Search:

SIYE Time:1:19 on 19th August 2017

Reviews For Vault

Reviewer: jerryfs2 Signed Date: 2016.01.19 - 04:01AM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

Great story love a good short.

Author's Response: Thanks -N-



Reviewer: JJamieDupane Signed Date: 2015.07.16 - 04:48PM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

This is gold... The real Treasure as you dubbed it...

Author's Response: Thanks Glad you liked it. -N-



Reviewer: JetLaBarge Signed Date: 2013.04.22 - 09:39PM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Silas Signed Date: 2013.04.22 - 06:49AM Title: Vault

You should think about getting on Pottermore, if nothing else it has a lot of extra information that you would probably find helpful. Also it doesn't take that much time, as chapters are unlocked in chunks you can normally go though an entire new block of chapters in a single sitting. Once you're up to date on that there's not actually that much to do, but it's still good to have access to the information.

Author's Response: Thanks for letting me knw (and sorry for the delayed reply). I'll think about it, however as I've just siscovered that (according to Pottermore) merlin was a Slytherin, I'm not certain how much will, in fact, be helpful. So far as I'm concerned, Merlin is a contemporary of Arthur, and predates hogwarts by about 500 years.



Reviewer: Silas Signed Date: 2013.04.15 - 08:49AM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

Wonderful :). I assume you're on Pottermore? Since one of the latest chapters have some information on portraits, information that you might find interesting if you plan to expand this more.

I'm also wondering where this portrait hangs in the Potter home, Harry's study? After all, you can't have any of the neighbors seeing it, things could get a bit... tricky if they did.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Im not on Pottermore. I've thought about joining, but I worry that it will deplete the already small amount of spare time I have to write.
The portrait (eventually) replaces Mrs Blacks in Grimmauld place before being moved to the study at Drakeshaugh.
-N-



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2013.04.06 - 07:12PM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2013.04.06 - 10:24AM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarhalf-star

It is too bad that Harry couldn't have had access to this vault sooner in his life, and a lot of people blame Dumbledore, but is he to blame? He was not Harry's legal guardian and therefore could not access Harry's vaults, I wouldn't think. I'm not saying Dumbledore couldn't have done more for Harry, but let's be reasonable. This was a really sweet fic and I liked Harry's and Ginny's budding relationship, still fresh and innocent. As always, great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. With this story I'm playng around the edges of what we know. We know that the Ministry interfered with Dumbledore's will, perhaps they interfered with James and Lily's too. I know what mine says. It's nice to go back to the early part of their relationship. -N-



Reviewer: SYLVELLE Signed Date: 2013.04.05 - 05:13PM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

Well I'm really glad you let this story out. Lovely. A moment in Harry and Ginny's life after Tom

Tricia

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: Chatmandu Signed Date: 2013.04.05 - 11:23AM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

You had the Laurence/Leonard change in "The Badly Fitting Coat", too. Me thinks this is not a typo but a hint to some family story. All the "chapters" to your grand story are superb. I might be just a bit biased since Lavender Moon (nee Brown) is my favorite tertiary canon character.

Author's Response: You're right. I originally called him Leonard, and decided that it was to lion-like so I changed it. My brain doesn't seem to like it, and it keeps changing it back. I should have stuck with the first name I thought of, because it stuck to me. There will be some Mark/Lavender action on this site soon. -N-



Reviewer: Cyber_E Signed Date: 2013.04.05 - 10:14AM Title: Vault

starstarstarstar

You called Harry's grandfather Laurence for the first half of the story, and then in the end you called him Leonard! According to JKR Harry's grandparents were called Charlus and Dorea Potter(nee Black).
In my opinion you can call them whatever you like, your story is very, very good!!!

Author's Response: Thank you. You're right, Amelie pointed that out, too, so it's now corrected.
According to JKR Charlus Potter married Dorea Black and they had a son. However as she mentioned (in OotP?) that the Blacks and the Weasleys were 'distantly' related (through Cedrella Black) but she never mentioned that James and Sirius were first cousins (once removed), I've always assumed that these Charlus and Dorea aren't Harry's grandparents.
-N-



Reviewer: Rosina Ferguson Signed Date: 2013.04.05 - 08:07AM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Oh, come on Neil... What about a "Vault - Part Two" there must be stacks of treasures to find. Please, please will share more with us?

I really enjoyed reading this although my work colleagues wondered why I was crying over my cheese roll and cheese and onion crips.

Author's Response: Crying? Too much cheese, probably. :-D
There probably are, but I'm afraid you'll have to wait until inspiration strikes, sorry.
-N-



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2013.04.05 - 06:34AM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarhalf-star


What a lovely little tale. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm gald you liked it. -N-



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2013.04.05 - 02:12AM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

What a delightful little story. I can just see Harry and Ginny cavorting around the vault to the delight of his grandparents. Well done and thank you for giving me a reason to smile.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This one simply arrived, I was actually researching 1970’s punk (for a non Harry/Ginny story) when I realised that Lily was a fan of English folk. The story simply sprouted from than. Smiling is good for us. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.04.04 - 10:56PM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

Awwww.... very endearing.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2013.04.04 - 09:30PM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

I'm not surprised that Harry would find out more things about his parents (and grandparents) after the final battle, but I find it rather criminal that he didn't have contact with any of these things while he was growing up, or even while he was at Hogwarts. It lends credence to the stories where Dumbledore intentionally kept Harry lonely and insecure, so he would willingly go to his death as a horcrux. Myself, I don't believe that Dumbledore was that manipulative or evil, but his inattention and neglect still keeps me from seeing him as the kindly old grandfather figure that is sometimes his portrayal.

Perhaps, like Snape, he should be seen as not altogether good or bad, but complex.

Liked the story. it's another fleshing out of the time period after the books (but pre-epilogue).

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review

I honestly hadn’t looked at the story in that way. My thoughts were simply that (and I realise that I haven’t explained this) the money Harry found in his vault age 11 was the accumulation of eleven years of “allowance” from a trust fund. After all, he’s a minor, and he wouldn’t be allowed access to all of his parents’ estate. I believe that the fund should have been being administered by his godfather, but Sirius was unable to carry out that duty.

Harry should have received everything on his seventeenth birthday, but circumstances intervened. Now, after the Battle...

-N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2013.04.04 - 08:03PM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

We like her too ;-)

Author's Response: Yup ;-D



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2013.04.04 - 07:21PM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

Very, very sweet! Harry and Ginny are so sweet and he needs some connection with his parents.

Author's Response: Thank you. He does, and the release of his parents’ estate allows me to do that. -N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2013.04.04 - 07:13PM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

What a beautiful story!

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2013.04.04 - 07:08PM Title: Vault

love the start and cant wait to see what else they find in there...kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks, but this is a one-shot. -N-



Reviewer: forgivenlu Signed Date: 2013.04.04 - 07:02PM Title: Vault

starstarstarstarstar

OH! I got so excited when I got the e-mail notification that you had posted! I have yet to find a single author that truly understands the characters and keeps to JK's facts as well as you, and I've been reading fanfiction since 8th grade, now I'm a junior in college! Will this have any other side stories to it, or will this be the last we see of Harry's grandparents?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and the compliments.
This story is set one week after “The Badly Fitting Coat”. Harry’s Grandparents will certainly reappear. They will make a brief appearance in my proposed sequel to Hunters and Prey, and will possibly be in a Drakeshaugh one-shot. But not soon, unless a story simply arrives in my head the way this one did.
-N-




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear