Search:

SIYE Time:21:27 on 24th May 2017


Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2012.11.28 - 03:40AM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarstar

This story was so fun. My favorite part was Hermione using her wand on the psychedelic van, causing it to stop like it was in a cartoon. And then the four scramble out in costume. That visual makes me snicker every time I picture it in my mind.

So, Justin Finch-Fletchley survived the war. I wonder what his story was? Or was that in another one of your stories and I don't remember it. Maybe I should go back and re-read "Grave Days" and "Tales of the Battle". Ahhhh, any excuse to re-read good stories.

Author's Response:
Thank you. This was simply a silly idea; let’s face it the plot is straight from any episode of the cartoon, right down to the van screeching to a halt. At least, I think it is. I deliberately relied on my memory rather than my usual research (apart from for the names of the four Muggle kids).

Justin gets his own chapter in Tales of the Battle, and appears in Fred and George’s busy day, but mostly, he’s in the background. I have a long back story for him (he’s in the USA at the time of the Drakeshaugh housewarming party), but frankly I’ll never write it.

-N-



Reviewer: Senator of Sorcery Signed Date: 2012.11.09 - 04:09PM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

This is cool. Very cool.

Author's Response: Thanks, Harry doesn't usually do cool. :-D -N-



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2012.10.29 - 10:40PM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarstar

BRILLIANT!

Author's Response: Thank you -N-



Reviewer: gemz1313 Signed Date: 2012.10.29 - 11:30AM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Brilliant made me laugh

Author's Response: Thanks, that was the plan. -N-



Reviewer: Slartibartfast Signed Date: 2012.10.29 - 07:04AM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Right up to your usual standard!

I'd have given you a 10, apart from the slight giveaway in the title. There's only one person in the entire english-speaking world who says "zoinks"... Then again, maybe that's unfair, because it does set the tone rather well.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
You’re right, of course. The original title was “Jinkies!”, but that’s a giveaway, too. I went for Zoinks for only one reason: I realised that this was my 26th story and my first one-shot (and first completed story) was After Breakfast. There was something pleasing about a “Z” title for story 26.
-N-



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2012.10.29 - 01:34AM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarstar

A fun, cute read perfect for Halloween season. Being a guy, I was puzzled by "Hermione was examining a ladder in her pink tights." I pictured her climbing a ladder and Ron trying to catch a peek up her dress...

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you liked it.
Another case of the difference between American and English? It made sense to me when I wrote it.
-N-



Reviewer: hptrump Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 08:23PM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarstar

This was great. I watched Scoobie-Doo growing up.

Author's Response: Thanks. I suspect that the entire western world watched Scooby-Doo when we were growing up (except those raised in a magical household, of course). -N-



Reviewer: Ocean Dream Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 07:17PM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarstar

Nice one! :) Thanks for sharing, it was such a great read.
Gee, just imagine how much Sirius would have enjoyed being Scooby!

Author's Response: Thanks.
Sirius would have had a great time.
-N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 05:45PM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarstar

Very topical. What i love about your stories is that they happen in the muggle world.

Author's Response: Thanks. Once I decided to write a Halloween story, I decided that it needed to be finished before Halloween. I made it, jusy in time. -N-



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 05:12PM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstar

That was really cute. My four year-old son absolutely loves Scooby Doo, and I love how you used the real actors names :) Thanks for a good laugh

Author's Response: Thanks, and well done for spotting that fact. That's almost the only reseasch I did. -N-



Reviewer: Bethina Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 05:07PM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarstar

Cute!

Author's Response: Thanks -N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 04:40PM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarstar

Rugh roh!

Cute

Author's Response: LOL, thanks. -N-



Reviewer: Dianainga Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 03:22PM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

What a fun halloween story!!! But...where was Scooby Do? Your writing is always excellent and even on a light subject, I adore your stories! Please keep them coming! Please finish some of your unfinished ones...I long to find out what happens next in many of them!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Perhaps I should have put the dog in, but he'd simply have been a dog, and I don't think it would have worked. I'm hoping to update Strangers soon, and Hunters and Prey, too.
-N-



Reviewer: Harte Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 02:07PM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarhalf-star

What a great halloween story - I love Scooby Doo and the gang! I couldn't remember which one was named Velma and which one was Daphne so I went to Wikipedia to check and did you know Fred was at one time named Ronnie and Shaggy and Velma were originally going to be brother and sister?

Author's Response: Thanks. I deliberately didn't do a lot of research, because I wanted to use my memory of the basic plot (there was only one, wasn't there?) rather than crib something. I did check out the names, and discovered that Shaggy's name is Norville! -N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 12:44PM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarstar

Great story, but they really should have had a dog! I can only imagine what those kids thought when they ran out into the mystery van. Great blending of the Harry Potter and real world :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I considered the dog, and then dismissed it for a couple of reasons. Partly because it would have given the game away sooner, and partly because I'd have needed to give more backstory. -N-



Reviewer: SYLVELLE Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 12:43PM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent. What a fun Halloween story. Thanks for the giggles, as always, brilliant.

Author's Response: Thanks, I really wasn't sure wheher this would work. I'm glad it did. -N-



Reviewer: crystaltips1 Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 10:52AM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

starstarstarstarstar

Brilliant.... Loved it

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 10:51AM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

LOL ROFLOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!GREAT STORY!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks. -N-



Reviewer: Rosina Ferguson Signed Date: 2012.10.28 - 09:37AM Title: Jeepers! And Jinkies!

Neil, that was brilliant. I guessed a little way in, which is what you intended I'm sure, just what characters Harry and Co were portraying but that only added to the sense of anticipation.

Well done, I think that is one of the best Harry halloween stories ever.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. I tried to drop several hints as to who the quartet were suposed to be. As you guessed, I was aiming for a sence of anticipation in my readers.

Would you believe that I originally considered writing a "proper" ghost story for Halloween? But it's such a silly time, and the damn dog popped into my head. :-D

-N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear