Search:

SIYE Time:1:23 on 19th August 2017

Reviews For Life Goes On

Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2015.10.05 - 09:48AM Title: Life Goes On

I think I read this before but you are the author and reading your work over and over again is like reading it for the first time. You can tell a good story.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'll try and supply you with somenthing new as soon as I can. -N-



Reviewer: hpforever85 Signed Date: 2013.06.04 - 03:37AM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Slartibartfast Signed Date: 2013.06.01 - 08:05AM Title: Life Goes On

Like the "origins of Drakeshaugh" idea!

I don't know Northumberland that well. Is there a particular ruined farm or similar that, in your mind, "is" Drakeshaugh?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The setting is real, the building itself is based on a few farmhouse/barn conversions Iíve seen as part of my job. -N-



Reviewer: Hippothestrowl Signed Date: 2013.05.25 - 03:40PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstar

Very nicely written 'chapter' with good descriptiveness. As a light essay it's fine but it feels to me like a gem that someone has tried to polish up while it's still in the mine's rockface - I can't assess it fully without a setting. This makes it feel overlong for what it is and although it seems to have direction, I'm not sure it arrives anywhere. It had me looking for something but I never found it; it did not satisfy me. It's a mood piece but not a moving one (in both senses,) at least for me.

I deliberately called it a 'chapter' in my first sentence. Perhaps it could complement a bigger action taking place around it, before and after and with something else injected into it too for it has the potential to be greater with only a little more added.

Reconsidering my analogy of a gemstone, maybe I've got that backwards and this is the beautiful empty mounting - the finely-wrought ring awaiting the diamond.

I'd give it 9/10 as a surround but what shall I deduct for lack of a precious stone without seeming mean? Let's just take 1...

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. It seems that Iíll have to try harder if I want to move you.
I have to admit that I donít fully understand your criticism. To me, the setting (ďthe locationóphysical, emotional and temporalóin which the story is setĒ) is apparent, but perhaps my definition of setting is your definition of mood.
As all of my stories take place in the same timeline, the before will be (and the after has been) covered in other stories. I certainly have ideas for a prequel, and as for the ďafterĒ, that would be Strangers at Drakeshaugh.
To stretch your analogy, I certainly wouldnít object if this is regarded as merely the stand on which Strangers at Drakeshaugh is mounted.
-N-



Reviewer: Silas Signed Date: 2013.05.22 - 07:31AM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I have to wonder if part of why you wrote this was just so you could explain to us how to pronounce Drakeshaugh. Still it's a lovely little piece, even the part where we are once again reminded of Harry's terrible childhood, splendidly done.

I'd bug you about your other fics but I'm sure some other reviewer will have beaten me to it, so instead I'll just pray quietly in the corner.

Author's Response: To be perfectly honest, I wrote this because it was easy, and because Iíve had a lot of issues which have severely restricted my opportunities to write anything, particularly any of my long chaptered stories. Then, within houst of me posting this, things got a lot worse.
This (and several other one-shots) has been a catharsis. Itís been a rough few months, but Iím back. And it doesnít hurt to remind people how to pronounce Drakeshaugh, does it?
-N-



Reviewer: RedHeadGin Signed Date: 2013.05.21 - 05:08PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar

Great story on Ginny's first visit with Harry in Drakeshaugh. And when the kids came too, I'm sure the laughter & smiles of his kids is contagious.

Author's Response: Thank you, Iím glad you liked it. Getting the kids approval was essential. It always is. -N-



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2013.05.20 - 02:36AM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar


I loved it. From Ginny looking at the peeling paint on the walls to the three excitable ' splorers'.
It w a lovely little look into the Potters lives.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Iím glad you liked it. -N-



Reviewer: Rosina Ferguson Signed Date: 2013.05.19 - 11:26AM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I can honestly say that the way you write about the area around the Drake Stone really makes me want to visit Northumbria. It has been on my list for many years since I saw an episode of Robin of Sherwood in the early 80s but now I can just picture Harry, Ginny and the kids in that landscape.

Ironically my grandmother lived in Newcastle for a while just after her marriage so that might be another good reason to visit.

As for the story... superb. Loved how you had Ginny looking first through her own eyes and then as Harry saw it. I must admit to getting a bit teary eyed when "Ginny found herself facing not two, but three excitable little boys" and the realisation that Harry had never experienced that kind of joy before.

Thanks for another superb short story... a one=shot or will we find out more?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Iím certainly happy living in this part of the world. Robin of Sherwood used Bamburgh Castle for several scenes. Itís certainly one of the most spectacular castles; although Alnwick Castle isnít bad (it appeared in a film called Harry Potter and the Philosopherís Stoneóyou may have heard of it :-D)
This story was in my head for a long time. There really isnít much to it, at least not much more than a family looking for a new home, but my kids were about that age when we moved, and I can remember the worries and upheaval. I can honestly see Harry enjoying the opportunity to have a childhood. This is a one-shot. Youíve already seen 18 chapters of the sequel. :-D
-N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2013.05.18 - 09:40AM Title: Life Goes On

Ah the trials of finding the best home for the future.....kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. -N-



Reviewer: GinnyP7 Signed Date: 2013.05.17 - 11:56PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar

Love your descriptions and characterizations, as always. Especially love the way you continue to define Harry and Ginny's relationship with Ginny the mother figure to "...not two, but three excitable little boys...." returning from the woodland, a scene that foreshadows the Interlude in "Strangers...." where Harry is playing with the children happily damming up Drakestone Burn.
After reading this one-shot, I think I might be in a somewhat forgiving mood for not having a new chapter of "Strangers" or H/P in so-o-o long. Not sure, though.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Iím glad you picked up on the foreshadowing. It has been a long time (much too long) since I updated anything, and now my life is returning to normal, itís time for me to return to my chaptered stories. -N-



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2013.05.17 - 11:24PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar

Fantastic!

Author's Response: Thanks -N-



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2013.05.17 - 09:58PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar

As always, love. I do have one question for you regarding James? Why does he speak with fractured English, such as 'Not do nuffink at all.' And 'we likes it.'? I've noticed this in Strangers where he is even a bit older and the reason I ask, I have a just turned five year-old who speaks quite well, using proper pronunciation and complex sentences. Just curious:)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, youíre right about James. Heís talking too young. Ií will correct that and update within the next few days. My kids are older, and I sometimes forget how fluent they were at five (more fluent than at the ďteenage gruntingĒ stage. -N-



Reviewer: alterdream Signed Date: 2013.05.17 - 09:49PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar

It's fun to see how it all began :)

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2013.05.17 - 07:20PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar

Another project? You have written tons of stories already! I love it. You seem to be going backwards, forwards, in between, etc.... but in the end, I think you will have an excellent series documenting the lives of HP and co after Voldemort. You are a very creative and imaginative writer.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This one shot was simply to reassure everyone that Iím still around. It was an easily completed prequel which required very little research, and Iíd hoped that by now Iíd finally be able to have another chapter of something ready for you. Unfortunatlly, rwal life isnít that simple, and youíll have to wait a little longer, sorry. -N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2013.05.17 - 04:51PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar

Another great story. Harry really is such a rich character, moldable enough to be both a complete badass warrior and a sweet caring father with an incredibly dark past all rolled into one.

Oh and I enjoyed the update to James and Me. I do hope there is more coming down the line.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and apologies for the delayed reply. Iíve been having some real world problems. More about both aspects of Harry soon.
As for ďJames and Me,Ē Iím working on that one, too.
-N-



Reviewer: SYLVELLE Signed Date: 2013.05.17 - 03:53PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar

Neil, yes I still love you..
I think I knew within the 1st couple of paragraphs that we were seeing Drakeshaugh for the first time. Wonderful story amazing characterizations, I love this family you have made.
Always happy to see your name in my notifications file.
Thanks
Tricia

Author's Response: Tricia
Thanks for the review. Iím rarely this late in writing review responses, Iím sorry. I hope that youíll see my name in your notifications file more frequently than you have over the past few months.
-N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2013.05.17 - 02:57PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar

Brilliant. A bit more from the other end of this story would be nice.

Author's Response: Thanks. Youíre right, of course, it would. Unless Iím faced with another unexpected tragedy, that is exactly what youíll get. -N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2013.05.17 - 02:54PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar

Very, very sweet! I love how you show their relationship and I love what a great Dad Harry is. The little glimpses into their lives are wonderful :)

Author's Response: Thank you. This is simply a little bit of Harry/Ginny fluff, and another glimpse of Daddy Harry. Glad you liked it. -N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2013.05.17 - 01:15PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarstar

The discovery of Drakeshaugh, fantastic! Loved James' description of the grounds. Now stop stalling and give us an update on Strangers, A & S, or H & P ;-)

Just kidding. Thanks for this great prequel chapter of Strangers at Drakeshaugh!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This is one of those ideas Iíve had in draft for a long time. Thanks for your patience, too. Iíve had a lot of real life stuff over the past few months, but hopefully Iím back now. -N-



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2013.05.17 - 12:33PM Title: Life Goes On

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A fun little prequel to your other Drakeshaugh stories. I liked it a lot, especially the little bit about Harry's childhood.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and sorry itís taken me almost a month to reply. It has been a rough month, but, hopefully Iím back. Glad you liked this one. -N-




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear