Search:

SIYE Time:21:11 on 29th April 2017


Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.06.03 - 05:58AM Title: The Defense Teacher

starstarstarstar


Interesting chapter.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.04.26 - 10:36PM Title: Interlude One

starstarstarstar


I have just finished reading what you have written for this story and have found it quite interesting. The beginning was a bit heavy with information but it was needed. I am enjoying the storyline.
There is a few spelling errors here and there, but nothing too distracting.
Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you're enjoying it. And yeah, unfortunately I've had to do quite a bit of information dumping but that'll help with the setup for everything else. :) I hope you enjoy the upcoming chapter.



Reviewer: hgromance Signed Date: 2015.04.23 - 09:35AM Title: The Unexpected Party

Okay, all the gifts were cool, especially the last one, but really, what good is a radio when Harry can't hear? That seemed a bit insensitive to me and I'm surprised Harry thought nothing of it, not even a twinge of sadness that he couldn't use it.



Reviewer: hgromance Signed Date: 2015.04.21 - 11:32PM Title: The Convincing

Not fond of the Sirius/Remus pairing, but the rest is interesting enough, so I'll keep reading for now.



Reviewer: KateP Signed Date: 2013.02.28 - 12:32PM Title: The Nightmare

starstarstarstar

I will be honest I was not sure I would enjoy the story but as I read while some parts I was unsure off I did enjoy the majority of the story having read other reviews I see others have mentioned about harry having his hearing back and I am guessing if he could his voice back after the dementors attacked him

I am also starting to wonder if the whole thing might be playing out in his mind as an hallucination while he is being hurt by his uncle or treated at the school after

well hope you finish the story sometime as I am interested to see if harry gets his hearing and voice back in the end



Reviewer: Mistress of Potions Signed Date: 2012.12.18 - 12:08PM Title: None

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Nice cliffie, you evil author. I hope you're happy, leaving us hanging like this. I was quite pleased to re-discover this story, so much so that I read the whole thing all over again. The Realm promises to be as interesting a development as the rest of the story. Thank you.



Reviewer: seekers_destiny Signed Date: 2012.10.10 - 09:15PM Title: None

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I think Hermione was a little too hard on herself. She isn't bad at thinking on her feet, she's just better with time to reflect. She has a good intellect and a lot of knowledge so she is a formidable opponent as Remus and the gryphon have learned the hard way. She does need to work on silent casting though.

Reading about Neville's life as shown in the flashbacks was almost too painful. I had pictured his grandmother more as a woman who missed her son and wasn't quite sure how to deal with a child anymore. I hadn't seen her as hostile or hurtful, just a bit lost after losing her only child. This version of her though nearly makes her as bad as a Death Eater. Neville deserves so much better.

Not just one cliffhanger, but three! Are you trying to overload your readers?
"rushing off into the castle well-knowing there was a Death Eater loose."
"And then that whirlpool, and the world, and Hermione Granger were gone."
"and he was still on fire."

I'll take them in order. I'm hoping that Harry had a very good reason for what he did. He can't locate foes very well anymore and can't even count on holding on to his wand. I was thinking he realized something that nobody else did but then I wondered if his journal had alerted him to something nobody else was aware of. Harry has always been a bit too much of a Gryffindor - act first and think later. However, he has to come to terms with his current reality too.

I'm not sure if this is a real cliffhanger or not. Even though the voice was different, it seemed like she had passed a test of some sort. I'm not sure how much closer she is to achieving her goal though as this seems to simple for her to have achieved it already.

Neville's experience in the realm certainly seems like one huge test and his prior experiences just won't let him pass it. I was intrigued by the encounter with his father and was sad that it was cut short. However, the nature of the interruption and especially the implication of him still being "on fire" when he woke up bring up two questions.

First, let's look at what effects have come back into the waking world with them. Hermione did not wonder about mysterious physical injuries when she woke, she only dealt with magical exhaustion. Therefore, magical effects follow them from the realm so is Neville really just still suffering the effects of the cruciatus? Was he subjected to a spell with real fire? What are the effects that he can expect?

Another question is who or what really interrupted him? If we are to believe it really was Bellatrix then she must be one of those sent by Voldemort. However, if she were then she would not have recognized Neville as their identities are hidden. She might have discerned whe he was if she was able to listen in to their conversation before she appeared. However, it is hard to believe that mad Bellatrix would have the patience or inclination to stand by and listen.

This last cliffhanger is the one that has me scratching my head wondering if I have missed something as it doesn't quite add up.

errata:
and she wasn’t have a very good day at all.
and she wasn’t having a very good day at all.

the reason gryphons were so popular of guardians
the reason gryphons were so popular as guardians

there was no physical body from which is had originated
there was no physical body from which it had originated

He is only child of my son
He is the only child of my son



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2012.10.10 - 10:19AM Title: None

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I had almost forgotrn about this story. Great to see it back.



Reviewer: I Love Ginerva Signed Date: 2012.06.17 - 01:43AM Title: None

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: seekers_destiny Signed Date: 2012.05.27 - 09:48PM Title: None

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I'm sticking around and your response to last chapter's review is probably the longest response I've gotten on SIYE. I reviewed an even more verbose author than you on HPFF. That reminds me that I prefer stories that don't move too fast and take time to develop characters so that is one of the reasons I will stick around. I know they are hard to write though so I really appreciate your efforts on this story.

As I read this chapter, I see that you have the leadership issue well in hand as they really don't need a leader yet. Each of them has their own task and path and don't need anyone telling them what to do. I do think you have given the twins an unfair advantage though. That isn't a complaint as it is entirely logical and I obviously want this group to win. I also like the twin's activities (especially the prank on Umbridge) both in Hogwarts and in the realm. Their exchange at the end of the chapter was probably the best part of the chapter for me. I like the individual reactions when the hunt begins: Ron's grumpiness, Hermione's frustration, Ginny's eagerness and Luna just being Luna. I was curious about the fact that Harry's "injuries" go away in this realm but apparently Draco's did not.


Author's Response: Part of my rather lengthy response to your previous review was the fact that I had to respond twice, since I forgot the html codes the first time and everything got mushed together. It's hard to read paragraphs so full.

I'm glad you're sticking around. I enjoy reading your reviews, as you point out specifics - what you liked, didn't like, and just comments on individual parts. People often simply tell me that they liked or hated the chapter in full and it's hard to grow from that. I very much enjoy reading the opinions and thoughts on the specifics, so thank you very much.

I prefer the same. Some stories handle the rush of action very well, while others work best when they move at a slower pace. I tend to have more fun reading and writing the latter. And thank you. They can be really difficult to write, but then, that's part of what makes it so much fun. :D

As time moves on, the leadership issue will become a problem, predictably. At the moment, though, asides from Harry, Hermione, and Ron being the Golden Trio, as we know them, beyond that, there isn't a cohesive group. This will change, but the change would be easy. You'll see what I mean in a few chapters. I think people are going to be mildly surprised at what happens.

Well... the twins' ability to manipulate each others current... environment in the Realm actually has more of a play later on. They've caused themselves a bit of a problem, brewing a Wakefulness Potion. :D But you'll see what I mean in Chapter 24.

The prank on Umbridge was a lot of fun to think up, and she's hardly seen the last of the twins' ire. I'm glad you enjoyed the individual reactions and I hope you enjoy seeing the trials each of them has to go through in an attempt to retrieve their artifacts.

As for Harry's injuries, they are of a different type than Malfoy's, and you can speculate on that, if you like. :D Thank you for reading, and thanks so much for the review! I hope to hear from you again next chapter.



Reviewer: MrsAlphardBlack Signed Date: 2012.05.27 - 01:35PM Title: None

starstarstarstarstar

Such an excellent chapter!

You weave in so many wonderful aspects of the Potterverse, giving us some more back story and then creating new ways for various aspects of magic to interact. I loved the cheering potion residue mixed with the hot chocolate!

Gred and Forge's experience with the dreams is an awesome touch. Something I definitely would not have thought of.

Really looking forward to learning why Luna is there and why Ron is having such troubles.

Thought the Death Eaters couldn't wake up until they had completed the task. Is that not applicable with Dumbledore's people as well? Or did The Voice change that somehow, not just blocking them from the task but sleep as well?

Author's Response: Thanks so much, MAB. I really enjoy writing this story because I can have so much fun introducing hidden depths of the characters, which don't completely buck canon, but give you something new to look at. And the new aspects of magic are just going to keep coming. They're a lot of fun.

As for Gred and Forge, they're just hilarious to write. Their dream was not originally planned to end up like that, but it was just too good an idea to leave go.

Luna's presence won't be explained right away, though you'll learn a few new things about her. She plays a very important role, I can promise you that, but I don't think anyone is going to guess it. :D

Only seven of Voldemort's Death Eaters have taken to potion, one for each of the artifacts. So the Death Eaters that didn't take the potion are free to wreck all manner of havoc in the meantime. Dumbledore's chosen seven are also bound to the potion, though not in the same way as Voldemort's people. They remain asleep until someone gets the artifact, or until they fail to pass a particular test.

The Voice, or Phoenix, as he is telling them to call him, merely pulled Harry's crew into the Realm of Dreams without the necessity of a potion, while blocking the others from the task, though they are still trapped in sleep.

In a few chapters, some explanations will come to light when we see Dumbledore's and Voldemort's crew suffering the effects of failing to gather the artifacts, or waking up with them in hand.

Thanks for reading, and thank you for reviewing. I hope to see you next chapter!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2012.05.27 - 01:10PM Title: None

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This is unmissable stuff but I am a little confused. I thought Harry could hear after the dementor atack. The last bit with the twins also had me a bit befuddled. Keep it coming.

Author's Response: Heya, D. I was wondering if that part of the Dementors chapter was going to confuse people or not. If you read it again, the last three lines will give you your answer. Harry could hear what was going on around him, until someone mentioned something that reminded him that he *couldn't* hear, and then "The silence settled over Harry's ears again..."

A bit of a hint as to what is actually going on with Harry's issues, to be honest.

As for the twins, they were within the Realm of Dreams, brewing potions to defend against the two people also after Paelius. They had brewed a fifth potion to help them fly, so they wouldn't have to deal with running through the corridors and have a tad more freedom in finding the artifact. Instead, they messed up the potion and brewed a Wakefulness Potion, instead, and accidentally woke themselves up through the potion's effects.

How that affects who gets Paelius will be shown in a few chapters. :D Thanks for the review and I hope to see you next chapter!



Reviewer: v_t Signed Date: 2012.04.28 - 10:47PM Title: Into the Realm

starstarstarstarstar

Fantastic story! Im really looking forward to what will happen next.



Reviewer: foxfire23 Signed Date: 2012.04.24 - 11:19AM Title: Into the Realm

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: seekers_destiny Signed Date: 2012.04.23 - 09:34AM Title: Into the Realm

starstarstarstarstar

This is my first time reading this story as I was put off by the 'disabled Harry' reference in the summary. I ended up not liking similar stories and decided to pass on this one. Obviously, I changed my mind and read everything you have posted. I have a mixed reaction to this story and the disability part has not been a negative, at least so far. I'm also not a fan of slash but again it has not been a major negative so far. I am a big fan of the Remus/Tonks pairing and obviously won't get any of that here but it isn't a prerequisite for me so that isn't part of my problems with this story.

My biggest issue with this story is that Harry seems like a minor character in it. If I had to pick who was the major character, I guess I'd have to go with Remus. I like the Remus character but I don't want to read a story based on him. Here is an example of what I feel I am missing because your POV spends so much time away from Harry. Why did Harry fare so poorly against the Dementors? He has had time to recover physically and mentally from his ordeal but as far as the readers know, his total reaction to the dementors was simply to collapse. It is a canon fact that Harry reacts more to the dementors than others but he is also the one who has been able to fight off the most dementors. We don't get a chance from JKR to compare the abilities of Dumbledore and Harry as far as sheer power against dementors but Harry would be up at Dumbledore's level. I would have loved to know why Harry would fail so completely in this situation. Harry is only one of nine in whatever you have planned. If he isn't the clear leader of his group then he really becomes a minor character and I for one will lose interest.

Since this is a H/G site, I have to bring up a character that gets much less exposure than Harry: Ginny. It's nice to see her starting to appear more and Harry's reaction to holding hands with Ginny was a nice touch but eventually, there will have to be a lot more Ginny (and Harry, of course).

There are positives to how you are writing this though. I get to see the point of view of more characters and I especially like the Minerva/Sirius interactions. I also like a different view of Snape although he isn't any more likeable. If all of his attitude is just an act, then he is still annoying as he is over-acting. Not much can more thoroughly ruin a play than an actor who gets carried away. The Sirius/Remus situation is becoming a minor irritant. The angst for Ron/Hermione and Harry/Ginny are natural as they are teenagers trying to feel their ways through an unfamiliar situation. Remus and Sirius are mature enough (well, at least Remus is) that they should be able to move on. Since Remus was rejected, he should try harder to move on. Sirius should just grow up.

When I look at just your writing ability, that is a main reason I kept going. I think you are a very good writer. I'm impressed by how you can shift the POV and jump from story thread to another thread without making your story a jumble. I struggle with that sort of thing as a writer. My rating is based on your writing ability, not my reaction to what you have decided to include/exclude from your story.

Author's Response: This is possibly the longest review I've received. :D Thanks so much! I know the disabled thing can put people off. I, myself, get tired of "blind Harry" every other story I look up (some of them are quite good, but so often unfinished), so I decided to try something slightly different, and I'm glad you've given it a chance. Admittedly, I don't like the Remus/Tonks pairing. I love both characters, but seeing them together is hard. That you're reading my fic despite it having a pairing you don't enjoy makes me very happy. :D And I appreciate it. I understand your concerns about Harry appearing a minor character at the moment. There are two reasons for this: the one is that I've been setting up my pieces and therefore concentrating on a ton of people in separate areas. The other is that I'm not jumping right into Harry is leading his group into war. He's going through a rough time, though he's not showing it too badly, losing his hearing and his ability to speak, and I intend to show the progression into his becoming the leader that he is. I know my story moves more slowly than most, but I've always considered the development of character just as, if not more, important than the action that fills a story. Of course, my story will be filled with a lot of action, but I enjoy developing my characters a lot. Ginny just popped back into the fic because she's been home, but I have been concentrating on her. It's hard to give her too much of a showing without having her pop into Harry's life like Ron and Hermione, and make the trio a quartet, which would be very out of character. You can probably count on her being around, now, though. Snape won't be any more likeable for a while. In fact, you may hate him even more for a while, though that will change after a while (however, your analogy is pretty spot on in that regard :D). In defense of Sirius, he spent half his life in Azkaban, trapped in his own head, so really, he never had a chance to mentally and emotionally grow beyond his early twenties. As for Remus, it's really hard to be friends with someone you're deeply in love with who doesn't return your feelings. He's making a valiant effort, but it hurts, sometimes. He's unwilling to give up the friendship, but can't quite give up the love, either. And thank you for the compliments. I'm very glad that I'm able to keep you interested, and I hope more things in the fic will interest you than my writing ability after a time. I can promise that some things will be explained; your concerns about Harry's being so affected by the dementors will also be explained in the fic. Though, because it's not a secret I'm keeping, the reason he reacted so violently was because the dementor all but Kissed him, far closer than any dementor had ever gotten to him before. He wasn't able to fight off the dementors like he normally does because he has never learned to cast the Patronus wordlessly, and as he can't speak... There are other reasons for things, but they'll be revealed in time. I hope you'll stick around, and thanks for reading!

Author's Response: This is possibly the longest review I've received. :D Thanks so much!

I know the disabled thing can put people off. I, myself, get tired of "blind Harry" every other story I look up (some of them are quite good, but so often unfinished), so I decided to try something slightly different, and I'm glad you've given it a chance.

Admittedly, I don't like the Remus/Tonks pairing. I love both characters, but seeing them together is hard. That you're reading my fic despite it having a pairing you don't enjoy makes me very happy. :D And I appreciate it.

I understand your concerns about Harry appearing a minor character at the moment. There are two reasons for this: the one is that I've been setting up my pieces and therefore concentrating on a ton of people in separate areas. The other is that I'm not jumping right into Harry is leading his group into war. He's going through a rough time, though he's not showing it too badly, losing his hearing and his ability to speak, and I intend to show the progression into his becoming the leader that he is. I know my story moves more slowly than most, but I've always considered the development of character just as, if not more, important than the action that fills a story. Of course, my story will be filled with a lot of action, but I enjoy developing my characters a lot.

Ginny just popped back into the fic because she's been home, but I have been concentrating on her. It's hard to give her too much of a showing without having her pop into Harry's life like Ron and Hermione, and make the trio a quartet, which would be very out of character. You can probably count on her being around, now, though.

Snape won't be any more likeable for a while. In fact, you may hate him even more for a while, though that will change after a while (however, your analogy is pretty spot on in that regard :D). In defense of Sirius, he spent half his life in Azkaban, trapped in his own head, so really, he never had a chance to mentally and emotionally grow beyond his early twenties. As for Remus, it's really hard to be friends with someone you're deeply in love with who doesn't return your feelings. He's making a valiant effort, but it hurts, sometimes. He's unwilling to give up the friendship, but can't quite give up the love, either.

And thank you for the compliments. I'm very glad that I'm able to keep you interested, and I hope more things in the fic will interest you than my writing ability after a time. I can promise that some things will be explained; your concerns about Harry's being so affected by the dementors will also be explained in the fic. Though, because it's not a secret I'm keeping, the reason he reacted so violently was because the dementor all but Kissed him, far closer than any dementor had ever gotten to him before. He wasn't able to fight off the dementors like he normally does because he has never learned to cast the Patronus wordlessly, and as he can't speak...

There are other reasons for things, but they'll be revealed in time. I hope you'll stick around, and thanks for reading!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2012.04.21 - 01:59PM Title: Into the Realm

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This is starting to get really interesting. Keep it coming.



Reviewer: LeprechaunJV Signed Date: 2012.04.21 - 01:45PM Title: Into the Realm

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: I Love Ginerva Signed Date: 2012.03.06 - 03:48AM Title: The Dementors

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Fyre Signed Date: 2012.02.24 - 01:10PM Title: The Nightmare

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Wow, this first chapter was incredibly moving. I had wondered why J.K. Rowling had the Dursley's fear Harry yet they never physically hurt him like people actually do in real life. People who have an extreme fear of something do tend to react violently and I'm "happy" that you have portrayed that here.

Author's Response: I think it was Rowling's plan to never show it because the books are labelled for children (which doesn't seem to fit the later books, anyway). Whether she meant to insinuate it to older readers or let them draw their own conclusions, I'm not sure, but I sometimes think the books would have been more fun if she'd written them for an older audience from the start. Oh well. I'm glad you like it!



Reviewer: hpforever85 Signed Date: 2012.02.14 - 01:59AM Title: The Dementors

starstarstarstarhalf-star

The only real observation I had, you are refusing to elaborate on. So, for now, nice intriguing twist for us to contemplate at the end.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear