Search:

SIYE Time:19:58 on 11th December 2017


Reviewer: Chazbites Signed Date: 2011.09.10 - 06:04AM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: dshadel Signed Date: 2011.08.12 - 09:03PM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

Im realy loveing this story. Cant wait for more of it

Author's Response: Thanks, I hope to manage a chapter a month. -N-



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2011.08.12 - 06:59AM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

A great chapter. It's really entertaining to see the Potter's through Jaqui's POV. And her husband's reactions to them, particularly to Ginny.
On another note I've read your response to one of the comments concerning your other WIPs and I can understand both your and your commenter's reactions. But I must say I'm a little sad that I'll have to wait still more than I thought (from other responses of yours) for H&P. That is one of my favorite stories ever and my love and enthusiasm for it are still the same. I even think that you became a better writer going through the challenges it posed to you. There's a noticeable enhancement of your capacity to master the pace and all the details tha make the difference between a good and an excellent story.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. I'm becoming very fond of Mike.
Perhaps I should clarify. I have far too many works in progress. :-(
The next chapter (Christmas: Suspicion) of Aurors and Schoolgirls will (I hope) be ready to go to my beta this weekend. The following chapters are simply notes and need a lot of work.
The final three chapters of Hunters and Prey are in a rough draft form, the first of those (Snake Grasses) will be my priority once A&S is gone (pacing and details are proving problematic). The other chapters are currently titled “Cornered Rat” and “Lions, Ravens, Badger, Snake” They are each about 2000 word draft and I hope that once I get past the current chapter things will progress quickly.
I will continue to mess around with The Drakeshaugh Dragon when I get the chance (it’s only three chapters and the second and third are each close to completion).
A one shot called “The Question” is almost ready to go to my beta.
The next chapter (Penumbra) of my Lavender story “Moons” is with its beta. The following chapter is notes.
Anything else, you can forget about for a while, apart from Strangers, which I will continue to work on whenever I can.
-N-



Reviewer: dseay Signed Date: 2011.08.10 - 06:32PM Title: Work and Play

starstarstar

I really love your character Mike, he can be so entertaining. Looking forward to seeing more and how Ginny copes with the new neighbors.

Author's Response: Thanks, Mike (according to his wife) is not as funny as he thinks he is. You'll here more from Ginny in the next chapter. -N-



Reviewer: zequist Signed Date: 2011.08.10 - 10:40AM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

Among your many excellent stories, this is my favorite of the WIPs, So I was very happy to log in and see an update posted, and absolutely it was worth the wait. You are giving us Harry Potter in such a unique way, through the eyes of someone who may as well be you or me or any of the rest of us, and it's just a treat to read.

I was thinking at the end of last night's chapter. Since we have a muggle narrator, she's limited to what she knows...or remembers. So if a tired and cranky Lily set off some accidental magic that couldn't be explained away, for instance...clean it up, cast a few memory charms and announce it's time to leave, and neither our narrator nor anyone else in her family will ever tell us about it, because to them it didn't happen, right? I'm not suggesting that's what actually happened here, but Harry's abrupt mood change pricked my interest and got me thinking about it. I'm sure H/G wouldn't do that to the Charltons unless it was absolutely necessary, since they are indeed nice people (both families are), but realizing we can't ever be 100% sure of Jacqui's reliability because she could be made to forget anything at any time does add an intriguing layer to the narrative.

Author's Response:
Thank you.

You make a lot of very good observations, especially about accidental magic. I think that it would require Lily to be more than simply cranky to set off some accidental magic. The examples I can remember involved Harry being under a lot of stress, and Neville being dropped from a great height. Although Lily (Evans) was able to do some other stuff too.

Jacqui is as reliable a narrator as there is. But you're right, if she does end up on the wrong end of a memory charm, she won't be able to tell you. Reviews always give me a lot to think about.
-N-



Reviewer: Green Eyes Signed Date: 2011.08.10 - 10:03AM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Ideally these reviews provide some positive affirmation and, if appropriate, a little constructive criticism. First, the affirmation: I love this story and your writing in general. Your characters and your scenes feel so realistic and are so much fun to read. Now, my constructive suggestion (intended in the most friendly manner possible):

Pick ONE story (preferably this or H&P) and write only that story until it is finished. I loved (was borderline obsessed with) H&P, but as you have published more and more other stories while H&P was just about at its climax, my enthusiasm for it waned. I felt like if it wasn’t a priority for you, then it wouldn’t be for me either. As I said, this is intended in the most friendly manner possible. I have a genuine admiration for your work.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review, and for your opinion. This is a staggeringly long response, because you’ve pushed my “guilty” button.

You’re right, of course. I seem incapable of working on a single story. My working method seems to have grown with my stories.

To use a cooking analogy, I write a piece (whether a chapter or a one-shot), and then leave it to simmer. I then go back, taste it, add seasoning and leave it again. Finally, I think that it’s done and send it to be beta read, and then I change it again. To save time (at least in theory) I have several pans on the stove. Sometimes, when I go back, the stew is spoiled and I have to start from scratch. That’s what happened to H&P (and A&S). I chucked both chapters out and started again. The next chapter of A&S is closer than the next chapter of H&P.

”Strangers” in particular takes me an absolute age to write. If I achieve one chapter per month I’ll be doing well. I know exactly where I’m going, but we aren’t even close to halfway there yet.
The fact that I tried to write three and a half (not H/G) mysteries for a challenge (MLT, Haunted House: Dead, The Pencil Portrait Problem and Unspeakable) during May and June didn’t help. I managed two and a half (Haunted House: Dead, The Pencil Portrait Problem and Unspeakable (I co-wrote the latter)) but neglected everything else.

I realise that my method is frustrating for readers and I will try to mend my ways. I appreciate your suggestion. I can’t guarantee that I will follow it, sorry, because often my choice is: stare at the screen doing nothing, or, write something else.

I do intend to try to finish both A&S and H&P this year (but don’t hold your breath). The final three chapters of H&P (that’s all that is left) are mapped out, but a certain Slytherin is giving me problems. A&S will be longer, although the next chapter is very close. There will be at least another 6 chapters (possibly 10) of A&S.

Of my other stories Drakeshaugh Dragon is in a decent draft. Moons (like its predecessor Moon) is the only non H/G story I’m working on and it will be six short chapters, of which three are done and the fourth is drafted. Even on other sites (ffn) my H/G stories are the most read, but I have to indulge Lavender despite the fact that she isn’t a popular girl. Everything else is “set aside” apart from “The Question” (coming soon to SIYE).

-N-

ps Several people have asked me to expand “Ginny’s Rival” I probably will, but that will not be soon. I hope to get back to a position where I can update something every week.



Reviewer: harryluvsginny Signed Date: 2011.08.10 - 10:03AM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

I love love love this story. It just gets better and better and I love how you've woven this from a muggle perspective. It's really interesting to see how Harry and Ginny could be viewed from such an outside perspective. Thanks for the update and I look forward to the next one! :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. There will, I hope, be more soon. Jacqui will continue to try to rationalise the strangeness she observes. -N-



Reviewer: bricat Signed Date: 2011.08.10 - 03:42AM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

Eccentric indeed. It really is fun to read about Harry and Ginny from an outsiders perspective. Glad you finally updated. Can't wait for more :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I think that Harry and Ginny would happily be eccentric. -N-



Reviewer: jojo99 Signed Date: 2011.08.10 - 01:25AM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

I wonder what the Charlton's would say if they saw some accidental magic. That's obviously what Harry and Ginny are worried about.

Author's Response: Thanks. I’ve been wondering that, too. I’m tempted to drop a hint, but I won’t. You’ll have to wait. -N-



Reviewer: sidnandragin Signed Date: 2011.08.10 - 01:05AM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstar

I really am enjoying this story. I love how you are writing scenes about the Potters and how they interact with their neighbors. It is different. Different in a good way. I love it. I am so looking forward to the homecoming party to happen. Will Mary be invited (snicker, snicker)?
I do hope that you will be able to have more chapters up sooner. It would be great to know more.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I hope to up my workrate on this and my other Harry/Ginny stories. I still have a few non-H/G works in progress, but I’m temporarily abandoning one of them. Mary? Wait and see. -N-



Reviewer: agedhpfan Signed Date: 2011.08.10 - 12:37AM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I'm really enjoying this story, how the Potter family's magical life is slowly being revealed in the little intrusions and comments from James, and how it is all perceived by Jacqui's as you develop her character fully. Way too long between updates, though--you have too many great stories going!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I do have far too many stories going. I probably should not have started Drakeshaugh Dragon, but it will certainly be finished before this is, so will Aurors and Schoolgirls, and Hunters and Prey and Moons. -N-



Reviewer: JadeYan Signed Date: 2011.08.09 - 11:47PM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

sooo happy to read an update from you! excellent chapter as usual.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2011.08.09 - 11:32PM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

Yay! An update! An update! (does the twirl)

Phew! It must be really hard to have the Statute of Secrecy hanging over your head, specially if you are 5 years old and a bit!

What a dilemma living a world with 2 sets "aliens" - wizards and witches versus Muggles!

An excellent portrayal of such a diemma

And the bbq went very well indeed.

Author's Response: Thanks.
James certainly has a lot to think about and remember, and he’s “rising five” as we say, his fifth birthday will this term.
The Potters will continue to try to balance on the boundary between two worlds.
-N-



Reviewer: potionsprofessor Signed Date: 2011.08.09 - 11:28PM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstar

Thanks for the long-awaited update! It was well worth the wait ! I am anxious to see where Jaqui's perceptions and ponderings of the Potter's "uniqueness" take the story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This story will take off in another direction with the next chapter as I try to return to what was initially supposed to be the main plot. -N-



Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream Signed Date: 2011.08.09 - 10:21PM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

Well, "nice people" counts for a fair bit, yeah? :-)

I rather enjoyed the ... "brinksmanship" ... with respect to blurring the line between the Muggle & Magical worlds.

Author's Response: Thanks. “Nice people” does count for a lot. Life is interesting on the interface, but why would the Potters choose to live like this? -N-



Reviewer: hijadejewell Signed Date: 2011.08.09 - 09:30PM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

I was so excited to see an update! I really love this story!

Author's Response: Thanks. I hope that the next update won’t take so long. -N-



Reviewer: asimplename Signed Date: 2011.08.09 - 08:30PM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2011.08.09 - 08:19PM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

Yey! The return of the Charltons and the Potters! I hope the next chapter _will_ be a Potter house warming and that it will be soon... ;-)

Congrats on the one year mark of the story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I knew that this story would be slow, but I’d hoped to manage a chapter a month. I didn’t even manage that. :-(
The next chapter will not be a house-warming party, on current plans that will be chapter 11 or 12.
-N-



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2011.08.09 - 07:01PM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Love the kids!

Author's Response: So do I. -N-



Reviewer: foxfire23 Signed Date: 2011.08.09 - 05:22PM Title: Work and Play

starstarstarstarstar

it's always atreat to get a new chapter.
No wonder Ginny was cautious about James not riding with the...he almost blabbed away their 'secret.

Author's Response: Thanks
How can you possibly ask a nearly five year old to keep a secret? More soon.
-N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear