Search:

SIYE Time:6:47 on 24th April 2018

Reviews For Gift of Love

Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2018.04.03 - 06:03PM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstarstar

This popped up on random reads and it is amazing! I loved the story. Unfortunately, I can see it happening. I'm glad Harry was able to connect with Conrad and it is so disappointing that the staff at St Mungo's didn't try to help him in any way. Its very disappointing that they didn't try to discipline the bullies in any way, instead punishing the victim. I love the way the Potters were able to connect with Conrad and most importantly find him a forever family. Beautiful story!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked the story. I understand your frustration with the staff at St. Mungo's. It's a case of an unbalanced ratio of patients to staff; the children's ward is understaffed for the number of patients admitted and poor Conrad sort of fell through the cracks in the system. Enter Harry Potter who identifies with the miserable little boy who he believes would do better in a loving environment. I thought getting a family for Christmas would be the greatest gift Conrad would ever receive. Also, in a way, when Conrad leaves with his new family, some other child will get the medical treatment he/she needs because his bed is now vacant. While the staff will still be overworked there's still hope that life will be better for someone new. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: pleurocoelus Signed Date: 2016.11.25 - 06:37AM Title: Gift of Love

Nothing like a review on an older story, but my random browsing through SIYE land led me here to your story.
I must say that I was deeply moved by this story. Deeply. You've captured our favorite couple very well and your OCs are excellent too.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the story. I had a lot of fun imagining how Harry could use his influence to help make someone else's life a little sweeter. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Senator of Sorcery Signed Date: 2012.12.31 - 05:19PM Title: Gift of Love

this was a nice story. and suicide isn't that extreme for me, i tried seven times, all before the age of eleven. Conrad is an excelent character.

Author's Response: You're right...suicide isn't that extreme in someone so young because it's usually a silent cry for help or attention; Conrad wanted someone to notice him, to be kind to him, and when the conventional methods didn't work, he resorted to trying the spell he'd seen used effectively on his family. I don't know your circumstances, but I certainly hope you were able to get the help you needed. Thanks for reading and letting me know what part of the story you identified with most.



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.12.24 - 05:29PM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstarstar

How touching. I was so taken by the story. Excellent.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading. I'm very glad you were taken by my story. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2012.12.21 - 11:28PM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstarstar

A wonderful little Christmas present! I loved the way Harry connected with that poor young boy. I could really see that happening. Very emotional and at the same time a real "feel good".

Author's Response: Harry's "saving people thing" kicks in once more. However, this time the rescue is real. Thanks for reading. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2012.12.21 - 09:37PM Title: Gift of Love

Very lovely Christmas story....kutgw in all you do....and merry chrostmas

Author's Response: I'm glad you think so. Thanks for reading. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: TrainzStoffe Signed Date: 2012.12.21 - 06:10PM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstarstar

That was a great little story. I have a tear in my sentimental eye, very well written! Thank you :)

Author's Response: I'm glad my story made that impression on you. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: LeprechaunJV Signed Date: 2012.12.21 - 01:29PM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thanks for the stars! Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2012.12.21 - 10:28AM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstar


A lovely, well written Christmas story. Well done.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: Bethina Signed Date: 2012.12.21 - 04:46AM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstarstar

Well done!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reading. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2012.12.20 - 06:59PM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A lovely Christmas Story. Just what the doctor ordered:)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you think so! Thanks for reading and reviewing. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: santafe Signed Date: 2012.12.20 - 06:41PM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstarstar

This is probably the most impressive piece I have read on SIYE all year. I really enjoyed the way you turned Harry's experiences around, and brought in the Auror training, as well as the location in time. The plot and storytelling left me pretty gulpy. The way you have Harry react to a child that has had an even more extreme upbringing than even he had is extremely well done. Your Ginny is very good too. I noted that you used the reverse legilimency device that cropped up in one of your earlier pieces and I was delighted to find it.

This gets five stars and several WOWs Thank you so much for sharing it. SF

Author's Response: I sincerely appreciate your vote of confidence in my writing. I will definitely come back to this review when I'm struggling to complete a chapter or one-shot. It's quite the confidence booster! The story is one of the background stories for "For Love of Family" in my "Family" series of stories, so I naturally tried to be consistant with what I'd written before. I'm glad you remembered the "reverse Legilimancy" from my other story. Thank you so much for your kind review. Happy Christmas, Arnel



Reviewer: ladymblack Signed Date: 2012.12.20 - 06:39PM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, what a lovely story. It brought tears to my eyes, good ones of course. Thank you so much for sharing!

Author's Response: Truth to tell, when I started editing the story for the first time, even I became a bit choked up! Thanks for reading and reviewing. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: SYLVELLE Signed Date: 2012.12.20 - 05:46PM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Excellent. A heart warming story with a happy ending, just the thing. Thank you for this lovely gem.

Author's Response: All Christmas stories must have a happy ending, I think, so this one was no exception. I'm very glad you liked what I wrote. Thanks for reading and commenting. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: shendrina Signed Date: 2012.12.20 - 03:47PM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstarstar

Wow, that brought tears to my eyes!

It's a perfect Christmas story.


Author's Response: It seemed like the Harry thing to do, especially since he saw so much of himself in Conrad. Thanks for reading and commenting. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: hot48cricket Signed Date: 2012.12.20 - 12:15PM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstar

What a lovely story!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading! Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: Emlyn Signed Date: 2012.12.20 - 10:22AM Title: Gift of Love

Wonderful story. Sad and sweet and full of hope.

Author's Response: I think it did Harry good to be able to use his "saving people thing" to make Conrad's life a much happier one. Thanks for reading and commenting. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2012.12.20 - 07:11AM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstarhalf-star

"Heart warming" is the phrase that springs to mind. If this had been real, I would have been very disappointed with the staff at St. Mungo's.

Author's Response: Throughout the series, it's seemed to me that if magic can't cure whatever ails you quickly, you're either sent home to recouperate on your own or committed to a permanent residence ward and left there with just the minimum of support. Therefore, as I was thinking about what sorts of children would be at the party, I thought that the orphans with various medical and mental problems were just shoved aside and tolerated until they were old enough to "graduate" to Hogwarts! So, yes, I'm rather disappointed with the St Mungo's staff, too! Thanks for reading and reviewing. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: zorica Signed Date: 2012.12.20 - 05:15AM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstar

Beautifully written and a wonderful Christmas story.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading. I'm glad you liked the story. Happy Christmas!



Reviewer: sidnandragin Signed Date: 2012.12.20 - 03:50AM Title: Gift of Love

starstarstarstar

Oh My !! This was a well written piece. I am sad by it and the same time elated that there was a happy ending to it. I loved it. I just want to hug everyone!

Author's Response: I'm glad my story fostered your reaction to it. Truth to tell, I wanted to hug everyone, too... even the bullies because it's obvious those boys are just as neglected as Conrad, but they're reacting to it in a completely opposite way. Thanks for reading and commenting. Happy Christmas!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear