Search:

SIYE Time:20:25 on 21st October 2018

Reviews For Flying Free

Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2011.10.10 - 06:23PM Title: Flying Free

starstarstarstarstar

What beautiful lyrics. I found myself reading them aloud do I got the full appreciaton of them (fortunately everyone else is either out or in bed...ha ha) I just found out from a friend tonight that she's had her second miscarriage in five months and I think the mood of this story fits anyone who is suffering and feeling like the world as you know it is caving in and that it wont ever get better,

However, Harry has tremendous will power and strength of character and though he isn't feeling much better at the moment, his decision to fight on has helped to start him on the right track.

Author's Response: If you want to hear this song in all its beauty, find it on YouTube. I found quite a few versions and I hope you'll take the time to listen to one. As I talk to people about the song and the story I'm finding there are as many interpretations of it as there are performances. Your thoughts are both melancholy and beautiful and I appreciate that you took the time to share them with me.



Reviewer: HG Forever9696 Signed Date: 2011.08.31 - 07:09AM Title: Flying Free

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: BlueRose Signed Date: 2011.06.16 - 11:02PM Title: Flying Free

Great piece. I was surprised to see this song used. We sang it at my high school (it was some strange school tradition) and had never heard of it anywhere else.

Author's Response: Thanks for sharing where you heard/sang the song. I also sang it in high school and taught it to several years' worth of graduating eighth graders in the late '80s, early '90s as the song they sang for their "move-up" ceremonies. When I finished reading OotP for the first time, the lyrics popped into my head and wouldn't let me rest until I wrote this story. I'm so glad you liked it enough to review.



Reviewer: beryl Signed Date: 2011.05.11 - 10:51AM Title: Flying Free

Nice fic! I just want to record my appreciation for your work. Not much else to say at this point ...

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. I think this is a mutual admiration society because I appreciate your reviews.



Reviewer: RSS Signed Date: 2011.03.31 - 01:41PM Title: Flying Free

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thank you!



Reviewer: RSS Signed Date: 2011.03.31 - 01:41PM Title: Flying Free

Just wanted to let you know that I read this yesterday and enjoyed it a lot. I always enjoy some Ginny-goodness and you delivered just that. I really liked the thoughts you ended her on especially...the way that Ginny decides that she's going to be everything Hermione and Ron are not for Harry. That went straight to the point and it leaves me wanting to see her do just that! I'm glad you posted this. - R

Author's Response: It\'s interesting how adding something so simple as another person\'s perspective adds so much to a story. I\'ve always seen Ginny as the observant little sister, the one in the family who watches the older kids get into trouble and then resolves not to follow in her brothers\' footsteps. She\'s done this here with Ron and Hermione and I think that during the parts of the summer we don\'t see in Book 6, Ginny is a silent, comforting presence for Harry when he needs some quiet time away from the other occupants of The Burrow. Now... all I have to do is find another appropriate song... Thanks for the great review, Arnel



Reviewer: MuggleMomma Signed Date: 2011.03.31 - 02:20AM Title: Flying Free

starstarstarstarstar

I absolutely love this story. You do a great job of capturing Harry's emotions, and centering them around his Firebolt was absolutely perfect. One of my quibbles with canon has always been the glossing-over of Harry's grief about Sirius's death. It just never really worked for me...but if there had been a scene such as this one in which he is able to come to terms with the loss and to make a decision about moving forward, it would have worked.

Excellent job, Arnel!

Author's Response: I completely agree with you about the lack of grief-time for Harry in canon. The adults--and JKR, probably--just expected him to be sad for a day or two and then get on with the job of the Chosen One. You can also look at the lack of such a scene as maybe something that was edited out by the publishers because of the age group the books are aimed at (but there are plenty of books out there dealing with grief for that age group) plus the fact that death is glossed over in a lot of fantasy books. Those are my guesses, anyway, and that\'s why I saw the perfect opportunity to write this story. I\'m glad you liked it. Thanks for telling me.



Reviewer: RealmofShadows Signed Date: 2011.03.30 - 05:57PM Title: Flying Free

starstarstarstarstar

Very nice preship fic, I thought it showed emotions exceptionally well... A sequel would be nice, :)

Author's Response: A sequel? Hmmm... hadn\'t thought of that. Other readers have commented they\'d like to see a follow-up story, too. It\'s definitely something to consider. Thanks for reviewing... Arnel



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2011.03.30 - 04:44PM Title: Flying Free

starstarstarstarstar

Very nice. I like the progression of their thoughts and actions.

Author's Response: Thanks for telling me. The words of the song helped push the plot along nicely, I thought. I\'m glad you do, too.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2011.03.30 - 12:48PM Title: Flying Free

starstarstarstar

A very good start here and you did a nice job of describing Harry's emotions and state of mind.

One thing that puzzled me was the mention of the Inquisitorial Squad near the Room of Requirement. At this point in the canon storyline, Umbridge is in the hospital wing and Dumbledore is back in charge. Surely the Inquisitorial Squad would not be around anymore, would they?

Author's Response: I\'m glad you like the story. Thank you for telling me so. You\'re right about the Inquisitorial Squad reference. I meant to change \'faithful\' to \'former\' to hint that Umbridge\'s presence was still being felt, even after she\'d been confined to the hospital wing, before I posted the story. (I\'ve always had the impression that until everyone left the school on the Express, Umbridge was never completely gone.) At the time, I knew the wording was wrong, but I wanted to post before I went to bed, so I just left it. I\'ve fixed the problem and thank you for catching it.



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2011.03.30 - 08:32AM Title: Flying Free

starstarstarstarstar

Sorry - I forgot the stars. I always do that!

Author's Response: You\'re forgiven! Thank you!



Reviewer: melindaleo Signed Date: 2011.03.30 - 08:28AM Title: Flying Free

Squeeee! Oh, Arnel, I'm so thrilled you decided to post! And you didn't say it was a post-Ootp story! My favorite kind. My heart ached for poor Harry here,and I was brought right back to that lonely, desolate feeling at the end of book 5. Good job that! I liked Ginny's promise, too. I think that's very much what works about our duo's relationship. She takes the best parts of R and H, and morphs them together into her own kind of support. I can't wait to continue.

Author's Response: Sorry to say, this is just a one-shot and not the multi-chaptered fic I was talking about. I have an email out to my beta to see if she can support the once-a-week posting schedule: I\'ve never asked her to do that before and wanted to get her opinion before I stuck my foot in it and started posting... This story was originally written in 2004 about six months after OotP came out in 2003. It was originally only a Harry story, but I was reading it last night and thought it was missing a few things... like a Ginny perspective. I\'m glad you like what I added because I think it completes the whole \"you are not alone\" theme that JKR stressed so much in the last books through Harry\'s friends. I\'m very glad you liked the story. Thanks for the review.



Reviewer: Miz636 Signed Date: 2011.03.30 - 06:15AM Title: Flying Free

starstarstarstarstar

I rarely review on SIYE, but this was very well done! I enjoyed it immensely because the words do fit Harry's state of mind at this point in time. An interesting way to draw Ginny into this as well, but I felt it fit perfectly with Harry's parts.

Amazingly done, Arnel.

Author's Response: Thanks for your praise and support for this story. The original Harry-only part was written in 2004 after OotP came out. I was reviewing it last night and started thinking that maybe what was missing from the tale was a scene or two establishing Ginny\'s resolve to be herself around Harry and at the same time to be whatever he needed in emotional support to get through the tough times ahead. At this point in time, she hasn\'t really become Dean\'s girlfriend, nor has she completely given up hope for something a little more with Harry... it\'s one of those pre-Kiss stories on her part that will eventually morph into what happens at the end of HBP. I\'m glad you liked the story.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear