Search:

SIYE Time:16:11 on 19th October 2017


Reviewer: Lemonpomtart Signed Date: 2017.01.01 - 04:21AM Title: Five

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2016.12.26 - 06:45AM Title: Five


Thankyou for a new chapter.
It's great to see you are still writing.
Keep up the great work.


Author's Response: :-)



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2016.12.26 - 06:45AM Title: Five

starstarstarstarstar


Thankyou for a new chapter.
It's great to see you are still writing.
Keep up the great work.


Author's Response: Thanks.
I hope to get the next chapter up soon, before I leave for a month long holiday in the Far East.
-N-



Reviewer: luvbug Signed Date: 2016.12.16 - 07:01PM Title: Five

So happy for a new chapter

Author's Response: Thanks
More in a week or two, I hope.
-N-



Reviewer: fi103r Signed Date: 2016.12.07 - 09:22PM Title: Five

starstarstarstar

Keep up the good work


Author's Response: I'll do my best. -N-



Reviewer: Brennus Signed Date: 2016.12.07 - 03:06PM Title: Five

starstarstarstarstar

Another chapter of 'Strangers'. Excellent! This was posted at a odd time for me, as your writing (along with Fake a Smile's) was what made me want to start creating my own Harry Potter stories. It's wonderful to see you still going at a time I feel my own adventures in the HP world coming to an end. Partly this is due to the basic desire to try something new, but also the awfulness of 'Cursed Child', the limpest of limp time travel stories, that forced me down this path. Safe to say, I like your version of the post Hogwarts far more than the one that JKR has created (apart from that one where Ginny visits Draco... I really didn't like that). Keep up the good work, my friend.

Author's Response:
I still haven't read "Cursed Child" but, as my amended profile probably shows, I was close to walking away from my stories based simply on some of the spoiler reviews. However, several people here and at FanFiction.net suggested that I keep going. After thinking about things, I realised that the "official" world of Potter bypassed my own stories at about the time Pottermore went online. My stories don't comply with Pottermore, and I haven't tried to make them do so. If we didn't know stuff, I made it up. I named Hermione's parents, and Harry's grandparents. I still have no idea whether JKR has provided us with "true" names for the Grangers, but I do know that she's named Harry's grandparents, and that it would be relatively easy for me to change their names in my stories to comply. I haven't, and I'm not sure whether that's laziness or stubborness. The bottom line is, my stories, as best I can, conform to book canon, and I have too much invested in them to make sweeping changes, certainly not to take into account "the limpest of limp time travel stories."

The most important decision I've made recently is that I don't want to be one of those writers who stops. I have promised myself that I will complete all of my incomplete stories (although I'll admit that "Molly and her Daughter" is currently in last place behind even "Muggle Liaison Team", so don't hold your breath for that one). Fortunately, Strangers is progressing much better than I expected, I'm also currenttly working on "James and Me", "MIT:Strange Place", and "Friends and Foes".

Knavery isn't a favorite of mine, either. I think I wrote it for a Ginny/Draco contest on ffn. It's not terrible (at least I hope it isn't), I hope none of my stories are, You've got me wondering which of my one-shots is my own favourite: it's a toss up between Swimsuit Quidditch, First Sight, Bikini Girls on Brooms, and Sports Day. Despite the fact that Swimsut Quidditch has probably double the reads of any other one-shot I've written, I think Sports Day nudges it, because I got the Harry/Ginny relationship exactly hot I wanted it in that one. But what do I know? I'm the man who knew (100% certainty) that the complexities of Hunters and Prey would make it a much more popular story than that silly idea for a story set in Northumberland and written from the perspective of a Muggle mother! After all, who would want to read that?

Epic reply, sorry. You set me thinking.

Thanks for the review, by the way!

-N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2016.12.07 - 12:45AM Title: Five

starstarstarstarstar

Yay! A new chapter! I never knew there were so many names for the game of tag. Bobby S. sounds a little like Tronald Dump.

Author's Response:
Tap, tiggy, tip, tick, dobby and catch chase all appear to be other UK regional variants. I find it ridiculously easy to sidetrack myself into research into ridiculous things! Mr Saville was always like this, I had no idea about the Trumpton Mayor when I wrote the housewarming party.
(Brits have probably heard this, and US citizens probably won't understand it, but: DONALD TRUMPTON: Skew, Spew, Barmy Hairdo, Cut-throat, Bigot, and Smug.)
-N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2016.12.07 - 12:42AM Title: Five

starstarstarstarstar

what a delight. I wonder whether ginny gave every flavoured beans?

Author's Response: That would have been too risky, I think, but everyone loves Honeydukes. -N-



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2016.12.06 - 10:03PM Title: Five

starstarstarstarstar

More drama with Mary? Come on... you're stretching things out now ;-) But at least you're doing it with great writing as usual.

Author's Response: It's possible, I suppose, The Mary question will be a background distraction for some time yet. -N-



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2016.12.06 - 08:08AM Title: Five

Annie is such a lovely girl and she already loves to sing. You really create wonderful characters worthy of being called characters. I love Mike too, a muggle version of Ron - a warm, funny man.
Jaqui promising she will keep a secret doesn't convince me, she loves a gossip. But all that Mary stuff intrigued me. Why is it there, so much of it? For us to know what happened to Alicia and Lee? For us to know better the Poters' new neighbours? For Northumbrian to vent his frustration with the Brexit? Or Robert Saville is somehow connected to the case? After all, there are big hints that the murder had conections to the muggle world.

Author's Response:
Annie has been singing for a while. I'm glad you like Mike, he can be a bit of a fool at times, but I think his heart's in the right place. Jacqui thinks she can can keep secrets, she'll only tell her closest friends, in confidence. :)

To some extend the Mary stuff is simply me giving her more depth, if it's more than that, I'm not saying. While I'm frustrated with Brexit, I hope that doesn't show too much in this story. While I'd love to join in your speculations, I've drafted this reply three times, and then deleted the last couple of sentences because I thought I was giving stuff away. I'll end here.
,br>-N-



Reviewer: pcoates Signed Date: 2016.12.05 - 07:32PM Title: Five

starstarstarstarstar

moving along nicely. It is years, dozens of years since I heard the work skinch, and I'm not sure I've ever read it. Of course you used skichies. It was skinch in Durham.

Anyway, as always a delight to read your work.

Author's Response:
Thanks, it's a long time since I used the word skinch, or skinchies, in earnest. And when I checked only one online dictionary had the northern English definition! I've often wondered whether the crossed fingers are essential.

-N-



Reviewer: jmcmutt Signed Date: 2016.12.05 - 07:29PM Title: Five

starstarstarstarstar

So much happening. Poor Mary

Jacqui is so curious and realizes not everything adds up.

Great chapter

Author's Response:
There is, and it's going to get even more hectic.

-N-



Reviewer: sabradan Signed Date: 2016.12.05 - 05:44PM Title: Five

So, when do we find out that Henry, or Annie, or both are actually magical? Or Jacqui's a squib which is why all the wards and everything don't work on her?

Author's Response:
Perhaps I should try to persuade the admins of this site that "James and Me" is really a Harry/Ginny story. It might be difficult, as in seven chapters, they haven't appeared once. They will eventually appear (around chapter 12?) and play an important supporting role.

If you check out my fanfiction.net profile (and that story in particular) you'll get some answers to your questions.

-N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2016.12.05 - 04:22PM Title: Five

Something tells me it wouldn't be to much longer and the potters are going to have to move soon, and james and henry are going to be devastated....kutgw

Author's Response: Well, it's a theory... -N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2016.12.05 - 03:46PM Title: Five

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A good read, but now there are even more questions waiting for answers.

Author's Response: There always are! -N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2016.12.05 - 01:23PM Title: Five

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter! I love the twists and turns of the main plot as experienced through the eyes of muggles. Also, now I totally want to see a story about Ron discovering that he has a LEGO figure. I'm also guessing that this is a world in which Timothy Spall never played Peter Petigrew. Just out of curiosity, how much longer do you think this story will be? Given the revelations in this chapter I would imagine we have to be close to the resolution but it's hard to really tell.

Anyway, great stuff. Thanks as always for the time you put into telling your tales from this world.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.
One of the problems with my using real people and (some) toys is that I have to assume that there was no Harry Potter Lego, and that Timothy Spall didn't play Peter.
I have chapters 29-31 mostly plotted, and partly written. They are currently 2000, 1000, and 3000 words (chapter 31 will likely be the final "interlude" chapter and it's looking quite long). I think there will be three or more chapters after that, with the denouement being probably chapter 33, and chapter 34 being an epilogue set during Henry's fifth birthday party at Lintzgarth.
I currently have time, so I''m doing as much writing as I can, when I can.
-N-



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2016.12.05 - 11:40AM Title: Five

starstarstarstarstar

I now have the lyrics to "Bobby Shafto" permanently lodged in my brain and I know for a fact that I'll be humming the song for the rest of the day! Thank you for that lovely earworm!

As for the rest of the chapter, I love that the adults all took part in the game of "Tig/Tag/Tuggy" despite the disagreement as to which word was correct. Sometimes we just need to let our hair down, ya know?

It doesn't seem possible, but I actually feel a bit sorry for Mary and was glad that Jacqui responded the way she did.

Finally, I had to laugh over the fact that Harry, Ginny and Ron didn't know what Legos were and as per usual, the dads had the most fun putting the fire engine together!

Well done.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

It's beginning to look like there will be another traditional song in the next chapter.

I'm having to become more creative in the ways Jacqui discovers stuff about the case. Simply asking questions of Harry or Ginny doesn't always work. Sometimes we do have to let our hair down,

I don't know anyone who pluralises Lego. I think that may be an Americanism. I'd say "didn't know what Lego was", that's interesting. I think that Harry knew what t was, but he was never allowed to play with Dudley's Lego.

Merry Christmas -N-



Reviewer: Birlan Signed Date: 2016.12.05 - 11:32AM Title: Five

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter. I liked the clarification about which Tim, Robert Saville was like--it does make a difference. I also liked the regional differences on what is known in the States as tag. I never knew that it had different names in different regions--although knowing that your Hermione did not also, is great.

Thanks--its fascinating to see all the little clues that get dropped that are missed--pin the tail on the dragon, how Harry and the Weasleys can cover improbable distances so easily, etc.

Thanks again for your hard work on all of your stories--and Happy Christmas.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I have to say that I have huge respect for Mr Spall's talents, but he's not what Hollywood considers leading man material. The game is (apparently) called Dobby in Nottinghamshire. I didn't know that. Hermione doesn't know everything. Ask her and her husband which Cannons Seeker has caught the most snitches, and my money's on Ron, not Hermione, getting the right answer.
Jacqui is quite happy to accept the little peculiarities of Harry and his friends.
I hope to get another chapter of this done soon, as I seem to have some time at the moment. I've just sent the next chapter of James and Me to my beta, so that should be updated before Christmas. Unfortunately, my planned Christmas one-shot will probably have to wait for next year, as I'm currently concentrating on Strangers 29: Code Black. Happy Christmas.
-N-




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear