Search:

SIYE Time:21:18 on 20th October 2017

Reviews For Centuries

Reviewer: LisaRene Signed Date: 2016.05.22 - 04:05PM Title: Centuries

So lovely! I love Drabble fics :)

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: demonesprit Signed Date: 2014.10.01 - 01:04PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2014.04.14 - 04:10PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

Poignant! Enchanting!

If your response to my review of 'Strangers' might have implied a challenge to find a story that I liked better than the Drakeshaugh serial, then this is it!

Since I'm largely incapable of leaving a review without at least one bizarre question, I would ask: might 'Centuries' be the capstone to the 'Northumbrian canon'?

I do have one very minor suggestion for the sake of posterity. For the statement "They sat on the empty platform": yes, your beloved pair are delightfully spry for centenarians, but you might still give them a bench to sit on.

Author's Response:
Thanks

Yes. This is my “Nineteen Years Later”, I have no plans to write anything set further into the future.

Writing a story in ten one hundred word chapters was not as easy as I thought it would be. “They sat ON A BENCH on the empty…” adds three words which I’d have to lose elsewhere and that isn’t easy. Although you’re right, so I’ll take a look.

-N-



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2013.05.17 - 11:30PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

Still love this story

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: swede Signed Date: 2012.04.30 - 08:29AM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

Damn. *sniff* I seem to have caught something in my eye. *sniff*

I'm usually more partial to descriptive language rather than the "Hemmingway-you'll-have-to-imagine-the-r est-on-your-own"-style used here. But dealing with this theme I don't think you could have choosen a better format. How we deal with the loss and grief resulting from death is, I believe, very personal. The minimalistic writing employed here allows the reader to project their own feelings and preconceptions about the subject onto your characters and setting, thus getting them more invested in the story.
The trick is of course to get the readers to invest at all. The first 3 centuries are good but don't really do that (for me). They tell a story that I, until century 4 comes along, would have preferred in a more verbose form. But then you hit us poor readers with century 4 and effectivly hold us and the characters we love hostage until the bittersweet end.

At century 6 I find that I no longer wish to change anything, by the end of century 9 I wonder why I ever wanted to.

Well played Sir, very well played. And damn you. *sniff*

Author's Response:
Tnak you.

As I said in other review replies, this was something of an experiment. I wondered if I could write a 100 word story. The answer seems to be no, but I can write a 100 word chapter. It's an intersting discipline. And Every one o these chapters was edited down to 100 words. The speech indicators (Harry said, etc.) were the first to go. But it isn't as easy as I thought.

To be honest this was a peronal exercise, and more of a personal target (something for my other stories to aim at) than a story. At least that's how it started out. Although I always knew that it would end at King's Cross.

-N-



Reviewer: Hopeless Romantic Writer Signed Date: 2012.03.09 - 02:20PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

So beautiful!

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you liked it. -N-



Reviewer: firedove Signed Date: 2011.12.20 - 10:30PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

This made me cry at the end. Very good.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: 2TsMom Signed Date: 2011.10.03 - 10:45AM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

Loved this one as well. I too thought of grandparents that passed shortly after one another.

Annie and James? I was hoping you'd have Annie exhibit some magic at some point, you did say the magic runs through the mother. Al and Violet. Lily and Jones? Any relation to Gwenog?

Thank you!


Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I simply can't see Harry and ginny being parted for long.
Annie is a common name, isn't it? Violet less so. :-D As for Lily, well - it might be, but Jones is the most common surname in Wales (and, interestingly, Evans is fourth).
-N-



Reviewer: hpforever85 Signed Date: 2011.09.25 - 10:00PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: clandestinelyours Signed Date: 2011.09.11 - 10:03PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

Beautiful. Wonderfully written, you had me in tears at the end.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm a big softy, really, I hate making people cry, but it's good to get an emotional responce from readers. -N-



Reviewer: Leiselily Signed Date: 2011.09.11 - 10:35AM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

That was beautiful, and had me in tears. Very well done to portray so much in so few words. Thanks

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: Firecaptain Signed Date: 2011.09.04 - 04:45PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

That was really beautiful :)

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: deedeevee Signed Date: 2011.09.04 - 04:29PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well, I certainly wasn't sure what to expect or whether I'd like this (says she who had to dry her eyes before she could see the keyboard to leave a review.) I think you succeeded nicely.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I was uncertain whether or not to publish this. As I said, I did it to see whether I could write drabbles (it proved harder than I thought) and to figure out the ultimate end for my stories. It has achieved the emotional response I wanted, so that's good. -N-



Reviewer: HG Forever9696 Signed Date: 2011.08.30 - 05:46AM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2011.08.27 - 12:24AM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

A train to eternity, I suspect. In a way I'm glad SIYE requires their stories to be a thousand words or more because now I've read the entire group of installments and instead of being sad for another five days, I can read each one on FF.net and know it won't be much longer before Harry and Ginny are reunited and off to their next big adventure together. Thanks for sharing this story with us.

Author's Response: Thanks for the reviews, here and at FF.net. I'm enjoying submitting them one day at a time, too. -N-



Reviewer: Hermine Signed Date: 2011.08.23 - 11:28AM Title: Centuries

You did succeed in writing 10 good stories each 100 words. It brought tears to my eyes.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2011.08.22 - 08:24PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2011.08.22 - 06:47PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

Awwwww! i do not know whether to laugh or cry. Bless.

Author's Response: I was hoping for both! :-) -N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2011.08.22 - 02:35PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: dseay Signed Date: 2011.08.22 - 01:00PM Title: Centuries

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent little story here on the life of the Potters, so heart-warming.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear