Search:

SIYE Time:16:11 on 19th October 2017


Reviewer: pentium415 Signed Date: 2012.02.16 - 01:31PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2012.01.31 - 11:07PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

This certainly is a fantastic story! With every new story or chapter of yours, both short and long, my opinion is further cemented that your stories should be considered canon until JKR proves your interpretation wrong.

Author's Response:
There really is no higher praise. I’m flattered.
Pottermore may well (if it hasn’t already) shift the birthdays I’ve given the kids, but with 40 stories (including the non-Harry/Ginny ones) retrofitting “my canon” would be almost impossible. -N-



Reviewer: MinistryMalcontent Signed Date: 2012.01.31 - 07:42PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

Neil --

I finally broke down and made the time to read your story. I love it so much I read it twice, straight through!

So far, this is undoubtedly the best third-party story I can recall and one of the best post-Hogwarts as well. You've captured the adventure of ordinary life so well, and you are creating a marvelous theme of how similar the trials and triumphs of life are the same -- whether Wizarding or Muggle.

My only worry is how you are going to bring this story to a close. I hope you've got a resolution that escapes the International Statute of Secrecy. I'd hate to see it end the way The Drakeshaugh Dragon did.

Can't wait to read more. Keep up the good work!

Tom

Author's Response:
Tom, thanks for the review. I’m glad you like Strangers, I am honestly astonished by its popularity.

My original plan for this was for Jacqui to “frame” the story, and for the bulk of it to be third person (Harry), and about the werewolf murders. The first couple of chapters were, I thought, self-indulgent. It seems many people like to indulge in the same things I do. In twelve (soon to be thirteen) chapters there has only been one third person chapter, there will be more, because you need to know what’s really going on

The halfway stage of this story is close. My current estimate is 25-30 chapters (but I expected to reach the party by the next chapter so I may be wrong). There are (I hope) a few twists ahead, but it won’t end the way “Dragon” did.

Neil



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2012.01.30 - 04:55PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

Yay a new chapter! Outstanding as usual, meeting Lina through Muggle eyes was fun.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Luna will be around for a while. -N-



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2012.01.30 - 01:21PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

Good job explaining away the lack of cars, but the oddities keep building up. When will the dam burst?
Luna was so normal she was merely eccentric. That can't last.

Author's Response: Thaks for the review.
There is a perfectly logical explanation for the oddities, just ask Mike.
Luna is not crazy, she's perfectly capable of holding a sensible conversation, relatively speaking.
-N-



Reviewer: LeprechaunJV Signed Date: 2012.01.30 - 09:12AM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: lalachoa Signed Date: 2012.01.30 - 05:05AM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.01.29 - 02:01PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

This chapter is worth the wait. I keep checking every time looking for updates but as you have so many projects and a very hyper creative imagination, I console myself with the fact that each of these stories are so good to read that updates for this story could .... wait...., I suppose.... sigh.... I cannot wait for the next one!

Love Luna. Thank goodness you are inviting the DA for the housewarming. I wonder what the muggles will think... and I so look forward to more of Mar That would be hilarious.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
This chapter took longer than I'd hoped, but the next one is already underway, so it hopefully won't take so long.
Not all of the DA will be there (I couldn't cope). Definites are Mr & Mrs Creevey, Mr & Mrs Boot, Mr & Mrs Corner, Prof. & Mrs Longbottom and Mr & Mrs Moon. Some bloke called Rolf might turn up, too. That's not until chapter 14. More Mary next chapter.
-N-



Reviewer: r3in9 Signed Date: 2012.01.29 - 10:54AM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter but took you so long. Worth the wait though.
Did the Potter kids already had their accidental magic? Wonder if Annie would see any magic in the house during her stay there.
I think I like Mike but I'm getting a bit suspicious about him.


Author's Response: Thanks
This chapter fought back. But I beat it into shape eventually.
Drakeshaugh Dragon takes place after this story. Good question about Annie.
What has Mike done to arouse your suspicions? He's making perfectly reasonable observations (wrong, but reasonable).
-N-



Reviewer: GinnySavesHarry1998 Signed Date: 2012.01.29 - 10:47AM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstar

Glad to see you back. Good chapter. I'm really looking forward to the party.

Author's Response: Thanks.
Have I been away? I managed to submit part 1 of a challenge story last week, too. The party will be chapter 14.
-N-



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2012.01.29 - 01:31AM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

Another fantastic chapter and well worth the wait. I love how Luna tried to make the Muggle book's illustrations animate and you captured her perfectly.

I have a question. Are the chocolate buns what Americans refer to as cupcakes? I love learning British baking terminology and this one has me curious.

I'm looking forward to your next chapter whenever it comes out.

Author's Response:
Thanks. I'm pleased you noticed Luna's little prod. :-) She'll certainly have a theory about the Gruffalo.

Yes, at least so far as I know. Small cakes in individual cases. They're also known as "fairy cakes".

It won't take so long, I hope.

-N-



Reviewer: JadeYan Signed Date: 2012.01.28 - 10:23PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

Love it! More please!

Author's Response: I'm working on it, but i've a challenge dadline to meet, too. -N-



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2012.01.28 - 09:02PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Thanks!

Author's Response: Yo're welcome. -N-



Reviewer: Ocean Dream Signed Date: 2012.01.28 - 08:40PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

Borrowing Annie's vocab - yay! :)

It's such fun to get the Muggle perspective of the Weasleys - Bill the banker, lol! The only "problem" is the chapters are too short (or so they seem). Patiently waiting for more.

Author's Response: Thanks :-D
Bill works for a bank, therefore... The chapters are getting longer, the first three were all around 3000 words, the last thre have been around 4000 words. The next chapter will probably be the same.
-N-



Reviewer: smokeylovegood Signed Date: 2012.01.28 - 08:12PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

Another outstanding chapter in the wonderful future world you've created. It is cute how you have woven universals like kids behavior and mommy translations between the magical and muggle world. Can't wait to see how Jacqui finally figures out her "mystery" and what kind of shock / humiliation Mary is in for. Now, for my usual annoying "British to American Translation Question" - what are chocolate buns?

Author's Response: Thank you.
The entire premise of this story has shifted away from the werewolf murders (which were supposed to be the main plot). It happenned at chapter 2, when I discovered/realised that the Muggle and magical parents fced the same problems. Next, Mary, Luna, Jacqui, Hrry, and Sirius's bike.
Chocolate buns are what you'd call cupcakes, in fact that term is beginning to catch on over here now.
-N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2012.01.28 - 05:48PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

Just pure enchantment. Your world and I love it.

Author's Response: Thank you. Lots of enchantments, but Jacqui doesn't see them. :-D -N-



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2012.01.28 - 04:40PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent

Author's Response: Thanks -N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2012.01.28 - 03:49PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

nice to see that they are all working out the difference in the town...but then again the phone is the part i like best but its nice to see an adaption to work in the real world....kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks. I know how the phone works. You'll find out, eventually. -N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2012.01.28 - 03:16PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarstar

Very nice chapter! I love Luna, at least Jacqui seems accepting of her, I can only imagine what Mary will think :)

Author's Response: Thanks, you won't have to imagine for long, because I'm doing that now. -N-



Reviewer: moonpaw Signed Date: 2012.01.28 - 02:48PM Title: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Yay, I'm so excited for the new chapter! Wonderful again, as always. I love the angle you've taken with this story--a Muggle's take on Harry & Co.

Author's Response: Thank you. I suspect that before long I'll have to throw in another "Interlude" chapter to explain what's actually happening. But Jacqui will remain the narrator for most of the story. -N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear