Search:

SIYE Time:8:21 on 16th July 2018


Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2017.12.09 - 05:20PM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarstar

Great interlude. Institutional numbering seems to come easy for you ;-)

Author's Response: Oh, the stories I could tell of the joys of governmental filing systems. I could bore you rigid. ;-) -N-



Reviewer: hot48cricket Signed Date: 2017.12.09 - 04:07PM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarhalf-star

SERA ????

Author's Response: The Sentient Entities Rights Authority - A division of the Department for the Regulation and Control of Magical Creatures - set up by Hermione. She'd originally decided to call it the Authority for the Rights of Sentient Entities. Thenl Ron & Harry pointed out the obvious flaw in that acronym.



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2017.11.29 - 07:53AM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarstar

Fantastic as always!

Author's Response: Thanks -N-



Reviewer: Brennus Signed Date: 2017.11.12 - 04:21PM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

Sainsbury’s plastic bags are indeed crap. I’m not sure why out of that interesting and detailed chapter that’s the only thing I want to comment on but there you go.

Author's Response: Neither am I, but there you go! -N-



Reviewer: mcepl Signed Date: 2017.11.04 - 10:50AM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

After re-listening to this chapter once again, I finally figured out what is the problem I have with it. Every this non-Jacquie chapter chips-off a bit from the Aristotle / Racin Classical unities of the action, time, and place. Each of them takes away a bit from the central story seen through Jacqui’s eyes of “lovely although a bit strange neighbours who moved to Drakeshaugh”.

Take the chapter of the Polly Protheroe’s funeral. Yes, it would be a lovely one-shot and yes, I suspect that you want to make a trio of she-werewolf, she-vampire, and she-ghost Aurors (á la “Being Human”? Just guessing, I have never seen the series here), and that you had a lot of fun with it. However, why should we as readers of the “Strangers at Drakeshaugh” know about it? Why you cannot make it into special M.I.T.-style shorter story? What does that chapter bring to the story of Jacqui? From my point of view if the story was just “Potters go somewhere to funeral, they return, nothing has changed, and bing, suddenly there is a ghost”, it would be better for the story. I think, we should be surprised as well. How could Jacquie deal with ghosts? Will she decide to be crazy? Will she confront Potters? Will she make a link to the pendane she has on her neck? Will Mike get weird that his wife got into spiritism (that is how he would see it, right)? What if the situation gets even more crazy? All those would be interesting questions to investigate, but none of them requires us to know anything more than she does.

Or this chapter of story narrated through police interrogation protocols. This would be again a lovely idea for one-shot (well, you did it once in “Tales of the Battle”), it is very original framing of the story, it would satisfy our curiosity (too little!), but what does it bring to the whole story? We should learn about this background story (if ever) only when Jacquie does.

If you really really have to tell us about the wizarding background, then you can make it to two intertwined stories á la “Hunters and Prey” (although I was really not sure about that idea even there), but for that you should probably start a way earlier than in the chapter twenty (“Thirty” and “Three Families” were probably still in-story enough to be considered part of the Jacquie story), and that second story should have some coherence on its own (make it into story of Bobbie as at least half-Muggle, who may eventually be a bridge towards true Muggles Charltons? Why not, there is never enough of Bobbie as far as I am concerned ;)).

I really like “Strangers”, I believe it is one of the best fan-fictions I have ever been reading, and so it hurts more when I can see an obvious problem with it.

Author's Response: There is a tension between the murders in the background and the mundane family events, and it could certainly be argued that I went a bit overboard with the Polly chapter. In my mind, it provides two important bits of information. 1) Polly can identify her killer. 2) Some Muggles can see ghosts. -N-



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.10.20 - 04:12AM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstar

Fascinating decisions with this chapter, and you remind me how demonstrably differently individual authors elect to handle their material. Having reached what appeared to a penultimate point of conflict, if not the penultimate point, instead of orchestrating a crescendo immediately to your ultimate climax, you give us an interlude. It is an interlude that could have been handled with a conversation between Harry and Ginny, or even third hand between Ginny and Jacqui, you decided to go into elaborate detail. This is fitting with the leisurely pacing of the story from start to wherever we are! It is, of course, very well done, although I am left with the sneaking suspicion that the devil sitting on your left shoulder triumphed over the angel who is perched upon your right! Gutsy call to conclude the previous chapter with a resounding bang, this one strolls along in the intricate details. It is good, however, to understand the rationale and methodologies of the perpetrator and his accomplices, both witting and unwitting!i look forward to reading the resumption of the Ginny/Jacqui narrative! Thank you!

Author's Response: Thanks. The main conflict (for me, anyway) in this story surrounds the fact that my original plan was for an Auror Office murder mystery framed by the observations of a Muggle woman who was becoming friends with Ginny. Jacqui, however, refused to be sidelined, and It turned into a story about a developing friendship, and the murder mystery became almost the sub-plot. I've learned my lesson, and in James and Me I'm giving a different Charlton woman free rein and I'll be letting her in on the secrets. This was probably the devil telling me "there's a murder mystery plot in there, don't forget it! Jacqui is back in the nesxt chapter, and she'll be in the one after that, Currently it's looking like:
C.37: Biker Girls
C.38: Interlude: The Minister
C.39: Epilogue: More Fireworks.
-N-



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2017.10.19 - 03:30PM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarstar

Well then, that was wholly unexpected. Those prisoners under arrest, lock 'em up and throw away the key(sic). Outstanding writing, as always N.

Author's Response: Unexpected is good, I hope. Throw away the key? Unlikely. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2017.10.19 - 01:13AM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarstar

PI have to read each report piece by piece. Great job for a boring, routinedmin duty. You do know how to tell a study.... Hats off to you! Now, how about an update to Jackie’s royal next morning headache!

Author's Response: Thanks, Jacqui's hangover is now covered. -N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2017.10.18 - 07:17PM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarstar

Very interesting! Its great getting so many updates so close together! You have a very clear view of the Ministry and it's inner workings, it makes your stories very easy to follow and very enjoyable. Now that the mystery is wrapping up, I can't wait to see what happens back at home. Explaining away a ghost would be difficult.

Author's Response: Thanks, now that "Seeing Ghosts" is finally done, you can try to figure out what really happened at Drakeshaugh. -N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2017.10.18 - 02:12PM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarstar

Despite the fact that you interrupt last chapter's huge cliffhanger with paperwork, I actually quite enjoyed this interlude. Your looks into Auror procedure are always fascinating.

Author's Response: As I've admitted elsewhere, UK cop show "Line of Duty" had a lot of influence here. -N-



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2017.10.18 - 01:23PM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarstar

Fascinating! I can't wait to see how this information interweaves with the children at Drakeshaugh!

Author's Response: Delayed reply, sorry. After the latest chapter, I hope things are beginning to make sense. -N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2017.10.18 - 09:44AM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Makes a lot of things clear, but still leaves the reader on the edge of the seat from the previous chapter.

Author's Response: Sorry for the delayed reply, and for leaving you on the edge of your seat for so long. -N-



Reviewer: mcepl Signed Date: 2017.10.18 - 08:53AM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstar

Very good, lovely how you can convey drama of the story in the seemingly tasteless police reports.

BTW, I have long suspected you have at least some level of legal education (when reading about Annie’s class of the Foundations of International law I was thinking about my endless with the International Private Law; although, I hope poor girl studies more the International Public Law, no person should be submitted to the choice of law rules while dealing with personal issues). So, are you yet another confirmation that most of the culture in the world is created by the failed lawyers? (/me being a one: with two law degrees from two countries, I am a very happy computer programmer).

Author's Response: Thanks, police reports are, I've always assumed, often boring, but rarely tasteless.
The reports are more to do with my recent obsession with the things Ted Hastings, Steve Arnott, and Kate Fleming do in the Line of Duty. The only real legal knowledge I have is in the Highways Law of England and Wales, and no one is interested in legal distinction between a footway and a footpath. I research, and I research a lot.
-N-



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.10.18 - 08:24AM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarstar

Brilliant update! I love the way you used the paperwork and interviews to further this story. The dry humor interspersed was a welcome relief from the overall depressing picture being painted.

Author's Response: Thanks. I've wanted to try something like this for a while. I wasn't certain it would work. -N-



Reviewer: ykirirn Signed Date: 2017.10.18 - 06:19AM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarstar

God... I just realised that I've been following this story more than a year now! I just want you to congratulate you for the good work and delight us with 2 chapters in 1 month. It keep us on the cliffhanger.

As I can see this story is going to get along with the partner story James and Me that I'm also following.

Thanks for all, now that we know the murderer name and that obviously the Charltons will be obliviated. think that the story is getting to it's end... :( Please tell me that we still have Strangers in Drakeshaug for long time!!!

Also as I know that you're an English grammar, spelling and accent addict just want to say sorry for my bad grammar, this is not my native language, but had been several times in the UK and living on London 1 year so I'm able to defend myself pretty well (i think?)



Author's Response: Thanks for the review and sorry for the delayed reply.
Strangers is close to its conclusion, but this year has been really busy for me, so it may be a month or so before you see the final two chapters. Strangers won't last forever, I always intended to end it when the killer(s?) were caught, and that's what I'll do.
Is it obvious that the Charltons will be Obliviated?
-N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2017.10.18 - 04:57AM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

The one thing everyone hates about dealing with investigations is the paper work.....kutgw

Author's Response: Fortunately, Autodictation quills help.



Reviewer: fi103r Signed Date: 2017.10.17 - 08:38PM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarstar

Man this gets deep fast.
How did that moron Francis get hired?

Aargh

Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: In my experience, every workplace has a few morons. If you're lucky, they get sidelined, if not, they get promoted. -N-



Reviewer: Rosina Ferguson Signed Date: 2017.10.17 - 07:40PM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarstar

Oh how this remibds me of the multitude of court docs I used to prepare as a legal secretary. Very convincingly written and easy to follow. I kept transposing an older Harry's face over that of Gibbs from NCIS! Weird but it worked.

Author's Response: Thanks, I was trying for Ted Hastings (or at least Susan Bones as Kate Fleming), but i'll take Gibbs. :-)



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2017.10.17 - 06:20PM Title: Interlude: Paperwork

starstarstarstarstar

Only you can make us be excited about "boring" paperwork. So that's how the murders happened. Although their reason is still not clear. Mr. Fawley pureblood agenda (his complete despise of muggles) and the killing of the Hume brothers' parents by Greyback must have anything to do with that, but how Pelias became insane and Jason so promptly agreed to help him is not clear. I hope we can learn more about it. Though it doesn't seem much likely to happen through Jaqui's eyes.
Is Angela Weasley Angelina?

Author's Response:
I thought I'd replied to these, sorry. I'll do it now, because I can't figure out what's wrong with the next chapter. Jacqui will be told an acceptable truth, you'll find out the real story soon, but i'm a little worried I'm going to conclude with an infodump.
It says Angelina now! Thanks.
-N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear