Search:

SIYE Time:16:13 on 19th October 2017


Reviewer: emeraldstag Signed Date: 2014.02.07 - 11:55PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

Found this story from a rec on livejournal and have spent the last few days reading up. I'm just enjoying the ride and loving experiencing the Potters through Jacqui and her family, the oddities of mixing with Muggles and trying to keep magic secret, the coincidences and oddities Jacqui notices and the gossip circles of the mothers and the Potters being the new mysterious family in the area. A very fun read and I look forward to what's next.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
You've joined the ride at a little past the halfway point. The next chapter (Harvest Moon) should be ready fairly soon, although I'm trying to finish a challenge story first.
-N-



Reviewer: ame9515 Signed Date: 2013.12.17 - 09:00PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: IamGinnyWeasley Signed Date: 2013.10.29 - 06:31PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstar

Please tell me there's another chapter!!! It's really good!!!


Author's Response: There will be another chapter. Is that okay? -N-



Reviewer: sabradan Signed Date: 2013.10.28 - 05:58PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2013.10.26 - 09:49PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I liked how Ginny kept having to censor herself in front of the kids. She was much more successful than I usually am:). I also really enjoyed the scene with Michael Corner and your magical version of IT. He fits the description of a classic IT guy who doesn't understand why everyone else doesn't automatically understand what he is saying:). Also, love the end and Ginny's apology to Harry. Thanks for posting a chapter from Harry's POV!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Trying to write the “argument in front of the kids” proved a lot more difficult than I expected, Ginny’s self censorship was the easy bit. As for Michael, I’m having a lot of fun turning him into an Arithmancy nerd, complete with long hair and beard. If things go according to plan the next interlude will be from Ginny’s perspective, I’ll probably use Harry again for the epilogue.
-N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2013.10.26 - 08:42PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

Just out of curiosity, any chance we'll see an update to A&S anytime soon? I've been dying to know what happens at that 4 o'clock meeting forever lol.

Author's Response: Hi.
I had hoped to get back to A&S before now, but ... life!. I have set myself a deadline to finish H&P before the end of the year, and after that, I intend to divide my time (mostly) between this story and A&S.
-N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2013.10.26 - 06:16PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarstar

Another great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.10.25 - 11:51PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarstar

I am partway through this interlude. It is well written, very descriptive and detailed. Excellent piece of writing as usual.

Author's Response: Thanks fort he review, glad you like it. -N-



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2013.10.25 - 05:55PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarstar

I'll need to re-read your Michael Corner story to refresh my memory of the RANDOM system development. Actually, I should probably re-read everything of yours to flesh all the details about characters and relationships and plots, but I don't have the next month free. 70 stories written in the last four years is a lot of words.

Fenella is a really well-drawn character. Sh's a great addition to a fanfiction where everyone knows all the other major characters from the books. I hesitate to ask if there's a real person she's based upon. You have some other magical OC's in your stories that are interesting, but Fenella seems special.

As much as I love Jacqui and the muggle world in this story, and hate to see a chapter without her, there is the need for a werewolf-type serial killer crime spree to be solved. So I can understand the inclusion of an interlude into the magical world. Of course, your unveiling of the crime clues seems to have produced as many questions as answers, but it is, nonetheless, pretty intriguing. Plus I loved the description of the Ministry entrance security.

And I want a Range Rover that can be invisible, can fly, and can portkey me to my parking space at work. Loved that Harry set the parking brake while in mid-air.


Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

THe RANDOM story (Unspeakable) is only half mine. I co-wrote it with C A Campbell for a challenge. I'd love to rewrite it, but she doesn't reply to my e-mails. :-( Hopefully this story makes sense without you rereading it.

Fenella is based on several people, but mainly on two people I met through work. I'll say no more, but I am very fond of Fenella, and she'll be reappearing in my other stories very soon

This chapter shows (I hope) that the Auror Office are nowhere near finding the true killer. I definitely needed to let you know what's really happening at this point in the story, and hopefully you'll pick up a few more clues and news through Jacqui in the next few chapters. I've given a lot of thought to the Ministry security.

A flying car would be very useful.

-N-



Reviewer: G3ntle1 Signed Date: 2013.10.25 - 03:06PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

I really enjoy this whole reality you've created. Especially with the frequent crossing into and out of the Muggle world. This story and "Hunters and Prey" really are my top two favorites, I really like the use of Jaquis' mother and father in the one and bringing it full circle here. I really want to see how these two pieces will end. I am also intrigued but "James and Me," as a capstone. BTW, your author's page lists "James and Me" as complete, but on the fan fiction site it isn't. Is it complete and I'm missing it somewhere? Or is its resolution somehow tied to this one?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
We'll be back in the Muggle world in the next chapter, but you'll see more H&P first. Only three chapters to go for H&P. My current estimate is that this story will run to 32 chapters.
Thanks for letting me know about James and Me, I'll amend my author page. I wrote it for a one-shot competition, but even then it was over 10,000 words and I had to trim it to fit, then I rewrote it and it's now definitely going to be novel length. Finding the time to get back to it is, unfortunately, proving difficult.
-N-



Reviewer: GinnyP7 Signed Date: 2013.10.23 - 04:38PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarstar

Love the update as always with your stories. And, I'm glad to read that you hope to get something to us monthly:)

So Gaheris just vanished. Hmm. That sounds to me like a certain Mr. Malfoy when he was stepping into the Room of Requirement at Hogwarts back in Harry's sixth year to fix the Vanishing Cabinet. Hmm.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. I'm going to have to do better than monthly, as H&P has decided that it's going to be twenty chapters, not the nineteen I expected, and I intend to complete it this year. I've already got a long one-shot (Knavery) in the queue too.

There are, so far as I can remember from canon, two ways to vanish from the Marauders Map, and one of them is to walk into an unmapped room. :-)
-N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2013.10.23 - 06:12AM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Hurray! A further slice of the life of the Potter family and co-workers.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. More soon. -N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2013.10.20 - 10:25PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarstar

Mystery! Intrigue! I love it. I can't wait to see where this goes!

Author's Response: Where it goes? I'm hoping that Harry will eventually catch this killer, that's what should happen. :-D -N-



Reviewer: Hippothestrowl Signed Date: 2013.10.20 - 06:31PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Very well written. I didn't think I'd like it though because there's a lot of routine daily Muggle life that doesn't interest me - meals, journeys, school, parties, gossips, etc. Still, nice to see Potter & Co from an unknowing Muggle perspective.

I'll flag this to get to get emails for future chapters but I see it's three years in the making already so updates I expect are slow. Normally I only read complete stories.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
As (on "another site") you've said that you won't read first-person stories, then I consider that I've done well to suck you in to this story. There is some important stuff hidden away in some of those parties, honest.
I try to update monthly, but for various reasons progress has been very slow this year. I hope that this story will be complete before the end of 2014, but I'm bad at keeping to deadlines.
-N-



Reviewer: smokeylovegood Signed Date: 2013.10.20 - 05:17PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Hmmm...an inept Auror applicant and Michael's new intern at the same time the same time the RANDOM system is acting up?
One of these days you'll need to finish all of the stories so I can go back and read them in order! Really, I don't know how you keep it all straight.
Excellent chapter. I like how you work in the little bits of real life to the criminal investigation and the whole "when and what will Jacqui figure out" aspect of the story.






Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
That's an interesting first sentence of yours. How much of that is important, and why pick up on those bits rather than on the other stuff going on? Are you onto something, or are you following a red herring? I'm not saying. ;-)
I hope to finish H&P by the end of the year. Sometimes I don't keep them straight, but I try. My timeline spreadsheet now goes from October 1996 (The Hufflepuff) to 2028 (James and Me)
The real life is an important part of the investigation, honest, and I'm not going to tell you when Jacqui will figure it out.
-N-



Reviewer: intikhabalam12 Signed Date: 2013.10.20 - 11:16AM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarstar

Happy to see the update and love to read the interlude chapter. The description of H/G argument is natural and Character driven. Also loved the happy ending about the earlier argument. The investigation description is a little bit tough to catch, not because of narration but because of the vast data on investigative mechanism you provide and also remembering the knowledge used in the previous chapters (I am NOT complaining, I know how life is busy). All in All, very entertaining update.
Best of Luck :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The argument was alluded to in the last chapter, although Ginny did a good job of hiding it from Jacqui. I was (and still am) worried that this is an "information dump" chapter. The problem with my narrator is that she cannot know most of this stuff. The interludes are necessary, but I think that I should try to space them a little better. However, had I told you some of this stuff earlier, you'd probably have forgotten it anyway. :-(
More soon.
-N-



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2013.10.20 - 10:05AM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstar


Great to see your update. Also good chapter.
Loved to see what the Auror office is like with Harry at the head. The investigation seems quite troublesome.
Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you.
It's about time you saw the Auror Office. The investigation is going to become even more troublesome soon.
More soon, I hope, although I'm currently concentrating on Hunters and Prey.
-N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2013.10.19 - 09:15PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

Well now at lease they are starting to make head way....kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks. iYes, in a two steps forwards, one step back way. -N-



Reviewer: jojo99 Signed Date: 2013.10.19 - 09:04PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarstar

Ooooh - a sheriff that hates werewolves.

Author's Response: He's the least of Harry's problems, Isn't he? -N-



Reviewer: firsttenormtv Signed Date: 2013.10.19 - 01:42PM Title: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

starstarstarstarstar

No Review




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear