter is researching castles. Might he make use of Mike's knowledge in his research? Contact with the future in-laws?



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2018.09.10 - 12:45AM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

Sorry to see this tale end but glad to read Mrs Wake becoming reacquainted with Harry the breakdown of the cover story ever so slightly.



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2018.09.07 - 01:33AM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Nice end! I'm gonna miss the Charltons and the swimbeling!



Reviewer: mcepl Signed Date: 2018.09.06 - 10:38AM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

@Inquisitor This is European/USA thing: incarceration in Europe tends to be nominally much shorter, but prisoners don't get that many shortenings, amnesties etc. Even the half-time release for a good behaviour usually really requires real good behaviour. So, unless something exceptionally happens murderers won't get out before fifteen years spent in prison, and even that happens only when the exceptionally good behaviour is presented.

Notice that for example in Czechia (where I am from), standard punishment for murder (without any aggravating circumstances) is ten to twelve years in prison.



Reviewer: mcepl Signed Date: 2018.09.06 - 10:29AM Title: A Breakdown, a Bike and a Barmy Blonde Again

starstarstarstarstar

O just for the hidden Princess Bride reference!



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2018.09.04 - 07:34PM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

Because I don't read stories before they're completed anymore (there are too many that never get to the finish line), I've come late to this party. But it was worth it to read it straight through and see that Northumbrian is still indeed a "mark of excellence"!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.09.03 - 06:15AM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I knew you’d sneak in a touch of intrigue somewhere in this love fest of a chapter! But waiting for the very end? Evil!



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2018.09.01 - 07:38PM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

I can hardly believe this is actually over. It's been such a nice adventure. I will definitely read it again from the start before long.



Reviewer: mcepl Signed Date: 2018.09.01 - 05:06PM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

Thank you very much for concluding this story. There is no other mark to be put for this whole story than one big O. Thank you.

Two comments on the top:

1. I have been thinking lately about the difference between romanticism and realism. “Realism is what in some shape or form we might encounter, whereas romanticism is something we will never encounter.” (Henry James). Of course, it seems silly to talk about realism while thinking about literature where magic is real, where poor Jacqui meets a ghost, etc., but I think it makes a lot of sense why books by JKR are so successful and we all your readers so much like your stories. I think that there are more important factors for distinguishing between the two, like presence of exceptional heroic persons towering over everybody else. In this respect JKR (and yours) stories are remarkably realistic: Harry is not a superman, but normal ministerial official (yes, a bit better than average, but not Superman / Rambo / Barbar Conan level) and sometime confused father. I know that some readers (and fanfiction writers) this irritates to no end (and they end to write a poor Harry-is-a-supewizard stories), but I really like it. In this trend of magician realism (comparing to the magical realism, which I really dislike, but that's another issue) the Strangers are probably the most realistic of all HP fanfics. Thank you.

2. You have a weird tendency to write a two-volume stories. There is not much finish with the first story, and one can only hope that the proper end is in the following up. So for example, there is not much proper story arc finish in the Hunters and Prey and one can still hope that the proper end of the arc will be in the Friends and Foes (will be there?). Strangers similarly seem to finish in the middle of the story, and I hope there will be proper end of the story in James and Me (which should probably include some kind of revelation and introduction of Charltons' to the magical world; well, it would be legal, if Annie got married into the Potters' family, won't it?).



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2018.08.31 - 12:31PM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

I've followed this story since its inception and now that this part of your overall story is complete, I miss the anticipation of yet another irregular installment. Which really means that I need to go back to the beginning and read it all over again in one long binge-read to find the things I missed the first time around. As with all good books, the second and third reading allows me to find the clues you've hidden in it that allude to other parts of your story arch. I'm going to miss Jacqui, Mike, Henry and Annie and I hope they all continue to crop up in your newest chapters so that I can watch the kids mature and interact with Harry and his family. Thanks for bringing a smile to my face each time you post a new chapter.



Reviewer: Bluest Witch Signed Date: 2018.08.30 - 10:37AM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

Great end for a great story. I love how you wrote about the friendship between two worlds. Can’t thank you enough for being a great story teller.



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2018.08.30 - 01:17AM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

A fitting ending for a story about making friends. The interaction between Jacqui and Ginny is wonderful. Everything in this tale is lovely. The children, the original characters, the things we learn about Northumberland. Even its pace and its way of looking like nothing is happening.



Reviewer: fi103r Signed Date: 2018.08.29 - 08:58PM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent!
Now get back to work on James and Me and Aurors and Schoolgirls! 8-)



Reviewer: PikkuNika Signed Date: 2018.08.29 - 12:41PM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

I really loved this story and am a bit sad that this was really the last chapter. The characters all seemed very real and, although I'm working full time and don't have children I could identify easily with Jacqui.

Thank you for writing such an excellent story!



Reviewer: BronzeDragon Signed Date: 2018.08.29 - 10:33AM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

Thanks so much for this story (along with all of your other ones). I've really enjoyed this one very much. Can't believe it's been this long though. Always look forward to seeing this come up in the newly added to stories, now I that won't happen again. Rather disappointed in that.

I don't usually join sites or create accounts, but did so here, just so I could post this. Never thought I see this day, thought I wouldn't be here long enough. Was diagnosed with lung cancer back at the end of '15 and was given 6 to 9 months. Still here though, and I just started the new immune therapy. So I'll have to see how it goes. Please try and finish 'James and Me', 'Aurors and School Girls', and 'Friends and Foes'. Those three are my favorites after this.

So, thanks again, so very very much. I hope I'll see the end of the other stories. But don't rush on my account.



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2018.08.29 - 05:11AM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

starstarstarstarstar

Neil,

Eight years. Almost exactly eight years. It’s amazing how much of my life has coincided with reading this story. If I’d known then it would take so long I might not have started it immediately, but damn am I glad I did. Thank you. Thank you for one hell of a story. Given that I came in on Harry Potter RIGHT before Half-Blood Prince was published I’ve actually been reading about the progress of Jackie and co for WAY longer than I waited for any of the revelations of the books, and it’s been a true pleasure. I look forward to seeing what’s next!

Author's Response: Thank you.
It's been a long time. too long, probably. I blame lavender for making me write about her. and Jacqui for not being so demanding, of course. Seriously, It's taken me longer than I expected, or wanted, but it's been a lot of fun trying to imagine myself in Jacqui's shoes. Next, James and Me, or MIT: Strange Place.
I will not start a new story.
I will not start a new story
I will not...
-N-



Reviewer: Kim Signed Date: 2018.08.29 - 03:53AM Title: Epilogue: More Fireworks

Loved the story, hate to see this was the last of it. Great finish tough, you really wrapped it up nicely

Author's Response: I hate to say goodbye to Jacqui, a narrator I've grown very fond of, despite her foibles. -N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear