Search:

SIYE Time:13:11 on 23rd October 2017


Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2013.02.07 - 08:30AM Title: Harry Who?

starstarstarstarstar

such a beautiful chapter
well done :)

Author's Response: Thanks, Hannah. Nice to hear from you. I'm glad you liked this one. -N-



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2013.01.12 - 02:37AM Title: Harry Who?

starstarstarstar


I like the idea of this story. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Thank you. This, I'm afraid is and "as and when" story. It's really a collection of missing moments rather than a novel. The next chapter will take a lot of research. -N-



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2013.01.12 - 01:42AM Title: Harry Who?

starstarstarstarstar

This is the sort of conversation I'd expect from Molly and Arthur. They're such a loving, generous, understanding pair of parents in canon that I've come to expect them to be written exactly like you've written them here. As a parent, I know all about feeling guilty for introducing one's child to a subject that eventually becomes an obsession: I'm glad your Molly is no different from me in that respect. What she did to encourage Ginny's reading skills is what any frustrated parent would do in such a situation and one never knows, when introducing a new subject to a child, what the outcome will be.

The other thing I like about your Molly and Arthur is that they support each other and aren't judgemental of the other's mistakes. The fact that Arthur wasn't "too tired" at the end made me smile, not only because it's such a loving way to end the chapter, but because I've been in that situation with my hubby, too.

Well done!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. I've read several stories where Molly is a bullying harridan and Arthur an idiot, but you're right, canon shows them as loving parents. We may feel guilty, but our children, in my experience, don't. I suffer from the reverse. My kids don't appreciated that by buying Philosopher's Stone they introduced me to a subject which became an obsession. :-)

There is no point in going on about mistakes, what you have to do is put them right.

-N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2013.01.11 - 07:54PM Title: Harry Who?

starstarstarstarstar

I love Molly's insights. They are so comfortable with each other, I love how you are able to portray that. Congrats on the Trinket awards!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and for the congratulations. I will confess that it may be some time before you see the next chapter of this story. -N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2013.01.11 - 02:57AM Title: Harry Who?

starstarstarstarstar

Thanks for the new chapter! Great idea having Ginny learn about Harry from news clippings and not from the bedtime story cliche.

Author's Response: Thanks, I must admit that I read so little fanfiction that I’m not always aware of the clichés. I’m glad I avoided that one. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.01.10 - 06:01PM Title: Harry Who?

Another story I could not do without!

Author's Response: :-D



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.01.10 - 06:01PM Title: Harry Who?

starstarstarstarstar

Another story I could not do without!

Author's Response: Thanks. Will the next update take so long? I hope not. -N-



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2013.01.10 - 05:31PM Title: Harry Who?

starstarstarstarstar

This is off to a good start... Please don't stop!

Author's Response: Thanks, I reckon I’ll need to reread CoS again before I can attempt the next chapter. -N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2013.01.10 - 12:06PM Title: Harry Who?

Well Ginny needs to work on it but something tells me it won't on the other hand mollynis right she did it to Ginny....kutgw

Author's Response: Ginny will take quite a long time to sort herself out. -N-



Reviewer: Emlyn Signed Date: 2013.01.10 - 11:36AM Title: Harry Who?

Wonderful glimpse into the other side of the story - or what could have been the other side of the story.

Author's Response: Thank you, as I’m still intending to move forwards in ten-month jumps, the next will be the aftermath of the Chamber. -N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2013.01.10 - 11:34AM Title: Harry Who?

starstarstarstar

Nice read.

Author's Response: Thanks. -N-



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2012.11.28 - 12:56AM Title: Ron Writes

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I've been bad at reviewing lately, so I'm trying to get caught up.

For a lot of years, Molly was the only female in the Burrow. She was alone against seven males in the household. So Ginny coming along must have been pretty special for her. And the year she had alone with Ginny, while all the boys were in school or at jobs, would have been pretty special, I would think.

I assume this story will bounce around between the major events in Ginny's school career. First ride on the Hogwarts Express, the Chamber of Secrets, Yule Ball, first boyfriend, Death Eaters at the Ministry, battling Death Eaters from the vanishing cabinet, the attack at the wedding, the final battle at Hogwarts, and other times in between. Will the story be mostly face-to-face between the pair, or will there be mother-daughter letters?

It will be nice to read a story where Molly isn't a screeching harpy, and Ginny isn't a vapid fangirl. I love your stories - all of them. They are islands of sanity that standout in the vast sea of fanfiction cliches, self-insertions, and mis-considered canon corrections.

Author's Response:
You aren’t bad at reviewing (that prize goes to the anonymous, abusive and immediately deleted reviewer on fanfiction.net who berated me for naming Harry and Ginny’s youngest son Albus Severus). :-D

This story is one of those ideas which I was sure would go easily to plan, now I’m not so sure.

My initial plan was to write ten chapters, each ten months apart, and I have notes as to what is going on at those points in canon and beyond (the second chapter (Harry Who? – currently 1500 words but not moving quickly) is Harry’s first visit to the Burrow, the third is set at the end of CoS). I had also planned to write it all as first-person Molly. The latter may change (there may be some letters), but I’m hoping to stick to the former.

I’m still surprised by fanfiction clichés. When I want to find out what Molly (or any character) is like, I read the books, not fanfiction. Yes, Molly is sometimes angry, even unreasonable, but she’s a Mum of seven. Even two can drive me demented! It’s my theory that fanfiction characterisations are self-reinforcing. As an example, at some point in fanfic history Malfoy’s sarcasm—which in the books is always malicious, snide and deliberately hurtful—somehow became cool and witty banter. The bottom line for me is that these are JKR’s characters, and what she said happened is what happened. Thanks for the review.

-N-



Reviewer: Hippothestrowl Signed Date: 2012.05.12 - 10:11AM Title: Ron Writes

starstarstarstar

I don't usually read first person Potter fics but got caught up in this because of the award. Nice start and it really feels like we're there and in touch with their feelings. Well written.

Author's Response: What about second person? :-D (Owl Post, if you're interested).
I've written several first person stories, "Arthur", Spontaneity, and Strangers at Drakeshaugh to name a few. I think that first person can be very effective for conveying thoughts and emotions.
Thanks for the review.
-N-



Reviewer: Harryfan01 Signed Date: 2012.04.20 - 12:23PM Title: Ron Writes

A good idea and again, your story is as perfect as ever. Please continue your fabulous work.

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope to update this fairly soon. -N-



Reviewer: 2TsMom Signed Date: 2012.03.27 - 12:39AM Title: Ron Writes

starstarstarstarstar

I don't take enough time to review the stories I read. I blame it on the fact I read mostly on the go on my phone and don't like using the phone keyboard to review.

I love all your stuff. (Although from the reviews I'm staying away from Vituperation. I like happy things.) Molly and Her Daughter is another wonderful work of art. I don't mind you starting new stories, because they all fit into the universe you've created. I just hope your muses don't run out before you've finished what you've started. That would make me depressed.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
You may be wise to keep away from Vituperation, the clue is in the title. I wanted to see if I could write about really nasty people. My muses are in overdrive, that’s one of the problems. Once Moons and Hunters and Prey are completed I’ll get back to Aurors and Schoolgirls. I’m still attempting to update Strangers regularly, but the planned next chapter wasn’t working so it’s undergoing another complete rewrite. It should be ready before the month ends.
-N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2012.03.21 - 01:47PM Title: Ron Writes

Just out of curiosity, where is Vituperation posted? I've looked for it on your ff.net and Simply Undeniable profiles but can't seem to find it.

Author's Response: Vituperation has been sitting on my hard drive far a while, because I wrote it to see if I could write really nasty. I think I have. It's in the queue at SU, and has beenfor a few days, but I've just uploaded it at ffn too. I only hope that it doesnt put people off my other stuff. -N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2012.03.21 - 01:18AM Title: Ron Writes

starstarstarstarstar

This is an interesting new story. It's funny as despite it being a story meant to fit in with the canon of JKR's story, and it does, given the ways in which you expanded the universe with your whole saga of stories this kind of has a feel of "the adventures of Ginny Potter as a girl". Like I'm reading about your characters as a child and her mother. Again it definitely feels like we're peeking behind the curtain to the actual books, but it has that little extra.

Anyway, excellent work as always.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
It wasn’t until submitted this that I realised that it wasn’t a “Post-Hogwarts” story. This isn’t the first pre-DH “missing moments” story I’ve written, but it is the first containing the main cast. Certainly The Hufflepuff, Vituperation, Summer of '97, Fred and George's Busy Day, The Pencil Portrait Problem, and Tales of the Battle are stories about the supporting cast (you could argue that the Ginny/Neville/Hannah “Mistletoe Kisses” is a pre-DH main cast story). Slotting a story into the gaps in canon (as I discovered when I wrote Tales and Mistletoe Kisses) requires a lot of research. I read the relevant sections of PS several times before I even started this.
-N-



Reviewer: mysinger Signed Date: 2012.03.20 - 02:24PM Title: Ron Writes

starstarstarstarstar

Good chapter and a great start to the story. I look forward to reading more. I liked the glimpses inside Molly's mind as Ginny read about Harry. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review .
As I said, I'm not certain how quickly the next chapter will arrive. But it will feature Harry at the Burrow (for the first time).
-N-



Reviewer: hpforever85 Signed Date: 2012.03.20 - 02:41AM Title: Ron Writes

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, my goodness. I am completely in love with this story already. I am definitely looking forward to when you have time to update.

Author's Response: Thank you -N-



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2012.03.19 - 07:59PM Title: Ron Writes

starstarstarstarstar

Ah, very nice. I like knowing that Molly didn't really give Ron corned beef.

Author's Response: Thanks, so do I. -N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear