Search:

SIYE Time:13:08 on 23rd October 2017


Reviewer: ginlovesharry Signed Date: 2012.11.24 - 03:41AM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent. Draco Malfoy is most definitely a git.

Author's Response: Thank you. I agree. This story is the only one I've written which I don't consider to be within my personal canon. I like it, but it doesn't really fit. -N-



Reviewer: wordsinmyhead Signed Date: 2011.06.12 - 10:47PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

starstarstarstarhalf-star

As sure as Malfoy is a git, your story is awesome.



Author's Response: Thanks :) -N



Reviewer: Dianainga Signed Date: 2011.05.19 - 08:03PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

Very clever and so humorous! Well-done! Your writing is delightful and I love to read any tidbits that you throw our way! Please add more to the Strangers in Drakeshough story...I am dying to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I will be continuing with A&S, Strangers and H&P soon, I hope, although not this month, sorry. -N-



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2011.05.13 - 07:05AM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This was a fascinating approach to a storyline. I really enjoyed it. The court transcriptwas to the point and moved nicely, but, at the same time, you painted a picture for us of a much more lively scene. I could almost hear the side comments and conversations that had to have come into play, but to which you only alluded. It was all very clever. Thanks for a nice story--Eric B.

Author's Response: Thank you. I’ve never been in a courtroom (well, once, to support my employers in taking out an injunction, but that lasted a minute as the judge accepted our written statements), this is more courtroom drama and legal fiction. I had all of the side comments in my head (which is which Miss Golightly quickly decided that Ron would be a danger to himself in the witness box) and tried to hint at them. I’m glad you liked it. -N-



Reviewer: sanidad Signed Date: 2011.05.09 - 06:20PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

I never thought a court transcript could be entertaining, but somehow you managed to pull it off. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks. The fact that the judge is a little eccentric (aren't they all?) helps. :-D -N-



Reviewer: MyGinevra Signed Date: 2011.05.08 - 12:43PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

Nice little tongue-in-cheek exposition with some very good humor thrown in.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm really glad you liked it. -N-



Reviewer: beryl Signed Date: 2011.05.02 - 11:12PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

Loved it! :D Simply inspired!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. -N-



Reviewer: Cognitur Signed Date: 2011.05.01 - 08:20PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

I really enjoyed this story. I am a retired lawyer with a lot of experience in jury trials. The satire is exactly what a judge would like to tell the jury. Definitely the best Humor in my opinion.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I have been inside a courtroom exactly once (though I've appeared at a few Public Enquiries and been belittled by barristers) and this is all research based., so it's good to know. -N-



Reviewer: annep Signed Date: 2011.04.23 - 02:23PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

I don't usually read challenge stories but I tried out this one because I really like your writing. Kudos for "turning this challenge on its head": it's why this story is worth reading. Hoist on his own petard indeed!

Twelve days spent on such a frivolous court case. Great comical commentary on something that is unfortunately all too true.

My favorite parts were Ginny's testimony of the etymology of everyday insults and that you used pulchritude, one of those great words that sounds insulting and absolutely isn't!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I (usually) only enter challenges if I can fit the challenge into my story timeline. This one doesn't fit, but I wanted to comment on libel laws. The McLibel trial lasted two and a half years, and in the end McDonalds lost more than they won. Libel laws were used to try to prevent Simon Singh from speaking the truth.

It seems that most mild British insuts were once swear words (except for the use of bloody as an intensifier). Pulchritude is a great word :-D
-N-



Reviewer: hot48cricket Signed Date: 2011.04.22 - 09:32PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

starstarstarstar

Ha ha ha.....I loved it!!!!

Yes, Draco Malfoy is a git....as is Ron Weasley!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks, though personally I think that Ron is simply a fool. :-) -N-



Reviewer: aimless Signed Date: 2011.04.22 - 09:09PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

starstarstarstarstar

Well done! I laughed a lot :)

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2011.04.22 - 02:39PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

starstarstarstarstar

Great work as always sir! Though I am really looking forward to the next entries to Strangers, Aurors and Hunters. But as always, master work my friend.

Author's Response: Thank you. Currently, it's looking like the order will be A&S, H&P, and then Strangers. (Though Lavender is demanding my attention, too!) -N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2011.04.21 - 01:09PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I think Mr. Justice Woolley should be appointed Minister for Law. Very witty.

I need "Strangers..."

Author's Response: Thanks. I don't have a name for the current head of DMLE (thinks) - no.
Strangers, eh? Not "Aurors..." or "Hunters...", oh dear - back to work...
-N-



Reviewer: Gemma Signed Date: 2011.04.21 - 12:16PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

Loved it! As a professional court reporter, this fic was amusing to me on several levels. You did a great job of capturing exactly what a judge's charge to the jury sounds like, especially in the first two or three paragraphs -- I've heard that particular form of wording many times in my career, lol.

There were so many funny lines. I giggled out loud several times. I especially loved the names of the attorneys. Also, thank you for teaching me a new word: PULCHRITUDINOUS. Now that I've looked that one up, I'll never forget it. It amuses me that it sounds like a derogatory word, but it's actually quite a flattering one, lol.

And of course, Malfoy IS a git. ;) Thank you for a fun read.

Author's Response: Thank you.
I did a lot of research but I've never been inside a court, so it's really good to hear. This story deserved characters with silly names. It also allowed me to indulge myself by using several words from my long list of "words I've read in novels which made me reach for a dictionary". Walking up to a girl and saying "I admire your pulchridute" will probably get you a slap. One day I will use the word defenestration, preferably on Malfoy. :-D
-N-



Reviewer: sabradan Signed Date: 2011.04.21 - 04:52AM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

starstarstarstarstar

Absolutely brilliant. Well written, educational, well-researched.


Oh, and obviously, Malfoy IS a git, and therefore Ron is obviously innocent.

Author's Response: Thanks, reading about the McLibel trail was educational. Obvious innocence is not always obvious, unfortunately. -N-



Reviewer: pcoates Signed Date: 2011.04.21 - 03:21AM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A nice read, with a number of worthy targets being hit. But as I understand it, in English Law you can be found guilty of libel even if you you said was true if the reputation of the other party is damaged in the process. England is becoming the go-to place for libel trials which generally make as much sense as the one portrayed here.

Enjoyed reading this. I expected no less from this author.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. It's not quite as bad as you think, but almost. The law (as I understand it - I'm no expert) is that the defendant must prove (on balance of probability) the literal truth of every disparaging statement. This is the only law where the defendant has to prove himself innocent (prove that what they said was true), rather that the prosecutor having to prove guilt. The notorious McLibel trial and the recent Simon Singh case are cases in point. -N-



Reviewer: Bethina Signed Date: 2011.04.21 - 03:03AM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

starstarstarstarstar

Since it is late and I am not feeling too verbose, may I simply say well done?

Well done!

PS

Perhaps a warning is needed at the beginning: Do not consume beverages as they may come out your nose.

Author's Response: Thank you. I was uncertain about this story, I worry that something which makes me smile as I write it won't be found funny by readers. You request for a warining bmeans that, just possibly, some people might find this funny. -N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2011.04.20 - 11:24PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

starstarstarstarstar

Anyone hiring a QC named Scrote IS a git. The jury finds Mr. Weasley not guilty of slander as he has accurately described Mr Malfoy. Anyone being a confessed Death Eater automatically classifies them of being much more vile than even the archaic definition of git.

I do love how the judge is able to cast Mr. Malfoy in such a positive light. I have seen British courtroom dramas portray judges make similar biased comments so I take it this is common. Judges don't usually do that in the US as that is the surest way of getting a case overturned on appeal.

Thanks for another great read!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Mr Justice Woolley’s description of Mrs Malfoy is a nod to an infamous UK libel case (in that case it was the defendants wife who charmed the judge). That section is frighteningly accurate. These days judges who make racist or sexist remarks are often censured, but it was not always so.

-N-



Reviewer: smokeylovegood Signed Date: 2011.04.20 - 07:52PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

starstarstarstarstar

While I hate to be as verbose as Mr. Justice Woolley, I must vociferously campaign for an explanation of the adjudication of this matter!
Ron should argue that A. He is guilty not of libel but, of slander since he SAID Malfoy was a git, but did not actually write the article which caused him a level of trauma necessitating a litigious response, and, failing that, B. use the favorite I-Screwed-Up-But-Won't-Admit-It line of our America politicians: "I misspoke and apologize if anyone took what I said out of context and was insulted."
Good fun. Really enjoyed it. Nice use of names.
Now, give your thesaurus a rest and finish Aurors & Schoolgirls already!

Author's Response:
Felicitations

Under ordinary circumstances I eschew ostentatious sesquipedalian circumlocution.

It appears that, when faced with the olid recrement of this case, the niddering antediluvian adjudicator, rather than attempt to cast an abstergent nitid illumination into the caliginosity was embrangled by both the roborant muliebrity of Mrs Malfoy and the oppugnant Mr Scrote. Mr Weasley did vilipend Mr Malfoy, however, in this authors opinion, the remarks were apodeictic.

(translation)

I don’t usually hide behind long words. :-D

The case is a load of smelly poop, but the silly old judge didn’t try to shine a light into the dark corners because he was confused by the powerful femininity of Narcissa and the antagonistic Mr Scrote. Ron did call Draco names, but Draco is a git.

More A&S soon!

-N-



Reviewer: curren Signed Date: 2011.04.20 - 07:28PM Title: Is Draco Malfoy a Git?

brilliant stuff, put a huge smile on my face. I guess this story is why you've been slightly inactive on your other stories?

Author's Response: Thanks. Yes it is. Amelie has the next chapter of A&S and should ger H&P to her tomorrow, so I hope to get a couple of chapters submitted in the next week (house move permitting). -N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear