Search:

SIYE Time:1:21 on 19th August 2017

Reviews For E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.01.15 - 04:20PM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarstar

What a sweet story, or perhaps I should say, what a sweet ending! I love Luna coming to the rescue and admonishing Ginny about swearing in front of her baby. Looking forward to reading more of your stories!

Author's Response: Thanks. I love Luna, although she isn't the easiest character to write. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.05.31 - 07:18PM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

Excellent. What an adventure.... what a chapter and it cheered me up big time.

Author's Response: Thank you. glad you enjoyed it.
-N-
ps Strangers 16 is in the queue.



Reviewer: mysinger Signed Date: 2012.03.20 - 02:40PM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2010.11.22 - 05:58PM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: gryffins_door Signed Date: 2010.10.16 - 11:39AM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Nicely done! I thought I read in "Fantastic Beasts" that Rolf was Newt's son, but a quick search through the net's HP references indicate that JKR must have changed her mind about that. Or my memory is is shorting on a few cells, which is much more likely.

Author's Response: "Fantastic Beasts gives Newton "Newt" Scamader's year of birth as 1897 and JKR said that Rolf was his grandson in an interview (I checked). Even so I am really stretching things with regard to give Rolf a 1987 birth year. He could easily be 40 years older. -N-



Reviewer: hpf2114 Signed Date: 2010.10.13 - 02:34PM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarstar

Gotta love Luna. Full marks!

Author's Response: Gotta agree, Thanks (-: -N-



Reviewer: HGRHfan35 Signed Date: 2010.10.13 - 04:53AM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This was great!
Fun to read and a thoughtful tale....made me think.
Wonderful Luna.



Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm a huge fan of Luna, but I'll never write a Luna novel because it takes me twice as long to write Luna as it does anyone else. -N-



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2010.10.13 - 12:23AM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarstar

I know you said in your notes that this is just a one-shot, but it begs for at least several more chapters! I really want to know more about how Harry reacts to Ginny's story and her choice for Lily's middle name. I also want to know how long it takes for Luna to become attracted to Rolf and whether or not Ginny's story was well received by the Prophet. Thanks for sharing this story with us. I give it two thumbs up for being a perfect bedtime story.

Author's Response:
Thank you.

I may well explore the story of Rolf and Luna in another story (I have a few ideas). In this story Rolf is sixteen and Luna twenty three so there are no immediate fireworks.

Having said that, your comments about Ginny’s match report have given me an idea. The trouble is if I continue with this something else will suffer.
-N-



Reviewer: Birlan Signed Date: 2010.10.12 - 07:52PM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I really enjoyed this for several reasons--primarily among them is the reminder that life didn't end for the characters after the end of Book 7. I'd always wondered why it was Lily Luna and not Lily Molly or Lily Hermione or Lily Nymphadora or Lily Minerva or Lily Gabrielle(that's a joke--I guess it could have been Lily Sprout also). What you have done here is remind me that of course things happen in the future which effect the naming of the children--even though Albus and James were named on what happened earlier. Luna saving Ginny's life seems like it would make a big difference.

The Scamander switch is amusing--I first thought that Luna had ended up with a much older wizard and then you did your clever switch so she ends up with a younger wizard--which seems unconventional and entirely appropriate for her. thanks.



Author's Response:
In “It Takes Two” I included a names discussion between Harry and Ginny. My explanation is that both Arthur and Molly would have been high on their names list, but that Percy told his parents “Arthur if it’s a boy and Molly if it’s a girl,” the moment Audrey fell pregnant, thus limiting Harry and Ginny’s choice. So why choose Luna and not Minerva? Here is my answer.

I actually originally figured Rolf to be much older than Luna myself. Mainly because his Grandfather (Newton Artemis Fido Scamander) was born in 1897 (that’s canon - I checked). By making Rolf seven years younger than Luna I’ve given him a birth year of 1987, ninety years after his grandfather. This is stretching things! (Quite a lot.) But both his father and grandfather may have not have had children until they were in their mid forties. at least, that's my excuse.
-N-



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2010.10.12 - 11:44AM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

I wonder, was it more or less provacative than the use of the term superstitious? Well, it is certainly not my intent to be offensive, but I believe 'provocking' the discussion of ideas to be entirely appropriate, since I don't find reviews that say simply liked/didn't like it to be very satisfying. So we'll just have to agree to disagree on this. Best wishes my friend.

Author's Response: And to you, thank you. -N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2010.10.12 - 10:32AM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstar

Different.

Author's Response: Different is good, isn't it? -N-



Reviewer: Enchantedgurls Signed Date: 2010.10.11 - 10:58PM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarhalf-star

YES! Finally. I've been waiting ever since DH for someone to write a fanfic about how Lily Luna got her middle name. I'm sure there are other fanfics out there, but I was never really actively searching lol. But I'm glad I read this. Nice work! Poor Ginny.. Glad Luna was there to help! :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. (-: Lily Luna’s name always puzzled me. Harry and Ginny have three kids with six names, and five of those are the names of dead people. As I said in another review, the moment I introduce Luna into a story, it changes, sometimes beyond my control. I’m happy that you enjoyed this. N



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2010.10.11 - 09:56PM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A nifty little aside, though I was surprised to see you make Luna substantially older than Rolf. I've always thought it would be the other way around. This explains two why questions. I am not surprised you declined to respond to my previous why question. The inability to answere the why question is the fatal flaw of 'natural' philosophy. And I quite disagree that this is not the place to discuss ideas, since our stories are the natural manifestation of our philosophy, the two are inseparable.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. Making Rolf younger was deliberate. He will have started at Hogwarts the year after Ginny and Luna left (by my timeline). It was difficult, as Granddad Newt Scamander was born in 1898 (I think) but provided that both his father and grandfather had children late in life (age 40+) it works.

My decision not to continue an ethical/religious debate in a series of reviews and replies has nothing to do with an unwillingness or inability to answer your questions. I simply believe that reviews, and my replies to them, are simply that. Debates should be carried out in forums.

Your inclusion of inverted commas around the word natural, in natural philosophy is provocative, but I refuse to be provoked. If you believe that my stories are the natural manifestation of my philosophy then I suggest that, to seek further enlightenment of my views, you simply read them
N



Reviewer: deedeevee Signed Date: 2010.10.11 - 09:54PM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Loved the acronym! This was really enjoyable to read!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review – that acronym did not take long to come up with, I’m glad that you like it. -N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2010.10.11 - 09:12PM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

well at lease harry will not ahve to go on the hunt but then again ginny really should have thoguth better then to go on a broom while expecting...kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks, but without people doing silly things there are no stories. N



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2010.10.11 - 08:00PM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarstar

It is 12.54 a.m. and I am killing myself laughing. I honestly thought that the portly man you described was Rolf! That was a very very clever thing to do!

For a one shot, this is most entertaining. Full of fun, worry, anxiety, and most of all, the true meaning of friendship.

Love the eccentricity of the story. LOL.

Author's Response: Thank you. This started as a short explanation of how Lily Luna got her name, but the moment Luna arrived things went off at a bit of a tangent. N



Reviewer: minerfan Signed Date: 2010.10.11 - 05:48PM Title: E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.

starstarstarstarstar

very funny twist at the end, thought Rolf would be the old Scamander

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad that you liked the twist. N




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear