Search:

SIYE Time:15:27 on 17th August 2017

Reviews For What Luna Sees

Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.06.02 - 09:25PM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

And did she find out? Marvelous fun to read.

Author's Response: She did, and that's another story I have not told. Thanks. -N-



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2012.01.24 - 05:46PM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

I loved this...drunken games are always a risk...lol!

Luna's thoughts in this story lent themselves towards an autistic tendency...

Author's Response: Thanks, they certainly are, as Ginny discovered.
As for Luna's thoughts, I'm no expert on any of the autistic spectrum disorders, I merely tried to get inside her head.
-N-



Reviewer: cyko2041 Signed Date: 2012.01.19 - 05:04PM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: hot48cricket Signed Date: 2012.01.11 - 12:42PM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstar

Nice story! Wonderful seeing through Luna's eyes!

Author's Response: Thank you. Glad you liked it. I won't be writing from Luna's perspective again any time soon. -N-



Reviewer: hpforever85 Signed Date: 2011.12.12 - 07:17AM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

A fun read. I could never get in Luna's head so well. Props.

Author's Response: Thanks you.
It's not something I plan on doing again myself!
-N-



Reviewer: Hermine Signed Date: 2011.11.25 - 03:32PM Title: What Luna Sees

Girl gossip. Thanks. I needed that.

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad you enjoyed it. -N-



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2011.11.19 - 11:32PM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

Actually, I wasn't surprised at Neville winning the pole, but at Luna deciding to kiss Terry.

Author's Response: Thanks. That came from two chapters of "Tales" it surprised me too. But Luna does that. -N-



Reviewer: ProfessorBinns79 Signed Date: 2011.11.18 - 04:00PM Title: What Luna Sees

Replying to your reply to my previous review:

I had all the girls' votes figured out/guessed correctly except for Susan's vote for Michael and Padma's for Harry, which I had reversed. I figured that Padma would be more likely to vote for the Ravenclaw and less likely to vote for Harry given her memory of how badly Harry treated her sister at the Yule Ball (though not as badly as Ron treated her). I also thought -- since your Susan is so straight-laced and uninterested in romance -- that she would be likely to vote for her two co-workers, both of whom she respects.

It's very interesting that Lavender and Luna would have identical ballots!

As for the boys, I tend to agree with you. Harry's second would almost have to go to Luna by process of elimination (not Hermione, not Cho, then who? I guess if he had had a crush on one of the older Chasers when he was younger...). I can imagine Harry and Ron having a half-joking conversation with each threatening to hex the other in defence of his "sister" if the second votes went to Cho or Lavender respectively. I tend to think that Ginny would win, but I think that Luna might be a surprise like Neville was because she might get a lot of second votes from boys with girlfriends! (I think Harry would have won the girls' vote if it had been only one name per ballot, possibly depending on whether Cho went with Harry or Michael.)

Anyway, this story has been good fun. Thanks.

Author's Response:
Hi

You said “I had all the girls' votes figured out/guessed correctly except for Susan's vote for Michael and Padma's for Harry, which I had reversed.” That’s because you’re correct. I posted my reply from my office because I thought I’d correctly remembered my notes. I hadn’t :-( You’re quite right about my Susan.

As for “It's very interesting that Lavender and Luna would have identical ballots!” that surprised me, too. My reasoning was: Lavender had a bit of a crush on Neville during their seventh year and Luna regards him as one of her closest friends. I’ve never seen Neville/Luna for some reason, but I think she’s the Hermione to his Harry. :-) My Lavender likes tall men, and my Terry is next tallest after Ron, a bit of a him, but that’s Lavender. Luna’s choice of Terry came about because I’d been looking at my “Tales of the Battle” again. He’s in the Luna chapter (Great to be Back) and she’s in the Terry chapter (Worn Out Boot) and I thought I detected a spark between them.

We’ve seen inside Harry’s head for seven books, and followed his crushes and observations. He notices girls with long shining and straight hair – Parvati was distracting hm during exams and he did ask her out once, she’s a possible. I’ve had this argument with Harmony fans before. Looks aren’t everything, but Harry simply does not find Hermione attractive (except once, fleetingly, at the Yule Ball and he immediately forgets about that) – if Hermione bought herself some straighteners… :-D

-N-


A uthor's Response: Oops, even running this through a spellckeck doesn't help if you miss the w from whim. thatt should be "a bit of a Whim." -N-



Reviewer: Leonheart666 Signed Date: 2011.11.18 - 08:10AM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great story, I do love the insight to luna. I think what makes this work is that its quite a tough read, because of how luna is, so you kinda have to become luna to understand luna. You have to think in luna's logic, something which isn't easy! Great stuff.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
That's certainly what made it a tough write. Her analysis of her hangover gave me the "logically illogical" basis on which to work.
-N-



Reviewer: ProfessorBinns79 Signed Date: 2011.11.18 - 12:37AM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

This was stupendously funny (Unless someone's beaten me to it, I think I'll nominate it for the next round of Best Comedy Silver Trinket's when I'm done with this review!) and well-written. I agree with everything everyone else has said about writing first-person Luna without references to odd creatures. I would love to see that complete vote list.

I would also love to see the results of the voting if the boys did the same thing. Granted, it is much more in character for girls to do something like this, but it would still be interesting. How many votes would Luna get? Who would Ron and Harry's second votes go to? I have my ideas, but I'd love to see yours.

You can always be counted upon for nice dramatic (but not overly angsty) novels and hilarious one-shots! Please keep 'em coming!

Author's Response:
Thank you, and thanks for the nomination. :-)

The votes were:
Alicia: Lee, Dean – Angelina: George, Harry – Cho: Harry, Michael – Ginny: Harry, Neville – Hannah: Neville, Ernie (because she’s his friend) – Hermione: Ron, Neville – Katie: Harry, Angelina – Lavender: Neville, Terry – Luna: Terry, Neville – Padma: Anthony, Harry – Parvati: Dean, Neville – Susan: Michael, Neville.
I don’t think that the boys would even consider doing this, but if they did I’m certain that Harry’s second vote would go to Luna, he’s never, ever, found Hermione attractive (sorry Harmony fans). Ron is interesting, I suspect that he’d try to cheat and vote for Hermione twice. I also think thatGinny, Cho, Lavender and the Patil twins would all score more highly than Hermione.

There is more on the way. My other Christmas story is neither a one-shot or a novel, it will be a three chapter novelette.

-N-



Reviewer: zequist Signed Date: 2011.11.17 - 10:54PM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

Okay, I'm slightly confused. In order for Neville to get eight votes, either Padma was lying about voting for him or one of the two chasers other than Alicia has to have voted for him (since we know how Cho and Alicia voted). But why would Padma have any reason to lie if it's the former, and why would said chaser be so surprised at the support he got if it's the latter? Then again, maybe the problem is that I'm trying to solve a logic puzzle involving a bunch of drunk girls.

Anyway, that small quibble aside, great story! I'm glad you didn't give up on it after all that time you spent, because it was a real treat.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Your confusion is caused by the fact that you’re equating “eight voices” with eight votes. Neville received seven votes (I thought Ginny said so, but the information seems to have been lost in the edits) to Harry’s five. Padma was telling the truth. I know exactly who everyone voted for. Katie was responsible for one of Harry’s votes in addition to the one she didn’t quite admit. Angelina voted for Harry and George.
I was trying to apply Luna-logic throughout, and that’s what took the time. I’m glad you enjoyed it. It has set me up for the Luna/Jacqui/Mary meeting in “Strangers”.
-N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2011.11.17 - 12:18PM Title: What Luna Sees

Ah okay, makes sense. I guess it's much like Spontaneity and The Mind of Arthur Weasley, which could also have been A&S but fit their own storyline.

Author's Response: Spontaneity is, of necessity M-rated and A&S isn't. Arthur actually predates A&S! -N-



Reviewer: decdraft Signed Date: 2011.11.17 - 11:58AM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

Great story! Luna is spot on in this story. For a guy you write a bunch of drinking scarily well! Loved how giddy Ginny was over her certainty that Harry was hers. Loved how all the secret infatuations were revealed one by one. And the best part? Neville won.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The earliest version of this story I've found is dated Jine 2010. Getting Luna "spot on" has taken over 18 months, so you won't be seeing another Luna story for a while.
I have occassionally collected my girl and three of her friends after a night on the town. They are scary!
The infatuations (apart from Angelina's, obviously) may not get far. I'm a huge fan of Neville. I actually believe that he's more attractive than that creep Malfoy, but I'm a bloke, and most of fanfiction appears to disagree.
-N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2011.11.17 - 01:17AM Title: What Luna Sees

Just out of curiosity, thinking about the time line of this story, this story is at most a few days after your previous chapter of A&S. Why not just make it a chapter in the story?

Author's Response: You’re right, it is. Why not include it? Two reasons: first, this story has absolutely nothing to do with the overarching plot of A&S; and second, when I planned A&S I wanted it all to be third person. -N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2011.11.16 - 11:26PM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

Outstanding as always. A lovely bit of Christmas time fluff. Now get back to work on H & P and update soon ;-)

Author's Response: Next will (probably) be part 1 of Beard Hunters (another Christmas story), unless it’s Strangers 11. A&S and H&P will follow. -N-



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2011.11.16 - 10:32PM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

well done

Author's Response: Thanks -N-



Reviewer: JadeYan Signed Date: 2011.11.16 - 10:14PM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

I get excited whenever I see your name pop up in the recently updated/added section of SIYE. Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you. More from me very soon, I hope. -N-



Reviewer: r3in9 Signed Date: 2011.11.16 - 08:06PM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

Nice. Though Harry/Ginny isn't the center of the story, I love it. I've been thinking how fanfiction writers do a Luna POV, she seems to be the hardest character to write. Simple but very catchy.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
This is Luna’s story, but Ginny hopefully learns a few important things about Cho, and Harry too.
-N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2011.11.16 - 05:58PM Title: What Luna Sees

ah luna luna luna, such a hand full but a fun girl just the same....kutgw

Author's Response: Fun, and instigator of lunacies. -N-



Reviewer: jojo99 Signed Date: 2011.11.16 - 04:15PM Title: What Luna Sees

starstarstarstarstar

Oh - very funny. I love how you captured Luna...perfectly. Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you. –N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear