Search:

SIYE Time:10:51 on 17th December 2017


Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2014.06.17 - 03:29AM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstar

This is the first story that I don't like Hermione parents, they hear half of a story and think it's the truth. It seem they say it OK abused a child

Author's Response: Thanks! I don't think the Grangers think it is ok to abuse a child, but what I was trying to point out is it is so easy to miss abuse if you aren't looking for it. It is easy to explain away things if you don't delve deeper into the circumstances. It could happen the way Mrs Granger explains it and she does ask Hermione if she's suspicious of anything else, but Harry never comes out and says anything so she isn't suspicious.



Reviewer: Sibling Creature Signed Date: 2014.03.18 - 06:54PM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

I only just found this story. I'm not sure how I missed it previously.

I've never really liked the Snape rescues/mentors Harry scenario.

I really like this though, and I'd love to see a full story based on this beginning. :-)


... after you finish Perilous Journey of course... ;-)

- SC

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I agree - I can't see Snape ever agreeing to rescue or mentor Harry. Usually in those stories James and Sirius are made out to be the bad guys and he never really develops a relationship with Sirius. I have thought about continuing the story. I think my biggest problem is I have lots of ideas :)



Reviewer: Old guy Signed Date: 2013.05.15 - 08:15AM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstar

Nice story. I wish someone had done something about the Dursleys in the books.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I know it would have been nice :)



Reviewer: liron-aria Signed Date: 2013.05.05 - 08:48PM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstarstar

I think I am completely in love with this story!

I've spent ages looking for a good, complete (or mostly complete) McGonagall and Harry story, but there are so few out there, it's sad. I really liked how you handled McGonagall; she comes off a bit distant in the early books, so writers tend to make her oblivious to Harry's suffering, or blindly following Dumbledore. I really like how you still have her listening to Dumbledore, but ultimately making her own choices on what she thinks are right and wrong.

Hermione and her mother - I am actually a /huge/ fan of this section, because no one (I've seen) realistically explores how the Dursleys could have gotten away with the way they treated Harry and the things they said outside of 'people are dumb/stupid/evil and took what the Dursleys said on blind faith.' Harry being a troubled orphan is realistic to people who haven't spent tons of time around Harry to build a relationship. Sad, but realistic.

This was a great read, thanks for sharing! I look forward to seeing more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really like McGonagall as a champion for Harry. I think she is a lot warmer than she is shown in the books. I'm glad you liked the Granger section. That was rather my intent to show that because of Harry's reticence in talking about his home situation, it is easy to read what you want into the situation. Hermione esp at that age really respected authority and would easily give into her mother's interpretation. Glad you enjoyed the beginning :)



Reviewer: I Love Ginerva Signed Date: 2013.04.22 - 03:49AM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: shendrina Signed Date: 2013.04.18 - 07:29PM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: hptrump Signed Date: 2013.04.18 - 12:45AM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstarstar

Good story, love the details. Also enjoy the expansion of Professor McGonagall. Love to see more.

Author's Response: Thanks! I kind of think McGonagall is an old softy - after all if you are teaching children for 39 years, you have to actually like them :)



Reviewer: KateP Signed Date: 2013.04.17 - 06:50AM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great story I agree with the others you really should make this a multiple chapter tale with the way that Ginny was being treated by her brothers and what you had happen to Harry I can see this Harry wanting to befriend her much earlier as I think Harry might have a few issues with Hermione and Ron for thinking he was what Vernon was saying

I also love your take on McGonagall you really showed how much she cared for Harry

Author's Response: Thanks! I do plan to create a longer story, it just might take a while. I think what happened to Ginny is understandable in some ways and a crime in others. A girl with so many brothers should have had someone to turn to. Harry will have a few issues or rather Hermione might have a few issues with Harry. I think McGonagall would have loved to take care of Harry.



Reviewer: jediprankster Signed Date: 2013.04.17 - 06:22AM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstarstar

Fantastic! That's about all I can say.

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Tron Signed Date: 2013.04.16 - 09:09PM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Thank you for sharing your story with us. I look forward to the next chapter. Hopefully Dumbledore will finally realize how horrible Harry's life has been with the Dursleys.

Keep up the great writing.


Author's Response: Thanks! glad you enjoyed it :)



Reviewer: Mistress of Potions Signed Date: 2013.04.16 - 06:00PM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This would be a great multi-chapter story. Please develop this further, especially as I think most of us want to see Professor McGonagall tear a strip off of old Dumbledore.

Author's Response: Thanks! I do plan to continue, but it will be a while as I have several stories going right now :)



Reviewer: SYLVELLE Signed Date: 2013.04.16 - 05:06PM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstarstar

Wonderful. I hope you continue. I like the idea of Minerva to the rescue.
Love it.Thanks
Tricia

Author's Response: Thanks! I will continue, but it might be a while. I think Minerva would make a mother figure for Harry :)



Reviewer: hot48cricket Signed Date: 2013.04.16 - 01:31PM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstar

Very good story.
I erased my first review as it was VERY flammable!! I will say that I think Hermione's mother is a bit naive to believe Vernon Dursely!
I was glad to see the interaction between harry and Minerva, it was very touching!
If you continue this story, please have Harry try and befriend Ginny - I think the way Ron treats her is very cruel.

Author's Response: Thanks! I wanted to show with Hermione's mother how easy it is to sweep everything under the rug. A few misleading statements and a few outright lies and you have a believable story - esp to someone who couldn't conceive of hurting their child. I think Minerva would make a great mother figure for Harry - he really needs one. I do plan to continue and will of course have Harry befriend Ginny. Ron is cruel, but I think many 12 year olds would be the same way. I know my son never wants my daughter around when his friends are around and vice versa.



Reviewer: cateyes033 Signed Date: 2013.04.16 - 01:05PM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstarstar

Great story, glad you plan to go on

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2013.04.16 - 12:41PM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstarstar

Beautifully done! I found nothing to criticize and much to admire.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it :)



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2013.04.16 - 07:00AM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

Oh boy I don't feel sorry for albus dealing me mc g after what she just saw.....kutgw

Author's Response: Yes, Dumbledore won't get off lightly :)



Reviewer: HeroInTheWings731 Signed Date: 2013.04.16 - 06:39AM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstarstar

I read this on fanfiction.net first, but I'm glad to see that you plan on posting another chapter. McGonagall is pretty awesome here and I love when she's the one to step up and help her student out. Of course, since I started watching Downton Abbey a few months ago, I can also imagine McGonagall with the same piercing and hilarious sarcasm as the Dowager Countess so it makes her even more awesome.

Author's Response: Thanks! I really like McGonagall and I think she would have protected Harry if given the chance. I love her as the Dowager Countess - I still think one of my all time favourite lines of hers was 'What exactly is a week end?' She's great :)



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2013.04.16 - 06:27AM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstar

Different, but a good read.

Author's Response: Thank you, glad you liked it.



Reviewer: LadyPhoenixFireRose Signed Date: 2013.04.16 - 05:59AM Title: Chapter 1 The Long Summer

starstarstarstar

No Review




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear