Search:

SIYE Time:16:11 on 19th October 2017


Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2017.03.06 - 07:09AM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarstar

Great story, and I will miss Polly.

Author's Response: She will loom large in chapter 32. -N-



Reviewer: MisterBlack Signed Date: 2017.03.05 - 03:30PM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarstar

I just absolutely love the way you write. I am truly happy you decided one day to make your own stories. You have the ability to express emotions and feelings without needing to say too much. I think I have read just about every one of your stories at least three times and I love it every time. Your characters are realistic and you never fall trap to cliches seen commonly in other stories. I think that is why I love your stories so much.

It is not easy to write a story and believable dialogue I think is even harder to achieve but you manage to do both and you do it in such a way that is pleasant to read.

But enough about that. RIP Polly. I think what makes it worse is not just that she is a likeable character but also that she reminds me so much of Tonks.

*sigh*

So I am assuming next chapter will deal with the funeral? :(


A part of me wants you to continue this story because I want to know what happens next but another part of me doesn't want you to finish just yet. I imagine there is very little left. Oh well... I guess it is time to restart your stories starting from the top of the list. :P

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review, and the kind words. I’ve tried to make the Charltons as “ordinary” as I can. I believe that writing every one of stories in the same timeline is the best decision I made. Doing that allowed me to write, not only the major characters, but to explore some of the minor characters and even original characters across several stories. Whether it’s an original character like Fenella, or a minor character like Lavender, being able to write one shots (Summer of ’97 for Fenella – the Bare, Moon (etc.) and the MIT stories for Lavender) allows me to get to know my cast. There have been a few occasions when I’ve had to rewrite stuff because I’ve known that “my Lavender” wouldn’t behave like that, but it’s worth it to be able to hear them speak to me.

Polly was, in part, a Tonks substitute for me, but she’s a lot more, as you’ll discover. The next chapter will be more from Jacqui, but the following one will cover Polly’s funeral. It’s looking like a long one. I’m probably being rather self-indulgent in spending so long on Polly.

I had planned a sequel to Strangers, which would have been set about seven years later. That story has turned into dream/flashback sequences in “James and Me”, a story that hasn’t been submitted to SIYE for the very good reason that—ten chapters in—Harry and Ginny have appeared only in a couple of brief flashbacks.

-N-



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2017.02.20 - 08:18PM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2017.02.13 - 09:13PM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarstar

Heavy chapter. Poor Polly.

Author's Response: They aren't going to get any lighter for a while. -N-



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2017.02.13 - 01:04AM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarhalf-star


Very sad but interesting chapter.
Jacqui is being a great friend to both Ginny and Harry. Just offering to pick up James and bring him home is a great help. And everyone needs a hug, now and then.
Looking forward to the next update.

Author's Response:
Thanks.
Jacqui does her best to restrain herself from hugging people (the first time was in chapter 2, if I remember right) but there are times when it's necessary.
More next month, I hope.
-N-



Reviewer: PikkuNika Signed Date: 2017.02.12 - 09:43AM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarstar

As always, an update from you makes my day even before reading and this chapter was again amazing, full of emotion and characters I can identify with.

Author's Response: Thanks, the final few chapters (and I still reckon that the last chapter will be 35 or 36) are going to be emotional for the Potters and the Charltons. -N-



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.02.11 - 05:25PM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarstar

Even though this chapter was incredibly sad, I enjoyed reading every word of it. You described in words and actions exactly how upset and concerned Jacqui is, and showed her to be a wonderfully supportive friend and neighbor. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks, I've tried to make Jacqui well-meaning, but flawed. Although she's not perfect she wants to help. -N-



Reviewer: Lemonpomtart Signed Date: 2017.02.11 - 09:36AM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarstar

ah! i need more!!

Author's Response: Updates have been sporadic, but I've managed a chapter per month for three straight months (and that despite the fact I've been out of the country for much of January and early February. I hope to keep to a monthly update schedule. -N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2017.02.11 - 05:16AM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarstar

Poor Harry! It is nice to see again what a good friend Jacqui is to them. Poor Polly, like Jacqui I'm glad it wasn't Dennis.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. A few reviewers on ffn figured out that Dennis appears in MIT: Entente Cordiale, which is set after this story. Trudi and Ellie were their guesses. -N-



Reviewer: fi103r Signed Date: 2017.02.11 - 03:13AM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarstar

Keep up the good work,

Great character study on Jacqui and the schoolyard Moms.

Whom or whatever did this had best surrender now the DA and Auror office will hunt down whoever killed a battle survivor they are probably going to go full medieval

Probably every one is scorched a bit

Even Ginny slipped there I don't know if she had discussed the battle with Jacqui before

Again keep up the good work


Author's Response:
I'll do my best

I hope that Jacqui doesn't come over as perfect, but this is her at her best.

There will be one more Jacqui narrated chapter (provisionally titled Blackberry Week) before "Interlude: Last Rites?" sidelines her to allow me to explain of what's going on.

Ginny did slip, but she's emotional.

-N-



Reviewer: jesslin Signed Date: 2017.02.10 - 11:55PM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Such a sad chapter but I was glad for the update! Keep up the great work and thank you for writing such an imaginative story!

Author's Response: Thanks, the next couple of chapters will be sad, too, but we're heading rapidly towards the end of this story. -N-



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2017.02.10 - 11:12PM Title: Close to Home

Such a poignant chapter. It's so terrible when we have to chose who we want to be alive, poor Jaqui. But she made music with her daughter and that was a good consequence of all the sorrow.
Ginny said Maisie Cattermole was alive. Of course, Jaqui didn't know her and won't know that the trainee was not Maisie, but her sister. Is that just a slip of Ginny, because she is much more used to talk about the quidditch player?

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. I hope that Jacqui's anguish is obvious. At least, as you say, she took the opportunity to sing with her daughter. Something important for James and Me.
I should have double-checked the story before posting. I've now corrected my error - Ginny knows which Cattermole is which.
-N-



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2017.02.10 - 09:58PM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarstar

I'm a fan of collective nouns and absolutely loved the imagery of "a murmuration of starlings with a sparrowhawk in their midst." You made it so easy to understand what Jacqui was feeling at that moment by using such imagery!

Oh, such a sad chapter! I'm glad music cheered Jacqui up to stop her thinking/worrying quite so much. It's understandable that she would hope the most that the person killed wasn't Dennis, the one she most identified with. I'm also glad that she was there for Ginny. How right she is that what she did was just what friends do in times of trouble. Finally, I'm glad Harry accepted Jacqui's hug. Sometimes human contact is what's needed most and to someone as reserved as Harry, it probably helped him let go emotionally and focus on what he had to do next, just like when Annie hugged her mother's knees. A little empathy can certainly go a long way.


Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. I'm a fan of collective nouns, too. I expect that Annie/Anna will be using "a tidings" to describe her friends in James and Me (in a couple of chapters time.

As she admits, Jacqui is a hugger. I agree that there are rimes that physical human contact is sometimes the best thing. Harry is not a hugger, that's obvious from the books. I hug my male friends way more often than he does. Seven years, and he and Ron exchanged one hug.-N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.02.10 - 09:21PM Title: Close to Home

Well i tihnk this is the beginning of the end for this friendship since they all now have a lot of work they need to do to fix everyone's memories.....kutgw sorry for polly but glad Dennis made it through it all....kutgw

Author's Response: The beginning of the end? I'm not even sure it's the end of the beginning! :-) -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2017.02.10 - 08:26PM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarstar

This seems to be a very short chapter because of the many worries and emotions involved. It really tugged at my heartstrings.

Author's Response: The shortest chapter is the first one, the longest is chapter 20. This one is actually very close to the average length. (Yes, I keep count - sad, isn't it?) I was hoping to tug at heartstrings, I wanted to show Jacqui's genuine concern. -N-



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.02.10 - 07:36PM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarstar

Once again, I was so pleased to see your update to this outstanding story. What a sad chapter! Jacqui is getting too close to the truth, yet remains far, far away! Thank you again for keeping thsi going!

Author's Response: Thanks. Jacqui knows a lot, and so long as she can continue to rationalise events, she will. I hope I can keep her ignorant for some time yet. I still reckon on 35-36 chapters, so the end is in sight. -N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2017.02.10 - 06:10PM Title: Close to Home

starstarstarstarhalf-star

You will know what I mean when I say that was not a good end to this chapter.
"My imagination was exploding like a murmuration of starlings with a sparrowhawk in their midst." A wonderful turn of phrase.

Author's Response:
It was the best ending I could come up with, and I still have a few surprises in store.
Blame David Attenborough, and my interest in collective nouns.
-N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear