Search:

SIYE Time:21:19 on 20th October 2017

Reviews For Hunters and Prey

Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2014.05.09 - 08:48PM Title: Finale: Friends and Foes

Well, to be honest, you have *made* me care about Lavender and Mark. I have not yet taken the time to investigate your non-H/G material yet to figure how they finally came to be together, but your premise that hard times can be invaluable character-building experiences is one that I greatly appreciate.

I also very much like Fenella. Part of this is because I once knew a Fenella clone with whom I empathized; the other motivation is that I have a soft spot for redeemable Slytherins.

Author's Response:
Thanks

The Mark/Lavender stories start (sort of) with their first meeting here. Then it’s: Moon, Brown, (then Beard Hunters & New Year’s Eve), Troth, and Moons. It took me a while to realise it, but many of my short-stories and one-shots are character pieces which allow me to establish the minor (and original) characters in my head. In fact, thinking about it, the Mark/Lavender story really starts where most of my stories start, in Tales of the Battle.

Fenella’s story, however, starts in Hogsmeade, and continues in Summer of ’97.

-N-



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2014.05.06 - 08:50PM Title: Finale: Friends and Foes

starstarstarstarstar

I accidentally overlooked this story on my tour through the SIYE Northumbrian compendia and ended up hitting it last. It was an interesting experience to go through it after having read all the others since it seems to me to be really quite unique, and because it provides so much foundation for later stories.

From my perspective, this is probably the most challenging and sophisticated of all your stories I've seen, given a) the elaborate and complex plot, b) the cross-convergent plot trajectories, and c) all the **angst**. You really put me through the ringer with the latter!

Anyway, this is a very laudable novel and you should definitely feel very proud of it. But from a purely selfish perspective, I kind of hope that Strangers, and Friends & Foes both continue to exude much less moral ambiguity.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

This story certainly covers a lot. I didn’t realise when I started them, but this, and Friends and Foes, are the two stories where much of my “future history” really takes shape. This story gives the origin of Lavender the werewolf, the introduction of Mark Moon (only really important to the half-dozen or so fans of my Mark/Lavender stories), the beginning of Harry’s reorganisation of the Auror Office, the point where the magical gadgets begin to arrive, and the maturing of the Harry/Ginny relationship.

In retrospect, I’m not certain that flipping between the two timelines was a good idea. It was certainly a lot harder to write than I expected. Friends and Foes will be more linear, although it will not all be from Harry’s perspective. This story was one of the first I plotted, but I was wary of submitting it. I’ve actually read stories which characterise Ginny in the way she appears in the early chapters and I wanted to be certain that my readers would at least suspect that what they were seeing wasn’t her normal behaviour.

-N-



Reviewer: Meiadus Signed Date: 2014.02.10 - 01:34PM Title: Finale: Friends and Foes

starstarstarstarstar

Fantastic as always!
One tiny detail: when Harry says he knows who killed Colin, I quote: 'Terry, George, Neville and Ron all swore', implying that Ron didn't know about this. Later, he (Ron) says: ‘Yesterday, I got permission from Robards to interview Youen. He confirmed Doxine’s story under Veritaserum. There’s no doubt,’ Meaning he DID know.

Anyway, you are definitely my favourite fanfiction author and the only one I've been following for years.
Meia

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and sorry for the delayed reply. It's been a bust month.
Well spotted. I have corrected my error. If you see anything else. please let me know.
-N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.09 - 01:52PM Title: Finale: Friends and Foes

So it's not over yet!


Author's Response: No, but the sequel is already started. -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.09 - 01:51PM Title: Finale: Friends and Foes

starstarstarstarstar

So it sit over yet!

Author's Response: :-D



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.07 - 07:55PM Title: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites

starstarstarstarstar

Think mark moon has fallen in love!!


Author's Response: Unfortunately (or possibly fortunately) is will be years before they meet again. -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.05 - 06:23PM Title: Prey: An Owl and two Alpha Males

starstarstarstarstar

I can understand why lavender might annoy people but how much of it is an act? She certainly knows how to manipulate (not meant as an insult) males and is very aware of how to go about it. But underneath that is an intelligent mind and (thanks for the reminder) a brave young woman.

That was a bit of a cliff hanger ending!!!

Author's Response: Lavender was around in the background long before she was Ron's annoying girlfriend. She joined the DA, and she fought in the battle. -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.04 - 08:22PM Title: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited

starstarstarstarstar

I'm surprised he came to tell her that news unless it's meant to provoke a reaction in someone else, but that seems far fetched.

I realised in my last review I was thinking of pansy and not daphne...oops!!

Author's Response: Perhaps he simply wanted to see her. -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.04 - 07:44PM Title: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

starstarstarstarstar

Could that be lavender?
Daphne and her beau certainly seem to be involved! And I'm not convinced they didn't set up Susan and terry

Author's Response: Interesting thoughts. Were Susan and Terry set up? -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.03 - 07:55PM Title: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting

starstarstarstarstar

Hmmm...the butcher had lost fingers but hadn't the sheriff also?

And is it possible that Linny is a victim herself?

Author's Response: Good questions, read on… -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.03 - 07:10PM Title: The Snare: Beater Grouses

starstarstarstarstar

Peculiar vacancy...I'm thinking hard but not coming up with anything (yet!

Author's Response: You will. :-) -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.03 - 06:12PM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

starstarstarstarstar

And we arrive at the beginning of the other story:)

I really love this lavender.

Author's Response: Yes, the two timelines at last converge. “My” Lavender is well-established in several (non-Harry/Ginny) stories at fanfiction.net -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.03 - 05:30PM Title: The Snare: Legal Lizard

starstarstarstarstar

I'm looking forward to the Linny interview although I'm expecting that mr Tavistock might actually succeed in getting this client to keep her mouth shut!

Author's Response: He might, but you’ll have to wait and see. -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.02 - 08:15PM Title: The Hunt: Wolves at the Door

starstarstarstarstar

Oh gosh, just how much action can I take!
The two side by side stories are beginning to make much more sense and I believe lavender is confirming my thoughts on what is happening to ginny.

And onto lavender...what a choice! But I think Harry's thoughts to her are good and solid ones.

Author's Response: Thanks for yet another review. Now that this story is complete, and there isn't the usual interminable wait for me to update (sorry about that), It's interesting to read the reviews of someone who is reading the whole thing for the first time.
This really is the point where the storylines begin to converge.
-N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.01 - 07:32PM Title: The Snare: Snakeslayer and Snakes

starstarstarstarstar

So could ginny be being fed this pumpkin juice, and not only that but the ones with the mystery ingredient? Is it too far fetched to think that the mystery substance is the one that makes her stay with Linny. Could the same thing be happening to her other young team mate?

Author's Response: I'd just like to say that I'm enjoying your speculation. -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.01 - 06:54PM Title: The Hunt: She-Wolf and Cubs

starstarstarstarstar

Ah that explains why lavender appeared!! And although I re-read the previous bit about her being in his bed a few times, I decided to trust you that it was innocent!
Although my much earlier thoughts about why she might be involved are, I very much see, probably miles off target lol!

Author's Response: Thanks, one of the best things about flipping back and forth in time in alternative chapters is that I can tease and mislead readers (at least i think it's a good thing - some readers may disagree). -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.01 - 06:24PM Title: The Snare: The Foolish Pride of Lions

starstarstarstarstar

Never quiet in the life of harry potter!!

My feelings on Linny are not disappearing!! Is it possible that firstly, Ginny's drinks are being spiked but also that she is under some sort of compulsion spell, as why else would she keep repeating going out with them after each match? And again it's always Linny that answers the phone and says ginny isn't in.

Author's Response: It’s good to see you figuring out some of what’s happening. -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.01 - 05:57PM Title: The Hunt: Den of Wolves

starstarstarstarstar

The frustrating thing with the two "stories" going in tandem is that I want to read on at the end of each one lol!!

Author's Response: As a writer, that’s good to hear, it means I’ve hooked you into the story. -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.01 - 05:20PM Title: The Snare: Three Caged Birds

starstarstarstarstar

Now all we need indeed is the weasleys!!!

Quite a decision for harry to make, but in the end one you would expect of him...

Ron bring an eejit again!!

Author's Response: Harry usually makes the right choice. Ron often makes the wrong one. :-) -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2014.02.01 - 08:34AM Title: The Hunt: Nice Weather for Fish

starstarstarstarstar

Hmmmm I think Linny is maybe causing a bit of a problem, lots of little ideas bumping around my head!!

I'm not sure how wise it is for harry to enter this unknown place himself, firstly because he doesn't know if the entrance is also the exit!

Author's Response: Now that this story is complete, it's nice to get new reviews. So far you're making some good guesses. -N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear