Search:

SIYE Time:19:58 on 11th December 2017


Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.05.25 - 03:12AM Title: Tea and Biscuits

You know you are so good in describing places,, locations... even something boring like a house! You are truly a very good writer.

Author's Response: Thank you. Are houses boring? New ones, possibly, but old ones fascinate me. -N-



Reviewer: bricat Signed Date: 2011.03.31 - 02:08AM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: st122 Signed Date: 2011.02.01 - 11:16AM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarstar

Read this days ago and I just realized I forgot to comment. Thanks for another nice chapter, I just wish they could be longer. But then it would be longer between updates... :) Nevertheless, loving it. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The chapters are (so far) all about 3000 words, but that doesnít mean that some wonít be longer. Itís just how long they are. I am trying to speed up the updates and when I finally finish my (not Harry/Ginny) story ďTales of the BattleĒ I will have more time for this and Hunters and Prey and Aurors and Schoolgirls. Real life issues have slowed me down a lot in the past couple of weeks, but I hope to post more soon. -N-



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2011.01.25 - 10:36PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarstar

i'm really liking this POV, it's interesting to see how the Potters deal from a muggle's eyes.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. -N-



Reviewer: Penny Lane Signed Date: 2011.01.25 - 05:25PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

I was mostly being facetious in my previous review. Don't worry, I wasn't even a fraction as confused as I let on. I only meant that some things are a bit jarring (but not in a bad way) for me, such as Amber Skoll and the whole situation with Lavender, because there's obviously a great deal of backstory there that I don't know about because I haven't read your other fics. But no, it's not hard to figure out what's going on; you do make everything clear in the fic. Pay no attention to my other comment; it was just an attempt at humor on my part which obviously (and understandably) fell flat. ;)

Except for the part where I said I really like this fic. That part was sincere. XD

Author's Response:
Thanks for letting me know.

There is so much background story in my head sometimes I wonder when I should let it escape. But I want each story to stand alone. A little minor confusion about a knew character is understandable, but you should have enough information to know what\'s going on.

Thank you :-D
-N-



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2011.01.24 - 10:04PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarstar

I just discovered your story with this chapter and I have to say it was very enjoyable to read so far. It's refreshing compared to so many other fics which all explore a common set of ideas (not that it makes them bad). The point of view and your narration are both very original and well done. We just somehow fall into it naturally. I can't wait to read about all that will come up next :) I foresee many interesting situations...

Author's Response: br>Thanks for the review.

This is a great story to write, though finding the balance of how much to reveal is proving interesting. Writing from the point of view of a mother is proving interesting, too. I made the decision very early to stick to Maryís point of view (once Iíd decided on a first person narrative I was limiting my options).

This story will reach a conclusion not long after the next full moon. But itís not even a third of the way through yet.
-N-



Reviewer: Penny Lane Signed Date: 2011.01.24 - 09:38PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

I think I need to read your other fics to help me understand a bit more of what's going on with the backstory. I mean, I get the gist of it obviously, but I still spend a lot of time going, "WHAT. WHO IS THAT? WHAT. I DON'T UNDERSTAND. THE WHO-NOW AND THE WHAT-NOW DID WHAT IN THE WHERE?" Reading your other fics would probably clear a lot of things up, eh?

As for this fic, I love it. Showing us the Potters from Jacqui's perspective is not only interesting in the sense that we see a wizarding family through Muggle eyes, but also in that we see the Potter/Weasley family dynamic through the eyes of an outsider: their love for their kids, the way Harry and Ginny talk about each other, the way they each react to stressful situations, Molly's role in the family, etc. It's lovely, and you do an excellent job of conveying that to the reader. Well done.

And I cannot wait to see the upcoming confrontation. Mary is so not prepared.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I am trying to follow JKRís timeline and interview comments up to the epilogue. Iíd be really interested to know the whats? and whos? which are confusing you. I try to make my stories stand alone. Reading my other stories would add to your knowledge, but Iím not certain that it would clear much up. It should be obvious that Harry is in charge of the Auror Office and is reacting to Werewolf attacks in Sheffield (hence his frequent absences).

Iíve written a couple of stories about Lavender Brown (a third is being betaed), the notorious werewolf Auror. (They arenít published here, obviously.) The fact that Lavender is a werewolf is probably enough to clarify much of your confusion.

Amber Skoll has appeared in only one other story and she was twelve at the time. The Muggles are all appearing for the first time. If thereís anything else, please ask.
-N-



Reviewer: GinnySavesHarry1998 Signed Date: 2011.01.22 - 10:06AM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstar

Cute. ;-)

Author's Response: Thanks -N-



Reviewer: Padfoot7 Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 07:35PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstar

Aw, I want to see Mary's reaction! I really hope you update soon because I REALLY love this story. So much! But Jacqui does annoy me a little with all her snooping!

Author's Response: Mary is curious and prepared to snoop and make snap judgements. Jacqui is curious but restricts herself to observing and the occasional question. But if Jacqui stops snooping the story stops! -N-



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 07:22PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarstar

Stellar chapter! Loved poor Jacqui finally deciding to take sides.

Author's Response: Thank you. She had little choice. -N-



Reviewer: GinnyP7 Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 04:10PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarstar

Very interesting story; I'm enjoying it immensely. I like your descriptions that make for a very visual story as well as your connecting timelines and characters among your stories. You've given Jacqui a lot more to consider in this chapter. I can't wait for the catalyst that causes her to put all these oddities together, if she can. Ginny's "hello" to Mary should be very interesting as should Harry's appearance. Mary may look a lot less confident as Ginny strides toward her. Will she positively shrink when Harry does the same? Can't wait to find out.


Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

My timeline is becoming more complicated and my cast of original characters larger. So far (I hope) itís still bossible to read any story without a problem. If you have no idea who Amber is, it should not matter.

The working draft of the next chapter is well underway. The tidying up usually takes me a week or two. You should find out fairly soon.
-N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 04:00PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter! I'm glad Jaqui was able to clear the air with Ginny. It is interesting to see a magical house from an unknowing Muggle point of view. I can't wait to see what happens when the two families get together. One phrase towards the end had me confused. "Ginny was sitting behind her and she did her best to keep my daughter happy as I drove." That didn't make a whole lot of sense to me.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review and the comment. I will take another look at that section of the story.

Harry in a swmming costume will, of course, raise a lot more questions. All those scars!
-N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 03:50PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarstar

On top of being a great story, I must commend you on the fact that while you may not be progressing every story at top speed, it is incredibly impressive to me that you are juggling five different multiple chapter stories at the same time. And all at different time periods in the course of the character's lives. And also while putting out the occasional one shot story on the side. I don't know how you manage that.

Author's Response:
With difficulty is the short answer :-(

Hunters and Prey has three chapters to go and when itís done that will ease the pressure. This story will continue slowly as I (finally!) return to Aurors and Schoolgirls. I donít count Epithalamium as I see that more as a series of one-shots from different points of view. It will be updated very sporadically. Five? Tales of the Battle is the base on which I build my minor (and Original) characters. It is finished. All 22 chapters are complete and (finally) betaed. There may be a chapter 23, but Iím unhappy with it. So soon five will be two, plus Epithalamium.
-N-



Reviewer: Macsr71 Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 01:25PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Oh, can't wait to see just how far Ginny get's her claws into "bloody-mary" before the gossipy woman realizes it,

Well done

Author's Response: Thanks, I hope that youíll find out early next month. -N-



Reviewer: hms42 Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 12:54PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: HGRHfan35 Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 12:35PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarstar

That Bloody Mary better watch out...... *nasty grin*
She'll be smothered in Ginny's friendliness. I think.
And how much harassment will Jaquie endure for offering friendship to Ginny.

Well I say, Go Jaquie, Go Ginny!


Author's Response:
Youíre another mind reader! Ginny can be politely rude.

School gate politics are incredibly complicated. Who knows what will happen. Even Iím not completely certain.
-N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 12:17PM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Made my day.

Author's Response: Thank you. :-D -N-



Reviewer: Birlan Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 11:29AM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter. You are doing a very good job showing some details of the environment around them and showing all the little ways that the Potters are not normal and don't realize that they aren't. I'm guessing that Ginny thought the kitchen looked normal because it had a range. But no plugs. And no refrigerator. And no microwave or dishwasher. I'm expecting a microwave to be pretty standard equipment by the late 90s in upscale kitchens.

And when does Jacqui figure out that it doesn't make any sense that people arrive and depart without visible means of transport. Molly flew up for the day with other grandchildren and no car or anything. And how did the Potters fix up the house so quickly. And so on--with all the good intentions in the world I'm not sure how Jacqui is going to be convinced that they are normal.

The idea that Molly taught the young Weasleys makes sense--as does the idea that she ends up helping with child-minding for the Granger-Weasleys. Thanks.


Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Ranges or stoves (usually an Aga) are common in rural kitchens, so the cooking facilities wonít raise suspicions. Everything else, however, will.

Sometimes I think that you read my mind! Sheíll get very curious about the lack of obvious transport in three or four chapters time. How did you know?

Molly was a full time mother and it seems from their complete ignorance of Muggle ways that the Weasleys didnít attend a Muggle school. Molly would be good at teaching through play. Cookery is good for basic measuring concepts, alphabet blocks have dozens of uses.
-N-



Reviewer: ketbelle Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 10:39AM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstar

This story makes me curios as hell.= ]

Author's Response: In a good way, I hope. -N-



Reviewer: TheReader1312 Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 10:35AM Title: Tea and Biscuits

starstarstarstarstar

I love that Harry and Ginny have no electronic devices, such as refrigerator or television. I can't see any reason, why they would need muggle-devices, but in many fanfics, they have them anyway. (Though, it will probably be hard, to explain why they have no electricity to Jacqui!)

Penniless squatters? Mary has no idea, what she's up against, you don't mess with Ginny Potter.

I look forward to what will happen next. :-)


Author's Response:
The lack of electricity will certainly make Jacqui even more curious. Iíve read stories where Harry and Ginny raid the fridge in the Burrow. That seems wrong to me. Harry and Ginny are using a large larder and pantry for food storage, and there is a scullery for washing.

Iíve actually drawn a map of the area and a plan of the house to keep myself right!

Mary is about to find out what sheís facing.
-N-




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear