Search:

SIYE Time:13:09 on 23rd October 2017

Reviews For Sports Day

Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2012.10.19 - 08:49PM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarstar

This was very poignant. Even though they invariably wind up being sad, I love fics that reflect on Harry's past, but show how well it all turned out in the end. I'm really surprised Ginny hasn't paid the Dursleys a visit. I bet that would be quite the event.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. There's a lot of sadness in Harry's life, which is why I always find it difficult to make him suffer again. Somewhere on my computer are 5000+ words on Harry and Ginny visiting the Dursleys. That's yet another unfinished tale I really must finish. -N-



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2012.10.14 - 06:41AM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarhalf-star


This was a lovely little story. Thank you.

Author's Response: thanks for the review. -N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2012.10.11 - 11:59AM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarstar

Outstanding! I can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope that you'll see it soon. -N-



Reviewer: crystaltips1 Signed Date: 2012.10.09 - 02:16PM Title: Three Legged Race

Just a quick realisation I wanted to query,Teddy hasnt appeared in any of your stories.
is this just because an opportunity has not presented it self or another reason.

Author's Response: Hi.
Actually, he appears in Grave Days, but that's it. :-D
It's something I need to remedy, and there is another person I haven't written, too - Hagrid. Expect to see both of them, hopefully before Christmas.
-N-



Reviewer: crystaltips1 Signed Date: 2012.10.09 - 03:51AM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarstar

Sublime wrighting as always. Poor Harry! thank goodness Jk gave him a happy future
with Ginny and the Weasley's.

I always thought someone must have seen the Dursley's for what they were,and had shown
some kindness to Harry.

My youngest has gone up to secodary school this year so no more wonderful sports
day's or Nativity play's for me (sniff) .

looking forward to your next update. I quite like it is such a pick and mix of stories.
We dont know what it will be next.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

This story has got me interested in looking at more of Harryís early life. I agree that some sensible parents (and teachers) will have realised.

Iím past the Sports Day/Nativity play era, too. And, to be honest, I often donít know what will be next, either.

-N-



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2012.10.08 - 08:48PM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarstar

Every time I read these stories about Harry's early life, and kids who could possibly be friends with him, I find myself being hopeful that something could happen that will improve his childhood. But then I'm always a little saddened because I know how Harry is treated in canon, and no one is allowed to be his friend, and no adults are able to curb his ongoing abuse from the Dursley's.

That's why I can't write fanfiction. I love the characters too much to create situations where they're scared, in pain, or cursed with horrible problems they need to fight. There's a lot of cruddy fics out there that are written to make everything wonderful, and I hate them. That's probably partly self-loathing, because it's exactly the kind of crap I would write if I tried.

But back to the original premise of kids and adults friendly to Harry as a child. There had to be some kind of mitigation that counteracted the upbringing of the Durlsleys, right? Harry turned out to be a 'relatively' normal person, with the capacity for friendliness, loyalty, and love. That can't all be due to the shear force of his own personal will, can it? There must have been glimmers of kindness in his young life; the things that gave him hope of a better future.

This chapter is well-written, as always. (And it reminded me that of the correct spelling of Jacqui's name). Looking forward to the rest of the story. Plus, I need to find out what happened to the friend I had in school who was my partner in a three-legged race. I haven't heard about him in over thirty years.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I have no doubt that the Durlsey made it impossible for Harry to have friends. Even if Dudley ďdiscouragingĒ them at school wasnít enough (and it would be for the majority of kids) Harry would never be allowed to visit them and they certainly would not be allowed to visit him.

Interestingly, itís the opposite sort of fanfiction which spurred me to write. The stuff which piles even more heartbreak and misery on Harry and his friends annoys me. Stories where Voldemort returns (heís dead, dammit!), or where Ginny cheats on Harry for no reason (except of course, the fact that Draco is so undeniably hot). Iíve tried to steer a middle course, where Harry is mostly happy, but things sometimes go wrong.

I think that, while Harry was at Primary School, there was a teacher who tried to help him (I even know her name Ė which should tell you something) and that there were also some sort-of-friends.

My partner in the three-legged race works as a bus driver. Or he did.

-N-



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2012.10.08 - 03:01PM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarstar

This was solid! Excellent storytelling with the right hooks... if you were cooking a stew I'd say you definitely had all the right ingredients and had served it at the peak of its flavor.

Author's Response: Thank you. Iím glad you liked it. -N-



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2012.10.08 - 02:13PM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Not bad, but I would really like you to finish Aurors and Schoolgirls. I want to find out if Wilberforth Wilde is going to turn out to be a Dr Brand or a Dr Mengela.

Author's Response: Thanks. You aren't the only one. I would really like me to finish Hunters and Prey, and Aurors and Schoolgirls, and several other stories, and I will, eventually. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.10.08 - 10:49AM Title: Three Legged Race

This is so overwhelmingly wonderful. I hope to read a follow up of this. What a delightful story that tags on heartstrings. I feel like hexing Vernon from here to eternity. It would be nice if Harry will find Louise Parker via the Auror Dept.

Author's Response: :-D



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.10.08 - 10:49AM Title: Three Legged Race

This is so overwhelmingly wonderful. I hope to read a follow up of this. What a delightful story that tags on heartstrings. I feel like hexing Vernon from here to eternity. It would be nice if Harry will find Louise Parker via the Auror Dept.

Author's Response: :-)



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.10.08 - 10:49AM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarstar

This is so overwhelmingly wonderful. I hope to read a follow up of this. What a delightful story that tags on heartstrings. I feel like hexing Vernon from here to eternity. It would be nice if Harry will find Louise Parker via the Auror Dept.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
As Iíve said in other replies, this story sort of wrote itself, and not in the way I expected. I think that this is the first time that Vernon and Dudley have actually appeared in my stories. I feel the same way as you (and Ginny). I must admit that I wondered about bringing Louise Parker in to Harryís story. Weíll see.
-N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2012.10.08 - 07:26AM Title: Three Legged Race

Harry was lucky for a while...and I'm sorry albus really did screw up with Harry and the druslys.......kutgw

Author's Response: He was. And it certainly wasnít Dumbledoreís best decision. -N-



Reviewer: r3in9 Signed Date: 2012.10.08 - 04:07AM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarstar

You did it again! Bullseye on the first chapter. Love it.
I'm waiting for that Strangers at Drakeshaugh updates, you know :)

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review, Iím glad you liked it.
You arenít the only one waiting. :-D hopefully the wait wonít be too long.
-N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2012.10.08 - 04:02AM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Another great little snippet from your wonderous world.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2012.10.08 - 02:29AM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarstar

That was beautiful. It truly is amazing given his past just how great a person the character of Harry Potter really is. I look forward to your next update into your world, in whatever story it appears.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Not sure whatís coming next, but I hope that it will be soon. -N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2012.10.07 - 11:41PM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarstar

Beautifully done! I loved the beginning, you know children. I'm impressed they had a whole week, I usually find out one or two nights ahead of time. Like, 'Mom, do you have to work tomorrow? We have field day and I want you to come.'
Poor Harry, he just makes you want to hug him. I can only imagine how he appeared to the other parents. Very well done!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Iíve been in the situation you describe. :-D They had a whole week only because Ginny found the letter from school.
I think that Louiseís mum had enough clues to figure out quite a lot about Harryís circumstances.
-N-



Reviewer: jojo99 Signed Date: 2012.10.07 - 11:30PM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarstar

Wow - I feel for Harry for having that kind of past but I do love the life you have given him now. Lovely - well done.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Iím glad that you enjoyed this tale. -N-



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2012.10.07 - 10:55PM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Loved the vision of Harry's family life contrasted to his own childhood. Very moving (and I agree with Ginny regarding Vernon). I'll be looking forward to your next posting no mater which story it's for.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Iím certain that Harry will be faced with a lot of instances where happy event in his kids lives bring back suppressed and unhappy memories of his own childhood.
-N-



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2012.10.07 - 10:44PM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarstar

As always, your stories are filled with the sort of things every parent is familiar with. I love the bedtime scene and the fact that Harry and Ginny's "evening" has been shortened to "after the kids are in bed." Most nights at my house my hubby falls asleep on the couch with his legs in my lap. It's nice to relax together at the end of the day and I'm glad Harry and Ginny make that special time together.

Harry's reminiscence was oh so poignant, but I'm glad he and Louise bested Dudley and Piers; the blatant cheating, as always, made me angry, but Vernon's justifiying shout had my hackles raised. Thank you for making sure someone protected Harry after the race, even if it was just for a little while so that he could enjoy his ice cream.

I'm looking forward to more of Ginny's protective urges and your next chapter. I hope it appears soon.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
If only we could all tidy up toys with a wave of a wand. :-D Itís essential, I think, to have some time to relax at the end of the day.
Itís strange, but Harryís reminiscence wasnít originally part of my plan. This story changed from a light-hearted trip to the school with the kids, to something rather darker when Ginny's simple question pushed Harry into painful memories.
The rest of this tale will be a lot lighter.
-N-



Reviewer: redandblack Signed Date: 2012.10.07 - 08:16PM Title: Three Legged Race

starstarstarstarstar

this was lovely, I love this moments where Harry share his life with his family

Author's Response: Thanks, more soon. -N-




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear