Search:

SIYE Time:16:10 on 19th October 2017


Reviewer: bkedersha Signed Date: 2012.01.13 - 02:29AM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: naptowngirl Signed Date: 2011.12.07 - 09:57PM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

I've been enjoying all of your stories. You're an incredibly talented writer and you're characterizations are spot on (in my opinion). I'm loving this story! The plot is one of the most unique I've read in the wide world of HP fan fiction and I'm clamoring for the next installment. (I've just read the whole story up until now in about 2 days!). Keep 'em coming. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and the kind words.
This is certainly my most popular story in terms of reads, reviews and ratings. The next chapter is on track for “before the end of the year”. I can’t be more accurate tan that, sorry.
-N-



Reviewer: Birlan Signed Date: 2011.12.07 - 06:25PM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

I enjoyed this chapter. The details were great. Charley's very different interactions with his sisters-in-law, joking with Audrey and Angelina, close familiarity with Fleur and a bit of hesitancy with Hermione was great. I'm not entirely sure why there is that hesitancy but I suspect there are lots of possible reasons--and its not very important since the real point you have made is that they are all different people and so Charley relates to them very differently.

It is interesting how entertaining this story is with its general dearth of action. I do wonder how things work out with Jacqui--does she just stop asking questions someday or does she reach her own conclusions that she doesn't share with anyone? Or is she re-educated?

Thanks again--and happy holidays if you don't post or I don't review between now and years's end

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I’ve seen several characterisations of Charlie in fanfics. He’s the brother we’ve seen least, and he works abroad (as did Bill until his wedding). I was, as you say, simply trying to show “my” Charlie and the differences in the wives. In retrospect, I think that Fleur should have kissed both cheeks and then his lips, I may rewrite that section.

There is (currently) a dearth of action and I’m astonished at how many readers this slow “story of schoolgate parents” gets. However, the next full moon is approaching, “the Werewolf” remains free, and Harry is busy refocusing the investigation. There will be action.

I intend to get at least one more story (the final chapter of Beard Hunters) submitted before Christmas. It’s a Christmas present to my readers, but don’t expect a card. :-D

-N-



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2011.12.06 - 01:56AM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

Another wonderful chapter! Poor James is going to be in such trouble all because he wanted his friend to come and play. I can't blame the boys for wanting to be together, but it's definitely not a good idea to surprise the grown-ups in the middle of a Wizarding family party, especially when there are so many clues about the house that something isn't quite normal in the Muggle way. Thank goodness Ginny and her family are adept at covering things up.

I thoroughly enjoyed Jacqui's reaction to the confusion of Weasleys: they're very much like a pod of whales or a parliament of owls of a covey of quail, right?

I'm looking forward to the next chapter and hope it comes out soon.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review
both James and Henry will be in trouble, but at least with that odd phone number there won’t be any more unexpected arrivals. In his defence, Henry did, sort of, tell Jacqui. Covering things up – literally in the case of Hermione’s birthday cake.
They are, I like collective nouns. An eccentricity of Lovegoods? An enforcement of Aurors?
Next: Baking Buns, a Breakdown, a Bike and a Barmy Blonde – it’s progressing nicely, and should be done before the end of the year.
-N-



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2011.12.05 - 02:02PM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

Poor Jacqui--how awkward for her. But they did a pretty good job of making her feel less like an intrusion. Ginny's hostessing skills are phenomenal.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I blame James and Henry. (I think I'm going to be saying that quite frequently.) The Weasleys are (as Harry and Hermione know) a very welcoming faimliy. -N-



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2011.12.05 - 10:02AM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

How indeed. Jackie is bound to figure it out, and the resolution of that problem should be quit interesting.
You know, I've been thinking what a lovely script for a TV series this story would make. Something like The Adams Family.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Mike has his own ideas, and very sensible they are, too.
The Addams family suggestion gives me some disturbing ideas. "Ginny, you spoke French!" ;-D - not to mention the disturbing image of Lily Luna playing with headless dolls.
-N-



Reviewer: zequist Signed Date: 2011.12.05 - 02:23AM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

"Ginny Potter", yup, seems like a perfectly sensible phone number to me. It's just a lucky thing her name isn't something like Elizabeth Featherstonhaugh - poor Jacqui would go spare trying to dial that number.

Great chapter, too! I can imagine the talking-to that James is going to get - muggles dropping in with no warning is a recipe for trouble, and I'm sure Ginny doesn't want to be put in the awkward position of having to obliviate her friends if she can possibly avoid it. Can't wait for next chapter's meeting with Luna!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I wanted to use JKR’s system for magical phone numbers and as UK phone numbers are 11 numbers and Ginny (and Harry) Potter is 11 letters…
The next chapter is already a rough draft as I’m trying to keep to my promised schedule of one chapter per month. It will hopefully be ready before the end of the year. If I can submit two in December hopefully no one will criticise the fact that I missed November.
-N-



Reviewer: r3in9 Signed Date: 2011.12.04 - 07:52PM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

I might have forgotten some of the details of your past chapters but I'm really enjoying every chapter of this.. I'm really excited to know the reaction from Henry's mom if she found out they're magical. Is there any chance that Henry is a wizard too? or he have witnessed a little from James?

Author's Response: If Jacqui fids out, then Ginny would have no option but to Obliviate her. The “national statue of secrets” as James calls it, would apply. Has Henry witnessed anything? No. Will he? Read the Drakeshaugh Dragon. -N-



Reviewer: sdipietro Signed Date: 2011.12.04 - 05:16PM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

Sorry. I forgot the rating!

Author's Response: Thanks :-D



Reviewer: sdipietro Signed Date: 2011.12.04 - 05:15PM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

This was such a great chapter and I love reading Jacqui's impressions of everyone. I really can't wait for the housewarming party and how you write it. You have become one of my favorite authors with your work on Strangers and the rest of your stories.

I think that the phone number was brilliant by the way. Nothing like a true 'direct dial' number!

Author's Response: Thank you.
Before the party (in the next chapter) Jacqui will meet Lily Potter's godmother. ;-D
The phone number was (sort of) pinched from JKR. Check the number they dialed to use the telephone box entrance into the Ministry.
-N-



Reviewer: Emlyn Signed Date: 2011.12.04 - 02:42PM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

What fun to see the Weasley's through non-magical eyes. Interesting dynamic between Hermione and Charlie. Children can be so troublesome.

Author's Response: Thank you. It was interesting, wasn't it? Kids don't seem to ralise that things don't simply happen when they want. -N-



Reviewer: SourceoftheTicking Signed Date: 2011.12.04 - 10:34AM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I like this, but more than anything it's just left me looking forward to the housewarming party. There's a slight lack of substance to the chapter.

However, I'm definitely a fan of the collective noun for Weasleys, and I like the novelty of Audrey the Tyke. I'm not convinced her marriage to Percy could sustain such a thing though, surely he would constantly, compulsively correct her grammar? Bloody Southerners.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
No housewarming party next chapter either, sorry.
Perhaps Audrey the tyke is Yorkshire posh? I've always assumed that the Weasley's speak with a west-country accent, even Percy, the corrections could go both ways.
-N-



Reviewer: Hoisin Signed Date: 2011.12.04 - 08:58AM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I'm really enjoying this story.

"‘It’s a pleasure to meet you, a real pleasure,’ Ginny’s dad beamed and shook my hand enthusiastically. ‘Did you drive here? In a motor car? With an engine?’

‘Er, yes,’ I stammered.

‘How exciting!’ he said. He looked so animated that I wondered if there was something wrong with him."

That really made me laugh LOL. Can't wait for Jacqui to meet Luna ^_^.

Looking forward to the next chapter.


Author's Response:
Thank you.

Arthur's enthusiasm for all things Muggle will need to be kept in chech during the party. Fortunately, Harry and Ginny have a plan.

Jacqui's world will simply have to readjust itself to accommodate Luna.

-N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2011.12.04 - 07:57AM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

Some times it's better not to know so much...and now they will not have Henry and jac there unannounced.....kutgw

Author's Response: That's certainly what Ginny hopes. -N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2011.12.04 - 07:57AM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Not an all action sort of chapter, but there were a lot of little things. So enjoyable to read.

Author's Response: Thanks. All action in this story is little more than Ginny putting down Mary. Next, Luna, need I say more? -N-



Reviewer: lalachoa Signed Date: 2011.12.04 - 05:29AM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Another chapter at last! I've liked this plot since it's been started. I can't wait for the next one :P

Author's Response: Thanks, you should not have so long to wait. Hopefully it should be ready before the end of the year. -N-



Reviewer: LeprechaunJV Signed Date: 2011.12.04 - 04:59AM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Leiselily Signed Date: 2011.12.04 - 04:06AM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

I love your work so much I don't know where to start!
I love the geographical accuracy of it all, that it's set in the world I live in, I love the attention to the detail of everyday life.
I love the way you are updating the many stories at the same time, it feels like I'm doing a giant intricate jigsaw puzzle to piece it all together.
This is my favourite story though. I don't often like stories written through the eyes of a muggle but I love his one and I think it's because Jacqui is spot on.
I can relate to her and her experience, and the world she lives in. I read a lot (too much!) fanfic but I can't think of anyone who blends the wizarding world into real British life as well as you. It's because the British life aspect is a major part of the story not just the background. It make the world of HP seem almost more real than when JK writes it.
I love the way Jacqui is putting together the clues here, and how we are seeing the characters through her eyes. I think you have progressed all the characters believably since the end of book seven, and your version of the world is going to be canon for me!
Thank you for all your stories so far and please keep them coming, I have a jigsaw I need to finish!

Author's Response: Thank you.
I have to say that I'm really astonished at the popularity of this story of ordinary life. I suspected that this would sink without trace as people would find it boring.
Updates to both A&S and H&P are long overdue. H&P keeps fighting back!
Jacqui is a little insecure, and more nosey than she thinks she is. I hope that she's simply another "schoolgate mum" which is what makes her observations fun (if difficult) to write.
When I started writing fanfics, I planned a series of novel-length stories, all from third person perspectiven. This isn't one of them and I would have scoffed at anyone who told be that I'd be writing a novel lenth story from a first-person-female perspective. Of course, real British life is easy, and setting it about "now" (at only a few years ago) requires a lot less research.
My timeline of the nineteen years encompasses many characters and it helps me age everyone. Hopefully believably.
More soon.
-N-



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2011.12.04 - 01:57AM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

Wait wasn't there a Mini in the driveway when she arrived? Maybe they all came in a magically enlarged Mini. :-)

Jacqui is a wonderful character. Smart and observant, too. She'll turn out to be a good friend of the Potters, but I'm guessing they'll never be able to reveal their magic to her. Unless Henry turns out to be a wizard, but that's probably pushing things. I don't remember him in the epilogue, but that was more about Albus than James, I suppose.

I'm curious how you'll end this story. I'm looking forward to the housewarming party, and whatever comes next, but I'm also looking ahead and trying to guess how the Potters will settle into a muggle-adjacent life. There's always going to be some stress involved in keeping the Statute of Secrecy (or the Official Secrets Act).

Love the story; one of my very favorites.


Author's Response: You're right about the Mini! I seem to have done one too many cut and pastes. i corrected it before replying to this review. Thank you.
Jacqui will continue to support (and frustrate) Ginny, but she'll be a constant in the Drakeshaugh tales. I have plans for the Charlton's but it will be some time before they bear fruit.
This story was/is planned to end when Harry catches "the Werewolf". Jacqui's family centered observations haven't (I hope) entirley hidden the fact that, in the background, Harry is very busy. The story will take a slightly darker turn, people have been killed.
-N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2011.12.03 - 10:50PM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

starstarstarstarstar

That was outstanding sir. Though I'm curious how a phone would work at Drakeshaugh with all the magic being used there now.

Author's Response: Thank you. The how and why of the phone will be explained later. -N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear