Search:

SIYE Time:16:10 on 19th October 2017


Reviewer: Heather Longbottom Signed Date: 2012.06.04 - 05:13PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarstar

I'm rereading while I wait for chapter 16, and am enjoying the story just as much on the second go. I never thought about an adult Harry on a motorbike, but I fell in love with the idea the moment he pulled up, dismounted and removed his helmet. The thought is very appealing. I love experiencing getting to know the Potters through Jacqui's eyes, with the added benefit of being in on the joke, so to speak. I chuckled at Jacqui reading the paper and watching the news and trying to piece things together.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The bike was a good idea, but it wasn't mine. In an interview JKR told someone that Sirius's bike was repaired, and that it went to Harry (as he was Sirius's heir). Sirius is, of course, the precedent for involving the Muggle press in the hunt for a wizard, too.
-N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.05.24 - 10:59PM Title: The Pick Up

I am re reading and yet, it seems as if I am reading it the first time around. Cheers me up big time.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm always happy to be cheering people up. -N-



Reviewer: santafe Signed Date: 2012.04.04 - 06:53PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarstar

More great detail, and I love it that you're keeping the Muggle perspective. Loved the picture you draw of Harry as a young dad, and you seem to catch the kid's speech patterns well Great stuff. thanks for sharing it. SF

Author's Response: Thanks again.
There are a few times when I need to lose the Muggle perspective, but not as many as I thought. Itís surprising how much information Jacqui can pick up, even if she doesnít understand what sheís hearing. Harry and Ginny were (in my view) clearly shown to be good, caring, and attentive parents in the epilogue, Iím merely trying to follow JKRís example. I try my best to keep the kids speech patterns right.
-N-



Reviewer: bricat Signed Date: 2011.03.31 - 01:30AM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarstar

I love your characterizations of Harry and Ginny. Must keep reading!

Author's Response: Thanks, I try to keep H&G within canon, but as they age, they will change. -N-



Reviewer: foxfire23 Signed Date: 2010.11.18 - 12:40PM Title: The Pick Up

I just re-read this chapter before going on to the next.

Grimesthorp? As in Brassed Off? Grimethorp Colliery Band, Maybe? Or did you make up a town?

Author's Response: Both Grimethorpe (a colliery village near near Barnsley) and Grimesthorpe (a suburb of Sheffield) are real places in Yorkshire. -N-



Reviewer: Padfoot7 Signed Date: 2010.11.15 - 08:08PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstar

Aw, this is really cute so far. Keep up the good work and update soon, please! :)

Author's Response: Thank you. The next chapter is (at last) with my beta. -N-



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2010.11.08 - 02:36PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstar

Great little story so far! You have really done a great job of making all the characters seem real in a short space of time. I agree with some of the others that writing from a "Muggle" viewpoint is both unusual and interesting. I'm looking forward to reading more and seeing where this all goes.

Author's Response: Thanks. Chapter Three: Misty Morning is (at last) with my beta reader. Chapter four should not take me such a long time. -N-



Reviewer: smokeylovegood Signed Date: 2010.11.02 - 06:31PM Title: The Pick Up

I'm hooked. Enjoying the mixing with the Muggles. One question about a Britishism - what are "Property Programmes"? Is this what we Americans call a "Home Improvement" show?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. UK daytime TV is currently filled with programmes about buying and selling property titles like "To Buy or Not to Buy" (poor Will Shakespear), "Homes under the Hammer" (that's auctioneer's hammer), and "A Place in the Sun" (usually Spain) are everywhere. Some are buy a cheap property and fix it up, others are more property location things. -N-



Reviewer: GinnyP7 Signed Date: 2010.10.23 - 03:14PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarstar

Love this story particularly seeing all the "clues" Jacqui is trying to analyze without all the background knowledge your
readers have. Wonder what Jacqui would think if she saw Harry returning later in the day or evening to pick up his bike
by Apparition and perhaps even flying it home! Call me suspicious but there is something about Jacqui that makes me
wonder about her "Muggle" background coupled with the fact that she is native to an area that, to my judgment, seems to be
close to magic and perhaps even "Shivering Stone"?
I can't stand the suspense. Please update soon. The first two chapters came a month apart, not that I'm keeping track:)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Writing the story entirely from Jacquiís perspective is proving rather more difficult than Iíd imagined, but the next chapter is almost done. There must be many more magical settlements than the ones named in canon and by creating one at Shivering Stone (which is such a great name that I simply had to) I have made the Cheviots one such place. Is Jacqui magical? Wait and see. -N-



Reviewer: 1OldHPFan Signed Date: 2010.10.07 - 09:33PM Title: The Pick Up

Sir

I like this alot. Please explain to me, a humble American, where Surrey and Devon are in relationship to London.

Thanks

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review

A humble American! I shall refrain from making a rude (and inaccurrate) joke!

Surrey is on the south coast, just south west of London and much of it is London commuter land. Devon (and Cornwall) are the far south west, that bit which points out into the Atlantic. Iíve set this story about as far away from these places as possible (at least as far as possible but still England).



Reviewer: Chazbites Signed Date: 2010.09.16 - 03:13PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great story! I like the outside perspective you're telling it in.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Jacqui's perspective is certainly different.



Reviewer: HGRHfan35 Signed Date: 2010.09.12 - 05:28PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarhalf-star

that was simply gorgeous.
What a great start. Very exciting!

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: Feff Signed Date: 2010.09.12 - 04:13PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarstar

What a great mix of muggle house wife, small village school and a serial killing werewolf. You have brought something new and original to the scene. Bravo!

Best wishes,
Feff

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. When you put it like that, (housewife/school/werewolf) it sounds crazy! Original is better, I like original, thank you. -N-



Reviewer: Enchantedgurls Signed Date: 2010.09.12 - 04:11PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter! I love your Harry- he is so sweet, the way he's sincerely excited to hear about James's day. So cute! Oh and way to make an entrance, motor bike and all! I'm wondering what Lilyloo is all about, just a nickname? And I like Jaqui's musings on what Al must be short for. lol if she only knew. Anyway, looking forward to seeing where you're going with this!

Author's Response: Thanks fo the review. I tried to establish Harry's "good dad" credentials in First Sight and Sleepless Night. Aren't all fathers excited to hear about their kid's day? Lily Luna was probably a bit much for James to manage when she was born, don't you think? And I'm getting a lot of fun out of this story by making Jacqui puzzled about things that we all know. -N-



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2010.09.12 - 11:06AM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarstar

Very engaging--Poor Jacqui, though, gonna be on the wrong end of Mary's ire, for awhile.

Author's Response: Thanks, and yes, she will. -N-



Reviewer: Bethina Signed Date: 2010.09.12 - 02:38AM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarstar

Is that a Harpies t-shirt Harry is wearing? I am enjoying your story, thanks for the new chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The letters fit, donít they? Iím enjoying describing stuff which puzzles Jacqui but not my readers. (-;



Reviewer: notadryeeye Signed Date: 2010.09.11 - 07:21PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarstar

When I logged onto my computer this morning and saw that this story had been updated, I have to admit I let out a rather loud "Yes!"
I was so captivated by your depiction of adult/mom Ginny in the first chapter and equally as pleased with Harry's end entrance in this one, I can hardly wait for another update. I've found it quite hard to find a good post DH story that covers this time period well and realistically, so this is such a welcome addition to the HP fan fiction realm.

And I believe I've figured out what Harry's shirt said, but I won't ruin it for those who haven't. What a cute touch :)

Can't wait for the next chapter!



Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This time period is (by my reckoning) September 2009 and (by my increasingly complicated calendar) every Weasley grandchild has arrived, Teddy Lupin has (just) started his first year at Hogwarts and Harry has been Head of the Auror Office for just over two years.



Reviewer: dshadel Signed Date: 2010.09.11 - 05:29PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarstar

A very good chapter. looking forward to the next update

Author's Response: Thank you, I'd better get writing then. (-;



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2010.09.11 - 05:17PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarstar

I really like this story. Another untold area of Harry's life - can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm actually really amazed at how many people like this story, a combination of serial killer and the school run, who'd have thought it would be popular.



Reviewer: foxfire23 Signed Date: 2010.09.11 - 04:24PM Title: The Pick Up

starstarstarstarstar

I've never read a story quite like this one. You and your story both are an original.

The Village is very much like the village I grew up in (in Scotland), where everyone just HAD to know everyone's business, and gossip was the order of the day...something our young hero doesn't seem to cotten onto quite yet.

At least he didn't FLY Sirius bike into the parking lot! :)

Author's Response: Thank you. Iíve never written a story quite like this one. (-; As Scotland is about ten miles to the north-west, then youíre not far out. This is Reiver territory. -N-




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear