Search:

SIYE Time:11:52 on 21st August 2017

Reviews For The Thorny Rose

Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.12.27 - 09:45PM Title: Chapter 10 – Fragile Dreams

starstarstarstarstar

Great ending to this story. I am very worried about Ron though. Could he actually become a threat to the others?

Author's Response: There's more to Ron's story than is apparent at the moment. I never, ever set out to turn the character into a Death Eater, or something. All will be explained later.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.12.27 - 09:00PM Title: Chapter 9 – The Eleventh Hour

starstarstarstarstar

Wow, I am completely impressed by that little bit of manipulation. Ginny and Harry have truly become a force of power and intelligence. Looking forward to seeing what they do next.

Author's Response: Makes a lot more sense than what Dumbledore did in the books, doesn't it? Fudge was never evil, just weak. It makes more sense to manipulate him a bit. Okay, quite a lot.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.12.27 - 08:31PM Title: Chapter 8 – The Mirror Black

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter. I hope that Harry and Ginny manage to convince Molly and Bill that Ron is being dreadful for no reason. Looking forward to reading the next chapter.

Author's Response: Molly in this story really does want what's best for all her children, and Bill will always stick up for his sister.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.12.27 - 07:54PM Title: Chapter 7 – Hearts of Darkness

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter. The fact that Harry stayed so calm in a crisis says a lot about him as a young man.

Author's Response: That's him in the books though, isn't it? If there's one thing Harry is good at doing, it's keeping his head when everything is falling apart around him. That, and the willpower to do what needs to be done even though he's scared, are what make the character a real hero.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.12.27 - 07:25PM Title: Chapter 6 – Cold Lake

starstarstarstarstar

Glad that the lake scene went reasonably well. Ron is definitely being such a complete prat that I cannot imagine how he can recover from this. At least almost everyone else is being kind and helpful.

Author's Response: I'm really rather fond of the dolphin scene - it's not an animal you normally see used in HP stories.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.12.27 - 06:33PM Title: Chapter 5 – A Festive Interlude

starstarstarstarstar

I am glad to see that Hermione is now talking to Harry and Ginny, and that they enjoyed their dance.

Author's Response: Hermione normally does the right thing in the end. Shame the dance wasn't everything Ginny wanted it to be, eh?



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.12.27 - 05:50PM Title: Chapter 4 – The Awkward Truth

starstarstarstarstar

Harry and Ginny going to the Ball together, a great event! I am glad that Hermione is trying to make amends.

Author's Response: Can I at this point say just how pleased I am at the casting of Hermione in the Harry Potter play? Great choice!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.12.27 - 03:28PM Title: Chapter 3 – Dragons and Diversions

starstarstarstarstar

Ron is definitely reprehensible in this story. I am glad that Harry has a group of friends that are helpful, and hopefully Hermione will wise up soon.

Author's Response: Ron's not too far from canon at this point in the story, but I do play on that. Still, I think I mentioned to you in another review that there might be something behind this all.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.12.27 - 02:53PM Title: Chapter 2 – Front Page News

starstarstarstarstar

Luna and Ginny are great for Harry in this chapter, and I like the way the twins help them get back at Draco. Too funny!

Author's Response: I always wished we saw more of Luna and Ginny together in the books. I always imagine they make a great team.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2015.12.27 - 02:14PM Title: Chapter 1 – Ginny’s Helping Hand

starstarstarstarstar

Great beginning to this story. I love the idea that Ginny is permanently altered by her experiences with Tom's diary.

Author's Response: Quite a few people were nervous about the beginning, and a number on FF.net didn't read beyond the first chapter as they felt Ginny was excessively manipulative. Still, if they can't be bothered to read further than one chapter they're no loss to me.



Reviewer: jerryfs2 Signed Date: 2015.12.20 - 12:58AM Title: Chapter 10 – Fragile Dreams

starstarstarstarstar

another winner this is a great story goblet of fire better then JK
bumping of Rita Sketter Is a gold Medal touch Frau Hagen was she a large like an amazon or a valkriae or what not quite sure from the description
but loved the story none the less. thnks

Author's Response: Eva is definitely the best OC I've ever created. That is not a woman to be messed with.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.02.13 - 08:02AM Title: Chapter 2 – Front Page News

starstarstarstarstar

The story remains interesting and I'm still excited to have a Ginny POV.
I like stories where Harry and Ginny build a trusting relationship and face their challenges together. It seems to me that they still have a long way to go. But I trust them...

... and maybe I'm allowed to leave my 5 knots regarding the question discussed in the review of this chapter: Did JKR intend Ginny to end up as Mrs Potter in the end right from the start? The answer ist a clear YES. Remember, Harry has not been the first choosen one in Merlins world of wizzards and witches. There has been a choosen one before, the one who was able to retrieve the legendary sword. JKR has always been very foresighted when choosing the names of her characters. Guess the name of the wife of that chosen one! Right, it was Guinevere. Mere chance? I think no.

OK, that leaves the question why JKR ditched Ginny so badly at the end of her saga? I suspect it was the influence of Warner Bros. They refused to have a love story in the plot line of the DH movies.

Author's Response: Of course, Guinevere didn't even feature in the early versions of the Arthur saga, she's an invention of French romantic writers in much later drafts. I've also read suggestions that she wasn't a real person at all, just a manifestation of the pagan earth goddess, whom early Celtic kings were symbolically wed to on their coronation. Bearing in mind the mercurial nature of such deities, the unfaithful Guinevere certainly fits that mode.

I understand what you're saying, however, that by choosing that name JKR was marking out Ginny to be the queen in this story, who would ultimately marry her king, Harry (I wonder what she was trying to say with the name Hermione?). You may well be right about pressure placed on JKR not to make the saga too romantic, either from WB or her publishers, but I doubt she ever intended HP too much in that vein - it was essentially a children's book.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.02.13 - 06:29AM Title: Chapter 1 – Ginny’s Helping Hand

starstarstarstarstar

I really like the idea of a Ginny POV story, there are far too rare. The summery promises an exciting story.
On the other hand, I hope that a manipulative Ginny doesn't become to Slytherin-like. Although I read Ginny/Harry being Slytherin stories, they're usually at the bottom of the pile of books I plan to read.
Regarding the Ron bashing, I have no problem as long as it is comprehensible.

My most important rule is: As long Ginny is happy, I am too.

Author's Response: I admit I loved writing this from Ginny's POV and I might do something similar in the future. Quite why I enjoyed pretending I was a teenage girl is open to speculation...



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2015.02.01 - 03:34PM Title: Chapter 10 – Fragile Dreams

Have just read this for the 3rd or 4th time...think it may be my favorite of all your stories...

Author's Response: Strangely, I just replied to your review of TR2 before I came to this one, and have just commented that the 'Thorny Rose' series are my favourites out of everything I've written. Great minds think alike!



Reviewer: InwoodHP Signed Date: 2015.01.24 - 12:19AM Title: Chapter 10 – Fragile Dreams

starstarstarstarstar

Fun story, great job. I am looking forward to reading the sequels.

Author's Response: Thank you! The sequels are awaiting your kind attention.



Reviewer: Steven Carnell Signed Date: 2014.10.19 - 07:59PM Title: Chapter 10 – Fragile Dreams

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent story, really well written.

Author's Response: Thank you.



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2014.08.09 - 08:01PM Title: Chapter 10 – Fragile Dreams

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Very nice wrap up and diversion from how events played out originally. I was sorry to see Ron never came around, as you already know, I don't think he would act as horrible as you have portrayed him here; however, it is A/U so... That being said, it will be interesting to see what happens in the next two installments. I'm especially interested to see if anything changes with Percy and his behavior since everything regarding Barty has come to full light.

Author's Response: Sorry, Bethany, you'll have to read to the end of Thorny Rose 3 to find out exactly what was going on with Ron. Go on, you know you want to!



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2014.08.05 - 03:05PM Title: Chapter 8 – The Mirror Black

starstarstarstarstar

I really enjoyed this chapter, most especially how reasonable Mrs Weasley was. Thank goodness! I hope she remains so! It has been a long whole since I have read the previous chapters, but how on earth does Ginny know Harry is a Horcrux? Even Voldemort doesn't know that, so how would she?

Author's Response: I'm not so sure Voldemort doesn't know. Yes, I know the counter argument is 'why did he kill Harry if he knew he was a Horcrux' but I don't think he had a choice. Voldemort knew of (most) of the prophecy and knew Harry was a threat, amply proven by the way he'd dispatched his other Horcruxes. No, Voldemort HAD to kill him in the forest, no matter what. Besides, how could he not know? He knew of the connection, after all, he sent those false images of Sirius to Harry, so how did Mr 'I have performed magic you never dreamed of' think the connection formed? It just happened to occur at the same time he was blasted out of his body, sending his soul spiralling away? Don't think so! I'm also convinced that Dumbledore knew what the scar was the second he looked at it, too. 'I just wanted you to have a happy childhood, Harry' - that only makes sense if Dumbles knows that Harry has to die at some point for Voldemort to be defeated. So, basically, I think Harry was the only one ignorant about the whole thing; poor git.



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2014.06.20 - 06:13PM Title: Chapter 10 – Fragile Dreams

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2014.06.20 - 06:12PM Title: Chapter 9 – The Eleventh Hour

starstarstarstarstar

No Review




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear